Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Antisemitism
“A huge problem”

Openly wearing a kippah may no longer be safe in Germany.
Openly wearing a kippah may no longer be safe in Germany. | Photo (detail): © picture-alliance/dpa/Danierl Bockwold

The number of antisemitic attacks against Jewish citizens is on the rise in Germany, including in schools. Experts call for better teacher training. 

By Claudia Isabel Rittel

One day in ethics class, Oscar Michalski happened to mention in passing that he was Jewish. What followed made the young man fear for his life and shook his parents’ faith in German society. Just a few days after his offhand announcement, fellow students began to bully the then 14-year-old from Berlin. They hit him, pretended to execute him, and finally choked him for so long that he briefly lost consciousness. This all took place in 2017 in a perfectly normal secondary school in Berlin where no one would expect this type of violence. The schoolmaster took weeks to respond to the parents’ pleas for assistance. Ultimately, they felt their only choice was to take their son, whose name has been changed, out of school and draw public attention to the case though the media. 
 
Oscar’s ordeal is not an isolated case, and antisemitism experts see a fundamental problem in Germany’s secondary schools. According to Samuel Salzborn, a professor of political science and currently a guest professor at the Technical University of Berlin’s Center for Antisemitism Research, “Antisemitism has grown more visible, more threatening and more violent in recent years. It runs the gamut from verbal aggression to hands-on violence.”
 
Vladislava Zdesenko is a solicitor who counsels parents in similar situations. In her experience, the victims are usually forced to leave school. “The perpetrators get to stay and suffer no consequences for their actions,” she says. This is due in part to inaction from the schools – perhaps because it is easier to lose one student than an entire group, Zdesenko thinks. “But this sends a very disturbing message, especially for Jews,” she adds. “Young adults today are basically the first generation who no longer feels victimized by the Holocaust.”

Icy wind from two directions

An icy wind of antisemitism is blowing from two different directions: the far-right and an Islamic context. Antisemitic sentiments from the extreme right tend to take the form of revisionist history that denies any responsibility for the Holocaust or questions the legitimacy of the state of Israel. According to Salzborn, Islamic antisemitism is often based on anti-Jewish passages in the Koran, and is closely associated with the conflict in the Near East and an often one-sided over-identification with the Palestinians. 
 
Politically, far-right antisemitism seems to have found a home in the Alternative für Deutschland (Alternative for Germany, AfD) party founded in 2013. No other party has as many anti-Semitic members. “55 percent of AfD supporters agree with antisemitic sentiments,” Salzborn says. This number is around 15 to 20 percent across the board in all other parties, which is the same figure empirical research has shown for the average population over the past 20 years. “Not all AfD supporters are antisemitic,” Uffa Jensen, a professor at the Center for Antisemitic Research at the Technical University of Berlin, emphasizes. But, he adds, they have displayed a “very high tolerance” for the antisemitic sentiments expressed by their party officials. The party is also closely networked with right-wing and radical right-wing groups.
 
Islamic antisemitism has a slightly different history. Concern has been expressed that Germany might be importing hate against Jews by taking in so many refugees from majority Muslim countries. Jensen rejects this idea, noting that antisemitism is hardly more widespread among refugees than among local groups. “The migrants who express antisemitism are usually young people from Arab or Palestinian families who were born in Germany and are second or third generation,” Jensen says. He adds that these young adults may be poorly integrated, or perhaps so well-integrated that they know exactly how to provoke a strong reaction. Jensen has noticed this phenomenon more frequently recently, and even Germans with Turkish roots are increasingly expressing antisemitic sentiments. 

Textbook reform needed

“Antisemitism is wrong,” Salzborn emphasises, no matter which direction it comes from, “and we have to reject any expression of it.” Experts agree that this is currently not happening enough in German schools. Many teachers and principals feel overwhelmed and are unsure how to respond. “German educational policy has failed to address this issue for decades,” Salzborn says.
 
