Foundations in Central and Eastern Europe Regaining strength

Promoting democracy is one of the focal points of the Körber Foundation, which was early engaged in Central and Eastern Europe
Promoting democracy is one of the focal points of the Körber Foundation, which was early engaged in Central and Eastern Europe | Photo (detail): © Körber-Stiftung/David Ausserhofer

Under socialism, there was no place for civic engagement based on self-determined purposes. In the meantime, the foundation system in many countries of Central and Eastern Europe has been awakened to new life.

After 1945, the idea of the foundation had almost completely disappeared from the view of people in Central and Eastern Europe. Its resurgence in post-socialist societies has been observable for some time now, as has also a political and cultural transformation that should not be underestimated. Targeted projects of individual Western foundations, such as the Robert Bosch Foundation and the Körber Foundation, already showed the possibilities that existed in the region for foundation work before 1990. The region lacked, however, the social as well as the legal, political and economic conditions for fostering its own private foundations sector. Moreover, even before 1945, there were only comparatively few foundations in Central and Eastern Europe. This was due to the unstable political conditions and the sometimes desolate economic situation, but also to a historical scepticism about the foundation model.

Poland and Slovenia reactivated old laws

Nevertheless, attempts to revive this sector could already be seen in the 1980s. In 1984, Poland enacted a new foundation law, which was based on an earlier one from the 1920s. In parts of former Yugoslavia, for instance in Slovenia, a dead-letter law was reactivated. But the breakthrough of the foundation sector in the region is indebted to the Hungarian-born American investor George Soros, who, as an adherent of the philosopher Karl Popper, looked upon an open society as essential for the transformation of political culture. Beginning in 1988 in Hungary, Soros founded “Open Society Foundations” throughout the 1990s in several countries of the region and endowed them with substantial resources. Their objectives include civic education and the promotion of civil society.

After 2000, other American and European foundations set up special programmes for Central and Eastern Europe. Scholarships for young academics, such as those from the Alexander von Humboldt-Foundation and the exchange programme of the Charles Stewart Mott Foundation, made possible study visits in the West. The European Foundation Centre (EFC) tried with some success to combine the process of transformation with the development of a foundation culture. Yet in the eyes of many Central and Eastern Europeans these efforts were initially felt to be foreign bodies. One attempt at a deeper anchoring was the establishment in 1991 of the Foundation for Polish-German Cooperation (SDPC) with its headquarters in Warsaw. It originated in the permission granted by the German government to use a large part of the Polish currency debt to fund projects of reconciliation and cooperation.

Development of an independent civil society

The Czech Republic went significantly beyond this by transferring a large part of the proceeds from the privatization of the state enterprises into a foundation investment fund, which helped to strengthen the capital base of new foundations. Decisive in this was the demand, repeatedly raised by Václav Havel, the first president of the Czech Republic, that it should be regarded as a duty of the state in such an historical situation to promote the development of an independent civil society.

It was obvious that private funds would not suffice for the foreseeable future. However, in nearly all the countries of Central and Eastern Europe in the 1990s, legal frameworks were created along modern civil society lines. To this purpose, these countries sought expert advice and compared their laws with Western ones. They thereby generally adopted a narrow American understanding of foundations in the sense of pure sponsorship, while authoritarian patterns of thought were still alive in their administrative bodies. These difficulties were surmounted by a political will that was predominantly oriented to civil society. Model databases such as Klon in Poland, a database on non-governmental organisations, and foundation directories additionally promoted the development.

Although still not comparable in size to its Western counterparts, the foundation sector has again gained a foothold in all the countries of Central and Eastern Europe. Today it faces the same political and economic challenges as does the foundation sector of Western Europe.

Stiftungen in Mittel- und Osteuropa Wieder erstarkt

Die Förderung der Demokratie ist einer der Schwerpunkte der Körber-Stiftung, die sich bereits früh auch in Mittel- und Osteuropa engagierte
Die Förderung der Demokratie ist einer der Schwerpunkte der Körber-Stiftung, die sich bereits früh auch in Mittel- und Osteuropa engagierte | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Körber-Stiftung/David Ausserhofer

Bürgerschaftliches Engagement für selbst festgelegte Zwecke hatte im Sozialismus keinen Platz. Inzwischen ist das Stiftungswesen in vielen Ländern Mittel- und Osteuropas zu neuem Leben erwacht.

