German Unification The Thalbachs – a German-German Theatre Family

Anna, Katharina and Nellie Thalbach (from l. to r.);
Anna, Katharina and Nellie Thalbach (from l. to r.); | Photo (detail): © Michael Petersohn

East Berlin plays a major role in the life of Katharina Thalbach. Her great stage career began there, and her daughter Anna was born there. Today the two women work together – and the next generation is also involved.

It’s really very simple, Katharina Thalbach says, when someone asks her about her complicated family story. There’s just one thing you need to know: “We are all Berliners, or to put it even more precisely, East Berliners.”

The person saying this is from one of Germany’s best known theatre families. Her father, Benno Besson, came to Berlin from Switzerland in 1949 at the invitation of Bertolt Brecht. Initially the actor and director worked at the Berliner Ensemble, where he got to know the actress Sabine Thalbach. Today their daughter Katharina, born 1954, is regarded as the Grande Dame of German theatre. The list of prizes she has been awarded for her stage and film performances is long. Her daughter Anna Thalbach, born 1973, is also very successful. Mother and daughter look very alike, with their slight build and big blue eyes, so they often play relatives or else portray the same figures at different stages in their life. Recently, grand-daughter Nellie, Anna’s daughter, is also to be seen on stage. And then there are Katharina’s half-brothers, Pierre Besson, actor, and Philippe Besson, director.

Joint appearance at the Theater am Kurfürstendamm

Benno Besson, the family’s “Urvater” who died in 2006, would probably be very satisfied with what his descendants staged at the Theater am Kurfürstendamm in 2014, namely, Roter Hahn im Biberpelz based on a work by Gerhart Hauptmann. The play was directed by Philippe, while the other family members performed on stage. The reason they wanted to put on a piece by Hauptmann was because they could then really speak their Berlin dialect, said Katharina Thalbach. She has cultivated the Berlin vernacular with great conviction since moving to West Berlin in 1976, out of love for Thomas Brasch, her partner of many years.

Katharina Thalbach’s father, Benno Besson, went to the GDR voluntarily, buoyed by the hope of a better social system. Brecht’s Berliner Ensemble was Thalbach’s nursery, with her father as a director there and her mother an actress. When Sabine Thalbach died in 1966, Katharina, who was twelve years old at the time, suddenly stopped growing. She wanted to move to her grandmother in the West, but she was not given a permit to leave.

Thalbach grew up with foster parents, while Bertolt Brecht’s widow, Helene Weigel, ensured that she received training as an actress. At the celebrations marking Weigel’s 70th birthday, Katharina Thalbach made the acquaintance of the writer Thomas Brasch. One year later, when the singer Wolf Biermann was expatriated from the GDR “because of serious violations of his civic duties”, many of his artist-colleagues protested, thereby incurring the displeasure of the regime. Subsequently Brasch and Thalbach also left the GDR. “We didn’t want to go, but we had no choice.” They fled by night to Thalbach’s grandmother, whom she had not been allowed to move to as a child. The West they found themselves in had become alien to them.

Katharina’s daughter Anna was three at the time. She began acting at the age of six. Brasch was more or less a father to her. He died in 2001, but he remains a great presence in the family. In 2013 mother and daughter did a joint reading of his poems – at the Berliner Ensemble, where else?

Criticism of statements made about the GDR

Does Katharina Thalback really still see herself today as an East Berliner, after all these years? “Not really,” she says. “I feel much more at home meantime in West Berlin than in the eastern part of the city.” She was severely criticised for publicly stating once that she was glad to have been in the “GDR experiment”. She has felt forced to repeatedly explain her relationship to the GDR. She certainly did not wish to whitewash anything. “I have always said that I’m very glad that I left.”

As for her audience, it is of very little importance to them – 25 years after German reunification – whether Thalbach performs at the Berlin Ensemble in the eastern part of the city or at the Theater am Kurfürstendamm in the heart of the western part. In 2014 she celebrated her 60th birthday there – with the Hauptmann play as part of the family festival. Privately, she also has her roots in the west, as she lives in the Charlottenburg district. Anna and Nellie live on Prenzlauer Berg in the former eastern part of the city. The current Prenzlauer scene however has very little to do with the East Berlin of the past.

Nellie was born in 1995, six years after the fall of the Berlin Wall, so she did not experience the GDR. Roter Hahn im Biberpelz is the not the first play in which mother and grandmother have performed together. They were also on stage together in the comedy Raub der Sabinerinnen. No one is forcing Nellie to be an actress, according to her mother Anna. Nellie is simply growing into it, like she herself did. Little wonder in such a family!

Deutsche Einheit Die Thalbachs – eine deutsch-deutsche Theaterfamilie

Anna, Katharina und Nellie Thalbach (v.l.);
Anna, Katharina und Nellie Thalbach (v.l.); | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Michael Petersohn

Ost-Berlin spielt eine wichtige Rolle im Leben von Katharina Thalbach. Dort begann ihre große Bühnenkarriere, dort kam Tochter Anna zur Welt. Heute arbeiten die beiden zusammen – und auch die nächste Generation ist dabei.

