A Culture of Remembrance Art to Keep the Memory Fresh

Schindlers List
Schindlers List | Photo (detail): © picture alliance / United Archives

World War II, National Socialism, Terror, Division and Reunification: Artists deal with German contemporary history and keep the memory alive. We present some of the works.

From the two world wars to a divided country – the 20th century was a time of great upheaval and change in Germany that left it deeply scared.  But the fall of the Nazi regime after the Second World War and German reunification in 1989 also gave rise to the Federal Republic of Germany we know today. These events shaped our national borders, laws and fundamental social values. And while there is widespread agreement that we must never forget, it is sometimes hard to figure out the best way to keep Germany’s collective memory alive. Films, books and monuments are a push in that direction, though not without stirring up some controversy along the way. We present some examples of works that have had a particular influence on the public debate and some of which are discussed in school.

  • <b>“Die Brücke” (The Bridge)</b> <br>Back in 1959, Bernhard Wicki's anti-war film <i>Die Brücke</i> showed that dying in a war was far from a heroic sacrifice for the fatherland, and in fact an act of futility. Shortly before the end of World War II, seven 16-year-old boys from a small German town were drafted to serve in the military and assigned to defend a bridge already slated for demolition. Only one lived to tell the tale. Wicki's work is regarded as the first German anti-war film and was seen as a response to the sentimental <i>heimatfilm</i> (homeland film) genre so popular in the 1950s. The film won numerous awards, including a Golden Globe and an Oscar nomination for best foreign film. It is still shown in schools today to illustrate the deceit of indoctrination that glorifies war. Photo (detail): © picture-alliance / dpa
    “Die Brücke” (The Bridge)
    Back in 1959, Bernhard Wicki's anti-war film Die Brücke showed that dying in a war was far from a heroic sacrifice for the fatherland, and in fact an act of futility. Shortly before the end of World War II, seven 16-year-old boys from a small German town were drafted to serve in the military and assigned to defend a bridge already slated for demolition. Only one lived to tell the tale. Wicki's work is regarded as the first German anti-war film and was seen as a response to the sentimental heimatfilm (homeland film) genre so popular in the 1950s. The film won numerous awards, including a Golden Globe and an Oscar nomination for best foreign film. It is still shown in schools today to illustrate the deceit of indoctrination that glorifies war.
  • <b>Stolpersteine (stumbling stones)</b> <br>A small commemorative plaque in front of every house in which the persecuted or deported once lived: since 1992, artist Gunter Demnig has been installing his <i>stolpersteine</i>, pavers topped by a brass plate that commemorate the victims of National Socialism. Each stone is inscribed with "Hier lebte" (here lived), followed by the name, and date and place of death of a person murdered by the Nazis. The stones are set in the pavement in front of their last place of residence. What began as a small art project has now spread to 21 European countries, making <i>stolpersteine</i> Europe's largest decentralized memorial. Photo (detail): © picture alliance / Arco Images GmbH
    Stolpersteine (stumbling stones)
    A small commemorative plaque in front of every house in which the persecuted or deported once lived: since 1992, artist Gunter Demnig has been installing his stolpersteine, pavers topped by a brass plate that commemorate the victims of National Socialism. Each stone is inscribed with "Hier lebte" (here lived), followed by the name, and date and place of death of a person murdered by the Nazis. The stones are set in the pavement in front of their last place of residence. What began as a small art project has now spread to 21 European countries, making stolpersteine Europe's largest decentralized memorial.
  • <b>"Schindlers List"</b> <br>Steven Spielberg's film about German industrialist Oscar Schindler, who saved 1,200 Jews from death in extermination camps during the Nazi era, triggered a new wave of dialogue about the Holocaust in 1994. The merciless portrayal of the violence and brutality of the concentration camps left many cinema goers shocked and in tears.  For Spielberg, the film was a way to process his own family history, as many of his relatives died in German concentration camps, and he kept none of the proceeds from the film. Shot in original locations, the film was nominated for twelve Oscars and won seven. The real Oscar Schindler died virtually destitute in 1974, supported by the Jews he saved until his death. Schindler was awarded the German Federal Cross of Merit 1st class in 1965, and Spielberg received an even higher honor, the Great Cross of Merit with Star, for his film adaptation. Photo (detalis): © picture alliance / United Archives
    "Schindlers List"
    Steven Spielberg's film about German industrialist Oscar Schindler, who saved 1,200 Jews from death in extermination camps during the Nazi era, triggered a new wave of dialogue about the Holocaust in 1994. The merciless portrayal of the violence and brutality of the concentration camps left many cinema goers shocked and in tears. For Spielberg, the film was a way to process his own family history, as many of his relatives died in German concentration camps, and he kept none of the proceeds from the film. Shot in original locations, the film was nominated for twelve Oscars and won seven. The real Oscar Schindler died virtually destitute in 1974, supported by the Jews he saved until his death. Schindler was awarded the German Federal Cross of Merit 1st class in 1965, and Spielberg received an even higher honor, the Great Cross of Merit with Star, for his film adaptation.
