Dorothee Wierling in an interview When history can be experienced

Dorothee Wierling
Dorothee Wierling | © Bertold Fabricius

The online archive Europeana 1914–1918 collects personal reports from the time of the First World War. The historian Dorothee Wierling believes this approach is productive, but also problematic.

Mrs.Wierling, people are always particularly interested in history when it is narrated through individual fates, whether real or fictional. Why, for instance, can television series such as Holocaust have an impact that historians never could?

Because they offer the opportunity to put yourself in the place of someone else. An emotional engagement in war is more intense than a purely intellectual one. There are good reasons for historians to make use of this approach on occasion. Much that is presented separately in scholarship coalesces and yields a coherent picture when presented through people’s personal experience.

Was this desire for wholeness the reason that you chose a radically subjective perspective in your book Eine Familie im Krieg (ie. A Family in the War)?

There’s currently a plethora of literature on the First World War. It mainly emphasizes the military, political or cultural sides. But when you proceed from a family, for example, you can see how the military events, the political influences, the cultural background and personal feelings all work together. You better understand why people develop a certain stance in war. This is the insight that can be gained by such an approach.

“I’m bound to look at my sources critically”

Could you give an example?

I’ve reconstructed what the young war volunteer in my book was reading between 1914 and 1918. Based on how he commented on his reading in his letters, I can sketch a much denser picture of what literature signifies in war, apart from the runs of certain books. But I don’t set forth any theses or offer any generalisations. I simply tell a story, even if these people actually lived.

Do historians accept this approach?

I’m certainly moving outside the approaches dominate in historical scholarship. There are historians who would reject my approach as “soft history”. It’s true of course that there’s a certain emotional appeal and opportunity for identification in my book. But at the same time, as a scholar, I’m bound to look at my sources critically.

The approach based on the history of everyday life has proven very popular in the commemorative year 2014; the big online archive Europeana 1914–1918 also rests on it. How do you see this project?

I think it’s very commendable, because it democratises access to history. But such archives have their own problems. They make a promise of authenticity which they can’t keep. Many users see the pictures and diaries and think this gives them an immediate access to the experience of the historical person.

“A huge data reservoir that in and of itself has neither rhyme nor reason”

Isn’t the user being underestimated when we think he believes that this is an objective insight?

We should simply be aware of the fact that we have here to do with a huge data reservoir that in and of itself has neither rhyme nor reason. Significance emerges only with the necessarily selective use by the individual. There’s nothing to object to about this; my point is only that if an historian is going to use evidence from everyday life – and of course such an online archive can be useful for this – he has an additional task, namely that of scholarly interpretation.

Europeana 1914–1918 takes a trans-national approach. Has commemoration been dominated so far by a national point of view?

Absolutely; I notice this very markedly during my research stay in London. Since the first half of 2014 in Great Britain there’s been a downright media overkill with respect to the First World War. Coverage focuses on the positive achievement, the spirit of sacrifice and the ingenuity of ordinary people. In Germany, on the other hand, coverage emphasizes the suffering, the hardship, the dying. The main message is that war is something terrible and should be avoided. But alongside these different national narratives, I see another, one more trans-national.

In what way?

Amongst the European states today there is a strong discourse of reconciliation. Ideas of hereditary enmity and resentments having to do with the war are almost totally extinct. In the presentations of the war here in Great Britain, for example, there isn’t any anti-German tone – the former enemy is now almost depersonalised. And historical scholarship too has experienced a development towards a trans-national point of view. In Germany, young historians now treat more and more the global aspects of German history.
 

Dorothee Wierling is Deputy Director of the Research Centre for Contemporary History in Hamburg (Forschungsstelle für Zeitgeschichte) and professor at the local university. Her research interests are the social history and history of mentalities of the late nineteenth and the twentieth centuries. She has worked intensely on “oral history” and the use of personal memories as historical sources. As Gerda Henkel Guest Professor in 2013/2014, Wierling is doing research at the German Historical Institute (Deutsches Historisches Institut) in London and teaching at the London School of Economics.

Dorothee Wierling im Gespräch Wenn Geschichte erlebbar wird

Dorothee Wierling
Dorothee Wierling | © Bertold Fabricius

Das Online-Archiv Europeana 1914–1918 sammelt persönliche Zeugnisse aus der Zeit des Ersten Weltkriegs. Die Historikerin Dorothee Wierling hält diesen Ansatz für gewinnbringend, aber auch problematisch.

Frau Wierling, Menschen interessieren sich immer dann besonders für Geschichte, wenn sie anhand von individuellen Schicksalen erzählt wird – seien sie real oder fiktiv. Warum können etwa Fernsehserien wie „Holocaust“ bewirken, was Historiker niemals schaffen?

Weil Einzelschicksale die Möglichkeit bieten, sich in jemanden hineinzudenken. Eine emotionale Beschäftigung mit dem Krieg ist intensiver als eine rein intellektuelle. Es gibt gute Gründe dafür, diesen Ansatz auch als Historiker gelegentlich zu nutzen. Vieles, was in der Wissenschaft getrennt voneinander dargestellt wird, ergibt als persönliche Erfahrung von Menschen ein zusammenhängendes Bild.

