Peace Prize for Jaron Lanier “He has a global concern”

Jaron Lanier
Jaron Lanier | Photo (detail): © 2013, insightfoto.com

The Peace Prize of the German Book Trade went in 2014 to the internet theorist Jaron Lanier. An interview with Heinrich Riethmüller, head of the Association of German Booksellers and Publishers, which awards the prize.

Mr. Riethmüller, the computer scientist, musician and internet pioneer Jaron Lanier received the Peace Prize of the Association of German Booksellers and Publishers in 2014. Why him?

You might well ask, because Jaron Lanier hasn’t distinguished himself by a vast set of works, as have most previous Peace Prize laureates. They have generally been writers, philosophers and scientists who can look back on a lifetime of achievement. Lanier, on the other hand, has written only two books. But he’s drawn attention to the dangers that threaten us in the digital world with particular urgency, insightfulness and critical acumen. He thus has a global concern. The other winners of recent years have called for peace, freedom and democracy beginning from problems in their own countries. Lanier’s approach, on the other hand, is transnational.

The jury’s statement declares that Lanier has recognized “the risks concealed in the digital world for the free way of life of each and every human being”. What risks are these exactly?

One example that Lanier mentions: in the United States it’s now possible to insure yourself decently only if you’re healthy. There’s plenty of data available about people and the insurance companies decide whom and in what circumstances they’ll accept as a member on the basis of this profile. These connections are not transparent to the internet user; usually in perfectly good faith he leaves his traces on the internet. Lanier has therefore repeatedly emphasized that whoever has the biggest server and can collect and analyse the most data will rule the world and gain power over everyone.

“Specific proposals rather than one-sided criticism”

In his latest book Who Owns the Future?, Lanier calls for new business models for the internet and the strengthening of copyright. Where’s the peace message in this?

That alone of course isn’t a peace message. As an expert and specialist in the internet, Lanier isn’t a one-sided critic. He makes specific proposals, such as how the sharing of data and contents can be better organized so that not only big corporations profit from it. He suggests, for example, that everyone who puts information on the internet should be paid for it.

In the internet community, Lanier is a controversial figure – some fault his rejection of concepts such as Open Source and Open Data, others complain that he has put swarm intelligence in question.

When someone makes critical observations about the present, there will always be people who have a different point of view. This, by the way, was also the case with other laureates. With Lanier, the criticism came especially from the domain of the bloggers. Otherwise we were almost surprised at the considerable consensus which the award was met with.

“The issue of the NSA didn’t play a major role”

Part of the idea of the Peace Prize is to trigger social debates. Should we see Lanier’s prize as a comment on the NSA scandal?

No, not at all. That didn’t play a major role in the discussions of the foundation council. They were about an even bigger issue, the possibilities of comprehensive data storage. The NSA is of course part of this, but wasn’t the occasion for the award – then we would have had to give it to Edward Snowden.

Since the Peace Prize began being awarded in 1950, political focal points have emerged again and again. “Europe in Transition” was the keyword in the 1990s; then the issue of globalisation. Does Lanier signify the start of the decade in which internet critics will be honoured?

It is in fact a new issue that we’ve taken up. Once before we pointed the way; that was in the 1970s when we awarded the Peace Prize to the Club of Rome. In this case too we didn’t give the prize for a literary work, but for the indictment and the insight that this planet will be pillaged if we go on as we’ve been doing. The prize then triggered a major debate. We’ve now activated a similar stimulus, but this time in relation to the digital world.

Friedenspreis für Jaron Lanier „Er hat ein globales Anliegen“

Jaron Lanier
Jaron Lanier | Foto (Ausschnitt): © 2013, insightfoto.com

Der Friedenspreis des Deutschen Buchhandels 2014 geht an den Internettheoretiker Jaron Lanier. Ein Interview mit Heinrich Riethmüller, Vorstand des Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels, der die Auszeichnung vergibt.

Herr Riethmüller, der Informatiker, Musiker, Autor und Internetpionier Jaron Lanier erhält 2014 den Friedenspreis des Deutschen Buchhandels – warum ausgerechnet er?