  • <b>The Holocaust Memorial in Berlin </b> <br><i>The Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe</i>, commonly known as the Holocaust Memorial, was unveiled in 2005. Since then, 2711 concrete stabs erected in a 19,000-square-meter area close to Berlin’s Brandenburg Gate have stood in mute commemoration. One of Europe’s most impressive memorials for sheer size alone, it has also been the subject of a great deal of criticism. Writer Martin Walser described artist Peter Eisenmann’s work as a "nightmare the size of a football pitch" and the Central Council of Jews also distanced itself from the installation. And while the project’s exorbitant cost caused wide-spread indignation throughout Germany, the memorial attracted an estimated 3.5 million visitors in its very first year alone. The associated exhibition was one of the ten most frequented museums in Berlin in 2012, and every year around 2,000 guided tours and educational events take place, 70 percent of which target young people. Photo (detail): © picture-alliance / ZB / Soeren Stache
    The Holocaust Memorial in Berlin
    The Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe, commonly known as the Holocaust Memorial, was unveiled in 2005. Since then, 2711 concrete stabs erected in a 19,000-square-meter area close to Berlin’s Brandenburg Gate have stood in mute commemoration. One of Europe’s most impressive memorials for sheer size alone, it has also been the subject of a great deal of criticism. Writer Martin Walser described artist Peter Eisenmann’s work as a "nightmare the size of a football pitch" and the Central Council of Jews also distanced itself from the installation. And while the project’s exorbitant cost caused wide-spread indignation throughout Germany, the memorial attracted an estimated 3.5 million visitors in its very first year alone. The associated exhibition was one of the ten most frequented museums in Berlin in 2012, and every year around 2,000 guided tours and educational events take place, 70 percent of which target young people.
  • <b>“Downfall”</b> <br>It is possible to portray Hitler with even a modicum of humanity? Released in 2004, <i>Der Untergang</i> was the very first film since the end of World War II to focus primarily on the figure of Adolf Hitler and depict the final days in the Führer's bunker. While the film was a national and international box-office success, it kicked off vehement discussion in Germany, especially among historians, about how Hitler could be portrayed in film. While some were convinced that showing Hitler as a person with feelings helped demystify him as a historical figure, others vehemently opposed allowing any form of emotional association. Both producer Bernd Eichinger and lead actor Bruno Ganz received the Bavarian Film Award, and <i>Der Untergang</i> was also nominated for an Oscar as best foreign language film. Photo (detail): © picture-alliance / dpa /Constantin Film
    “Downfall”
    It is possible to portray Hitler with even a modicum of humanity? Released in 2004, Der Untergang was the very first film since the end of World War II to focus primarily on the figure of Adolf Hitler and depict the final days in the Führer's bunker. While the film was a national and international box-office success, it kicked off vehement discussion in Germany, especially among historians, about how Hitler could be portrayed in film. While some were convinced that showing Hitler as a person with feelings helped demystify him as a historical figure, others vehemently opposed allowing any form of emotional association. Both producer Bernd Eichinger and lead actor Bruno Ganz received the Bavarian Film Award, and Der Untergang was also nominated for an Oscar as best foreign language film.
  • <b>The Novels by Günter Grass</b> <br>Throughout his life, author Günter Grass explored the effects of National Socialism and many of his works featured the recurring themes of flight and expulsion. Today, Grass's 1959 debut novel <i>Die Blechtrommel</i> (The Tin Drum) is viewed as a novel of the century and one of the most important works of German post-war literature, though it was widely lambasted by critics at the time.  As a person, Grass also remains a controversial figure, even after his death. In 2006, he went public with his former affiliation with the Waffen-SS, the brutal armed wing of the Nazi’s SS, sparking heated debate over whether the author could still serve as a moral authority in post-war Germany. Some politicians even called for Grass return the Nobel Prize for Literature he was awarded for his life's work in 1999. Photo (detail): © picture-alliance / ZB / Stefan Sauer
    The Novels by Günter Grass
    Throughout his life, author Günter Grass explored the effects of National Socialism and many of his works featured the recurring themes of flight and expulsion. Today, Grass's 1959 debut novel Die Blechtrommel (The Tin Drum) is viewed as a novel of the century and one of the most important works of German post-war literature, though it was widely lambasted by critics at the time. As a person, Grass also remains a controversial figure, even after his death. In 2006, he went public with his former affiliation with the Waffen-SS, the brutal armed wing of the Nazi’s SS, sparking heated debate over whether the author could still serve as a moral authority in post-war Germany. Some politicians even called for Grass return the Nobel Prize for Literature he was awarded for his life's work in 1999.
