Transparency International Corruption in Germany

Corruption in Germany declines
Corruption in Germany declines | Photo (detail): © Colourbox

In 1993 the former director of the World Bank Peter Eigen founded the association Transparency International in Berlin. Today a world-wide non-governmental organization, it is devoted to fighting national and international macro and micro-economic corruption. An interview with Christian Humborg, the executive director of the German section of Transparency International, about corruption in Germany.

Mr Humborg, Transparency International has recently presented the 2013 corruption barometer. How does Germany stand with regard to corruption?

In international comparison, Germany’s standing isn’t bad at all. You don’t have to pay the authorities bribes to get services. No police officer holds out his hand when you violate traffic rules, and you don’t even have to bribe a doctor to get a bed in a hospital. As always, you can look upon the glass as half full or half empty. Of course there are scandals, banking affairs and much else – but all in all the extent of corruption in Germany is declining.

But in comparison with comparable countries, Germany comes off rather middling ...

That’s correct. According to the Corruption Perception Index, which measures the degree of perceived corruption in the public sector, among officials and politicians, Germany takes 15th place among 178, with a score of 7.9, still behind Denmark, Finland and Sweden.

Ratification of the UN convention is still outstanding

Is that because the Bundestag has still not ratified the UN convention against corruption?

Christian Humborg Christian Humborg | © Transparency International Deutschland As a matter of fact, the ratification of the UN convention against corruption is still outstanding. A prerequisite for its coming into effect is that parliament finally agrees on a procedure for toughening the statutory offence of bribing MPs. There are now a number of prominent members of parliament, also in the government parties, who advocate adopting the convention. But it seems that most MPs of the government parties still fear they could be unjustifiably investigated and so suffer damage to their reputations.

What effect does this have abroad?It has disastrous consequences – for Germany’s reputation and especially for the export economy. Only recently 35 business leaders, including twenty-six DAX 30 companies, complained in a letter to the parliamentary party leaders that the failure to ratify the UN convention against corruption has damaged their reputation in foreign transactions.

Structures in media houses must be reviewed

The media in Germany come off badly in the most recent corruption barometer – their score has dropped from 3.0 to 3.6.

Yes, you’re right. The closer to five, the worse: the political parties have 3.8, the parliament 3.4, but police and judiciary 2.7 and 2.6 respectively. In France the media also score 3.6, in Canada 3.2, and in England 3.9.

How have such scores come about?

They are based on a population survey in 107 countries. The survey asked about the extent to which individuals sectors were perceived to be corrupt on a scale from 1 (not at all corrupt) to 5 (highly corrupt). In Germany, 1,000 selected representative citizens were interviewed online.

And why do you think the media came off so badly?

The debate about the many invitations, the opulent travelling at the expense of companies, the secondary employment – that’s all probably left its mark. Another reason is probably that the separation between editorial content and PR has become more and more blurred. And so far a debate about journalistic self-understanding and independence has been lacking in the media houses. I know, for example, that newspaper such as the Toronto Star acknowledge when a travel report has been sponsored by company xy.

Should the same be done in Germany?

We propose that the structures in publishing houses and in the public-service broadcasters should be reviewed in regard to transparency and fighting corruption. Public-service broadcasting should provide annual detailed information about the use of its fee income.

Abuse of entrusted power

When you commission a survey on corruption, how do you define it?

We don’t prescribe a definition; that’s a difficulty. Much is perceived as corruption, but is really only mismanagement. Think of the regulars’ table where everyone knows that the guys at the top are all corrupt. You have to be careful. We have a short a clear definition of corruption: corruption is the abuse of entrusted power for private gain.

Has there been progress in preventing corruption in Germany?

We can observe that more cases have been reported. The Federal Criminal Police Office assumes that there’s still a high number of unknown cases, but the number of investigations has risen, and more is being done against corruption in the public as in the private sector. In the private sector, more and more companies set up “compliance management systems”; that is, in the company leadership there are people responsible for seeing to compliance with rules and laws. This is the case with, among others, companies such as Siemens, Daimler, Thyssen-Krupp and the Deutsche Bahn.

Transparency International has itself concluded so-called integrity pacts with several partners. What are these pacts?

They mean that all parties agree to an additional obligation under private law to observe the anti-corruption rules in all tender processes. They thus agree to an on-site monitoring of this. We have such pacts with a building association, two hospitals and those responsible for the construction of the Berlin-Brandenburg airport. Originally, we hoped the latter would be our flagship project, but in view of the glaring mismanagement and construction delays we’re not about to win any prizes there.

Set in motion a spiral of trust

You say on your homepage that you’re concerned about structures and not individual cases. So you’re not a contact point for whistleblowers?

No, that’s not our job. Quite apart from the fact that we have no capacity for providing legal advice, in a state functioning according to the rule of law this shouldn’t be the task of an NGO: there is an independent judiciary and free media. This can of course be quite different in an authoritarian regime. On our homepage there are plenty of tips about to whom a whistleblower can turn, ranging from the Lower Saxony Office of Criminal Investigation to the KKH Allianz, which prosecutes fraud in healthcare billing.