Politicians agree that Germany has a problem with rising antisemitism, and the German parliament created the post of Antisemitism Commissioner at the start of 2018. Felix Klein assumed the role in May. Klein sees parallels between the problem in schools and over development in Germany society, though the issue is more clearly perceptible in schools. He has called for more outreach and education. “Judaism has to be stripped of its mysterious significance and be understood simply as a normal part of life in Germany.” Klein adds that this has to begin in schools and in school textbooks. “Right now, Jews are only mentioned as victims of the Holocaust. But Judaism has been integral to Germany since time immemorial,” he says. This is the message we need to be sending. 
 
All antisemitism experts point to school textbooks and teacher training as good places to start. Universities will have to prepare teachers to deal with discrimination better, whether against Jews, Muslims, homosexuals, women or anyone else, so they can respond confidently and decisively when students like Oscar are targeted. 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Antisemitismus
„Ein massives Problem“

Öffentlich eine Kippa zu tragen ist in Deutschland nicht mehr ungefährlich.
Öffentlich eine Kippa zu tragen ist in Deutschland nicht mehr ungefährlich. | Foto (Zuschnitt): © picture-alliance/dpa/Danierl Bockwold

In Deutschland nehmen Fälle antisemitischer Übergriffe auf jüdische Bürger zu – unter anderem an Schulen. Forscher fordern bessere Lehrerausbildung.

Von Claudia Isabel Rittel

Nur beiläufig hatte Oscar Michalski im Ethikunterricht erwähnt, dass er Jude ist. Was darauf folgte, sorgte bei dem Jungen für Todesangst und erschütterte den Glauben seiner Eltern in die deutsche Gesellschaft. Wenige Tage nach seinem scheinbar unwichtigen Bekenntnis, begannen Mitschüler, den damals 14-Jährigen aus Berlin zu mobben, zu schlagen, simulierten seine Hinrichtung und würgten ihn schließlich so lange, dass er kurzzeitig bewusstlos wurde. All das passierte Anfang 2017 an einer gutbürgerlichen Berliner Schule, an der man solch gewalttätige Auswüchse erstmal nicht erwarten würde. Auf ein Hilfeersuchen der Eltern reagierte der Direktor wochenlang nicht. Schließlich nahmen die Eltern den Jugendlichen, der eigentlich anders heißt, von der Schule und machten den Fall in mehreren Medien öffentlich. 
 
Der Vorfall um Oscar ist kein Einzelfall, Antisemitismus-Experten sehen an weiterführenden Schulen in Deutschland ein grundsätzliches Problem. „Antisemitismus ist in den vergangenen Jahren sichtbarer, bedrohlicher und gewalttätiger geworden“, konstatiert Politikprofessor Samuel Salzborn, der derzeit Gastprofessor am Zentrum für Antisemitismusforschung der Technischen Universität Berlin ist. „Das geht von verbalen Aggressionen bis hin zu gewalttätigen Handgreiflichkeiten.“ 
 
Vladislava Zdesenko ist Anwältin und betreut Eltern in vergleichbaren Situationen. Nach ihrer Erfahrung sind es immer wieder die Opfer, die die Schule verlassen. „Die Täter bleiben und tragen keine Konsequenzen davon“, sagt sie. Das liege teilweise auch daran, dass die Schulen nicht tätig würden – vielleicht weil es einfacher sei, wenn ein Schüler gehe, als eine ganze Gruppe. „Aber gerade für Juden ist das ein verheerendes Signal“, so Zdesenko. „Die derzeitigen Jugendlichen sind ja im Grunde die erste Generation, die sich nach dem Holocaust nicht mehr in der Opferrolle fühlt.“

Kalter Wind aus zwei Richtungen 

Kalter Wind weht Juden dabei gleich aus zwei unterschiedlichen Richtungen entgegen: aus dem rechten Milieu sowie aus dem islamischen Kontext. Antisemitische Äußerungen aus dem rechten Lager zeigen sich meist als Geschichtsrevisionismus, in der Abweisung der Schuld am Holocaust oder indem die Existenz des Staates Israel in Frage gestellt wird. Der islamische Antisemitismus geht laut Salzborn zurück auf antijüdische Quellen im Koran. Er hänge zudem eng mit dem Nahost-Konflikt zusammen und mit einer oft einseitigen Überidentifizierung mit den Palästinensern.
 
