Currencies of the European Union “The euro is a stabilizer of European peace”

A common currency stabilizes peace in Europe
A common currency stabilizes peace in Europe | Photo (detail): © EZB

On 1 January 2014, the euro will be introduced in Latvia. Many people in the country fear that, with this, part of the Latvian identity will be lost. What was it like in Germany? The historian Matthias von Hellfeld on the German stance towards the euro and the currency’s importance for the European Union.

Mr. von Hellfeld, since the introduction of the euro in Germany, the currency has on the one hand been looked upon as a rational means of creating a common economic area, and on the other hand has stirred up emotions and called forth scepticism. What reasons do you see for this?

In Germany the relinquishment of the D-Mark was a highly emotional event. The D-Mark had been very stable, brought much prosperity, generated many jobs. It ensured a standing in the world: the hard currency as an expression of hard work, great skill and industrial growth. The great scepticism about the euro was whether it possessed the same stability. And this was especially felt by the older generation who had already once experienced inflation and the utter devaluation of money. Similarly, citizens of the former GDR, who had to witness how the East-Mark came to be worth next to nothing abroad.

And for younger people?

Younger people and those to whom I also belonged were of the opinion that the only chance we have is a united Europe. The euro was the logical consequence. But this view wasn’t emotionally charged; it was simply rational: a common currency is the stabilizer of European peace.

No monetary union without political union

After twelve years’ experience with the euro, is a clear trend in the stance towards the currency emerging?

Yes, and it’s clearly a positive one. Because it has become clear to the Germans that the euro is stable; it hasn’t curtailed our prosperity. Of all the member states of the euro zone, Germany has got the most out of the euro; for instance, through the stable export situation. The negative factor which has been added to this is the experience that, because we all have the same currency, we have to pay for the budgetary difficulties and mistakes of other European countries. Hence the rise of euro-sceptical parties; hence many people saying: “This can’t go well; we’ve got to get out”.

Can we simply say: small countries suffer under the euro, big ones profit from it?

There’s something to that, especially as regards those countries which have joined recently and have had to undergo drastic economic reforms in order to conform to the criteria. Here I actually do see a weak point, because economic or monetary union without political union can’t guarantee that conditions are the same everywhere. The same taxes, the same charges, the same social benefits. And so long as they aren’t the same and centrally controlled, it will be relatively difficult to create the same living conditions everywhere in Europe.

A new Magna Carta

In your book Akte Europa (i.e., Dossier: Europe) you write that money has always been more than a measure of wealth. It has also always been a means of creating identity. What are the prospects of the euro as the engine for creating a European identity in the euro zone?

Eventually the euro will do it. Let’s look into the future and assume that the current difficulties have been surmounted. In all the euro zone countries there will be a reasonable level of employment and prosperity; then it will work. In the 1990s there was a discussion whether the new currency should be called the “euro franc”, alluding to the franc dinar, which already united Europe 1,200 years ago. This was in Charlemagne’s empire, in which the six founding countries of Europe were “represented” – the Benelux countries, Germany, Italy and France, all of which had a common currency. Ultimately, it creates an identity when you can pay in one currency and compare what a pound of butter costs from southern France to Latvia.

Apart from the common currency, how does it look for the European Union as an engine of identity?

In English there’s the phrase “share Europe”, which means something like “live Europe together”. This creates identity especially among young people. Young Europeans, who were born after 1990, draw a blank on the Cold War or on a “hot” war. It’s useless telling them that the European Union is a peacekeeping factor in Europe. That’s true, but young people want to know what Europe can do for them. How will my life be better if I live in Europe? We need a sensible social charter that says to young people: Europe guarantees you a training place. It guarantees you social standards. Daniel Cohn-Bendit, who is Green MP in the European parliament, has coined the phrase: “get a new Magna Carta off the ground”. I can endorse that.

Europe’s great diversity

Together with Ulrich Beck and others, you have called for very concrete programmes such as a voluntary European Year …

Such programmes would help the growth of a European civil society. It will take a long time. We have to educate our children to speak fluent English; our schools have to teach them how we can further develop this continent and so together advance Europe’s great diversity. We have an extraordinary diversity of cultures and traditions. This exists nowhere else in the world.

Is then the integration of the Eastern European countries into the euro zone the crowning achievement of the European peace and economic project?

Exactly. If we look at the history of the German Federal Republic, we see that it has gone rather like the process of European unification. First we sought to achieve reconciliation with the West and with Israel. When that was done and we could live again in peace, we did the same with Eastern Europe. In exactly the same way, the course we are now taking with the whole of Europe naturally includes the integration of Eastern Europe. The Cold War and the Iron Curtain, however, have ensured that relics of an absurd and unnatural separation are still there in our heads. We have to free ourselves from this. Our children know nothing of these leftovers any more; they have no resentment. It’s therefore right now to include Eastern Europe.