Can corruption be eradicated, or is it somehow part of the culture of certain countries?

Ask a Greek mother whether she likes having to pay bribes so that her daughter can be treated in a hospital. Some people are too quick to ascribe corruption to local custom and cultural characteristics. In point of fact, people often see no other way, but abhor corruption. In countries where corruption has been natural for many, many years, we have gradually to set in motion a spiral of trust, so that a different kind of behaviour becomes possible in the medium and long term.

Transparency International Korruption in Deutschland

Korruption ist in Deutschland rückläufig
Korruption ist in Deutschland rückläufig | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Colourbox

1993 gründete der ehemalige Direktor der Weltbank, Peter Eigen, in Berlin den Verein Transparency International. Die heute weltweit agierende Nichtregierungsorganisation hat sich der internationalen volks- und betriebswirtschaftlichen Korruptionsbekämpfung gewidmet. Ein Interview mit Christian Humborg, dem Geschäftsführer der deutschen Sektion von Transparency International, über Korruption in Deutschland.

Herr Humborg, Transparency International hat jüngst das Korruptionsbarometer 2013 vorgestellt. Wie steht es um Deutschland in Sachen Korruption?

Wenn Sie es im internationalen Vergleich sehen, steht Deutschland gar nicht so schlecht da. Sie brauchen bei der Behörde kein Schmiergeld zu zahlen, um eine Leistung zu bekommen. Kein Polizist hält die Hand auf, wenn Sie gegen Verkehrsregeln verstoßen, und für einen Platz im Krankenhaus müssen Sie auch nicht erst einmal den Arzt bestechen. Wie immer kann man das Glas als halb voll oder halb leer betrachten. Natürlich gibt es Skandale, Bankenaffären und vieles andere – aber insgesamt geht das Ausmaß an Korruption hierzulande zurück.

Im Vergleich zu anderen Ländern schneidet Deutschland aber eher mittelmäßig ab …

Das ist richtig. Nach dem Korruptionswahrnehmungsindex, der den Grad der im öffentlichen Sektor – also bei Beamten und Politikern – wahrgenommenen Korruption misst, liegt Deutschland mit einem Punktwert von 7,9 auf dem 15. von 178 Plätzen, also noch hinter Dänemark, Finnland oder Schweden.

Ratifizierung der UN-Konvention steht immer noch aus

Liegt das daran, dass die Konvention der Vereinten Nationen gegen Korruption vom Bundestag immer noch nicht verabschiedet wurde?

Christian Humborg Christian Humborg | © Transparency International Deutschland In der Tat steht seit zehn Jahren die Ratifizierung der UN-Konvention gegen Korruption aus. Eine Voraussetzung für ihr Inkrafttreten ist, dass sich das Parlament endlich auf ein Vorgehen zur Verschärfung des Straftatbestandes der Abgeordnetenbestechung einigt. Es gibt mittlerweile einige prominente Bundestagsabgeordnete auch in den Regierungsfraktionen, die für die Verabschiedung eintreten. Aber immer noch scheinen die meisten Parlamentarier der Regierungsfraktionen zu befürchten, dass ungerechtfertigt gegen sie ermittelt werden könnte und sie so an Reputation verlieren.

Wie wirkt sich das im Ausland aus?

Das hat verheerende Folgen – für das Ansehen Deutschlands und gerade auch für die Exportwirtschaft. Erst vor kurzem haben 35 Unternehmenschefs – darunter auch die von 26 DAX-30-Unternehmen – in einem Schreiben an die Fraktionsvorsitzenden im Bundestag beklagt, dass das Ausbleiben der Ratifizierung der UN-Konvention gegen Korruption ihrem Ansehen bei Auslandsgeschäften schadet.

Strukturen in Medienhäusern müssen überprüft werden

Die Medien in Deutschland schneiden im jüngsten Korruptionsbarometer nicht gut ab – der Wert hat sich von 3,0 auf 3,6 verschlechtert.

Da haben Sie recht. Je näher bei der Fünf, desto schlechter: Die Parteien stehen bei 3,8, das Parlament bei 3,4. Polizei und Justiz aber bei 2,7 beziehungsweise 2,6. In Frankreich stehen die Medien auch bei 3,6, in Kanada bei 3,2 und in England bei 3,9.

Wie kommen solche Werte zustande?

Sie basieren auf einer Bevölkerungsumfrage in 107 Ländern. Gefragt wurde danach, wie korrupt einzelne Sektoren auf einer Skala von 1 (überhaupt nicht korrupt) bis 5 (höchst korrupt) wahrgenommen werden. In Deutschland wurden 1.000 repräsentativ ausgewählte Bürger online befragt.

Und warum schneiden Ihrer Meinung nach die Medien so schlecht ab?

