Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Unconditional Basic Income
“It makes us freer in the way we think and act”

Henrik Maass and two other winners of an unconditional basic income
Henrik Maass and two other winners of an unconditional basic income | Photo (detail): © Christian Stollwerk

Henrik Maass received an unconditional basic income of €1,000 a month for a year. His conclusion: this could be the welfare state of the future.

By Ula Brunner

Mr Maass, you won an unconditional basic income. For a whole year, up to June 2018, €1,000 was credited to your account every month, just like that. Do you remember the moment you got the good news?

My girlfriend Rebecca and I jumped for joy around the flat and just couldn't believe it after we’d fortunately taken a closer look at what looked a spam that said "YOU HAVE WON!" It was definitively real when the first €1,000 was simply there in our account. We were very relieved and grateful.
 

My Basic Income

The "Mein Grundeinkommen" project has been raising money through crowdfunding for unconditional basic income since 2015. Every time it raises the sum of €12,000, it is raffled off: the winner then receives €1,000 a month for one year to use as they see fit, with no deductions or strings attached. This amount is more than the current minimum subsistence level in Germany of €735 per month.

What did you do with the money?

Something other than originally planned. My girlfriend and I are farmers. We were actually making plans to start up our own farm. Naturally, a year's basic income would have been a welcome increase to our own capital resources. But my girlfriend became chronically ill and couldn’t work anymore. So the money went to cover expensive diagnostics and medication as well as our household expenses. We’ve always made a point of buying eco-friendly fair trade food and clothing and minimizing our ecological footprint. That makes life a bit more expensive, and the basic income has enabled us to maintain our sustainable lifestyle. The only thing we really treated ourselves to was a second-hand piano. So our lives haven't changed much. But I feel the unconditional basic income is a great enrichment, and not only financially.

In what way?

It makes us freer in the way we think and act, even if of course it’s not a panacea for saving the world. But it allays our anxiety about making a living, which is an important prerequisite for thinking outside the box. I’ve been getting more involved in agricultural issues again, for example, advocating for food sovereignty.

Agricultural activism: Henrik Maass at a demonstration in 2017 Agricultural activism: Henrik Maass at a demonstration in 2017 | Photo (detail): © Henrik Maaß

Unconditional basic income is a controversial idea. Advocates hope it will bring about a simpler and more efficient welfare state that respects the dignity of the individual and makes equal participation in society possible. Detractors fear above all that we’d end up lounging around in the social hammock. What was your experience?

None of the winners of basic income that I’ve met quit their job (laughs). Some have used the money for further education, others as start-up capital for a new business. Everyone wants to make a contribution to society in one form or another. That doesn’t necessarily have to be something measurable in terms of economic growth, it can also be caring for the sick or elderly, community service in a village or political involvement – things that tend to get short shrift when our main concern is making money to support ourselves and our families. Our year of basic income showed my girlfriend and me that financial relief helps enormously, especially in hard times.

There are some very different models of basic income – as compensation for community service, for example. What do you think of that?

The benefit of basic income goes by the board if it comes with strings attached. If it really is unconditional – an income to which everyone is entitled – then the elaborate bureaucratic machine for the distribution of social benefits can be pared down. Means tests and pension and unemployment insurance would then become superfluous. Naturally, we’d still have to think through the nuts and bolts of it, I’m no expert. But the unconditional aspect brings a certain ease, freeing up very different capacities.

A uniform monthly stipend for every citizen, an end to the degrading ritual of signing on for the dole – how would such a concept change our social system?

A secure basic livelihood would give our society a different kind of serenity, a certain calm. Many forms of aggression that arise out of the constant pressure to make a living would disappear. I think communal life would be more pleasant and creative. People would be more inclined to seek work that is meaningful to them. It annoys me that instead of seriously considering the idea, politicians agree subsistence levels instead. We should engage in a more vigorous public discourse about unconditional basic income. If we all get behind it, policymakers will have to react. I’m confident that it will be introduced in the medium term and will improve the future for everyone.

