Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Graffiti on house wall, woman as superhero with balloon "I can Vote", Brighton, England, United KingdomPhoto (detail): Moritz Wolf; © picture alliance/imageBROKER

Feminism Today

What are the vital issues that women and feminists today consider to be of burning importance, what are they concerned about? And what else is there still to do? This is a showcase of people who are involved in the field of culture and who are dealing with the hottest feminist issues and debates of the moment.


Video Series “Leading Women”

Women in top-ranking positions modernise skylines and infrastructures. They run international enterprises and use technology in the service of a fairer world. Our video series shows ten women from different countries and professions. What motivates them? What are their views on hierarchies and teamwork? What makes them leaders and pacemakers of society?

Tomomi Nishimoto © prounenweb

Leading Women
Tomomi Nishimoto

Every breath she takes: When Tomomi Nishimoto performs with her orchestra, hundreds of musicians follow her every little move. This video portrait shows the Japanese conductor in her element and points out the challenges involved in a position that carries so much responsibility.

Sigrid Nikutta © prounenweb

Leading Women
Sigrid Nikutta

As the first woman to serve as CEO of the Berlin Transport Authority, Sigrid Nikutta is shaping the future of urban and, above all, sustainable mobility in the German capital. She talks about the character traits that are decisive for her career.

Angelika Eggert © prounenweb

Leading Women
Angelika Eggert

For Angelika Eggert, head of Pediatrics at Berlin’s Charité hospital, power is not an end in itself, but an opportunity to make a difference. But there’s also a price to pay for that opportunity, as she explains.


Brave, new world – how do we want to live together?

How do women juggle the demands of their relationships, caring for the family and being gainfully employed? In German society single mothers or fathers are equally as prevalent as patchwork families, queer, trans or polyamourous relationships. Women are still being forced into the classic role of nursing and nurturing. But what ways of living together fit in with today's world? And what changes in professional life?


Who am I – and who do I want to be?

Man or woman – is that all there is? For those people who do not feel at home in either of these categories, there is nothing but confusion. Today’s feminism, in any case, is building on the diversity of human identities:  Does, however, the difference between man and woman have to be so black and white? Isn’t this classification of gender oppressive?


Princess-to-go – how do you see me?

Am I too fat, too old, not beautiful enough? Every day we are bombarded by images of idealised femininity, they unsettle us, and convey traditional roles that reduce women to their outward appearance. Feminist debates are combating these images with “empowering” strategies of self-assertion.


Selftest: How feminist am I?





For a long time feminism was “yuck” in Germany and the term alone triggered fear and damnation. Those days, however, are now over. Feminist slogans are emblazoned on the T-shirts of all the big clothing chains. What better time than now to put yourself to the test! Leaving all the short-lived fashion trends aside, has the feminist mindset also managed to gain a foothold in my life? Just how feminist am I? Find it out: click on [Start].
Choose an answer!


Persistence and Dialogue – Feminism worldwide

What do women in India think of role clichés in Bollywood films? Why is it difficult for married women in Japan to be feminist? - The following articles show how societies worldwide deal with equality and how the framework conditions for feminism and feminist activism are in different countries.


Goethe-Institut Projects worldwide

Jeem Logo © Jeem

JEEM.ME

Jeem.me is a website about gender, sex and sexuality in Arabic-speaking countries, which provides users with information, articles and stories in Arabic.

Das Design der Ausstellung „Queer as German Folk“ entwickelt von der Berliner Agentur chezweitz Grafik: chezweitz

50 Jahre Stonewall Riots
Queer as German Folk

Das Jubiläum 50 Jahre Stonewall Riots gibt Anlass zum Feiern, aber auch zum Weiterkämpfen für queere Rechte. Das Goethe-Institut unterstützt die Debatte und Erinnerung mit einem internationalen Programm. 

 

Production

Idea and Concept: Christine Ruhland and Sonja Eismann
Editors: Ula Brunner, Christine Ruhland, Jörn Müller
Technical implementation: Christine Ruhland, Svenja Hoffmann
Picture editing: Ula Brunner and Sarah Klein

 
 
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Graffiti an Hauswand, Frau als Superheldin mit Sprechblase “I can Vote”, Brighton, England, Vereinigtes KönigreichFoto (Detail): Moritz Wolf; © picture alliance/imageBROKER

Feminismus heute

Was sind die wichtigsten Themen, die Frauen und Feminist*innen heute unter den Nägeln brennen? Was treibt sie an? Und was ist noch zu tun? Wir stellen Kulturschaffende vor, die sich mit den aktuellen feministischen Debatten beschäftigen.


Videoreihe „Leading Women“

Frauen in Spitzenpositionen verändern Skylines und Infrastrukturen. Sie leiten internationale Unternehmen und stellen Technologie in den Dienst einer faireren Welt. Unsere Videoserie zeigt zehn Frauen aus verschiedenen Ländern und Berufsfeldern. Was treibt sie an? Wie denken sie über Hierarchien und Teamarbeit? Was macht sie zu Führungskräften und Schrittmacherinnen der Gesellschaft?

