Menahem Pressler Music as a spiritual treasure

Concert pianist Menahem Pressler
Concert pianist Menahem Pressler | Photo (detail): © Menahem Pressler

The joys and sorrows of his life as a musician are closely associated with Germany. Menahem Pressler looks back over his 70-year career as a pianist.

He is the world’s longest-serving and most amiable concert pianist. In December 2013 he celebrated his 90th birthday, and the CD he released that same year is called simply Schubert – Mozart – Beethoven. Menahem Pressler has always had a special relationship to those three composers, already during the decades of the famous Beaux Arts Trio which he founded in 1955 and led until 2008, and then particularly so during his late solo career – the second in his long life as a musician. After all, it was as a soloist that he had his first international breakthrough. The fact that he is touring again on his own seems to be a source of considerable delight for Pressler.

Boundless delight in music

His master classes are also in great demand because as a teacher he takes them very seriously. It can be somewhat perturbing for the one or other student when the nice old gentleman suddenly becomes a strict taskmaster. And sometimes Pressler can also be very direct in formulating his judgement, especially when persuasion does not seem to be doing the job. In Switzerland in 2013 it was possible to experience him in that capacity: during the Verbier Festival there he rehearsed and gave concerts with young musicians, full of passion and with a sheer boundless delight in music. Pressler’s strictness in his treatment of music and young musicians, however, stems not from any self-righteousness disguised as pedagogics, but rather from his unconditional devotion to the great works of music.

Menahem Pressler plays Mozart’s concerto for piano and orchestra No. 17 in G Major, Seoul Arts Center Music Hall, 2012

That kind of thing is not popular anymore. Yet one of the basic presuppositions of a musician like Menahem Pressler is to approach a work with humility and to preserve this attitude, even when he feels he has mastered the work perfectly. It almost causes him physical discomfort to hear or read about young musicians attempting to place their own artistry above the composer’s by summing up a composers’ supposed intentions. That would be inconceivable for Pressler. He adheres to the line of a European tradition from which even life’s worst detours could not tempt him to stray. That tradition and that understanding of music, which have become ever more deeply ingrained in his own consciousness and subconsciousness over the course of his life, represent an indestructible treasure which he once discovered as a child and has always carried within him since. For a German, it is almost embarrassing to hear the rapture and gratitude in Menahem Pressler’s voice when he speaks about German Classicism and Romanticism – about the country where his gods of music reside.

Consolation in music

This is not something to be taken for granted, on the contrary. Pressler spent his early years in Magdeburg, from his birth on 16 December 1923 to his flight in 1939. He was 15 years old when it became evident that the Jewish Pressler family could no longer remain in Nazi Germany. For a long time his mother had resisted emigration: first they missed the train to Triest, from where they were to travel on by ship to Israel; then they somehow managed to get there. The family of merchants was very attached to Magdeburg. “My uncles and aunts were then burnt in Auschwitz,” Pressler says dryly. He must say it that way in order to distance himself from the horror, a horror that he refuses to let destroy his life. And music has helped him in this, consoling him when consolation proffered by people reached its limits. At the latest since 1946, when he won the Debussy competition in San Francisco, music has been so much more to him: his private dream became a public life as an artist, that has continued uninterrupted to today.

Always close to the work

Pressler has never been abandoned by his gods. When one listens to the rarely performed Piano Sonata in G Major by Franz Schubert recorded by Pressler in May 2013 one gets some impression of what it still means to this pianist to play that particular work as if he were doing so for the first time. Independent of the fashions of the day and above and beyond pure virtuoso performance, Pressler always remains close to the work, and ultimately to the composer as well, and to that cultural realm to which he owes both joy and sorrow.

Even after emigrating to Israel, Pressler continued to speak the German language, and his Israeli wife learned German. They spoke German with their children, read Heine and Goethe, played Schubert and Ludwig van Beethoven. “I understand the people who were unable to do that after Auschwitz,” says Pressler. “But for me that land of culture always existed, and I have never let it be taken from me, and have preserved it to this very day.” Pressler has not just preserved this musical treasure for himself, he has shared it with the world – and continues to do so. When he plays Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Rondo in A Minor, which has been plunked away at so many piano competitions, it sounds just like what it is: a minor revelation, a simple salvation, unhoped-for and also a little beyond belief.

Menahem Pressler Musik als Seelenschatz

Der Konzertpianist Menahem Pressler
Der Konzertpianist Menahem Pressler | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Menahem Pressler

Glück und Leid seines Musikerlebens sind eng mit Deutschland verbunden. Menahem Pressler blickt auf eine mehr als 70 Jahre anhaltende Ausnahmekarriere am Piano zurück.

Er ist der dienstälteste und liebenswerteste Konzertpianist der Welt. 90 Jahre alt wurde er im Dezember 2013, und seine im selben Jahr erschienene CD heißt schlicht Schubert – Mozart – Beethoven. Menahem Pressler hatte immer eine ganz besondere Beziehung zu diesen drei Komponisten, schon in den Jahrzehnten des 1955 von ihm gegründeten und bis 2008 geleiteten legendären Beaux-Arts-Trios, erst recht aber nun in seiner späten Solokarriere. Es ist seine zweite in seinem langen Musikerleben, denn seinen internationalen Durchbruch erreichte er schließlich auch als Solist. Dass er jetzt wieder alleine unterwegs ist, scheint Pressler großes Vergnügen zu bereiten.