Matthias von Hellfeld Matthias von Hellfeld | © Matthias von Hellfeld Matthias von Hellfeld, born in 1954, holds a PhD in history and is an historian, journalist and author of numerous historical and political books on the history of Germany and Europe, including “Akte Europa. Geschichte eines Kontinents” (dtv, 2007) (i.e., Dossier: Europe. History of a Continent) and “Wir Europäer” (Dietz Verlag J.H.W., 2008) (i.e., We Europeans). He is also the author of numerous contributions to TV and radio on historical subjects. Hellfeld is a lecturer in the OnlineRadio Master’s programme at the University of Halle/Wittenberg and for life-long learning at the Cologne Campus.

Europäische Währung „Der Euro ist ein Stabilisator für unseren Frieden“

Eine gemeinsame Währung stabilisiert den Frieden in Europa
Eine gemeinsame Währung stabilisiert den Frieden in Europa | Foto (Ausschnitt): © EZB

Am 1. Januar 2014 führt Lettland den Euro ein. Die Skepsis im Land ist groß, dass damit ein Teil der lettischen Identität verloren geht. Wie war das damals in Deutschland? Der promovierte Historiker Matthias von Hellfeld über die Einstellung der Deutschen zum Euro und seine Bedeutung für die Europäische Union.

Herr von Hellfeld, seit der Einführung des Euros in Deutschland gilt die Währung einerseits als rationales Mittel zur Schaffung eines gemeinsamen Wirtschaftsraums, andererseits emotionalisiert sie und ruft Skepsis hervor. Welche Gründe sehen Sie dafür?

In Deutschland war die Abgabe der D-Mark ein hochgradig emotionaler Punkt. Sie war sehr stabil gewesen, hat sehr viel Wohlstand gebracht, viele Arbeitsplätze geschaffen. Sie sorgte für Ansehen in der Welt: die harte Währung als Ausdruck von Fleiß, großem Können und industriellem Wachstum. Die große Skepsis gegenüber dem Euro war, ob er dieselbe Stabilität besitzt. Und zwar vor allem bei der älteren Generation, die Inflation und völlige Entwertung des Geldes schon einmal erlebt hatte. Ebenso die Bürger der ehemaligen DDR, die miterleben mussten, dass die Ost-Mark irgendwo im Ausland so gut wie nichts wert war.

Und bei den jüngeren Menschen?

Bei den Jüngeren und den Euro-Befürwortern, zu denen auch ich gehört habe, galt die Meinung: Die einzige Chance, die wir in unserem Leben haben, ist ein geeintes Europa. Da war der Euro die logische Konsequenz. Das war aber nicht emotional besetzt, sondern rational: Eine gemeinsame Währung ist auch ein Stabilisator für unseren Frieden.

Keine Währungsunion ohne politische Union

Nach zwölf Jahren Erfahrung mit dem Euro, zeichnet sich da eine eindeutige Tendenz in der Haltung zu dieser Währung ab?

Ja, und zwar eine eindeutig positive. Weil für die Deutschen jetzt klar ist: Der Euro ist stabil, er hat unseren Wohlstand nicht gekappt. Die Deutschen haben am meisten von allen Mitgliedsstaaten der Eurozone vom Euro gehabt, etwa durch die stabile Exportlage. Was jetzt negativ hinzukommt, ist die Erfahrung, dass wir, weil wir alle diese Währung haben, für die Haushaltsschwierigkeiten und Fehler anderer europäischer Staaten zahlen. Deshalb entstehen euroskeptische Parteien, deshalb sagen viele Leute: Das wird nicht gut gehen, wir müssen da wieder raus.

Kann man einfach sagen: Die kleinen Länder leiden unter dem Euro, die großen profitieren davon?

Da ist was dran, zumal jene Staaten, die neu dazukommen, eine gewaltige Rosskur hinter sich haben, um sich den Kriterien anzupassen. Da sehe ich tatsächlich auch einen Schwachpunkt, weil die Wirtschafts- oder Währungsunion ohne eine politische Union nicht garantiert, dass die Verhältnisse überall gleich sind. Im Sinne von gleichen Steuern, gleichen Abgaben, gleichen Sozialleistungen. Und so lange die nicht gleich sind und zentral gesteuert werden, wird es relativ schwierig sein, in Europa überall gleiche Lebensverhältnisse zu schaffen.