  • <b>“The Baader Meinhof Complex”</b> <br>The 2008 film the <i>Baader Meinhof Komplex</i> offers an unfiltered look at how student protesters from the 1968 movement radicalized into Red Army Faction (RAF) militants. The triggers - the brutal beatings at protests against the Shah of Iran, at which student Benno Ohnesorg was shot and killed by a police officer, the attack on student leader Rudi Dutschke, and the continuation of the Vietnam War – are as dramatically portrayed in the docudrama as the subsequent acts of violence enacted by RAF terrorists. The film was based on journalist Stefan Aust’s historical account by the same name. Aust worked with Ulrike Meinhof as a columnist for <i>Konkret</i> magazine. The locations were painstakingly reconstructed based on contemporary film and photographic materials. Producer and screenwriter Bernd Eichinger said he created the piece for the younger generation who had not witnessed the events. The <i>Baader Meinhof Komplex</i> was nominated for both a Golden Globe and an Oscar for best foreign film. Photo (detail): © picture alliance / Everett Collection
    “The Baader Meinhof Complex”
    The 2008 film the Baader Meinhof Komplex offers an unfiltered look at how student protesters from the 1968 movement radicalized into Red Army Faction (RAF) militants. The triggers - the brutal beatings at protests against the Shah of Iran, at which student Benno Ohnesorg was shot and killed by a police officer, the attack on student leader Rudi Dutschke, and the continuation of the Vietnam War – are as dramatically portrayed in the docudrama as the subsequent acts of violence enacted by RAF terrorists. The film was based on journalist Stefan Aust’s historical account by the same name. Aust worked with Ulrike Meinhof as a columnist for Konkret magazine. The locations were painstakingly reconstructed based on contemporary film and photographic materials. Producer and screenwriter Bernd Eichinger said he created the piece for the younger generation who had not witnessed the events. The Baader Meinhof Komplex was nominated for both a Golden Globe and an Oscar for best foreign film.
  • <b>“The Lives of Others”</b> <br>What has to happen before a compliant public servant, a cog in the machine, is ready to throw his convictions to the wind? Released in 2006, <i>Das Leben der Anderen</i> was the first feature film since German reunification to deal with surveillance in the German Democratic Republic (GDR) without excessive sentimentality or “ostalgie” (a German word that describes a feeling of nostalgia for East Germany). It focuses on two men, Dreymann, a celebrated GDR author and as an artist, automatically suspect, and Captain Wiesler, an officer in the Stasi or East German secret police assigned to surveil him.  The suicide of a blacklisted friend turns Dreymann into a dissident. Instead of doing his duty and turning him in, Wiesler protects Dreymann, and is ultimately demoted and forcibly relocated.  Singer-songwriter Wolf Biermann, himself a victim of the GDR persecution apparatus, praised director von Donnersmark for his convincing portrayal of the GDR: "He wasn’t there, yet this young man can hold up his end of the conversation.  Apparently this West German has the skill to both judge and condemn. He is not just part of the conversation; he is actually adding to it.” <i>Das Leben des Anderen</i> was honored with a number of awards, including an Oscar, a César, and the European Film Prize. Photo (detail): © picture alliance / Mary Evans Picture Library
    “The Lives of Others”
    What has to happen before a compliant public servant, a cog in the machine, is ready to throw his convictions to the wind? Released in 2006, Das Leben der Anderen was the first feature film since German reunification to deal with surveillance in the German Democratic Republic (GDR) without excessive sentimentality or “ostalgie” (a German word that describes a feeling of nostalgia for East Germany). It focuses on two men, Dreymann, a celebrated GDR author and as an artist, automatically suspect, and Captain Wiesler, an officer in the Stasi or East German secret police assigned to surveil him. The suicide of a blacklisted friend turns Dreymann into a dissident. Instead of doing his duty and turning him in, Wiesler protects Dreymann, and is ultimately demoted and forcibly relocated. Singer-songwriter Wolf Biermann, himself a victim of the GDR persecution apparatus, praised director von Donnersmark for his convincing portrayal of the GDR: "He wasn’t there, yet this young man can hold up his end of the conversation. Apparently this West German has the skill to both judge and condemn. He is not just part of the conversation; he is actually adding to it.” Das Leben des Anderen was honored with a number of awards, including an Oscar, a César, and the European Film Prize.
  • <b>“Good Bye, Lenin!”</b> <br>What is a good son to do when his comatose mother has slept through German reunification and awakens with no idea that her beloved GDR no longer exists? The answer is simple: rewrite history. In the 2003 tragicomedy <i>Good Bye Lenin!</i>, teenager Alex Kremer tries to shield his mother – a faithful and ardent socialist – from another heart attack by staging the GDR in a Germany in the process of unification. He even takes it one step further, and has the fake GDR offer asylum to flocks of West Germans. Unlike other films of the time, <i>Good Bye Lenin!</i> refrained from poking fun at the GDR. Director Wolfgang Becker sympathetically portrayed how the fall of the Berlin Wall meant the painful loss of their homeland for many people, and how seriously the rapid changes brought about by unification impacted them. <i>Good Bye, Lenin!</i> was Germany's most successful film in 2003, and went on to win the German Film Award nine times. It was also the first German film to win a Felix, the European Film Award. Photo (detail): © picture-alliance / Mary Evans Picture Library
    “Good Bye, Lenin!”