Nach 1945 war die Idee der Stiftung aus dem Blickfeld der Bürger in den Ländern Mittel- und Osteuropas fast vollständig verschwunden. Ihr Wiederaufleben ist in den postsozialistischen Gesellschaften bereits seit einer ganzen Weile zu beobachten – und ein nicht zu unterschätzender Teil des politisch-kulturellen Transformationsprozesses.Schon vor 1990 hatten einzelne westliche Stiftungen, aus Deutschland etwa die Robert-Bosch-Stiftung und die Körber-Stiftung, durch gezielte Projekte die Chancen von Stiftungsarbeit in der Region aufgezeigt. Allerdings gab es dort weder die gesellschaftlichen Voraussetzungen noch die rechtlichen, politischen oder wirtschaftlichen Möglichkeiten, ein eigenes Stiftungswesen zu schaffen. Zudem hatte es in Mittel- und Osteuropa auch schon vor 1945 nur vergleichsweise wenige Stiftungen gegeben. Das war den labilen politischen Verhältnissen und der zum Teil desolaten wirtschaftlichen Situation geschuldet, aber auch einer historischen Skepsis gegenüber dem Stiftungsmodell.

Polen und Slowenien reaktivierten altes Recht

Dennoch waren bereits in den 1980er-Jahren Versuche erkennbar, den Sektor wiederzubeleben. Polen erließ 1984 ein neues Stiftungsrecht, das ein früheres, aus den 1920er-Jahren stammendes, aufgriff. In Teilen des damaligen Jugoslawiens, etwa in Slowenien, wurde ein formal noch bestehendes, seit Jahrzehnten nicht mehr angewandtes Recht reaktiviert. Den Durchbruch verdankt das Stiftungswesen in der Region aber der Initiative des ungarischstämmigen Amerikaners George Soros, der als Schüler des Philosophen Karl Popper eine offene Gesellschaft als unabdingbar für die Transformation der politischen Kultur ansah. Beginnend 1988 in Ungarn, gründete Soros in den 1990er-Jahren in mehreren Ländern der Region „Open Society Foundations“ und stattete sie mit erheblichen Mitteln aus. Zu ihren Zielen gehören die politische Bildung und die Förderung der Zivilgesellschaft.

Andere US-amerikanische und europäische Stiftungen legten nach 1990 besondere Förderprogramme für Mittel- und Osteuropa auf. Stipendien für junge Akademiker, wie die der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung, oder Austauschprogramme der Charles Stewart Mott Foundation ermöglichten Studienaufenthalte im Westen. Das 1989 gegründete Europäische Stiftungszentrum (EFC) versuchte mit einigem Erfolg, die Transformationsprozesse mit der Entwicklung einer Stiftungskultur zu verbinden. Doch blieb diese in den Augen vieler Bürger zunächst ein Fremdkörper. Der Versuch einer Verankerung war die Gründung der Stiftung für Deutsch-Polnische Zusammenarbeit (SDPZ) mit Sitz in Warschau 1991. Sie entstand mit der Zusage der deutschen Regierung, einen Großteil der polnischen Devisen-Schulden zur Förderung von Versöhnungs- und Kooperationsprojekten verwenden zu dürfen.

Aufbau einer unabhängigen Zivilgesellschaft

Die Tschechische Republik ging deutlich darüber hinaus, indem ein großer Teil der Erlöse aus der Privatisierung staatlicher Unternehmen einem Stiftungs-Investitions-Fonds überwiesen wurde, der half, die Kapitalbasis neuer Stiftungen zu stärken. Entscheidend war die von Václav Havel, dem ersten Staatspräsidenten der Tschechischen Republik, immer wieder erhobene Forderung, dass es in der historischen Situation der Transformation eine Pflicht des Staates sei, den Aufbau einer unabhängigen Zivilgesellschaft voranzutreiben.

Dass private Mittel auf absehbare Zeit nicht ausreichen würden, war offenkundig. Doch wurden in fast allen Ländern Mittel- und Osteuropas in den 1990er-Jahren gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen unter modernen zivilgesellschaftlichen Prämissen geschaffen. Dafür hörte man Experten an und verglich westliche Beispiele. Zwar machte man sich zunächst in der Regel ein enges, US-amerikanisches Stiftungsverständnis im Sinne reiner Fördertätigkeit zu eigen. Auch lebten in den Verwaltungen häufig obrigkeitsstaatliche Denkmuster fort. Mit zivilgesellschaftlich orientiertem politischem Willen wurden diese Schwierigkeiten jedoch überwunden. Vorbildliche Datenbanken, beispielsweise die der polnischen Organisation Klon/Jawor zu Nicht-Regierungsorganisationen, und Stiftungsverzeichnisse förderten zusätzlich den Aufbau.

Obwohl es in seiner Größe nach wie vor nicht vergleichbar ist, hat das Stiftungswesen in allen Ländern Mittel- und Osteuropas wieder Fuß gefasst. Es stellt sich heute den gleichen politischen und wirtschaftlichen Herausforderungen wie das Stiftungswesen in Westeuropa.