Women in Management Positions Five Portraits

Alone among men
Alone among men | Photo (detail): © Tyler Olson / Fotolia.com

Making a career in a big business enterprise is not easy for women in Germany. Although women are still somewhat underrepresented when it comes to management positions, females in executive management positions do in fact exist. The following five portraits focus on successful business women who have also taken a stand politically.

Claudia Nemat – a female executive in a male domain

Claudia Nemat Claudia Nemat | © Deutsche Telekom AG Since October 2011 Claudia Nemat has been a member of the board at Deutsche Telekom, where she is in charge of European operations. The 1968 born manager is head of a division in which other members of her sex are rather thin on the ground. Asserting oneself in a classic male domain is nothing new for this mother of two who studied theoretical physics and mathematics. Before she took up her position on the board at Telekom Ms Nemat used to be a senior partner at the McKinsey management consultancy, where she specialised on the information and telecommunications sector and was responsible for the markets in Europe, Africa and the Middle East. She furthermore focused on management and performance culture issues and on the significance of diversity management for the success of the company. “Several different management styles are combined in mixed-gender teams,” says Claudia Nemat.

Mixed-gender teams improve the quality of decision making. In other words, “Male teams work better when a few women are in them.” Nevertheless Ms Nemat is not an advocate of a statutory gender balance for business as she recently announced in an interview. A statutory women’s quota would be at best only a temporary solution – only in the case of nothing else working.

Julia Jäkel – the mighty media manager

Julia Jäkel Julia Jäkel | © Gruner + Jahr © UVK Since April 2013 Julia Jäkel has been executive chairwoman at Gruner + Jahr, Germany’s largest magazine publisher, making her one of the most powerful media managers in the country. The Hamburg publishing house, that also publishes one of Germany’s top news magazines, Stern, and one of Germany’s top women’s magazines, Brigitte, has an annual turnover of more than two billion euros. Jäkel, born in 1971, studied history, political science and economics at the University of Heidelberg and at Harvard. In 1997 she started as a trainee at another German publishing house, Bertelsmann. In the meantime she is with Gruner + Jahr where in 2012, after various positions in the company, she eventually became a member of the executive board.

In response to the question what things really get her back up, the mother of two answered, “The one thing that really exasperates me – is the fact that women who decide against having a career are respected less. And the fact that mothers who return to work immediately after having children are also looked on rather negatively.” On a professional level, too, Julia Jäkel is not afraid of facing conflict. In December 2012 she announced that Gruner + Jahr would be discontinuing three of their publications Financial Times Deutschland, Impulse and Börse Online. More than 3,000 employees lost their jobs. Jäkel was publicly bombarded with criticism for her decision, but somehow weathered the storm. “Ducking out,” she said, “would have been inappropriate for me.”

Christine Hohmann-Dennhardt – unrelenting in her fight for justice and integrity

Christine Hohmann-Dennhardt Christine Hohmann-Dennhardt | © Daimler AG In February 2011 Christine Hohmann-Dennhardt became the first woman to be appointed to the executive board of the Daimler Group. She has a doctorate in law and actually worked before as a judge at the German Constitutional Court from 1999 to 2011. Since 2011 at Daimler however she has been responsible for the promotion of justice and integrity at the company that employs more than 270,000 people all over the world. This means that it is her job to ensure that all the employees and business partners stick to the letter of the law and to the company’s fair play rules.

Before Christine Hohmann-Dennhardt, born in 1950, moved to the German Constitutional Court, she was first a social welfare judge, then head of social services in Frankfurt and then she eventually became Minister of Justice and Minister of Science and Technology for the government of the Federal State of Hesse. Her motives have always been the same ones says this mother of two children who in the meantime have grown up. “Counterbalancing inequalities, respecting others and setting up clear strategies that can be adhered to.” She does not challenge the fact that she was described by the media as Daimler’s “quota woman” with whom they would be able to clean up their image. Furthermore, “ I am personally for a gender balance quota,” she said in an interview, stating that it was her “private opinion” and that she was “not speaking on behalf of the company.”

Lencke Wischhusen – the young entrepreneur

Lencke Wischhusen Lencke Wischhusen | © BJU / Anne Kreuz Since 2012 Lencke Wischhusen has been the Federal Chairperson of the Bund junger Unternehmer (Federation of Young Entrepreneurs) - an organisation that sees itself as a lobby group and mouthpiece for a younger generation of entrepreneurs. In addition this 1985 born woman from Bremen is also the managing director of W-Pack Kunststoffe GmbH & Co. KG, a company specialising in packaging materials that has an annual turnover of 15 million euros and employs about 50 people. Ever since she was a child Lencke Wischhusen had always known she would one day work for her father’s company. After doing a traineeship in wholesale and export sales and a course of study in business administration she joined the company at the top and became the head of W-Pack at the age of 24.

