Opinion piece Monika Hauser on solidarity

Solidarity
Solidarity | Photo: © ImagineGolf/iStock

Authors and representatives of public life write personal opinion pieces for goethe.de/kultur about a particular concept that influences their life. Women’s rights activist Monika Hauser believes that many people have lost sight of the fact that solidarity should be taken for granted in civil society.
 

I witnessed an impressive demonstration of solidarity when travelling in Northern Iraq. Kurds there opened their houses to the hundreds of thousands of people who were fleeing from the campaign of terror waged by the “Islamic State” and other rebel groups. There are many families in Dohuk that are not particularly well off themselves, already live in cramped conditions, yet are willing to put up numerous refugees in their houses or garages. Everyone is pulling together and showing solidarity with one another. We in prosperous Germany have taken in a similar number of refugees, but are supposedly already reaching the limits of our capacity. This contrast between the two societies is huge.
 
In my experience, women’s rights activists worldwide also show this kind of empathy and solidarity. They are no longer willing to accept the violence that their sisters are experiencing. Giving support is something they find very empowering, which in turn gives them great strength. It is therefore reasonable to conclude that solidarity does us good, too.

“Solidarity is not something we unlearn”

Monika Hauser Monika Hauser | Photo: © Lena Böhm/medica mondiale When the word solidarity is mentioned, I also think of the young people who came to Munich train station in 2015 to welcome the refugees. Sadly, many people have lost sight of the fact that we should support one another as a matter of course. After all, our first impulse when we see someone fall over is to help them up again. We do not unlearn this ability – I believe it is still there. But clearly many people no longer feel they have the necessary strength to act and to empower themselves – and thus to demonstrate solidarity.
 
The opposite of solidarity is egotism. Sticking with our topic of refugees: the Dublin II Regulation illustrates how Greece and Italy are being let down in an entirely egotistical fashion. As empathetic beings, we cannot accept what is happening in the Mediterranean. We must protest against this every day. By not doing so, we destroy something in ourselves. We urgently need to bring about a paradigm shift so that solidarity is held up as the civil society norm. We all feel this empathy in us, yet we act so often in a contrary manner.

“A sense of powerlessness”

People in difficult situations often seem to find it easier to show solidarity than we in the West do. Many of the questions and concerns that we have here in the West do not even exist in countries afflicted by misery and hardship. Despite a lack of structures – to accommodate refugees, for instance – people there have a different sense of confidence that all will work out. There is no easy answer to why this should be the case.
 
The failure to act certainly stems in part from fear, and such fears are greatly fuelled by those who benefit from such a policy. Many people do not see how neoliberal and global developments are interlinked. They then fall quickly into the fatalistic attitude of feeling they cannot change anything anyway. They feel a sense of powerlessness. A Congolese women’s rights activist in the heart of a war-torn region does not think about powerlessness – she simply acts. She supports the women who are fighting violence in her village and says to herself: “If I end up being killed as a result, that is just the way it is. At least my life as a feminist has a purpose. And there is no alternative in any case.”
 

Influenced by the Bosnian war, the gynaecologist Monika Hauser established an organization in 1993 to help women and girls who had been raped. This led to other organizations being founded – which today are independent – in Afghanistan, Kosovo, Albania, Liberia and – in cooperation with partners – in Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Rwanda, Uganda und Northern Iraq. Among other accolades, Hauser received the Right Livelihood Award for her efforts.

 
Authors and representatives of public life write personal opinion pieces for goethe.de/kultur about a particular concept that influences their life.

Poverty Photo (detail): © Svyatoslav Lypynskyy/Fotolia Christoph Butterwegge on poverty 
Poverty researcher Christoph Butterwegge believes that poverty comes about not despite but because of wealth.


Conceptualizing Photo (detail): © Svyatoslav Lypynskyy/Fotolia

Thomas Brussig on freedom
Thomas Brussig grew up in East Germany and believes that a free society does not automatically produce free individuals.

Meinung Monika Hauser über Solidarität

Solidarität
Solidarität | Foto: © ImagineGolf/iStock

Autoren und Vertreter des öffentlichen Lebens schreiben für goethe.de/kultur persönliche Beiträge über einen Begriff, der ihr Leben prägt. Die Frauenrechtsaktivistin Monika Hauser findet: Solidarität als zivilgesellschaftliche Selbstverständlichkeit ist vielen Menschen abhanden gekommen.
 