Unbändige Freude an der Musik

Auch seine Meisterkurse sind gefragt, weil er darin sehr ernsthaft unterrichtet. Für manche Studenten ist das irritierend, wenn aus dem netten alten Herrn plötzlich ein recht gestrenger Meister wird. Pressler kann sein Urteil auch mal sehr direkt formulieren, wenn gutes Zureden nicht hilft. In der Schweiz konnte man ihn 2013 so engagiert erleben: Dort probte und konzertierte er zusammen mit jungen Musikern während des Verbier Klassik-Festivals voller Leidenschaft und mit schier unbändiger Freude an der Musik. Die Strenge im Umgang mit der Musik und jungen Musikern kommt bei Menahem Pressler aber weniger aus pädagogisch verbrämter Rechthaberei als vielmehr aus der unbedingten Hingabe an die großen Werke der Musikgeschichte.

Menahem Pressler spielt Mozarts Konzert für Klavier und Orchester Nr. 17 G-Dur, Seoul Arts Center Music Hall, 2012

Es ist nicht mehr populär, so zu denken. Aber für Menahem Pressler gehört es zu den Grundvoraussetzungen eines Musikers, sich einem Werk in Demut zu nähern und diese Haltung auch dann zu bewahren, wenn er glaubt, es perfekt zu beherrschen. Es bereitet ihm fast körperlichen Schmerz, wenn er von jungen Musikern hört oder liest, die ihr eigenes Künstlertum über die Komponisten stellen wollen, indem sie über vermeintliche Absichten der Komponisten resümieren. Für Pressler undenkbar. Er bewegt sich geradlinig in einer europäischen Tradition, von der ihn selbst die schlimmsten Lebensumwege nicht abbringen konnten. Diese Tradition und dieses Musikverständnis, das sich im Laufe eines Musikerlebens immer tiefer ins eigene Bewusstsein und Unterbewusstsein eingräbt, ist ein unzerstörbarer Schatz, den man schon als Kind entdeckt und immer bei sich trägt. Für einen Deutschen ist es fast beschämend, mit welcher Glückseligkeit und Dankbarkeit Menahem Pressler über die deutsche Klassik und Romantik spricht – über das Land, wo seine Musik-Götter wohnen.

Trost in der Musik

Das ist nicht selbstverständlich, im Gegenteil. Die ersten Jahre, von seiner Geburt am 16. Dezember 1923 bis zur Flucht 1939 verbrachte er in Magdeburg. 15 Jahre war er alt, als für die jüdische Familie Pressler kein Bleiben mehr war im nationalsozialistischen Deutschland. Die Mutter hatte sich lange gegen die Auswanderung gesträubt; man verpasste zunächst den geplanten Zug nach Triest, wo es mit dem Schiff nach Israel gehen sollte, schaffte es dann aber gerade noch irgendwie. Die Kaufmannsfamilie hing an der Heimat Magdeburg. „Die Onkel und Tanten verbrannten dann in Auschwitz“, sagt Pressler trocken. Er muss das so sagen, weil er sich distanzieren will von dem Grauen, weil er sich sein Leben davon nicht zerstören lassen wollte. Auch dabei half ihm die Musik, die dann tröstete, wenn Menschentrost an Grenzen kam. Spätestens seit 1946, als er den Debussy-Wettbewerb von San Francisco gewann, war die Musik aber noch viel mehr: Da wurde aus dem privaten Traum ein öffentliches Künstlerleben, das ungebrochen bis heute andauert.

Immer nah am Werk

Seine Götter haben Pressler dabei nie verlassen. Wenn man Franz Schuberts selten gespielte G-Dur-Sonate in der Aufnahme vom Mai 2013 hört, so kann man einen ungefähren Eindruck davon bekommen, was es dem Pianisten noch heute bedeutet, dieses Werk so zu spielen, als sei es das erste Mal. Unabhängig von den Moden der Zeit, jenseits des reinen Virtuosentums ist Pressler immer ganz nah am Werk, am Ende auch beim Komponisten und an jenem Kulturraum, dem er Glück und Leid verdankt.

Selbst nach seiner Auswanderung nach Israel pflegte er die deutsche Sprache, auch seine israelische Frau lernte Deutsch. Sie sprachen es mit den Kindern, lasen Heine und Goethe, spielten Schubert und Ludwig van Beethoven. „Ich verstehe die Menschen, die das nach Auschwitz nicht mehr konnten“, sagt Pressler. „Aber für mich gab es immer dieses Land der Kultur, und ich habe mir das nie nehmen lassen und bis heute bewahrt.“ Pressler hat diesen Seelenschatz der Musik nicht nur für sich bewahrt, er hat ihn mit der Welt geteilt – und er tut es noch immer. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozarts a-Moll-Rondo, auf vielen Klavierwettbewerben zu Schanden geklimpert, klingt bei ihm als das, was es ist: eine kleine menschliche Offenbarung, eine schlichte Erlösung, unverhofft und auch ein bisschen unbegreiflich.