Die Debatte um die vielen Einladungen, die opulenten Reisen auf Kosten von Firmen, die Nebentätigkeiten – das alles hat wohl Spuren hinterlassen. Ausgewirkt hat sich wahrscheinlich auch, dass die Trennung zwischen redaktionellen Inhalten und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit immer mehr verwischt. Und die Medienhäuser haben in der Wahrnehmung bisher eine Debatte um das journalistische Selbstverständnis und die Unabhängigkeit vermissen lassen. Ich weiß zum Beispiel, dass Zeitungen wie der kanadische Toronto Star unter einem Reisebericht angeben, wenn die Reise von einem Unternehmen gesponsert wurde.

Sollte es eine Transparenz auch in Deutschland geben?

Wir fordern, die Strukturen in den Verlagen und in den öffentlich-rechtlichen Rundfunkanstalten unter dem Gesichtspunkt der Korruptionsbekämpfung und der Transparenz zu überprüfen. Der öffentlich-rechtliche Rundfunk zum Beispiel muss jährlich detailliert über die Verwendung seiner Gebühreneinnahmen Auskunft geben.

Missbrauch anvertrauter Macht

Wenn Sie eine Umfrage zum Thema Korruption in Auftrag geben – wie definieren Sie den Begriff?

Wir geben keine Definition vor, das ist eine Schwierigkeit. Vieles wird als Korruption wahrgenommen und ist im Grunde nur Missmanagement. Denken Sie an die Stammtische, wo es immer heißt, die da oben seien doch alle korrupt. Da muss man vorsichtig sein. Wir selbst haben eine kurze und klare Definition dafür: Korruption ist der Missbrauch anvertrauter Macht zum privaten Nutzen oder Vorteil.

Gibt es in Deutschland Fortschritte bei der Korruptionsprävention?

Wir können beobachten, dass mehr Fälle angezeigt werden. Das Bundeskriminalamt geht zwar nach wie vor von einer hohen Dunkelziffer aus, aber die Zahl der Ermittlungsverfahren ist gestiegen, und in der öffentlichen Verwaltung wie in der Privatwirtschaft wird mehr gegen Korruption getan. Im privaten Bereich richten Unternehmen immer öfter Compliance Managementsysteme ein. Das heißt, es gibt in der Führungsspitze verantwortliche Personen, die auf Regeltreue und die Einhaltung der Gesetze achten. Das ist unter anderem in Konzernen wie Siemens, Daimler, Thyssen-Krupp und der Deutschen Bahn der Fall.

Sie selbst als Transparency International haben mit mehreren Partnern sogenannte Integritätspakte abgeschlossen – was ist darunter zu verstehen?

Das bedeutet: Alle Auftragnehmer gehen eine zusätzliche privatrechtliche Verpflichtung ein, sich bei allen Vergabevorgängen an die Antikorruptionsregeln zu halten. Sie stimmen damit zu, dass dies vor Ort durch ein Monitoring – eine systematische Erfassung – überprüft wird. Wir haben solche Pakte geschlossen mit einer Wohnungsbaugesellschaft, zwei Krankenhäusern und den Verantwortlichen für den Bau des Flughafens Berlin-Brandenburg. Ursprünglich hatten wir gehofft, dass das unser Vorzeigeprojekt wird, aber mit den offensichtlichen Managementfehlern und den Bauverzögerungen ist da kein Blumentopf mehr zu gewinnen.

Spirale des Vertrauens in Gang setzen

Sie sagen auf Ihrer Website, dass Sie sich um die Strukturen und nicht um Einzelfälle kümmern. Für Skandalaufdecker, sogenannte Whistleblower, sind Sie also eher keine Anlaufstelle ...

Nein, das ist nicht unsere Aufgabe. Ganz abgesehen davon, dass wir keine Kapazitäten zur Rechtsberatung haben – in einem funktionierenden Rechtsstaat sollte eine Nichtregierungsorganisation diese Aufgabe nicht wahrnehmen müssen, es gibt eine unabhängige Justiz und freie Medien. Das kann in einem autoritären Regime natürlich ganz anders sein. Auf unserer Website sind aber eine Menge Hinweise zu finden, an wen sich Whistleblower wenden können, angefangen vom Landeskriminalamt Niedersachsen bis zur Kaufmännischen Krankenkasse KKH, die Abrechnungsbetrug im Gesundheitswesen verfolgt.

Ist Korruption besiegbar oder gehört sie in gewisser Weise zur Kultur bestimmter Länder?

Fragen Sie mal eine Griechin, ob es ihr gefällt, dass sie für ihre Tochter Geld zahlen muss, damit sie im Krankenhaus aufgenommen wird. Da wird zu schnell mit Landessitten und kulturellen Eigenheiten argumentiert. Tatsächlich sehen die Menschen oft keinen anderen Ausweg, aber verabscheuen dennoch Korruption. Wir müssen in diesen Ländern, wo sich Korruption seit langen Jahren eingebürgert hat, ganz allmählich eine Spirale des Vertrauens in Gang setzen, damit mittel- und langfristig ein anderes Verhalten möglich wird.