#reform! Enkhbat Rozoon

Header Enkhbat Rozoon
Monsudar Publishing LLC

Throughout the Reformation Year 2017, this site offers trendsetters and thought leaders a place to present their notions of change and innovation. What are the potentials and needs for current and future-oriented “reformations”?

Caught up in everyday cares, neither citizens nor government can initiate genuine social change. Social change can be brought about only on the basis of a new understanding of society. Its basic concepts and principles (rule of law, division of powers, freedom of the press, civil rights, and so on) must above all be made comprehensible in the people’s native language and internalized by them. Only in this way will they become effective guides for living together. For this reason, a constitution that contains these concepts and principles must be explained to the people in a generally understandable manner. I see this as the most important challenge for the social renewal of our country. If this fails to take place, the political system and the people will become increasingly alienated from one another, and the gap between the rich and the poor, the educated and the uneducated, will continue to grow.
 

Accordingly, I see the most important social mission of a publishing house in facing the challenges presented by the development of the country’s language. In our view, social development is inseparably bound up with the development of our mother tongue. This view has long been the foundation of our publishing work. As publishers, we seek ways in which to explain comprehensibly the basic concepts of a new social order. In our translation work we are confronted daily by the challenges attending this effort. The work can be done only by people who possess knowledge of foreign languages and a good education. Unfortunately, the state has shown no initiative in accomplishing this task. That is why we consider it our duty to devote ourselves to this work to the extent our means and skills allow. By so doing, we seek to contribute to progress and social development.
 

Biography

Enkhbat Rozoon is a businessman, publisher and political journalist. In articles, interviews and the organization of public events, he has championed the modernization of the Mongolian educational system and the strengthening of civil society and a public that is critical towards the political parties. After studying at the School of Graphics and Book Design in Leipzig (1978-1983), he worked at first for several years as a photographer for and director of the state photographic agency MonTsaMe. In 1996 he established the printing house Admon and became self-employed. In 2000 he founded the publishing house Monsudar and in 2005 the Internom chain of book shops. Monsudar is today Mongolia’s leading publisher of international fiction, dictionaries, children’s books and modern teaching materials. Internom is the country‘s largest bookshop chain.

#reformieren! Enkhbat Rozoon

Header Enkhbat Rozoon
Monsudar Publishing LLC

Im Laufe des Reformationsjahres 2017 kommen in dem Dossier „Gegenwarten Reformieren“ Trendsetter und Vordenker mit ihren persönlichen Erfahrungen und Vorstellungen von Wandel und Innovation zu Wort. Wo liegen Potenziale und Notwendigkeiten für gegenwärtige und zukunftsorientierte „Reformationen“?

Gefangen in Alltagssorgen, vermag es weder die Bevölkerung noch die Regierung, einen echten gesellschaftlichen Wandel einzuleiten. Gesellschaftliche Veränderung kann sich nur vollziehen auf der Grundlage eines neuen Gesellschaftsverständnisses. Dessen Grundbegriffe und -prinzipien (Rechtsstaatlichkeit, Gewaltenteilung, Pressefreiheit, Bürgerrechte etc.) müssen von allen in der Muttersprache verstanden und verinnerlicht werden. Nur so werden sie für das Zusammenleben wirksam. Deshalb müssen wir das Grundgesetz, das diese Begriffe und Prinzipien enthält, den Menschen in allgemeinverständlicher Weise erklären. Darin sehe ich die wichtigste Herausforderung für die gesellschaftliche Erneuerung unseres Landes. Geschieht das nicht, werden sich das politische System und das Volk immer weiter voneinander entfremden, der Unterschied zwischen armen und reichen, gebildeten und ungebildeten Bevölkerungsteilen wird weiter wachsen.


#Eine Regierung, die kein Interesse zeigt, allen Bürgern das Grundgesetz verständlich zu erklären, hat auch kein Interesse an Demokratie.
 
Entsprechend sehe ich die wichtigste gesellschaftliche Aufgabe eines Verlags darin, sich den Herausforderungen der Entwicklung der Muttersprache zu stellen. Aus unserer Sicht ist die gesellschaftliche Entwicklung untrennbar verbunden mit der Entwicklung der Muttersprache. Diese Sichtweise lag unserer Verlagsarbeit schon immer zu Grunde. Als Verlag versuchen wir nach Wegen, die Grundbegriffe der neuen Gesellschaftsordnung verständlich zu erklären. Mit den Herausforderungen, die damit einhergehen, sind wir durch unsere Übersetzungsarbeit täglich konfrontiert. Diese Arbeit kann nur von Menschen geleistet werden, die über Fremdsprachenkenntnisse und eine gute Bildung verfügen. Leider zeigt der Staat bei der Bewältigung dieser Aufgabe keinerlei Initiative. Deshalb sehen wir es als unsere Pflicht an, uns dieser Aufgabe, nach unseren eigenen Mitteln und Fähigkeiten, selbst zu widmen. Indem wir das tun, tragen wir zu Fortschritt und gesellschaftlicher Entwicklung bei. 
 

Biografie

Enkhbat Rozoon ist Unternehmer, Verleger und politischer Publizist. In Artikeln und Interviews sowie durch die Organisation öffentlicher Veranstaltungen setzt er sich für eine Modernisierung des mongolischen Bildungssystems sowie die Stärkung der Zivilgesellschaft und der kritischen Öffentlichkeit gegenüber den politischen Parteien ein. Nach seinem Studium an der Hochschule für Graphik und Buchkunst in Leipzig (1978-1983) arbeitete er zunächst mehrere Jahre als Fotograf und Leiter der staatlichen Fotoagentur MonTsaMe. 1996 machte er sich mit dem Admon Druckhaus selbstständig. 2000 gründete er den Monsudar Verlag sowie 2005 die Internom Buchhandelskette. Monsudar ist heute der führende Verlag der Mongolei für internationale Belletristik, Wörter- und Kinderbücher sowie moderne Lehrmaterialien. Internom ist die größte Buchhandelskette des Landes.