Luther Decade From Freedom to Music

Logo of the Luther Decade
“The Luther Decade is now really taking off,” says Stefan Rhein, Luther2017 office manager. The picture shows a detail of the logo of the event | Photo (detail): © Luther2017

As part of the Luther Decade, the build-up to the 500th anniversary of the Reformation in 2017 includes eight theme years. 2011’s theme was “freedom”, while 2012 was devoted to music. The topicality of Martin Luther ranges from controversial to highly sensual.

“Some Luther years have great public impact while others are more contemplative”, says Stefan Rhein, director of the Luther Memorials Foundation in Saxony-Anhalt and Luther2017 office manager. For him, the year 2011 with its “Freedom” theme clearly belongs in the latter category.

That said, it did feature a number of major events: in early March 2011, Germany’s Federal Foreign Office held a conference, inviting Protestants, Catholics and Moslems to speak on the subject of freedom. In June, at the German Protestant Kirchentag (i.e. church congress) in Dresden, the Luther Decade was presented at a forum jointly organized by church and state and by the tourism industry. In September, Pope Benedict XVI visited the monastery in Erfurt in which Luther lived – a visit that certainly would not have taken place if it were not for the Reformation decade. Generally, however, the theme year saw somewhat lower-key celebrations – in church parishes, at conferences and at writing workshops for schoolchildren.

Which freedom is meant?

Logo of the Luther decade Logo of the Luther decade | © Luther2017 Although freedom is one of Luther’s central tenets and remains an important issue today, giving Luther a modern relevance with respect to this theme has its problems, points out Robert Leicht, former editor-in-chief of German weekly Die Zeit and a longstanding member of protestant synods. In an article he wrote about the Luther Decade, he explained that Luther’s On the Freedom of a Christian – one of the reformer’s best-known treatises – by no means refers to the individual and political freedom of the Enlightenment age. Indeed Luther also wrote a treatise entitled De Servo Arbitrio (i.e. “On Unfree Will”) in which he vigorously opposes the early humanism of Erasmus of Rotterdam. All the same, the Luther Decade attempts, even on its website, to establish a link between the reformer’s intention and the freedom of conscience we enjoy today.

Gerhard Sauter, a theologian and Luther expert who published a theological anthropology in 2011, is somewhat sceptical about such efforts to give Luther topical relevance and about giving the Protestant Church the striking title of “Church of Freedom”: he believes this can be all too easily misinterpreted as mere freedom from traditions and obligations.

“Luther did not talk about the freedom a person has, but about a process of liberation that happens to him”, explains Sauter: “God frees man from his self-inflicted incurvatus in se, the state of being curved inward on himself, which is how Luther defines sin.” Man is not able to liberate himself from this egocentricity of his own accord. A modern scientist of all people – the philosopher and physicist Carl Friedrich von Weizsäcker – did not regard freedom as the reformer’s central insight but this recognition of man’s lack of freedom: an insight which holds a critical mirror up to the modern age.

Liberation from oneself and towards responsibility

Does today’s freedom of conscience have any basis in Luther? “Only to a certain extent”, says Professor Sauter. “When Luther, standing before the Diet of Worms, says: ‘Here I stand. I can do no other’, he is referring specifically to his conscience which is bound, obliged to the word of God.” That is also something which no church and no state could subjugate, however, which is why Sauter sees modern freedom of conscience and religion to some extent as being a consequence and side-effect of the Reformation: to be liberated by God, to believe and to devote oneself to one’s neighbour is the experience of freedom which Luther meant.

This devotion to one’s neighbour is also something which Stefan Rhein picks up. He believes it is legitimate to bring Luther’s understanding of freedom into the present day when it is a question of social responsibility. “Freedom also means taking responsibility for others and gives rise to social engagement. That is at once modern and good in a Lutheran sense”.

“Help, they’re all singing!”

Rhein expects much greater public resonance in 2012. “The Luther Decade is now really taking off”, he explains with great delight and stresses that the Reformation anniversary is now becoming more of a nationwide event rather than one celebrated only in Central Germany – music being the linking element.

The theme year began in Eisenach, a city in which both Luther and Johann Sebastian Bach worked. Leipzig is incorporating the 800-year anniversary of the Thomanerchor (the boys’ choir at the church of St. Thomas) into the theme year, organizing musical events all over Germany under the banner “366 plus 1”. Composition and band competitions will be held in a bid to encourage modern variations of Luther’s church music. “There will be both: high-brow culture and music to join in with”, says Stefan Rhein.

The Reformation itself was also a musical event. Luther played the lute and composed numerous songs. Singing in German became the trademark of the Reform movement – the Protestants protested in song. In Lemgo, for instance, this is allegedly what made Catholics realize that a congregation had converted to Lutheranism. “Help, they’re all singing!”, one of them shouted. The split in the church has now been overcome, at least in this respect – Catholics have long since adopted the Protestant custom of singing.

Luther-Dekade Von der Freiheit zur Musik

Logo der Luther-Dekade
„Die Lutherdekade bekommt jetzt Flügel“, sagt Stefan Rhein, Leiter der Geschäftsstelle Luther2017. Das Bild zeigt einen Ausschnitt des Logos der Veranstaltungsreihe | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Luther2017

In acht Themenjahren nähert sich die Lutherdekade dem 500. Reformationsjubiläum 2017 an. 2011 stand unter dem Leitbegriff „Freiheit“, 2012 widmete sich der Musik. Die Aktualität Martin Luthers zeigt sich dabei mal streitbar, mal sehr sinnlich.

„Es gibt öffentlichkeitswirksamere und nachdenkliche Lutherjahre“, sagt Stefan Rhein, Direktor der Luthergedenkstätten in Sachsen-Anhalt und Leiter der Geschäftsstelle Luther2017. Das Jahr 2011 mit seinem Motto „Freiheit“ rechnet er eindeutig der zweiten Gruppe zu.

