#reform! Joan Magrané

Joan Magrane
Joan Magrane | © Pierre Morlet

Throughout the Reformation Year 2017, this site offers trendsetters and thought leaders a place to present their notions of change and innovation. What are the potentials and needs for current and future-oriented “reformations”?

The Word, Perhaps

That every human being [...], inside as outside, is nothing but harmony.
(Comenius, Didactica magna)

Luther’s Reformation fostered a great flourishing of musical creativity in the German-speaking world. Thanks to the texts of Pietist writers and poets, composers such as Heinrich Schütz and Bach could create a kind of music that united the spiritual with the free and powerful expression of the Italian madrigal. An example of this is the cycle of “spiritual madrigals” by Johann Hermann Schein, which was collected under the title Israelis Brünnlein (Fountain of Israel). In my view, this is how music has always been advanced: inspired by the word. And theatre. From these beginnings, which were bound up with the art of madrigalism, it was only a small step to the then still infant opera. The advent of Viennese classicism some time later cannot be understood apart from the predominance of opera in the musical world. Nor can polyphony, which was the origin of the string quartet, of the core of every symphonic repertoire.
 


Even today it is the word that drives music forward. The renaissance of the opera genre is a prime example of this. My own music has developed because of the influence of word and work on the voice. All the larger projects that lie ahead of me move in this direction. It is the word and song as our instruments that chiefly lead us closer to a new and urgently needed humanism (while everything seems to be running in the opposite direction, towards dehumanization). The role of art, in my opinion, consists in this turn inward, to contemplation.
 

BiograPHy

Joan Magrané Figuera, born in 1988, studied composition in Barcelona, Graz, and Paris. For the years 2017 and 2018, he is a member of l'Académie de France à Madrid-Casa Velázquez. His music is played by many renowned orchestras, ensembles, and solists alike. Recently he collaborated in two opera-projects, namely Dido Reloaded and disPLACE. He was awarded with many international prizes, such as the XXXI Premio Reina Sofía de Composición de la Fundación de Música Ferrer-Salat and, in 2016, the price of the Académie de France á Rome – Vila Medici.

#reformieren! Joan Magrané

Joan Magrane
Joan Magrane | © Pierre Morlet

Im Laufe des Reformationsjahres 2017 kommen in dem Dossier „Gegenwarten Reformieren“ Trendsetter und Vordenker mit ihren persönlichen Erfahrungen und Vorstellungen von Wandel und Innovation zu Wort. Wo liegen Potenziale und Notwendigkeiten für gegenwärtige und zukunftsorientierte „Reformationen“?

Das Wort vielleicht
 

Dass jeder Mensch (…) selbst im Inneren wie im Äußeren nichts als Harmonie ist. (Comenius, Didactica magna)

Die Reformation Luthers förderte ein starkes Aufblühen des musikalischen Schaffens im deutschsprachigen Raum. Dank der Texte der pietistischen Schriftsteller und Dichter konnten Komponisten wie Heinrich Schütz oder Bach eine Musik erschaffen, die das Spirituelle mit dem freien und expressiven Ausdruck des italienischen Madrigals verband. Ein Beispiel dafür ist der Zyklus der „geistlichen Madrigale“ von Johann Hermann Schein, die unter dem Titel Israelis Brünnlein zusammengefasst wurden. Meiner Ansicht nach, ist dies die Art, wie die Musik immer vorangeschritten ist: inspiriert durch das Wort. Das poetische Wort. Und das Theater. Von diesen Anfängen, die mit der Kunst des Madrigalismus verbunden sind, ist es nur ein kleiner Schritt hin zur noch jungen Oper. Das Aufkommen des Wiener Klassizismus einige Zeit später, ist ohne die Vorherrschaft der Oper in der musikalischen Geisteswelt nicht zu verstehen. Ebenso wenig die Polyphonie, die den Ursprung des Streichquartetts bildet, des Kernstücks jedes sinfonischen Repertoires.


Auch heutzutage ist es das Wort, das die Musik vorantreibt. Die Renaissance des Operngenres ist ein Paradebeispiel dafür. Meine eigene Musik hat sich aufgrund der Einwirkung des Wortes und der Arbeit mit der Stimme entwickelt. Sämtliche der größeren Projekte, die vor mir liegen, bewegen sich in diese Richtung. Das Wort und der Gesang als unsere Instrumente sind es, die uns in erster Linie näher heranführen an einen neuen und dringend benötigten Humanismus (während alles in die entgegengesetzte Richtung, die der Enthumanisierung, zu laufen scheint). Die Rolle der Kunst besteht, meiner Meinung nach, in dieser Hinwendung ins Innere, in der Einkehr.
   

Biografie

Joan Magrané Figuera (geb. 1988) studierte Komposition u. a. in Barcelona, Graz und Paris. Für die Jahre 2017 und 2018 wurde er zum Mitglied der l'Académie de France à Madrid-Casa Velázquez ernannt. Seine Musik wird von zahlreichen Orchestern, Ensembles und Solisten in ganz Europa interpretiert. Zuletzt arbeitete er an den Opernprojekten Dido Reloaded und disPLACE. Er wurde mit zahlreichen internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet, darunter der XXXI Premio Reina Sofía de Composición de la Fundación de Música Ferrer-Salat und im Jahr 2016 der Preis der Académie de France á Rome – Vila Medici.