War dieser Wunsch nach Ganzheitlichkeit auch der Grund dafür, dass Sie bei Ihrem Buch „Eine Familie im Krieg“ eine radikal subjektive Perspektive gewählt haben?

Derzeit gibt es eine Fülle von Literatur über den Ersten Weltkrieg. Die Darstellungen betonen meistens entweder dessen militärische, politische oder kulturelle Seite. Wenn man aber zum Beispiel eine Familie ins Zentrum der Darstellung rückt, kann man deutlich machen, wie die militärischen Ereignisse, die politischen Einflüsse, die kulturelle Prägung und die persönlichen Gefühle zusammenwirken. Man versteht besser, warum Menschen im Krieg eine bestimmte Haltung entwickeln. Darin liegt der Erkenntnisgewinn eines solchen Zugangs.

„Ich bin gehalten, meine Quellen kritisch zu sehen“

Können Sie ein Beispiel nennen?

Ich habe lückenlos rekonstruiert, was der junge Kriegsfreiwillige aus meinem Buch zwischen 1914 und 1918 gelesen hat. An der Art, wie er in seinen Briefen diese Lektüre kommentiert, kann ich ein viel dichteres Bild davon entwerfen, was Literatur im Krieg bedeutete, jenseits von Auflagen bestimmter Bücher. Ich stelle aber keine Thesen auf, biete keine Verallgemeinerungen an. Ich erzähle eigentlich selbst eine Geschichte, auch wenn diese Personen tatsächlich gelebt haben.

Ist diese Herangehensweise unter Historikern akzeptiert?

Ich bewege mich damit sicherlich außerhalb der dominierenden Ansätze der Geschichtswissenschaft. Es gibt Historiker, die das als „weiche Geschichte“ ablehnen. Natürlich findet auch in meinem Buch eine gewisse Emotionalisierung und Identifikation statt. Als Wissenschaftlerin bin ich aber gleichzeitig gehalten, meine Quellen kritisch zu hinterfragen.

Der alltagsgeschichtliche Ansatz ist im Gedenkjahr 2014 sehr populär, auch das Online-Archiv Europeana 1914–1918 fußt darauf. Wie ordnen Sie dieses Projekt ein?

Ich halte es für sehr lobenswert, weil es eine Demokratisierung des Zugangs zu historischen Quellen bedeutet. Solche Archive bringen aber auch Probleme mit sich. Sie geben ein Authentizitätsversprechen, das nicht einzuhalten ist. Viele Nutzer sehen sich Bilder oder Tagebücher an und denken, sie hätten einen unmittelbaren Zugang zu den Erfahrungen der jeweiligen Person.

„Riesige Datenmengen, die allein noch keinen Sinn ergeben“

Unterschätzt man die Nutzer nicht, wenn man glaubt, sie hielten das für einen objektiven Einblick?

Man sollte sich einfach der Tatsache bewusst sein, dass wir es hier mit einer riesigen Datenmenge zu tun haben, die für sich genommen noch keinen Sinn ergibt. Die Bedeutung entsteht erst mit der notwendigerweise selektiven Nutzung durch den Einzelnen. Dagegen ist nichts einzuwenden, ich will nur sagen: Wenn Historiker sich mit Alltagszeugnissen beschäftigen – und natürlich kann ein solches Online-Archiv auch für sie nützlich sein – haben sie noch eine zusätzliche Aufgabe, nämlich die der wissenschaftlichen Interpretation.

Europeana 1914–1918 verfolgt einen transnationalen Ansatz. Ist Erinnerung bislang national geprägt?

Unbedingt, das habe ich bei einem Gastaufenthalt in London ganz deutlich gemerkt. In Großbritannien gab es schon in der ersten Jahreshälfte 2014 eine sehr große Medienaufmerksamkeit zum Thema Erster Weltkrieg. In England stehen häufig die positive Leistung, die Opferbereitschaft und der Erfindungsreichtum der einfachen Menschen im Vordergrund. In Deutschland betont man dagegen das Leid, die Not, das Sterben. Die wichtigste Botschaft lautet, dass Krieg etwas Schreckliches ist und vermieden werden sollte. Neben diesen unterschiedlichen nationalen Narrativen sehe ich aber auch ein anderes, eher transnationales Narrativ.

Inwiefern?

Zwischen den europäischen Staaten gibt es heute einen starken Versöhnungsdiskurs. Erbfeindschaft oder Ressentiments, die mit dem Krieg zu tun haben, sind fast überhaupt nicht mehr vorhanden. In den Kriegsdarstellungen in Großbritannien etwa herrscht kein antideutscher Ton. Und auch die Geschichtswissenschaft erlebt eine Entwicklung hin zu einer transnationalen Sichtweise. In Deutschland befassen sich jüngere Historiker inzwischen viel stärker mit den globalen Aspekten deutscher Geschichte.
 

Dorothee Wierling ist stellvertretende Direktorin der Forschungsstelle für Zeitgeschichte in Hamburg und Professorin an der dortigen Universität. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte sind die Sozial- und Mentalitätsgeschichte des späten 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts. Sie hat sich intensiv mit Oral History und persönlichen Erinnerungen als historische Quelle befasst. Als Gerda-Henkel-Gastprofessorin forscht Wierling 2013/2014 am Deutschen Historischen Institut in London und lehrt an der London School of Economics.