Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Bridging borders through airwaves
Radio bridge 2022

What makes the Latvian capital Riga so special? How has the war against Ukraine changed life in Latvia and the relationship with Russia? What is the country discussing one week before the parliamentary elections? What do the people there expect from Europe and from Germany? And what is it actually like to live in the Latvian capital? radioeins and rbbKultur are building a radio bridge to Riga together to explore these questions.

Radiobrücke Riga 2022© RadioEins © Goethe-Institut

Radioeins and rbb Kultur broadcast live daily from the Goethe-Institut Riga, the Latvian capital, from September 26 - 29, 2022. Together they told about the people who do politics, art, music, city planning, clubs or cafés in Riga.

With around 630,000 inhabitants, Riga is the largest city in the Baltic States. It is a particularly diverse city, as Latvian, Swedish, Ukrainian, Polish, German and, last but not least, Russian influences come together here. More than thirty years after Latvia regained its independence, the Russian-speaking population still makes up a good 40 percent of Riga's population.

The relationship between Latvian-speaking and Russian-speaking culture has repeatedly been a major topic of discussion at Radiobrücke. As a result of the war in Ukraine, for example, many monuments from the Soviet era were dismantled in Latvia. Can the coexistence of cultures work despite the tensions? What role do origin and language play in coexistence? Radioeins host Knut Elstermann and the rbbKultur moderation team Andrea Handels and Jürgen Buch talked about this.

In addition, rbb reporters Max Ulrich and Katja Weber went on a tour of the city's Art Nouveau neighborhoods and markets. They tested traditional and new Latvian cuisine and learned from teachers and students of the Goethe-Institut what makes Latvians tick.

Of course, the music from the Latvian capital was the soundtrack of the Radiobrücke! Enjoy the films from Latvia!

Please note that the following contet is only available in German.

Three people can be seen in three different scenarios. In the upper right corner is the logo of the Goethe-Institut Goethe-Institut

Radio Bridge Riga

A band consisting of four young men plays music in a room with a bookcase in the background. © Goethe-Institut

Indie-Rock Band Carnival Youth

A street on which cars are driving. There are shops on both sides of the street, and on the left side in front you can see the Goethe-Institut. © Goethe-Institut

The Goethe-Institut in Riga transforms into a studio

Aerial view of a beach. On the left side you see a forest and on the right side the sea. © Goethe-Institut

A trip to the beach of Jurmala

A man and a woman are standing at a table talking. They are holding hand-held microphones. © Goethe-Institut

A visit to the Žanis Lipke memorial site

Five women with crowns sing into three standing microphones. Two of the women are holding violins. A bookshelf can be seen in the background. © Goethe-Institut

The All-Female Band Tautumeitas

radioeins rbb

rbb Kultur

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1) Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Riga
Radiobrücke 2022

Was macht die lettische Hauptstadt Riga so besonders? Wie hat der Krieg gegen die Ukraine das Leben in Lettland und das Verhältnis zu Russland verändert? Worüber diskutiert das Land eine Woche vor den Parlamentswahlen? Was erwarten die Menschen dort von Europa und von Deutschland? Und wie lebt es sich eigentlich in der lettischen Hauptstadt? radioeins und rbbKultur schlagen gemeinsam eine Radiobrücke nach Riga, um diesen Fragen nachzugehen.

Radiobrücke Riga 2022© RadioEins © Goethe-Institut

Radioeins und rbb Kultur sendeten vom 26. - 29. September 2022 täglich live aus dem Goethe-Institut Riga, der lettischen Hauptstadt. Gemeinsam erzählten sie von den Menschen, die in Riga Politik, Kunst, Musik, Stadtplanung, Clubs oder Cafés betreiben.

Mit rund 630.000 Einwohner*innen ist Riga die größte Stadt des Baltikums. Eine besonders vielfältige Stadt, denn hier kommen lettische, schwedische, ukrainische, polnische, deutsche und nicht zuletzt russische Einflüsse zusammen. Mehr als dreißig Jahre nach der wiedererlangten Unabhängigkeit Lettlands macht die russischsprachige Bevölkerung nach wie vor gut 40 Prozent der Bevölkerung Rigas aus.

Das Verhältnis zwischen lettischsprachiger und russischsprachiger Kultur war immer wieder ein großes Thema der Radiobrücke. In Folge des Ukraine-Krieges wurden in Lettland zum Beispiel viele Denkmäler aus der Sowjetzeit demontiert. Kann das Nebeneinander der Kulturen trotz der Spannungen funktionieren? Welche Rolle spielen Herkunft und Sprache für das Zusammenleben? Darüber sprachen radioeins-Moderator Knut Elstermann und das rbbKultur-Moderationsteam Andrea Handels und Jürgen Buch.

Außerdem sind die rbb-Reporter*innen Max Ulrich und Katja Weber in den Jugendstil-Vierteln und auf den Märkten der Stadt unterwegs gewesen. Sie testeten die traditionelle und neue lettische Küche und ließen sich von Lehrenden und Lernenden des Goethe-Instituts beibringen, wie die Lett*innen ticken.

Natürlich war die Musik aus der lettischen Hauptstadt der Soundtrack der Radiobrücke! Viel Spass mit den Filmen aus Lettland!

Drei Personen sind in drei unterschiedlichen Szenarien zu sehen. In der rechten oberen Ecke befindet sich das Logo des Goethe-Instituts. Goethe-Institut

Radiobrücke Riga

Eine Band, bestehend aus vier jungen Männern, musiziert in einem Raum mit einem Bücherregal im Hintergrund. © Goethe-Institut

Die Indie-Rock Band Carnival Youth

Eine Straße, auf der Autos fahren. Auf beiden Seiten der Straße sind Geschäfte angesiedelt, auf der linken Seite vorne sieht man das Goethe-Institut. © Goethe-Institut

Das Goethe-Institut Riga wird zum Studio

Luftaufnahme von einem Strand. Auf der linken Seite sieht man einen Wald auf der rechten das Meer. © Goethe-Institut

Ein Ausflug an den Strand von Jurmala

Ein Mann und eine Frau stehen an einem Tisch und unterhalten sich. Sie halten Handmikrofone in der Hand. © Goethe-Institut

Ein Besuch bei der Žanis-Lipke-Gedenkstätte

Fünf Frauen mit Kronen singen in drei Standmikrofone. Zwei der Frauen halten Geigen in der Hand. Im Hintergrund ist ein Bücherregal zu sehen. © Goethe-Institut

Die All-Female Band Tautumeitas

Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter:

www.goethe.de/lettland
www.radioeins.de
www.rbb-online.de/rbbkultur/

radioeins rbb

rbb Kultur

Top