Eine neue Magna Carta

In Ihrem Buch „Akte Europa“ schreiben Sie, dass Geld schon immer mehr war als ein Maßstab für Wohlstand. Es war auch ein Mittel, um Identität zu schaffen. Wie sieht es im Euroraum mit der Akzeptanz des Euros als Motor zur Schaffung einer europäischen Identität aus?

Irgendwann wird der Euro auch das schaffen. Schauen wir in die Zukunft und setzen voraus, dass die derzeitigen Schwierigkeiten überwunden werden. In allen Ländern herrschen eine vernünftige Beschäftigungslage und Wohlstand, dann wird das funktionieren. In den 1990er-Jahren gab es die Diskussion, ob man die neue Währung Eurofranken nennen sollte, in Anlehnung an den Frankendinar, der vor 1.200 Jahren Europa schon mal geeinigt hat. Das war das Reich Karls des Großen, in dem ja die sechs Gründungsländer Europas vertreten waren – also die Beneluxländer, Deutschland, Italien, Frankreich –, die hatten eine gemeinsame Währung. Letztendlich stiftet es Identität, wenn ich von Südfrankreich bis Lettland mit einer Währung zahlen und vergleichen kann, was ein Pfund Butter kostet.

Abgesehen von der gemeinsamen Währung, wie sieht es mit der Europäischen Union als Identitätsmotor aus?

Im Englischen gibt es den Begriff „share Europe“, also „Lebe Europa gemeinsam“. Das schafft vor allem bei jungen Leuten Identität. Junge Europäer, die nach 1990 geboren sind, können weder mit dem Kalten Krieg etwas anfangen, noch mit „heißem“ Krieg. Es nützt ihnen nichts, wenn wir sagen: Die Europäische Union ist der friedenserhaltende Faktor in Europa. Das ist zwar richtig, junge Leute aber wollen wissen: Was bringt mir Europa? Was verbessert mein Leben, wenn ich in Europa lebe? Wir brauchen eine vernünftige Sozialcharta, die den Jungen sagt: Europa garantiert einen Ausbildungsplatz. Es garantiert dir soziale Standards. Daniel Cohn-Bendit, der für die Grünen im Europäischen Parlament sitzt, hat den Ausdruck geprägt „eine neue Magna Carta auf den Weg bringen“. Das kann ich nur unterstützen.

Bunte Vielfalt Europa

Gemeinsam mit Ulrich Beck und anderen fordert Cohn-Bendit auch ganz konkrete Beispiele wie ein freiwilliges Europäisches Jahr …

Auf diese Weise soll eine europäische Zivilgesellschaft wachsen. Das bedarf einer langen Zeit. Wir müssen unsere Kinder ausbilden, dass sie alle fließend Englisch sprechen, wir müssen ihnen in der Schule vermitteln, wie man diesen Kontinent weiterentwickeln und so gemeinsam die bunte Vielfalt in Europa voranbringen kann. Wir haben hier eine außerordentliche Vielfalt, eigene Kulturen, eigene Traditionen. Das gibt es sonst nirgendwo auf der Welt.

Ist dann die Integration osteuropäischer Staaten wie Lettland in den Euroraum die Krönung des europäischen Friedens- und Wirtschaftsprojekts?

Genau. Wenn wir zunächst auf die Geschichte der Bundesrepublik schauen, dann ist sie relativ ähnlich verlaufen wie der europäische Einigungsprozess. Wir haben erst versucht, im Westen und gegenüber Israel eine Versöhnung herzustellen. Als das gelungen war, und wir wieder in Frieden leben konnten, haben wir in Osteuropa dasselbe getan. Genauso umfasst die Richtung, in die wir jetzt mit Gesamteuropa gehen, selbstverständlich auch die Integration Osteuropas. Der Kalte Krieg und der Eiserne Vorhang haben allerdings dafür gesorgt, dass die Relikte einer widersinnigen und unnatürlichen Trennung immer noch in unseren Köpfen sind. Davon müssen wir loskommen. Aber unsere Kinder kennen das nicht mehr, sie haben keine Ressentiments. Deshalb ist es richtig, Osteuropa jetzt einzubeziehen.

Matthias von Hellfeld Matthias von Hellfeld | © Matthias von Hellfeld Matthias von Hellfeld, Jahrgang 1954, ist promovierter Historiker, Journalist und Autor zahlreicher historischer und politischer Sachbücher zur Geschichte Deutschlands und Europas, darunter „Akte Europa. Geschichte eines Kontinents“ (dtv, 2007) und „Wir Europäer“ (Dietz Verlag J.H.W., 2008). Außerdem hat er zahlreiche TV- und Hörfunk-Beiträge zu historischen Themen verfasst. Er ist Dozent des Masterstudiengangs OnlineRadio der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle/Wittenberg und beim Kölner Campus für lebenslanges Lernen.