#reform! Peter Weibel

Peter Weibel
©Goethe-Institut

Throughout the Reformation Year 2017, this site offers trendsetters and thought leaders a place to present their notions of change and innovation. What are the potentials and needs for current and future-oriented “reformations”?

I see the most urgent need for reformation and innovation in financial theory. Before, we lived in a world of production, of work, of goods that functioned according the following equation.
 
A person makes his life time available in order to produce a product with which the owner of the means of production can make a profit. Now, however, we are changing from a society of work to a society of knowledge, in which the products are data produced by users, and from which the so-called provider then makes a profit. In accordance with the logic of analogue production, the producer of data would have to be remunerated as was before the producer of commodities. Because this is not the case, the providers can become billionaires within the space of a few years.

 
The error is to suppose that the world of data, which is a world of distribution, still reflects the logic of production. In a knowledge society, the acquisition of knowledge must be financially rewarded. It is wrong that students should have to pay for their studies, because they are acquiring knowledge which they will later make available to the community as a product – for example, doctors. Students should receive a salary during their studies. Museum and library users too should be paid for their acquisition of knowledge. And the knowledge services of museums and so on must be correspondingly aligned. The playing professions, ranging from footballers to Hollywood actors, are now inordinately overpaid. The helping professions, ranging from midwives to nurses for the elderly, are inordinately underpaid. Yet the latter are the professions necessary for sustaining life. These disproportions must also be changed through an economic reform.
 
Before, we used to say “working time produces money”; then we said “production of commodities by means of commodities” – this was the title of a book by Piero Sraffa (1968); now we say “money produces money” (financial economy); in future, we will say “knowledge produces money”.
 
If you ask me what is needed to surmount the obstacles to realizing innovative impulses, I would mention the ability to find the right teachers and ideas; to overcome rejection and resistance; and to process things quickly, to think quickly, to speak quickly and to act quickly.
 

Biography

Professor Dr. Peter Weibel, head of the Center for Art and media Technology in Karlsruhe since January 1999. In numerous writings and lectures, Weibel has championed art and a history of art that takes the history of technology and science into account. As a teacher at universities and long-time head of institutions such as the Ars Electronica, Linz, the Institute for New Media Frankfurt am Main, and Center for Art and media Technology in Karlsruhe (ZKM) Karlsruhe, he has influenced especially the European “computer art” scene through conferences, exhibitions and publications. (Wikipedia)

#reformieren! Peter Weibel

Peter Weibel: Medientheoretiker, Kurator und Vorstand ZKM Karlsruhe
© Goethe-Institut

Im Laufe des Reformationsjahres 2017 kommen in dem Dossier „Gegenwarten Reformieren“ Trendsetter und Vordenker mit ihren persönlichen Erfahrungen und Vorstellungen von Wandel und Innovation zu Wort. Wo liegen Potenziale und Notwendigkeiten für gegenwärtige und zukunftsorientierte „Reformationen“?

Den dringendsten Bedarf an Reformation und Innovation sehe ich in der Finanztheorie. Bisher lebten wir in einer Welt der Produktion, der Arbeit, der Ware, die nach folgenden Gleichungen funktioniert:
 
Ein Mensch stellt seine Lebenszeit zur Verfügung, um ein Produkt herzustellen, mit dem der Besitzer der Produktionsmittel Profite machen kann. Nun bewegen wir uns aber von einer Arbeitsgesellschaft zu einer Wissensgesellschaft, in der die Produkte Daten sind, die von den Nutzern hergestellt werden und von denen die sogenannten Provider profitieren. Nach der Logik der analogen Produktion müssten die Hersteller von Daten wie früher die Hersteller von Waren vergütet werden. Weil das nicht der Fall ist, können die Provider heute innerhalb weniger Jahre zu Milliardären werden.


Der Fehler liegt darin, dass in der Datenwelt, die eine Welt der Distribution ist, sich immer noch die Logik der Produktion spiegelt. In der Wissensgesellschaft muss der Erwerb von Wissen finanziell entlohnt werden. Es ist falsch, dass ein Studierender für sein Studium bezahlt, denn er erwirbt Wissen, das er später der Gemeinschaft als Produkt zur Verfügung stellt, z.B. als Arzt. Studierende sollen während ihres Studiums ein Gehalt bekommen. Auch MuseumsbesucherInnen und BibliotheksbesucherInnen etc. sollen für ihren Wissenserwerb bezahlt werden. Dementsprechend müssen auch die Wissensangebote der Museen ausgerichtet sein. Die spielenden Berufe, von Fußballern bis Hollywood-Schauspielern, sind heute disproportional überbezahlt. Sie dienen der Unterhaltung.

Die helfenden Berufe, von Hebammen bis Altenpflegern, sind heute disproportional unterbezahlt. Sie sind notwendig für den Erhalt des Lebens. Auch das muss durch eine ökonomische Reform geändert werden.
Hieß es früher „Arbeitszeit produziert Geld“, hieß es später Warenproduktion mittels Waren – so der Titel eines Buches von Piero Sraffa (1968), heißt es heute „Geld produziert Geld“ (Finanzwirtschaft), wird es morgen heißen „Wissen produziert Geld“.
 
Wenn sie mich fragen, welche Hindernisse überwunden werden müssen, um sich mit innovativen Impulsen durchzusetzen, wären Fähigkeiten zu nennen, die richtigen Lehrer und Ideen zu finden;  Ablehnung und Widerstände zu überwinden sowie schnell zu prozessieren, schnell zu denken, schnell zu reden, schnell zu handeln.
 

Biografie

Professor Dr. Peter Weibel leitet seit Januar 1999 das Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie in Karlsruhe In zahlreichen Schriften und Vorträgen setzt sich Peter Weibel für eine Kunst und eine Kunstgeschichtsschreibung ein, die Technikgeschichte und Wissenschaftsgeschichte berücksichtigt. In der Lehre und als langjähriger Leiter von Institutionen wie der Ars Electronica, Linz, des Instituts für Neue Medien in Frankfurt am Main, und des Zentrums für Kunst und Medientechnologie (ZKM) Karlsruhe beeinflusst er insbesondere die europäische Szene der sogenannten „Computerkunst“ durch Konferenzen, Ausstellungen und Publikationen. (Wikipedia)