    What is a good son to do when his comatose mother has slept through German reunification and awakens with no idea that her beloved GDR no longer exists? The answer is simple: rewrite history. In the 2003 tragicomedy Good Bye Lenin!, teenager Alex Kremer tries to shield his mother – a faithful and ardent socialist – from another heart attack by staging the GDR in a Germany in the process of unification. He even takes it one step further, and has the fake GDR offer asylum to flocks of West Germans. Unlike other films of the time, Good Bye Lenin! refrained from poking fun at the GDR. Director Wolfgang Becker sympathetically portrayed how the fall of the Berlin Wall meant the painful loss of their homeland for many people, and how seriously the rapid changes brought about by unification impacted them. Good Bye, Lenin! was Germany's most successful film in 2003, and went on to win the German Film Award nine times. It was also the first German film to win a Felix, the European Film Award.

Erinnerungskultur Kunst gegen das Vergessen

Schindlers Liste
Schindlers Liste | Foto (Zuschnitt): © picture alliance / United Archives

Zweiter Weltkrieg, Nationalsozialismus, Terror, Teilung und Wiedervereinigung: ​Künstler beschäftigen sich mit der deutschen Zeitgeschichte und halten die Erinnerung lebendig. Wir stellen einige der Werke vor.

Von den zwei Weltkriegen über die deutsche Teilung – das 20. Jahrhundert hat für Deutschland einschneidende Veränderungen gebracht und teils tiefe Wunden in der Gesellschaft hinterlassen. Doch aus dem Untergang des Regimes der Nationalsozialisten nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg und der deutschen Wiedervereinigung im Jahr 1989 ist auch die heutige Bundesrepublik Deutschland hervorgegangen. Die Landesgrenzen, Gesetze und Grundwerte der Gesellschaft sind von diesen Ereignissen geprägt. Wie erinnern wir uns an Ereignisse, die so bedeutsam sind, dass sie nicht in Vergessenheit geraten dürfen? Filme, Bücher und Denkmäler halten das Gedenken in Deutschland wach, sind aber nicht immer ganz unumstritten. Wir stellen beispielhaft einige Werke vor, die einen besonderen Einfluss auf die öffentliche Diskussion hatten und von denen einige im Schulunterricht besprochen werden.
 

  • <b>„Die Brücke“</b> <br>Der Heldentod fürs Vaterland? Bernhard Wickis Antikriegsfilm <i>Die Brücke</i> zeigte bereits im Jahr 1959, dass das Sterben im Krieg ganz und gar nichts Heldenhaftes hatte. Kurz vor Kriegsende werden in einer deutschen Kleinstadt sieben 16-jährige Jungen zum Militär eingezogen und zum Schutz einer ohnehin zur Sprengung vorgesehen Brücke abkommandiert. Den Kampf überlebt nur einer von ihnen. Wickis Werk gilt als erster deutscher Antikriegsfilm und konterkarierte die Heimatfilmwelle der 1950er-Jahre. Der Film erhielt zahlreiche Preise, unter anderem den Golden Globe sowie eine Oscarnominierung für den besten ausländischen Film. Bis heute wird er im Schulunterricht gezeigt, um die Verblendung kriegsverherrlichender Indoktrination zu verdeutlichen. Foto (Zuschnitt): © picture-alliance / dpa
    „Die Brücke“
    Der Heldentod fürs Vaterland? Bernhard Wickis Antikriegsfilm Die Brücke zeigte bereits im Jahr 1959, dass das Sterben im Krieg ganz und gar nichts Heldenhaftes hatte. Kurz vor Kriegsende werden in einer deutschen Kleinstadt sieben 16-jährige Jungen zum Militär eingezogen und zum Schutz einer ohnehin zur Sprengung vorgesehen Brücke abkommandiert. Den Kampf überlebt nur einer von ihnen. Wickis Werk gilt als erster deutscher Antikriegsfilm und konterkarierte die Heimatfilmwelle der 1950er-Jahre. Der Film erhielt zahlreiche Preise, unter anderem den Golden Globe sowie eine Oscarnominierung für den besten ausländischen Film. Bis heute wird er im Schulunterricht gezeigt, um die Verblendung kriegsverherrlichender Indoktrination zu verdeutlichen.
