Europe Photo: Karl-Josef Hildenbrand/dpa, © dpa

“Unity in Diversity” has been the motto of the European Union since 2000. Europe and the European project stand for freedom, peace and solidarity among nations – and for a community based on tolerance and interest in one another on the part of many different cultures, traditions and languages, whose preservation is the responsibility of all. Nevertheless, current debates reveal that the project of a united Europe cannot be taken for granted. Can the European project prevail in the future? And how can policy and culture fill it with new life?

Artists and academics, publicists and protagonists from public life, will all take positions on Europe’s present and future – in background analyses, dialogues and visions. 

Wishes for Europe – #mywishforeurope

2017 is Europe’s super election year: elections have been or will be held in many countries – and the debates show that each election is also a vote on Europe itself. We have asked people in and outside of Europe: what do you wish for Europe in 2017? We’ll send their wishes out into the world under #mywishforeurope until 4 June – on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook and goethe.de.

Other projects

Home Visits

Ten writers and authors pay home visits in Europe. Hosts in over 15 cities in Portugal, Spain, France, Italy, Belgium, Luxembourg and Germany open their doors to them, to spend an evening together.

Collecting Europe visual identity Design: The Beautiful Meme

Collecting Europe

How might our present be viewed from the future? The Goethe-Institut London and the V&A have commissioned twelve international artists to imagine what Europe might look like 2,000 years from now. 

Language and Culture of the Hungarian Roma Photo (detail): © Galerie Kai Dikhas

A Cultural Kaleidoscope

Centuries old and vibrant to this day – the language and culture of the Hungarian Roma. The Goethe-Institut Hungary devotes a dossier to this important and complex chapter of European cultural history.

Contributions

Europa Foto: Karl-Josef Hildenbrand/dpa, © dpa

„In Vielfalt geeint“ lautet das Motto der Europäischen Union seit dem Jahr 2000. Europa und der europäische Gedanke stehen für Freiheit, Frieden und Solidarität der Nationen – und für das tolerante und interessierte Nebeneinander vieler verschiedener Kulturen, Traditionen und Sprachen, die es gemeinsam zu bewahren gilt. Doch die aktuellen Debatten zeigen, dass die Idee eines vereinten Europas keine Selbstverständlichkeit ist. Kann der europäische Gedanke in Zukunft also noch bestehen? Und wie können Politik und Kultur diesen mit neuem Leben füllen? 

Künstler und Wissenschaftler, Publizisten und Protagonisten des öffentlichen Lebens, sie alle nehmen zur Gegenwart und zur Zukunft Europas Stellung – in Hintergründen, Dialogen und Visionen. 

Wünsche für Europa – #mywishforeurope

​2017 ist das europäische „Superwahljahr", in vielen Ländern wurde oder wird gewählt – und die Debatten zeigen, jede Wahl ist auch eine Abstimmung über Europa. Wir haben Menschen in und außerhalb Europas gefragt: Was wünscht ihr Europa für das Jahr 2017? Bis zum 4. Juni schicken wir ihre Wünsche unter  #mywishforeurope hinaus in die Welt – auf Twitter, Instagram, Facebook und goethe.de.  

Es twittern, bloggen und posten die Goethe-Institute in:​ Amsterdam, Athen, Brüssel, Frankfurt, Glasgow, Hamburg, Kopenhagen, London, Madrid, München, Riga, Schwäbisch Hall und Washington. 

Weitere Projekte

Hausbesuch Logo © rose apple | epple

Hausbesuch

Zehn Schriftstellerinnen und Autoren unternehmen Hausbesuche in Europa. In Portugal, Spanien, Frankreich, Italien, Belgien, Luxemburg und Deutschland öffnen ihnen Gastgeber in über 15 Städten die Türen, um miteinander einen Abend zu verbringen. 

Collecting Europe visual identity Design: The Beautiful Meme

Collecting Europe

Wie wird unsere Gegenwart aus der Zukunft gesehen? Das Goethe-Institut London forderte gemeinsam mit dem Victoria and Albert Museum (V&A) zwölf internationale Künstlerinnen und Designer dazu auf, einen Blick auf das heutige Europa zu werfen – und zwar aus dem Jahr 4017. 

Sprache und Kultur ungarischer Roma Foto (Ausschnitt): © Galerie Kai Dikhas

Kulturelles Kaleidoskop

Sie sind Jahrhunderte alt und bis heute lebendig – die Sprache und die Kultur der ungarischen Roma. Das Goethe-Institut Ungarn widmet diesem wichtigen und vielfältigen Kapitel in der europäischen Kulturgeschichte ein Dossier. 

Artikel