 

Henrik Maaß, (b. 1985) is a trained farmer with a degree in agricultural science. From July 2017 to June 2018 he received an unconditional basic income of €1,000 a month through the association "Mein Grundeinkommen". Maaß is currently working as a research assistant at the University of Hohenheim.

What is unconditional basic income? 

Unconditional basic income is a sociopolitical model in which every citizen receives a monthly handout from the state with no strings attached. The idea is to give everyone a share in the total income of a society, regardless of whether they are in need or not. The idea is being discussed all over the world and is occasionally tested in pilot projects. German citizens have no legal claim to an unconditional basic income.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Bedingungsloses Grundeinkommen
„Es macht uns freier im Denken und Handeln“

Henrik Maaß und zwei Gewinnerinnen des BGE
Henrik Maaß und zwei Gewinnerinnen des BGE | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Christian Stollwerk

Henrik Maaß hat ein Jahr lang 1.000 Euro monatlich als Bedingungsloses Grundeinkommen erhalten. Sein Fazit: Das könnte der Sozialstaat der Zukunft sein.

Von Ula Brunner

Herr Maaß, Sie waren Gewinner eines Bedingungslosen Grundeinkommens, kurz BGE. Ein ganzes Jahr lang, bis Juni 2018, kamen jeden Monat 1.000 Euro auf ihr Konto, einfach so. Können Sie sich an den Moment erinnern, als Sie die Nachricht erhalten haben?

Meine Freundin Rebecca und ich sind vor Freude quer durch unsere Wohnung gehüpft und konnten es gar nicht fassen, als wir die vermeintliche Spam-Mail „Sie haben gewonnen“ zum Glück nochmals genauer angeschaut hatten. Endgültig real war es dann, als die ersten 1.000 Euro einfach so auf dem Konto waren. Wir waren sehr erleichtert und dankbar. 
 

Mein Grundeinkommen

Das Projekt „Mein Grundeinkommen" sammelt seit 2015 per Crowdfunding Geld für Bedingungslose Grundeinkommen. Sobald 12.000 Euro zusammen sind, werden sie an eine Person verlost. Diese erhält ein Jahr lang 1.000 Euro, ohne Abzüge und ohne Bedingungen für die Verwendung. Der Betrag liegt über dem Existenzminimum von derzeit 735 Euro pro Monat.

Was haben Sie mit dem Geld gemacht?

Etwas anderes, als ursprünglich geplant. Meine Freundin und ich sind Landwirte. Eigentlich schmiedeten wir Pläne, einen eigenen Hof aufzubauen. Dafür wäre ein Jahr BGE natürlich eine willkommene Erhöhung des Eigenkapitals gewesen. Doch meine Freundin wurde chronisch krank und konnte nicht mehr arbeiten. Das Geld ist dann in kostspielige Diagnostik und Medikamente sowie unseren Haushalt geflossen. Wir haben schon immer auf ökologische und fair gehandelte Lebensmittel und Kleidung geachtet und streben einen kleinen ökologischen Fußabdruck an. Das ist etwas teurer, und durch das Grundeinkommen konnten wir unsere nachhaltige Lebensweise beibehalten. Gegönnt haben wir uns eigentlich nur ein gebrauchtes Klavier. Unser Leben hat sich insgesamt also nicht stark verändert. Aber ich empfinde das Bedingungslose Grundeinkommen als große Bereicherung, nicht nur finanziell.

Inwiefern?

Es macht uns freier im Denken und Handeln, auch wenn es natürlich kein Allheilmittel zur Rettung der Welt ist. Aber es nimmt uns Existenzängste und das ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung, um über den Tellerrand hinaus zu denken. Ich habe mich beispielsweise wieder stärker agrarpolitisch engagiert, mich für Ernährungssouveränität eingesetzt.

Agrarpolitisches Engagement: Henrik Maaß auf einer Demonstration 2017 Agrarpolitisches Engagement: Henrik Maaß auf einer Demonstration 2017 | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Henrik Maaß

Die Idee eines Bedingungslosen Grundeinkommens wird durchaus kontrovers diskutiert. Befürworter erhoffen sich einen einfacheren und effizienteren Sozialstaat, der die Würde des Einzelnen wahrt und eine gleichberechtigte Teilhabe an der Gesellschaft ermöglicht. Kritiker befürchten vor allem, wir würden uns in der sozialen Hängematte ausruhen. Was sind Ihre Erfahrungen?