Eigentlich sei es ganz einfach, antwortet Katharina Thalbach, wenn jemand nach ihrer komplizierten Familiengeschichte fragt. Nur eines müsse man wissen: „Wir sind alle Berliner. Und zwar Ost-Berliner, wenn man es genau nimmt.“

Die Frau, die das sagt, stammt aus einer der bekanntesten Theaterfamilien Deutschlands. Ihr Vater Benno Besson war 1949 auf Einladung Bertolt Brechts aus der Schweiz nach Berlin gekommen. Der Schauspieler und Regisseur arbeitete zunächst am Berliner Ensemble, dort lernte er die Schauspielerin Sabine Thalbach kennen. Ihre gemeinsame Tochter Katharina, geboren 1954, gilt heute als Grande Dame des deutschen Schauspiels. Die Liste der Preise, die sie für ihre Auftritte auf Bühnen und vor der Kamera gewonnen hat, ist lang. Höchst erfolgreich ist auch ihre Tochter Anna Thalbach, Jahrgang 1973. Mit der zierlichen Figur und den großen blauen Augen sehen Mutter und Tochter sich so ähnlich, dass sie häufig Verwandte spielen, oder dieselbe Figur in verschiedenen Lebensphasen. Neuerdings ist auf der Bühne auch Enkelin Nellie, Annas Tochter, dabei. Und dann gibt es noch Katharinas Halbbrüder: Pierre Besson, Schauspieler, und Philippe Besson, Regisseur.

Gemeinsamer Auftritt im Theater am Kurfürstendamm

Benno Besson, dem 2006 verstorbenen „Urvater“ dieser Familie, hätte vermutlich gut gefallen, was seine Nachkommen 2014 im Theater am Kurfürstendamm auf die Bühne gebracht haben: Roter Hahn im Biberpelz, nach einem Werk Gerhart Hauptmanns. Die Inszenierung übernahm Philippe, die anderen Familienmitglieder traten auf. Ein Stück von Hauptmann wollten sie spielen, weil man da so schön „berlinern“ könne, sagt Katharina Thalbach. Die Mundart der Stadt pflegt sie mit noch größerer Überzeugung, seit sie 1976 aus Liebe zu ihrem langjährigen Partner Thomas Brasch nach West-Berlin übersiedelte.

Katharina Thalbachs Vater Benno Besson war seinerzeit freiwillig in die DDR gegangen, getragen von der Hoffnung auf ein besseres Gesellschaftssystem. Brechts Berliner Ensemble wurde Thalbachs Kinderstube, mit dem Vater als Regisseur und der Mutter als Schauspielerin. Als Sabine Thalbach 1966 starb, hörte Katharina, damals zwölf Jahre alt, plötzlich auf zu wachsen. Sie wollte wegziehen, zur Großmutter in den Westen. Doch man ließ sie nicht, die Ausreise wurde verweigert.

Thalbach wuchs bei Pflegeeltern auf, Bertolt Brechts Witwe Helene Weigel kümmerte sich um ihre schauspielerische Ausbildung. Bei der Feier zu Weigels 70. Geburtstag lernte Thalbach den Schriftsteller Thomas Brasch kennen. Als einige Jahre später Liedermacher Wolf Biermann „wegen grober Verletzung der staatsbürgerlichen Pflichten“ aus der DDR ausgebürgert wurde, protestierten viele seiner Künstlerkollegen und zogen damit den Unmut des Regimes auf sich. Auch Brasch und Thalbach verließen in der Folge die DDR. „Wir sind nicht gerne gegangen, aber wir hatten keine Wahl.“ Sie flohen nachts, zu Thalbachs Großmutter, zu der sie damals nicht durfte, in den Westen, der ihnen fremd geworden war.

Katharinas Tochter Anna war zu jener Zeit drei Jahre alt. Mit sechs begann sie zu schauspielern. Brasch war für sie das, was einem Vater am nächsten kommt. Er starb 2001, doch in der Familie ist er nach wie vor präsent. 2013 lasen Mutter und Tochter gemeinsam aus seinen Gedichten – am Berliner Ensemble, wo sonst.

Kritik an Äußerungen zur DDR

Sieht Katharina Thalbach sich heute wirklich noch als Ost-Berlinerin, nach all den Jahren? Eigentlich nicht, sagt sie, „ich fühle mich in West-Berlin längst viel heimischer als im Ostteil der Stadt.“ Als sie einmal öffentlich sagte, sie sei froh, beim „Experiment DDR“ dabei gewesen zu sein, wurde sie heftig kritisiert. Wiederholt sah sie sich gezwungen, ihre Beziehung zur DDR zu erklären. Sie wolle nichts beschönigen. „Ich habe immer gesagt, dass ich sehr froh bin, dass ich dann gegangen bin.“

Für das Publikum spielt es – 25 Jahre nach der deutschen Wiedervereinigung – kaum mehr eine Rolle, ob „die Thalbach“ nun am Berliner Ensemble im Ostteil der Stadt auftritt oder tief im Westen, am Theater am Kurfürstendamm. Dort feierte sie 2014 ihren 60. Geburtstag – mit der Hauptmann-Inszenierung als Teil eines Familienfests. Auch privat ist sie heute im Westen verwurzelt, sie lebt im Stadtteil Charlottenburg. Anna und Nellie wohnen im Prenzlauer Berg im früheren Ostteil. Mit dem Osten von damals hat das heutige Szeneviertel allerdings wenig zu tun.

Nellie hat die DDR nicht mehr miterlebt, sie kam erst 1995 zur Welt, sechs Jahre nach dem Mauerfall. Roter Hahn im Biberpelz war nicht die erste Inszenierung, in der sie gemeinsam mit Mutter und Großmutter auftrat. Auch in der Komödie Raub der Sabinerinnen standen sie schon zusammen auf der Bühne. Niemand dränge Nellie, Schauspielerin zu werden, sagt Mutter Anna. Genau wie sie selbst sei Nellie da einfach hineingewachsen. Kein Wunder, bei der Familie.