  • <b>Stolpersteine</b> <br>Eine kleine Gedenktafel vor jedem Haus, in dem einst Verfolgte oder Deportierte wohnten: Seit 1992 verlegt der Künstler Gunter Demnig nun schon die <i>Stolpersteine</i>, mit einer Messingplatte versehene Pflastersteine, um den Opfern des Nationalsozialismus zu gedenken. Beginnend mit „Hier lebte“ steht auf jedem Stein der Name, Todestag und -ort einer Person, die von den Nationalsozialisten ermordet wurde. Eingelassen werden die Steine in die Gehwege vor ihrer jeweils letzten Wohnstätte. Als kleine Kunstaktion gestartet, sind die <i>Stolpersteine</i> mittlerweile das größte dezentrale Mahnmal Europas: Es gibt sie in 21 europäischen Ländern. Foto (Zuschnitt): © picture alliance / Arco Images GmbH
    Stolpersteine
    Eine kleine Gedenktafel vor jedem Haus, in dem einst Verfolgte oder Deportierte wohnten: Seit 1992 verlegt der Künstler Gunter Demnig nun schon die Stolpersteine, mit einer Messingplatte versehene Pflastersteine, um den Opfern des Nationalsozialismus zu gedenken. Beginnend mit „Hier lebte“ steht auf jedem Stein der Name, Todestag und -ort einer Person, die von den Nationalsozialisten ermordet wurde. Eingelassen werden die Steine in die Gehwege vor ihrer jeweils letzten Wohnstätte. Als kleine Kunstaktion gestartet, sind die Stolpersteine mittlerweile das größte dezentrale Mahnmal Europas: Es gibt sie in 21 europäischen Ländern.
  • <b>„Schindlers Liste“</b> <br>Steven Spielbergs Film über den Industriellen Oscar Schindler, der in der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus 1.200 Juden vor dem Tod in Vernichtungslagern bewahrte, löste 1994 eine neue Welle der Auseinandersetzung mit dem Holocaust aus. Die drastische Darstellung der Gewalt und Brutalität in den Konzentrationslagern ließ viele Menschen weinend und erschüttert aus dem Kino gehen. Für Spielberg war der Film eine Aufarbeitung seiner eigenen Familiengeschichte, denn viele seiner Angehörigen starben in deutschen Konzentrationslagern. Er nahm deshalb auch keine Bezahlung für die Filmproduktion an. Der an Originalschauplätzen gedrehte Film war für 12 Oscars nominiert und gewann sieben. Der echte Oskar Schindler starb 1974 in Armut; unterstützt wurde er bis zu seinem Tod von den Juden, die er gerettet hatte. Während Schindler 1965 das Bundesverdienstkreuz 1. Klasse verliehen bekam, erhielt Spielberg für die Verfilmung sogar das Große Verdienstkreuz mit Stern – eine um zwei Stufen höhere Auszeichnung. Foto (Zuschnitt): © picture alliance / United Archives
    „Schindlers Liste“
    Steven Spielbergs Film über den Industriellen Oscar Schindler, der in der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus 1.200 Juden vor dem Tod in Vernichtungslagern bewahrte, löste 1994 eine neue Welle der Auseinandersetzung mit dem Holocaust aus. Die drastische Darstellung der Gewalt und Brutalität in den Konzentrationslagern ließ viele Menschen weinend und erschüttert aus dem Kino gehen. Für Spielberg war der Film eine Aufarbeitung seiner eigenen Familiengeschichte, denn viele seiner Angehörigen starben in deutschen Konzentrationslagern. Er nahm deshalb auch keine Bezahlung für die Filmproduktion an. Der an Originalschauplätzen gedrehte Film war für 12 Oscars nominiert und gewann sieben. Der echte Oskar Schindler starb 1974 in Armut; unterstützt wurde er bis zu seinem Tod von den Juden, die er gerettet hatte. Während Schindler 1965 das Bundesverdienstkreuz 1. Klasse verliehen bekam, erhielt Spielberg für die Verfilmung sogar das Große Verdienstkreuz mit Stern – eine um zwei Stufen höhere Auszeichnung.