Man kann diese Frage durchaus stellen, weil Jaron Lanier sich nicht gerade durch ein umfangreiches schriftstellerisches Werk auszeichnet, wie es bei früheren Friedenspreisträgern meist der Fall war. Das waren in der Regel Schriftsteller, Philosophen oder Wissenschaftler, die auf ein großes Lebenswerk zurückblicken konnten. Lanier hat dagegen erst zwei Bücher geschrieben. Doch er hat besonders eindringlich, erkenntnisreich und kritisch auf die Gefahren hingewiesen, die uns durch die digitale Welt drohen. Insofern hat er ein globales Anliegen. Die Preisträger der letzten Jahre haben – ausgehend von den Problemen in ihren Heimatländern – Frieden, Freiheit und Demokratie eingefordert. Sein Ansatz hingegen ist ein staatenübergreifender.

In der Begründung der Jury heißt es, Lanier habe erkannt, „welche Risiken die digitale Welt für die freie Lebensgestaltung eines jeden Menschen birgt“. Welche Risiken sind das genau?

Ein Bespiel, das Lanier nennt: In den USA kann man sich heute nur noch anständig versichern, wenn man gesund ist. Über die Menschen sind viele Daten verfügbar und anhand dieser Profile entscheiden die Versicherungen, wen sie unter welchen Umständen als Mitglied aufnehmen. Den Internet-Nutzern sind solche Zusammenhänge nicht klar, sie hinterlassen meist recht gutgläubig ihre Spuren im Netz. Lanier betont deshalb immer wieder: Wer die größten Server hat und die meisten Daten sammeln und auswerten kann, wird die Welt beherrschen und die Macht über die Menschen gewinnen. 

„Konkrete Vorschläge statt einseitiger Kritik“

In seinem aktuellen Buch „Wem gehört die Zukunft?“ fordert Lanier auch neue Geschäftsmodelle für das Internet und die Stärkung des Urheberrechts. Was ist daran die Friedensbotschaft?

Das allein ist natürlich keine Friedensbotschaft. Lanier ist als Kenner und Spezialist des Internets aber eben nicht nur ein einseitiger Kritiker. Er macht konkrete Vorschläge, wie man das Teilen von Daten und Inhalten besser organisieren kann, damit nicht nur große Konzerne davon profitieren. Er schlägt zum Beispiel vor, dass jeder, der Informationen ins Internet einstellt, dafür bezahlt wird.

In der Internetgemeinde ist Lanier umstritten – die einen bemängeln, dass er Konzepte wie Open Source und Open Data ablehnt, andere beklagen, dass er die Schwarmintelligenz in Frage stellt.

Wenn jemand kritische Anmerkungen zur Gegenwart macht, gibt es immer Menschen, die eine andere Sichtweise haben. Das war übrigens auch bei vielen anderen Preisträgern so. In diesem Fall kam die Kritik vor allem aus der Bloggerszene. Ansonsten waren wir fast überrascht, auf welch große Zustimmung die Preisvergabe gestoßen ist. 

„Das Thema NSA hat keine große Rolle gespielt“

Der Anspruch des Friedenspreises ist es, gesellschaftliche Debatten auszulösen. Darf man die Auszeichnung Laniers als Kommentar zum NSA-Skandal verstehen?

Nein, überhaupt nicht. Das hat bei den Gesprächen des Stiftungsrates keine große Rolle gespielt. Es ging uns um ein noch größeres Thema, um die Möglichkeiten umfassender Datenspeicherung. Das Thema NSA gehört natürlich dazu, es war aber nicht der Anlass – sonst hätten wir ja Edward Snowden auszeichnen müssen.

Seit der Friedenspreis 1950 das erste Mal verliehen wurde, haben sich immer wieder politische Schwerpunkte herauskristallisiert. „Europa im Umbruch“ war das Stichwort der 1990er-Jahre, es folgte das Thema Globalisierung. Beginnt mit Lanier jetzt das Jahrzehnt, in dem Sie Internetkritiker auszeichnen?

Es ist in der Tat ein neues Thema, das wir aufgreifen. Einmal haben wir ein ähnliches Zeichen gesetzt, das war in den 1970er-Jahren, als der Club of Rome mit dem Friedenspreis geehrt wurde. Auch da wurde kein schriftstellerisches Werk ausgezeichnet, sondern eine Anklage beziehungsweise die Erkenntnis, dass dieser Planet ausgeplündert wird, wenn wir weiter so wirtschaften, wie wir es bisher getan haben. Der Preis hat damals eine große Debatte ausgelöst. Einen ähnlichen Impuls haben wir jetzt gesetzt, aber eben auf die digitale Welt bezogen.