Von allen Gewinnern des Grundeinkommens, die ich kennengelernt habe, hat niemand seinen Job gekündigt (lacht). Einige haben das Geld zu einer Weiterbildung genutzt, andere als Startkapital, um sich eine neue Existenz aufzubauen. Jeder Mensch möchte einen Beitrag zur Gesellschaft leisten – egal in welcher Form. Das muss sich nicht unbedingt anhand des Wirtschaftswachstums messen lassen, sondern es kann auch die Pflege von Älteren oder Kranken sein, das Engagement in einer Dorfgemeinschaft oder in der Politik. Das kommt zu kurz, wenn es in erster Linie darum geht, Geld zu verdienen, um sich oder die Familie ernähren zu können. Meiner Freundin und mir hat das Jahr Grundeinkommen gezeigt, dass besonders in schwierigen Situationen eine finanzielle Entlastung ungemein hilft.

Nun gibt es ganz unterschiedliche Modelle eines Grundeinkommens – etwa im Gegenzug zu sozialer Arbeit. Was halten Sie davon?

Der Vorteil geht verloren, wenn man das Grundeinkommen an Bedingungen knüpft. Ist es tatsächlich bedingungslos, also ein Einkommen, das jedem zusteht, kann man den aufwändigen Verwaltungsapparat für Sozialleistungen abbauen. Bedürftigkeitsprüfungen, Renten- oder Arbeitslosenversicherungen würden dann überflüssig. Natürlich müsste man sich über die konkrete Ausgestaltung noch Gedanken machen, ich bin kein Experte. Aber die Bedingungslosigkeit bringt eine Leichtigkeit mit sich: Dadurch werden ganz andere Kapazitäten frei.

Eine einheitliche Summe monatlich für jeden Bürger, Schluss mit dem entwürdigenden Gang zum Sozialamt – inwiefern würde ein solches Konzept eines Sozialsystems unser Zusammenleben verändern?

Eine grundsätzliche Existenzsicherung würde eine andere Gelassenheit oder Ruhe in unsere Gesellschaft tragen. Viele Aggressionen, die aus dem ständigen Existenzdruck entstehen, würden verschwinden. Ich glaube, das Gemeinschaftsleben wäre angenehmer und kreativer. Menschen würden sich eher eine Arbeit suchen, die sie mit Sinn erfüllt. Es ärgert mich, dass die Politik das Thema nicht ernsthaft angeht und sich stattdessen etwa auf Existenzminima einigt. Wir sollten einen stärkeren öffentlichen Diskurs über das Bedingungslose Grundeinkommen führen. Wenn wir uns alle dafür einsetzen, muss die Politik auch darauf reagieren. Ich bin zuversichtlich, dass es mittelfristig eingeführt wird und sich dadurch die Zukunft aller verbessert.
 

 

Henrik Maaß, Jahrgang 1985, ist gelernter und studierter Landwirt. Von Juli 2017 bis Juni 2018 erhielt er ein Bedingungsloses Grundeinkommen von 1.000 Euro im Monat über den Verein Mein Grundeinkommen. Maaß arbeitet als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Universität Hohenheim.

Was ist das Bedingungslose Grundeinkommen (BGE)?

Das Bedingungslose Grundeinkommen (BGE) ist ein sozialpolitisches Konzept, bei dem alle Bürgerinnen und Bürger monatlich eine finanzielle Zuwendung vom Staat erhalten, ohne dafür eine Gegenleistung erbringen zu müssen. BGE soll alle Menschen an den Gesamteinkünften einer Gesellschaft beteiligen, unabhängig davon, ob sie bedürftig sind oder nicht. Die Idee wird weltweit diskutiert und vereinzelt in Modellversuchen erprobt. In Deutschland gibt es keinen rechtlichen Anspruch auf ein BGE.

Top