Bei meiner Reise in den Nordirak habe ich eine beeindruckende Solidarität erlebt. Die Kurden und Kurdinnen dort haben ihre Häuser für die Hunderttausenden Menschen geöffnet, die vor dem Terror des „Islamischen Staates“ und anderer Rebellengruppen geflohen sind. In Dohuk gibt es viele Familien, die selber nicht besonders wohlhabend sind, ohnehin beengt leben und dennoch zahlreiche Geflüchtete in ihrem Haus oder ihrer Garage wohnen lassen. Man rückt zusammen. Diese Menschen haben Solidarität gezeigt. Im reichen Deutschland haben wir ähnlich viele Flüchtlinge aufgenommen und stoßen vermeintlich schon an Grenzen. Dieser Gegensatz zwischen diesen beiden Gesellschaften ist enorm.
 
Empathie und Verbundenheit erlebe ich auch bei Frauenaktivistinnen weltweit. Sie wollen die Gewalt, die ihre Schwestern erleiden, nicht mehr akzeptieren. Dass sie Unterstützung geben, erleben sie als hohe Selbstwirksamkeit, die wiederum große Kraft spendet. Daraus könnte man den Schluss ziehen: Solidarität tut uns selbst gut.

„Solidarität verlernt man nicht“

Monika Hauser Monika Hauser | Foto: © Lena Böhm/medica mondiale Beim Stichwort Solidarität denke ich auch an die jungen Leute, die 2015 am Münchner Hauptbahnhof die Zufluchtsuchenden begrüßt haben. Diese Selbstverständlichkeit des Unterstützens ist leider vielen Menschen abhanden gekommen. Dabei ist doch unser erster Impuls, wenn jemand hinfällt, ihr oder ihm beim Aufstehen zu helfen. Wir verlernen diese Fähigkeit nicht – ich glaube, dass sie weiterhin da ist. Aber offenbar spüren viele Menschen nicht mehr die nötige Kraft, zu handeln und sich selbst zu ermächtigen – und damit solidarisch zu sein.
 
Das Gegenteil von Solidarität ist Egoismus. Um beim Thema Flüchtlinge zu bleiben: Die Dublin-II-Verordnung zeigt, wie Griechenland und Italien auf völlig egoistische Weise allein gelassen werden. Was im Mittelmeer passiert, können wir als empathische Wesen nicht akzeptieren. Wir müssen jeden Tag dagegen aufbegehren. Indem wir das nicht tun, zerstören wir etwas in uns selbst. Es muss ein Paradigmenwechsel her, damit Solidarität als zivilgesellschaftliche Normalität hochgehalten wird. Wir alle fühlen diese Empathie in uns und handeln doch so oft dagegen.

„Ein Gefühl der Ohnmacht“

Anscheinend fällt es Menschen in schwierigen Situationen oft leichter, solidarisch zu sein, als uns im Westen. Viele Fragen und Bedenken, die es im Westen gibt, existieren in den von Not betroffenen Ländern gar nicht. Trotz mangelnder Strukturen – etwa bei der Aufnahme von Geflüchteten – hat man dort eine andere Zuversicht. Warum das so ist, darauf gibt es keine einfachen Antworten.
 
Mangelndes Handeln hat sicher auch mit Ängsten zu tun. Diese Ängste werden stark geschürt von jenen, deren Politik sie nützen. Für viele sind die Zusammenhänge neoliberaler, globaler Entwicklungen nicht erkennbar. Dann geraten sie schnell in diese Fatalität von „Ich kann ja doch nichts ändern“. Sie fühlen sich ohnmächtig. Eine kongolesische Frauenaktivistin mitten im Kriegsgebiet dagegen denkt nicht über Ohnmacht nach, sie handelt einfach. Sie unterstützt die Frauen, die sich in ihrem Dorf gegen Gewalt engagieren, und sagt sich: „Wenn ich dafür umgebracht werde, dann ist es eben so. Immerhin hat mein Leben als Feministin einen Sinn. Eine Alternative dazu gibt es nicht.“
 

Unter dem Eindruck des Bosnienkrieges gründete die Gynäkologin Monika Hauser 1993 eine Hilfsorganisation für vergewaltigte Frauen und Mädchen. In der Folge entstanden weitere, heute selbständige Organisationen in Afghanistan, Kosovo, Albanien, Liberia und – in Kooperation mit Partnern – in Burundi, der Demokratischen Republik Kongo, Ruanda, Uganda und im Nordirak. Für ihr Engagement erhielt Hauser unter anderem den Alternativen Nobelpreis.

 
Autoren und Vertreter des öffentlichen Lebens schreiben für goethe.de/kultur persönliche Beiträge über einen Begriff, der ihr Leben prägt.

Armut Foto (Ausschnitt): © perfectlab/Fotolia

Christoph Butterwegge über Armut
Der Armutsforscher Christoph Butterwegge findet: Armut entsteht nicht trotz, sondern durch Reichtum.


 

Freiheit Foto (Ausschnitt): © Visions-AD/Fotolia

Thomas Brussig über Freiheit
Thomas Brussig wuchs in der DDR auf. Er findet: Eine freie Gesellschaft bringt nicht automatisch freie Menschen hervor.