Tomomi Nishimoto © prounenweb

Leading Women
Tomomi Nishimoto

Jeder Atemzug ein Zeichen: Wenn Tomomi Nishimoto mit ihrem Orchester auftritt, verlassen sich hunderte Musiker auch auf die kleinste ihrer Bewegungen. Das Videoporträt zeigt die japanische Dirigentin in ihrem Element und erzählt von den Herausforderungen ihrer Schlüsselposition.

Sigrid Nikutta © prounenweb

Leading Women
Sigrid Nikutta

Als erste weibliche Vorstandsvorsitzende der Berliner Verkehrsbetriebe prägt Sigrid Nikutta die Zukunft urbaner und vor allem nachhaltiger Mobilität in Deutschlands Hauptstadt. Sie verrät, welche Charaktereigenschaften für ihre Karriere entscheidend sind.

Angelika Eggert © prounenweb

Leading Women
Angelika Eggert

Für die Medizinerin Angelika Eggert ist Macht kein Selbstzweck, sondern eine Gelegenheit, etwas zu bewirken. Als Direktorin der Pädiatrie an der Charité Berlin spricht sie auch über den Tribut, den man für diese Gelegenheit zahlen muss.


Schöne neue Welt - wie möchten wir zusammen leben?

Wie sind Beziehungen, Fürsorge und Erwerbstätigkeit unter einen Hut zu bringen? Noch immer werden Frauen, ganz im Sinne eines klassischen Rollenmodells, pflegende und sorgende Tätigkeiten zugeschrieben. Aber in der deutschen Gesellschaft sind Alleinerziehende ebenso die Regel wie Patchwork-Familien, queere, trans- oder polyamouröse Beziehungen. Welche Formen des Zusammenlebens passen in die heutige Zeit? Und was ändert sich im Berufsleben?

 


WER BIN ICH – UND WER WILL ICH SEIN?

Mann, Frau – und sonst nichts? Wer sich in keiner dieser Kategorien zu Hause fühlt, löst Verwirrung aus. Der aktuelle Feminismus setzt auf Vielfalt und fragt: Muss der Unterschied zwischen Mann und Frau in Stein gemeißelt sein? Unterdrücken uns diese Geschlechter-Zuordnungen nicht eher?


Prinzessin to go – Wie seht ihr mich?

Bin ich zu dick, zu alt, nicht schön genug? Bilder idealisierter Weiblichkeit prasseln tagtäglich auf uns ein, verunsichern uns und vermitteln traditionelle Rollenbilder, die Frauen auf ihr Äußeres reduzieren. Feministische Debatten setzen diesen Images „empowernde“ Strategien der Selbstbehauptung entgegen.


Selbsttest: Wie viel Feministin steckt in mir?





Lange war Feminismus in Deutschland „igitt“ und allein der Begriff löste Ängste und Ablehnungen aus. Doch diese Zeiten sind jetzt vorbei: Feministische Slogans prangen sogar auf T-Shirts jeder größeren Bekleidungskette. Ein günstiger Moment, bei sich selbst den Check zu machen: Konnten abseits von kurzlebigen Modetrends feministische Überzeugungen auch in meinem Leben Fuß fassen? Wie viel Feminismus steckt in mir? Finde es heraus: Klick auf [Start], und los geht's.
Wähle eine Anwort!


Beharrlichkeit und Dialog – Feminismus weltweit

Was halten Frauen in Indien, von Rollenklischees in Bollywood-Filmen? Warum ist es für verheiratete Frauen in Japan schwierig, feministisch zu sein? – Die folgenden Beiträge zeigen, wie Gesellschaften weltweit mit Gleichberechtigung umgehen und wie die Rahmenbedingungen für Feminismus und feministischen Aktivismus in unterschiedlichen Ländern sind.


Projekte der Goethe-Institute

Jeem Logo © Jeem

JEEM.ME

Jeem.me ist eine Website zu Gender, Sex und Sexualität im arabischsprachigen Raum, die ihren Nutzern Informationen, Artikel und Geschichten auf Arabisch zur Verfügung stellt.

Das Design der Ausstellung „Queer as German Folk“ entwickelt von der Berliner Agentur chezweitz Grafik: chezweitz

50 Jahre Stonewall Riots
Queer as German Folk

Das Jubiläum 50 Jahre Stonewall Riots gibt Anlass zum Feiern, aber auch zum Weiterkämpfen für queere Rechte. Das Goethe-Institut unterstützt die Debatte und Erinnerung mit einem internationalen Programm. 

 

 

 

Produktion

Idee und Konzept: Christine Ruhland und Sonja Eismann
Redaktion: Ula Brunner, Christine Ruhland, Jörn Müller
Technische Umsetzung: Christine Ruhland, Svenja Hoffmann
Bildredaktion: Ula Brunner und Sarah Klein

 
 

Top