  • <b>Holocaust-Mahnmal Berlin</b> <br>2711 Beton-Stelen bilden seit 2005 auf einer Fläche von 19.000 Quadratmetern unweit des Brandenburger Tors in Berlin das <i>Denkmal für die ermordeten Juden Europas</i>, im Volksmund kurz <i>Holocaust-Mahnmal</i> genannt. Schon aufgrund seiner Größe sicherlich eines der beeindruckendsten Mahnmäler Europas, ist es jedoch auch eines der umstrittensten: Schriftsteller Martin Walser beschrieb das Werk des Künstlers Peter Eisenmann als „fußballfeldgroßen Alptraum“ und auch der Zentralrat der Juden distanzierte sich von dem Kunstwerk. In der Gesellschaft sorgten vor allem die hohen Kosten für Empörung. Dennoch zog das Mahnmal nach Schätzungen der zugehörigen Stiftung schon im ersten Jahr nach Eröffnung über 3,5 Millionen Besucher an. Die zugehörige Ausstellung gehörte 2012 zu den zehn meistfrequentierten Museen in Berlin; jährlich gibt es rund 2.000 Führungen und Bildungsveranstaltungen, von denen sich 70 Prozent an Jugendliche richten. Foto (Zuschnitt): © picture-alliance / ZB / Soeren Stache
    Holocaust-Mahnmal Berlin
    2711 Beton-Stelen bilden seit 2005 auf einer Fläche von 19.000 Quadratmetern unweit des Brandenburger Tors in Berlin das Denkmal für die ermordeten Juden Europas, im Volksmund kurz Holocaust-Mahnmal genannt. Schon aufgrund seiner Größe sicherlich eines der beeindruckendsten Mahnmäler Europas, ist es jedoch auch eines der umstrittensten: Schriftsteller Martin Walser beschrieb das Werk des Künstlers Peter Eisenmann als „fußballfeldgroßen Alptraum“ und auch der Zentralrat der Juden distanzierte sich von dem Kunstwerk. In der Gesellschaft sorgten vor allem die hohen Kosten für Empörung. Dennoch zog das Mahnmal nach Schätzungen der zugehörigen Stiftung schon im ersten Jahr nach Eröffnung über 3,5 Millionen Besucher an. Die zugehörige Ausstellung gehörte 2012 zu den zehn meistfrequentierten Museen in Berlin; jährlich gibt es rund 2.000 Führungen und Bildungsveranstaltungen, von denen sich 70 Prozent an Jugendliche richten.
  • <b>„Der Untergang“</b> <br>Wie menschlich darf man Hitler darstellen? Mit <i>Der Untergang</i> widmete sich 2004 erstmals seit Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs ein Film hauptsächlich der Figur Adolf Hitler und zeigte die letzten Tage im Führerbunker. Während der Film national wie international durchaus ein Kassenerfolg war, entbrannte in Deutschland insbesondere unter Historikern eine Diskussion, wie man Hitler im Film zeigen dürfe: Die einen waren überzeugt, dass es zur Entmystifizierung der Person beitrage, wenn Hitler auch Gefühle zeige. Andere sprachen sich vehement dagegen aus, so viel emotionale Nähe zuzulassen. Sowohl Produzent Bernd Eichinger als auch Hauptdarsteller Bruno Ganz erhielten den Bayerischen Filmpreis, <i>Der Untergang</i> erhielt zudem eine Oscar-Nominierung als bester fremdsprachiger Film. Foto (Zuschnitt): © picture-alliance / dpa /Constantin Film
    „Der Untergang“
    Wie menschlich darf man Hitler darstellen? Mit Der Untergang widmete sich 2004 erstmals seit Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs ein Film hauptsächlich der Figur Adolf Hitler und zeigte die letzten Tage im Führerbunker. Während der Film national wie international durchaus ein Kassenerfolg war, entbrannte in Deutschland insbesondere unter Historikern eine Diskussion, wie man Hitler im Film zeigen dürfe: Die einen waren überzeugt, dass es zur Entmystifizierung der Person beitrage, wenn Hitler auch Gefühle zeige. Andere sprachen sich vehement dagegen aus, so viel emotionale Nähe zuzulassen. Sowohl Produzent Bernd Eichinger als auch Hauptdarsteller Bruno Ganz erhielten den Bayerischen Filmpreis, Der Untergang erhielt zudem eine Oscar-Nominierung als bester fremdsprachiger Film.
  • <b>Die Romane von Günter Grass</b> <br>Zeitlebens beschäftigte sich der Schriftsteller Günter Grass mit den Auswirkungen des Nationalsozialismus; vor allem die Themen Flucht und Vertreibung kehren in seinen Werken immer wieder. Grass’ Debutroman <i>Die Blechtrommel</i> von 1959 gilt heute als Jahrhundertroman und als eines der bedeutendsten Stücke deutscher Nachkriegsliteratur – obwohl der Roman in der zeitgenössischen Presse weitgehend vernichtende Kritiken erntete. Auch die Person Grass selbst ist bis über seinen Tod hinaus nicht unumstritten. Insbesondere seine Zugehörigkeit zur Waffen-SS, einer militärischen Einsatztruppe der Nationalsozialisten, die er erst 2006 publik machte, sorgte für erhebliche Diskussionen und die Frage, ob der Autor noch als moralische Instanz im Nachkriegsdeutschland tauge. Einige Politiker forderten gar, Grass möge den Literaturnobelpreis zurückgeben, der ihm 1999 für sein Lebenswerk verliehen wurde. Foto (Zuschnitt): © picture-alliance / ZB / Stefan Sauer
    Die Romane von Günter Grass
    Zeitlebens beschäftigte sich der Schriftsteller Günter Grass mit den Auswirkungen des Nationalsozialismus; vor allem die Themen Flucht und Vertreibung kehren in seinen Werken immer wieder. Grass’ Debutroman Die Blechtrommel von 1959 gilt heute als Jahrhundertroman und als eines der bedeutendsten Stücke deutscher Nachkriegsliteratur – obwohl der Roman in der zeitgenössischen Presse weitgehend vernichtende Kritiken erntete. Auch die Person Grass selbst ist bis über seinen Tod hinaus nicht unumstritten. Insbesondere seine Zugehörigkeit zur Waffen-SS, einer militärischen Einsatztruppe der Nationalsozialisten, die er erst 2006 publik machte, sorgte für erhebliche Diskussionen und die Frage, ob der Autor noch als moralische Instanz im Nachkriegsdeutschland tauge. Einige Politiker forderten gar, Grass möge den Literaturnobelpreis zurückgeben, der ihm 1999 für sein Lebenswerk verliehen wurde.