The Chairperson of the Federation of Young Entrepreneurs thinks a gender balance quota is the wrong path to take, “For the quota interferes with the way we run our businesses and is an unnecessary regulation of the labour market.” The fact that women’s careers used to come to an abrupt halt due to the so-called glass ceiling no longer poses a problem for the younger generation of businesswomen. “I think the image in society has completely changed now and the more modern styles of management now rely much more on communication. The differences don’t really exist anymore and that is why I think that the glass ceiling will soon be a thing of the past.”

Stephanie Bschorr – champion of the gender balance quota

Stephanie Bschorr Stephanie Bschorr | © vdu Stephanie Bschorr, born in 1966, has been president of the Verband Deutscher Unternehmerinnen (Association of German Businesswomen), since 2012. The association has a membership of 1,200 businesswomen and, led proudly by its president, it campaigns relentlessly for statutory quotas for women in business. At the same time Stephanie Bschorr is also an entrepreneur herself. As managing director of HTG Wirtschaftsprüfung, an auditing and tax consultancy, she employs a staff of 70.

For a long time she was actually against any form of statutory regulation. Then however she arrived at the conclusion that a social rethink could only be brought about by massive intervention like the introduction of a statutory gender balance quota, as she once said in an interview. In 1992, after completing her studies in law Ms Bschorr, started work as a legal advisor at HTG WIrtschaftsprüfung, the auditing and tax consultancy. Today the mother of two owns 30 per cent of the company - a company in which, she says, there are “no gender issues”. This is illustrated by the fact that at all levels management it is simply a matter of course for men to take parenting leave or to go part-time - it is this kind of normality that Stephanie Bschorr would like everybody in the country to enjoy.

Frauen in Führungspositionen
Fünf Porträts

Allein unter Männern
Allein unter Männern | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Tyler Olson / Fotolia.com

Als Frau in Deutschland in einem Wirtschaftsunternehmen Karriere zu machen, ist nicht einfach. Frauen sind in Führungspositionen immer noch unterrepräsentiert. Doch es gibt sie. Fünf Porträts von erfolgreichen Wirtschaftsführerinnen, die auch politisch Stellung beziehen.

Claudia Nemat – Führungsfrau in einer Männerdomäne

Claudia Nemat Claudia Nemat | © Deutsche Telekom AG Seit Oktober 2011 ist Claudia Nemat Vorstandsmitglied der Deutschen Telekom, wo sie für das Europageschäft verantwortlich ist. Damit steht die 1968 geborene Managerin einem Bereich vor, in dem sie auf nur wenige Geschlechtsgenossinnen stoßen dürfte. Sich in klassischen Männerdomänen durchzusetzen, ist für die zweifache Mutter, die theoretische Physik und Mathematik studiert hat, jedoch nichts Ungewöhnliches. Als Senior-Partnerin bei der Unternehmensberatung McKinsey, für die sie vor ihrer Berufung in den Telekom-Vorstand arbeitete, war Nemat auf die Informations- und Telekommunikationsbranche spezialisiert und zuständig für die Märkte in Europa, Afrika und im Nahen Osten. Zudem hat sie sich mit Fragen der Führungs- und Leistungskultur sowie mit der Bedeutung des Diversity-Managements auf den Unternehmenserfolg beschäftigt.

„In gemischten Teams werden mehrere unterschiedliche Führungsstile kombiniert“, sagt Claudia Nemat. Gemischte Teams verbesserten die Qualität von Entscheidungen. Mit anderen Worten: „Jungsteams werden besser, wenn auch ein paar Mädels dabei sind.“ Trotzdem ist Nemat keine Befürworterin einer gesetzlichen Frauenquote für Unternehmen, wie sie in einem Interview bekannte. Eine Quote sei bestenfalls eine vorübergehende Notlösung, wenn nichts anderes funktioniere.

Julia Jäkel – Die mächtige Medienmanagerin

Julia Jäkel Julia Jäkel | © Gruner + Jahr © UVK Seit April 2013 ist Julia Jäkel Vorstandsvorsitzende von Gruner + Jahr, Deutschlands größtem Zeitschriftenverlag, und somit eine der mächtigsten Medienmanagerinnen im Land. Das Hamburger Verlagshaus, das unter anderem die Magazine Stern und Brigitte herausgibt, setzt im Jahr mehr als zwei Milliarden Euro um. Die 1971 geborene Jäkel studierte in Heidelberg und an der Harvard University Geschichte, Politikwissenschaften und Volkswirtschaft. 1997 begann sie als Trainee bei Bertelsmann. Sie wechselte zu Gruner + Jahr und wurde nach verschiedenen Stationen im Konzern 2012 Mitglied des Vorstands.

Auf die Frage, was sie auf die Palme brächte, antwortete die zweifache Mutter: „Mich stört eines gewaltig: Frauen, die sich gegen die Berufstätigkeit entscheiden, werden wenig respektiert. Und Mütter, die gleich in den Beruf zurückkehren, werden genauso schief angeschaut.“ Auch in beruflicher Hinsicht hat Julia Jäkel keine Scheu vor Konflikten. Im Dezember 2012 gab sie bekannt, dass Gruner + Jahr die Titel Financial Times Deutschland, Impulse und Börse Online aufgeben würde. Mehr als 300 Mitarbeiter verloren ihren Job. Jäkel stand für diese Entscheidung im Zentrum der Kritik, der sie sich öffentlich stellte. Denn „wegducken“, sagte sie, „fände ich unangemessen“.