Politisch scheint der rechte Antisemitismus derzeit eine Heimat bei der 2013 gegründeten Partei Alternative für Deutschland (AfD) gefunden zu haben. Keine andere Partei zählt so viele Antisemiten zu ihren Unterstützern wie sie. „Bei der AfD stimmen 55 Prozent der Anhänger antisemitischen Äußerungen zu“, sagt Salzborn. Bei den anderen Parteien seien es durch die Bank etwa 15 bis 20 Prozent – das sind so viele, wie die empirische Forschung seit gut 20 Jahren auch für die Durchschnittsbevölkerung immer wieder ermittele. „Zwar sind nicht alle AfD-Anhänger Antisemiten“, wie Professor Uffa Jensen vom Zentrum für Antisemitismusforschung der Technischen Universität Berlin betont. Doch für antisemitische Äußerungen ihrer Funktionsträger hätten sie eine „sehr hohe Toleranz“. Zudem sei die Partei stark im rechten und rechtsradikalen Milieu vernetzt.
 
Und der islamische Antisemitismus? Importiert Deutschland Judenhass, weil es viele Flüchtlinge aus muslimischen Ländern aufnimmt? Eher nein, meint Jensen. Antisemitismus unter Geflüchteten sei kaum verbreiteter als in der einheimischen Bevölkerung. „Wenn Antisemitismus von Migranten kommt, dann sind das häufig Jugendliche aus arabischen oder palästinensischen Familien, die in Deutschland geboren sind und zur zweiten oder dritten Generation gehören“, sagt Jensen. Also schlecht integrierte Jugendliche? Vielleicht. Vielleicht aber auch so gut integrierte Jugendliche, dass sie genau wissen, womit sie provozieren können, meint Jensen. In der letzten Zeit nehme er dieses Phänomen immer intensiver wahr, selbst türkischstämmige Deutsche fielen immer häufiger antisemitisch auf.

Reform von Schulbüchern nötig

Doch egal, von welcher Seite er kommt: „Antisemitismus ist falsch“, betont Salzborn, „und entsprechenden Äußerungen ist immer zu widersprechen.“ Das geschehe an deutschen Schulen derzeit nicht ausreichend, da sind sich die Experten einig. Viele Lehrer und Schulleiter seien damit überfordert. „Die deutsche Bildungspolitik hat hier seit Jahrzehnten versagt“, so Salzborn.  
 
Weil auch die Politik ein wachsendes Antisemitismus-Problem in Deutschland sieht, hat der Bundestag Anfang 2018 entschieden, dass das Land einen Antisemitismusbeauftragten braucht. Seit Mai ist Felix Klein im Amt. Das Problem an den Schulen laufe parallel zur gesellschaftlichen Entwicklung, nur trete es hier noch klarer zu Tage, meint er und fordert mehr Aufklärungsarbeit. „Das Judentum muss seine mystische Bedeutung verlieren und als ganz normaler Teil Deutschlands wahrgenommen werden.“ Das fange im Unterricht an. Und in den Schulbüchern. „Juden kommen darin bisher nur als Opfer des Holocausts vor. Das Judentum aber gehört seit jeher zu Deutschland“, so Klein. Das müsse vermittelt werden.
 
Bei Schulbüchern und in der Lehrerausbildung sehen alle Antisemitismus-Experten ein Problem. Damit Lehrer entschiedener auf Vorfälle wie den von Oscar reagieren können, müssten sie schon im Studium besser darauf vorbereitet werden, wie sie mit Diskriminierung umgehen – egal, ob diese sich gegen Juden, Muslime, Homosexuelle, Frauen oder andere richte.

Top