  • <b>„Der Baader-Meinhof Komplex“</b> <br>Der Film <i>Der Baader-Meinhof-Komplex</i> von 2008 zeigt unbeschönigt, wie sich aus den Studentenprotesten der 1968er-Bewegung die späteren Mitglieder der Roten Armee Fraktion (RAF) radikalisierten. Die Auslöser – die niedergeknüppelten Proteste gegen den persischen Schah, bei denen der Student Benno Ohnesorg von einem Polizeibeamten erschossen wurde, der Anschlag auf Studentenführer Rudi Dutschke und die Fortführung des Vietnamkrieges – werden in dem Dokudrama ebenso drastisch dargestellt wie die späteren Gewalttaten der RAF-Terroristen. Die Dramaturgie folgt dem gleichnamigen Sachbuch des Journalisten Stefan Aust, der Ulrike Meinhof als Kollegin in der Redaktion der Zeitschrift <i>konkret</i> kennenlernte. Basierend auf Foto- und Filmmaterial aus der Zeit wurden die Schauplätze bis ins kleinste Detail nachgestellt. Produzent und Drehbuchautor Bernd Eichinger sagte über das Werk, er habe es vor allem für eine jüngere Generation geschaffen, die die Ereignisse nicht miterlebt habe. <i>Der Baader-Meinhof-Komplex</i> wurde sowohl für den Golden Globe als auch für den Oscar als bester ausländischer Film nominiert. Foto (Zuschnitt): © picture alliance / Everett Collection
    „Der Baader-Meinhof Komplex“
    Der Film Der Baader-Meinhof-Komplex von 2008 zeigt unbeschönigt, wie sich aus den Studentenprotesten der 1968er-Bewegung die späteren Mitglieder der Roten Armee Fraktion (RAF) radikalisierten. Die Auslöser – die niedergeknüppelten Proteste gegen den persischen Schah, bei denen der Student Benno Ohnesorg von einem Polizeibeamten erschossen wurde, der Anschlag auf Studentenführer Rudi Dutschke und die Fortführung des Vietnamkrieges – werden in dem Dokudrama ebenso drastisch dargestellt wie die späteren Gewalttaten der RAF-Terroristen. Die Dramaturgie folgt dem gleichnamigen Sachbuch des Journalisten Stefan Aust, der Ulrike Meinhof als Kollegin in der Redaktion der Zeitschrift konkret kennenlernte. Basierend auf Foto- und Filmmaterial aus der Zeit wurden die Schauplätze bis ins kleinste Detail nachgestellt. Produzent und Drehbuchautor Bernd Eichinger sagte über das Werk, er habe es vor allem für eine jüngere Generation geschaffen, die die Ereignisse nicht miterlebt habe. Der Baader-Meinhof-Komplex wurde sowohl für den Golden Globe als auch für den Oscar als bester ausländischer Film nominiert.