Christine Hohmann-Dennhardt – Unbeugsam für Recht und Integrität

Christine Hohmann-Dennhardt Christine Hohmann-Dennhardt | © Daimler AG Im Februar 2011 wurde Christine Hohmann-Dennhardt als erste Frau überhaupt in den Vorstand des Daimler-Konzerns berufen. In dem Unternehmen, das mehr als 270.000 Mitarbeiter weltweit beschäftigt, ist sie seitdem für Recht und Integrität verantwortlich. Das bedeutet, dass die promovierte Juristin, die von 1999 bis 2011 Richterin am Bundesverfassungsgericht war, darüber wacht, dass alle Mitarbeiter und Geschäftspartner sich an die Gesetze und an die Fairplay-Spielregeln des Unternehmens halten.

Bevor die 1950 geborene Christine Hohmann-Dennhardt zum Bundesverfassungsgericht wechselte, war sie erst Sozialrichterin, dann Sozialdezernentin in Frankfurt und schließlich Justizministerin und Wissenschaftsministerin in Hessen. Ihre Motive, sagt die Mutter von zwei mittlerweile erwachsenen Kindern, seien stets dieselben gewesen: „Ungerechtigkeiten ausgleichen, Respekt vor Menschen und klare Marschrouten, an die man sich halten kann.“ Dass sie in den Medien als Quotenfrau bezeichnet wurde, mit der der Daimler-Konzern sein Image aufpolieren wolle, ficht sie nicht an. Außerdem: „Ich persönlich bin für eine Quote“, sagte sie in einem Interview. Das sei aber ihre „ganz private Meinung“, „da spreche ich nicht für das Unternehmen“.

Lencke Wischhusen – Die junge Unternehmerin

Lencke Wischhusen Lencke Wischhusen | © BJU / Anne Kreuz Seit 2012 ist Lencke Wischhusen Bundesvorsitzende des Bundes junger Unternehmer (BJU), eines Verbandes, der sich als Sprachrohr einer jungen Generation von Unternehmern versteht. Zudem ist die 1985 geborene Bremerin Geschäftsführerin von W-Pack Kunststoffe, einer auf den Handel mit Verpackungsmaterialien spezialisierten Firma, die jährlich 15 Millionen Euro umsetzt und rund 50 Mitarbeiter beschäftigt. Für Lencke Wischhusen war von Kindesbeinen an klar, dass sie in das Unternehmen ihres Vaters einsteigen würde. Nach einer Lehre zur Groß- und Außenhandelskauffrau und dem Studium der Betriebswirtschaft rückte sie mit 24 Jahren an die Spitze von W-Pack.

Die Vorsitzende des BJU hält eine Frauenquote für falsch. „Denn die Quote (…) ist ein Eingriff in das operative Geschäft von uns Unternehmern und eine unnötige Regulierung des Arbeitsmarktes.“ Dass Frauenkarrieren an der sogenannten gläsernen Decke scheitern, sei für die junge Frauengeneration kein Problem mehr. „Ich denke, da hat sich das gesellschaftliche Bild komplett verändert, und die neuen Führungsstile beruhen viel mehr auf Kommunikation. Da gibt es einfach diese Unterschiede nicht mehr, und deshalb denke ich, dass die gläserne Decke bald Vergangenheit sein wird.“

Stephanie Bschorr – Kämpferin für die Frauenquote

Stephanie Bschorr Stephanie Bschorr | © vdu Stephanie Bschorr, geboren 1966, ist seit 2012 Präsidentin des Verbands Deutscher Unternehmerinnen (VdU), in dem 1.200 Unternehmerinnen organisiert sind. Mit seiner Präsidentin an der Spitze kämpft der Verband unbeirrt für die Einführung einer gesetzlichen Frauenquote in Unternehmen. Dabei ist Stephanie Bschorr selbst Unternehmerin. Als geschäftsführende Gesellschafterin der HTG Wirtschaftsprüfung beschäftigt sie 70 Mitarbeiter.

Sie habe sich selbst lange gegen gesetzliche Regulierungen gewehrt. Doch dann sei sie zu der Überzeugung gelangt, dass nur ein massiver Eingriff wie die Einführung einer gesetzlichen Frauenquote ein gesellschaftliches Umdenken bewirken könne, sagte sie in einem Interview. Nach ihrem Jurastudium begann Bschorr 1992 als Justiziarin bei der HTG Wirtschaftsprüfung. Heute gehören der Mutter von zwei Kindern 30 Prozent der Firma, in der, wie sie sagt, „Gender (…) kein Thema“ ist. So gingen zum Beispiel auf allen Führungsebenen Männer ganz selbstverständlich in Elternzeit oder arbeiteten Teilzeit – eine Normalität, die sich Stephanie Bschorr für das „ganze Land“ wünscht.