#reformieren! Giacomo Marramao

Giacomo Marramao

Throughout the Reformation Year 2017, this site offers trendsetters and thought leaders a place to present their notions of change and innovation. What are the potentials and needs for current and future-oriented “reformations”?

The European Union today sees itself in the grip of a double challenge in the form of two antithetical models of globalization: America’s principle of individualistic competition and the communitarian-authoritarian principle of Asia. Thanks to its great cultural and political history, Europe has the possibility of developing an alternative tertium between the two models by taking from its tradition the idea of an individual who does not only acquire and compete, but is also capable of solidarity and of a non-paternalistic-authoritarian community, which draws on the creative resources of the particular.
 

To pursue such an alternative would mean to pave the way for a “great politics”, capable of mastering the problem of immigration by creating a form of citizenship possible beyond the dualism between the “republican model of assimilation” and the multi-cultural “mosaic model”, between the neutral universalism of the French model of the “Republic” and the anti-universalism of the “Londonistan model”. Only a politics such as this would have the power to exploit the universal potential of religion by defusing the destructive, excluding moment of its identitary obsessions through the prospect of a universalism of differences and a policy of translation amongst the various ethics and ways of life (cf. G. Marramao, The Passage West: Philosophy After the Age of the Nation State, Verso, London/New York 2012).

Apart from a few significant exceptions, however, the political class of Europe seems to be light years removed from such a task.

​Biographical details.

#reformieren! Giacomo Marramao

Giacomo Marramao

Im Laufe des Reformationsjahres 2017 kommen in dem Dossier „Gegenwarten Reformieren“ Trendsetter und Vordenker mit ihren persönlichen Erfahrungen und Vorstellungen von Wandel und Innovation zu Wort. Wo liegen Potenziale und Notwendigkeiten für gegenwärtige und zukunftsorientierte „Reformationen“?

Die europäische Union sieht sich heute im Zangengriff einer doppelten Herausforderung durch die beiden antithetischen Modelle der Globalisierung: dem individualistischen Konkurrenzprinzip Amerikas und dem kommunitaristisch-autoritären Prinzip Asiens. Dank seiner großen kulturellen und politischen Geschichte hätte Europa die Möglichkeit, ein alternatives tertium zwischen beiden Modellen zu entwickeln, indem es seiner Tradition die Idee eines Individuums entnimmt, das nicht nur erwirbt und konkurriert, sondern auch solidarisch ist, außerdem das Modell einer nicht paternalistisch-autoritären Gemeinschaft, die die kreativen Ressourcen der Besonderheit ausschöpft.


Eine solche Alternative zu verfolgen, würde bedeuten, einer „großen Politik“ den Weg zu bahnen, die das Problem der Migration meistern kann, indem sie eine mögliche Form der Staatsbürgerschaft jenseits des Dualismus zwischen dem republikanischen Assimilationsmodell und dem multikulturellen „Mosaikmodell“, also zwischen dem neutralen Universalismus des Modells „République“ nach französischem Vorbild und dem Antiuniversalismus des „Londonistan-Modells“ entwirft. Nur eine solche Politik hätte die Kraft, das universelle Potential der Religionen zu nutzen, indem sie das destruktive, exkludierende Moment ihrer Identitären Obsessionen durch die Aussicht auf einen Universalismus der Unterschiede und eine Politik der Übersetzung zwischen verschiedenen Ethiken und Lebensformen entschärft (vgl. dazu G. Marramao, The Passage West: Philosophy After the Age of the Nation State, Verso, London/New York 2012).

Doch abgesehen von ein paar bedeutsamen Ausnahmen, scheint die politische Klasse Europas derzeit Lichtjahre von einer solchen Aufgabe entfernt.

Biographische Angaben.