  • <b>„Das Leben der Anderen“</b> <br>Was muss geschehen, damit ein systemkonformer Staatsdiener seine Überzeugungen über Bord wirft? <i>Das Leben der Anderen</i> war 2006 der erste Spielfilm seit der deutschen Wiedervereinigung, der sich ganz ohne Klamauk und Ostalgie dem Thema Überwachung in der DDR annahm. Im Mittelpunkt der Geschichte stehen zwei Männer: Der in der DDR gefeierte Staatsschriftsteller Dreyman – als Künstler per se ein verdächtiges Subjekt – wird von Stasi-Hauptmann Wiesler überwacht und abgehört. Nach dem Suizid eines mit Berufsverbot belegten Freundes wird sich Dreyman zum Dissidenten. Wiesler, eigentlich zur Meldung verpflichtet, schützt Dreyman und wird dafür degradiert und zwangsversetzt. Liedermacher Wolf Biermann, selbst Opfer der DDR-Verfolgungsmaschinerie, lobte Regisseur von Donnersmark für das eindrückliche Sittenbild der DDR: „Er hat ja alles das nicht selber erlebt! Und trotzdem kann solch ein junger Mann mitreden! Dieser Westler kann offensichtlich sehr wohl urteilen und auch verurteilen, er kann nicht nur mitreden, sondern sogar aufklären.“ <i>Das Leben der Anderen</i> wurde unter anderem mit dem Oscar, dem César und dem Europäischen Filmpreis ausgezeichnet. Foto (Zuschnitt): © picture alliance / Mary Evans Picture Library
    „Das Leben der Anderen“
    Was muss geschehen, damit ein systemkonformer Staatsdiener seine Überzeugungen über Bord wirft? Das Leben der Anderen war 2006 der erste Spielfilm seit der deutschen Wiedervereinigung, der sich ganz ohne Klamauk und Ostalgie dem Thema Überwachung in der DDR annahm. Im Mittelpunkt der Geschichte stehen zwei Männer: Der in der DDR gefeierte Staatsschriftsteller Dreyman – als Künstler per se ein verdächtiges Subjekt – wird von Stasi-Hauptmann Wiesler überwacht und abgehört. Nach dem Suizid eines mit Berufsverbot belegten Freundes wird sich Dreyman zum Dissidenten. Wiesler, eigentlich zur Meldung verpflichtet, schützt Dreyman und wird dafür degradiert und zwangsversetzt. Liedermacher Wolf Biermann, selbst Opfer der DDR-Verfolgungsmaschinerie, lobte Regisseur von Donnersmark für das eindrückliche Sittenbild der DDR: „Er hat ja alles das nicht selber erlebt! Und trotzdem kann solch ein junger Mann mitreden! Dieser Westler kann offensichtlich sehr wohl urteilen und auch verurteilen, er kann nicht nur mitreden, sondern sogar aufklären.“ Das Leben der Anderen wurde unter anderem mit dem Oscar, dem César und dem Europäischen Filmpreis ausgezeichnet.
  • <b>„Good Bye, Lenin!“</b> <br>Was tun, wenn die eigene Mutter im Koma liegt, die deutsche Wiedervereinigung und damit das Ende der DDR verschlafen hat, und man sie vor der Realität schützen will? Ganz einfach – man schreibt Geschichte neu. In der Tragikkomödie <i>Good Bye, Lenin!</i> von 2003 versucht der Jugendliche Alex Kremer seine Mutter – ihres Zeichens stramme Sozialistin – vor einem erneuten Herzinfarkt zu schützen und inszeniert im nun so-gut-wie wiedervereinigten Deutschland eine DDR, die nicht nur weiterlebt, sondern zudem Scharen von Westdeutschen aufnehmen soll. Anders als andere Filme dieser Zeit verzichtet <i>Good Bye, Lenin!</i> darauf, sich über die DDR lustig zu machen. Regisseur Wolfgang Becker zeigt vielmehr, dass der Mauerfall für viele Menschen den schmerzlichen Verlust ihrer Heimat bedeutete und wie gravierend die rasanten Veränderungen während der Wendezeit für sie waren. <i>Good Bye, Lenin!</i> wurde der erfolgreichste deutsche Film 2003. Er wurde neunmal mit dem Deutschen Filmpreis ausgezeichnet und gewann als erster deutscher Film überhaupt den Europäischen Filmpreis, den Felix. Foto (Zuschnitt): © picture-alliance / Mary Evans Picture Library
    „Good Bye, Lenin!“
    Was tun, wenn die eigene Mutter im Koma liegt, die deutsche Wiedervereinigung und damit das Ende der DDR verschlafen hat, und man sie vor der Realität schützen will? Ganz einfach – man schreibt Geschichte neu. In der Tragikkomödie Good Bye, Lenin! von 2003 versucht der Jugendliche Alex Kremer seine Mutter – ihres Zeichens stramme Sozialistin – vor einem erneuten Herzinfarkt zu schützen und inszeniert im nun so-gut-wie wiedervereinigten Deutschland eine DDR, die nicht nur weiterlebt, sondern zudem Scharen von Westdeutschen aufnehmen soll. Anders als andere Filme dieser Zeit verzichtet Good Bye, Lenin! darauf, sich über die DDR lustig zu machen. Regisseur Wolfgang Becker zeigt vielmehr, dass der Mauerfall für viele Menschen den schmerzlichen Verlust ihrer Heimat bedeutete und wie gravierend die rasanten Veränderungen während der Wendezeit für sie waren. Good Bye, Lenin! wurde der erfolgreichste deutsche Film 2003. Er wurde neunmal mit dem Deutschen Filmpreis ausgezeichnet und gewann als erster deutscher Film überhaupt den Europäischen Filmpreis, den Felix.