#reform! Seyran Ateş

Seyran Ateş
©Seyran Ateş

Throughout the Reformation Year 2017, this site offers trendsetters and thought leaders a place to present their notions of change and innovation. What are the potentials and needs for current and future-oriented “reformations”?

One of the greatest problems of Muslims is that they do not really know their own religion. So-called “popular Islam”, in which each believer passes on his smattering of knowledge to the next, is rife. Muslims must therefore urgently begin to read the Quran and its traditions in their own language, to pose questions about it and, if need be, discuss their doubts, using their own understanding and reason in matters of religion. They must also say good-bye to rigid patriarchal and misogynistic structures. An historical-critical exegesis of Islam is imperative so that a gender-equal interpretation of Islam has a chance. The stranger or the Other is not invariably an enemy simply because he belongs to a different religion and culture. It is important to seek an amicable and cordial dialogue with other people so as to establish peace amongst religions, without which there will be no world peace. To put all this into practice, we have founded the Ibn Rushd-Goethe Mosque GmbH in Berlin. In addition to teaching the Quran in many languages, we stand for the equality of the sexes and all identities and orientations.

We want to set an example of this by, for instance, letting men and women pray together and having a woman prayer leader (imam) lead the Friday prayer and give the sermon. Moreover, in our mosque there will be no separation of Sunnis, Shiites, Alevis and other branches of Islam. Ibn Rushd and Goethe were bridge-builders between East and West. We are committed to this legacy and to the legacy of Mevlana Celaleddin Rumi.
 
“Come! Come! Whoever you are.

Even if you are idolaters or fire worshippers.
Come! This is the door of hope, not of hopelessness!
Even if you have broken your vows a thousand times.

Come! Come again!”
 
 – Mevlana Celaleddin Rumi

 

Biography

Seyran Ateş is a lawyer, political activist and journalist. During her law studies she worked in a counselling centre for Turkish women, where she was very seriously injured in 1984 in an assassination attempt. In 1997 she began working as a lawyer, but withdrew from this activity between 2006 and 2012 because of murder threats; she supported, among other things, the criminal prosecution of forced marriages.

In June 2017, she founded the liberally-oriented Ibn-Rushd-Goethe-mosque in Berlin. In numerous books, Ateş has repeatedly treated issues of gender and integration within the context of Islam. Her work has brought her many awards, including the Federal Cross of Merit First Class in 2014.

#reformieren! Seyran Ateş

Seyran Ateş
©Seyran Ateş

Im Laufe des Reformationsjahres 2017 kommen in dem Dossier „Gegenwarten Reformieren“ Trendsetter und Vordenker mit ihren persönlichen Erfahrungen und Vorstellungen von Wandel und Innovation zu Wort. Wo liegen Potenziale und Notwendigkeiten für gegenwärtige und zukunftsorientierte „Reformationen“?

Eines der größten Probleme der Muslime ist, dass sie ihre eigene Religion nicht wirklich kennen. Der sogenannte Volksislam, wo jeder jedem etwas von seinem Halbwissen weitergibt, ist weit verbreitet. Die Muslime müssen daher dringend beginnen, auch in Sachen Religion, unter Einbeziehung des eigenen Verstandes und der Vernunft den Koran und die Überlieferungen in der eigenen Sprache zu lesen, Fragen zu stellen und gegebenenfalls über Zweifel zu diskutieren. Sie müssen sich zudem von starren patriarchalen, frauenfeindlichen Strukturen verabschieden. Eine historisch-kritische Auslegung ist unumgänglich, damit auch im Islam eine geschlechtergerechte Interpretation und Lesart des Islam eine Chance hat. Der Fremde oder der Andere ist nicht immer ein Feind, nur weil er einer anderen Religion und Kultur angehört. Es gilt, den friedlichen, herzlichen Dialog mit anderen Menschen zu suchen, um Frieden zwischen den Religionen, ohne den es keinen Weltfrieden geben wird, herzustellen. Um all dies in die Tat umzusetzen haben wir die Ibn Ibn Rushd-Goethe-Moschee GmbH in Berlin gegründet. Neben der Vermittlung des Koran in vielen Sprachen setzen wir uns für die Gleichberechtigung der Geschlechter und aller Identitäten und Orientierungen ein.

Dies wollen wir vorleben, indem wir z.B. Männer und Frauen gemeinsam beten und eine Vorbeterin (Imamin) das Freitagsgebet leiten sowie die Predigt halten lassen. Außerdem wird es in unserer Moschee keine Trennung zwischen Sunniten, Schiiten, Aleviten und anderen Strömungen geben. Ibn Rushd und Goethe waren Brückenbauer zwischen dem Orient und Okzident. Diesem Erbe und dem Erbe des Mevlana Celaleddin Rumi fühlen wir uns verpflichtet.

„Komm! Komm! Wer du auch bist.
 
Wenn du auch Götzendiener oder Feueranbeter bist.
Komm! Dies ist die Tür der Hoffnung, nicht der Hoffnungslosigkeit!
Auch wenn du Tausendmal dein Versprechen gebrochen hast.
 
Komm! Komm! wieder! (Mevlana Celaleddin Rumi)
 

Biografie

Seyran Ateş ist Rechtsanwältin, politische Aktivistin und Publizistin. Während ihres Jurastudiums arbeitete sie in einer Beratungsstelle für türkische Frauen und wurde dort bei einem Attentat 1984 lebensgefährlich verletzt. Ab 1997 arbeitete sie als Rechtsanwältin, gab diese Tätigkeit aber von 2006 bis 2012 aufgrund von Morddrohungen auf. Seyran Ateş setzte sich unter anderem für die strafrechtliche Verfolgung von Zwangsehen ein.

Im Juni 2017 gründet sie die liberal ausgerichtete Ibn-Rushd-Goethe-Moschee in Berlin. Seyran Ateş hat sich in zahlreichen Büchern immer wieder mit Genderfragen innerhalb des Islam und mit Fragen der Integration auseinandergesetzt. Ihr Wirken wurde vielfach ausgezeichnet, unter andrem mit dem Bundesverdienstkreuz erster Klasse 2014.