Allerdings gab es einige große Ereignisse: Anfang März 2011 tagte das Auswärtige Amt in Wittenberg und lud protestantische, katholische und muslimische Referenten zum Thema Freiheit ein. Im Juni präsentierte sich die Lutherdekade auf dem evangelischen Kirchentag in Dresden mit einem gemeinsam von kirchlicher und staatlicher Seite und von der Tourismuswirtschaft gestalteten Forum. Im September besuchte Papst Benedikt XVI. das Kloster in Erfurt, in dem Luther gelebt hatte – ein Termin, der ohne die Reformations-Dekade sicher nicht zustande gekommen wäre. Aber meist fand das Themenjahr auf kleinerer Ebene statt: in Kirchengemeinden, auf Tagungen, bei Schreibwerkstätten für Schüler.

Welche Freiheit ist gemeint?

Logo der Lutherdekade Logo der Lutherdekade | © Luther2017 Obwohl Freiheit ein Grundwort Luthers und eines der Gegenwart ist, hat die Aktualisierung Luthers bei diesem Thema ihre Tücken. Darauf wies etwa Robert Leicht, früherer Chefredakteur der Wochenzeitung Die Zeit und langjähriges Mitglied evangelischer Synoden, hin. In einem Artikel zur Lutherdekade erklärte er, dass Luthers Freiheit eines Christenmenschen – eine Grundschrift des Reformators – keineswegs die individuelle und politische Freiheit der Aufklärung meine. Tatsächlich hat Luther auch eine Schrift Über den unfreien Willen verfasst, in der er sich heftig vom frühen Humanismus eines Erasmus von Rotterdam absetzte. Dennoch versucht die Lutherdekade schon auf ihren Internetseiten einen Bogen zu schlagen von der Intention des Reformators zur modernen Gewissensfreiheit.

Der Theologe Gerhard Sauter, ein Lutherkenner, der 2011 eine theologische Anthropologie veröffentlicht hat, ist eher skeptisch gegenüber solchen Aktualisierungen und auch gegenüber der plakativen Titulierung der evangelischen Kirche als „Kirche der Freiheit“: Das würde allzu leicht als bloße Freiheit von Traditionen und Bindungen missverstanden.

„Luther hat nicht von der Freiheit gesprochen, die ein Mensch hat, sondern von einer Befreiung, die ihm geschieht“, sagt Sauter: „Gott befreit den Menschen von einer selbstverschuldeten Verkrümmung in sich selbst, wie Luther die Sünde nennt.“ Aus sich selbst gelinge dem Menschen diese Befreiung aus seiner Egozentrik nicht. Ausgerechnet ein moderner Naturwissenschaftler, der Philosoph und Physiker Carl Friedrich von Weizsäcker, habe deshalb nicht die Freiheit, sondern diese Erkenntnis der Unfreiheit des Menschen für die zentrale Einsicht des Reformators gehalten: eine Einsicht, die der Moderne einen kritischen Spiegel vorhält.

Befreiung von sich selbst und zur Verantwortung

Kann sich die moderne Gewissensfreiheit auf Luther berufen? „Nur in gewisser Weise“, sagt Professor Sauter. „Wenn Luther vor dem Reichstag in Worms sagt: ‚Hier stehe ich, ich kann nicht anders‘, dann beruft er sich gerade auf sein an das Wort Gottes gebundene, verpflichtete Gewissen.“ Das könne allerdings auch keine Kirche und kein Staat bezwingen. Deshalb ist die moderne Gewissens- und Religionsfreiheit für Sauter gewissermaßen eine Folge und Nebenwirkung der Reformation: Von Gott befreit zu sein, zu glauben und sich dem Nächsten zuzuwenden, sei das Freiheitserlebnis, das Luther meinte.

Bei dieser Wendung zum Mitmenschen setzt auch Stefan Rhein an. Er hält die Aktualisierung von Luthers Freiheitsverständnis für legitim, wenn es um die soziale Verantwortung geht. „Freiheit ist auch Verantwortung für den anderen und führt zum sozialen Engagement. Das ist modern und gut lutherisch zugleich.“

„Hilfe, sie singen alle!“

2012 erwartet Rhein eine weitaus größere öffentliche Resonanz. „Die Lutherdekade bekommt jetzt Flügel“, freut er sich und weist vor allem darauf hin, dass das Reformationsjubiläum nun verstärkt von einem mitteldeutschen zu einem gesamtdeutschen Geschehen werde. Als Klammer dient das Thema der Musik.

Den Auftakt zum Themenjahr machte Eisenach, eine Stadt, in der sowohl Luther als auch Johann Sebastian Bach wirkten. Leipzig bringt das 800-jährige Bestehen des Thomanerchores in das Themenjahr ein. Unter dem Motto „366 plus 1“ werden musikalische Veranstaltungen quer durch die Republik organisiert. Es werden Kompositions- und Bandwettbewerbe ausgeschrieben, durch die Luthers Kirchenmusik modern variiert erklingen soll. „Es wird beides geben: Hochkultur und Mitmusizieren“, sagt Stefan Rhein.

Tatsächlich war die Reformation auch ein musikalisches Ereignis. Luther selbst spielte Laute und komponierte zahlreiche Lieder. Deutschsprachiger Gesang wurde zum Merkmal der reformatorischen Bewegung – die Protestanten protestierten singend. In Lemgo etwa sollen Katholiken den Übergang einer Gemeinde zum Luthertum daran erkannt haben. „Hilfe, sie singen alle!“, habe einer ausgerufen. Zumindest in dieser Hinsicht ist die Kirchenspaltung inzwischen überwunden: Die Katholiken singen längst mit.