Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Physical Closeness and Distance
Corona Rhapsody

After a long lockdown, Jan and Undine, who were already a couple before the pandemic, spend the first warm summer day in May 2021 enjoying the fresh air in Leipzig. Photo taken: 09.05.2021, Leipzig.
After a long lockdown, Jan and Undine, who were already a couple before the pandemic, spend the first warm summer day in May 2021 enjoying the fresh air in Leipzig. Photo taken: 09.05.2021, Leipzig. | Photo (detail): © Rafael Heygster

“Corona Rhapsody” is a contribution to the discussion on the question of what has changed in our society since the pandemic. The photographer Rafael Heygster has captured various scenes of public life and diverse social situations.

By Rafael Heygster

Like Freddy Mercury asks in Bohemian Rhapsody: “Is this the real life? Is this just fantasy?”, I have often been confronted with the questions of what is actually happening around us and where the border between fantasy and reality lies, since the outbreak of the pandemic. I am interested in the tension between public life, the apparatus behind it and the people who move in this space.

Some images focus on the sense of surreality in the first weeks of the pandemic and have been photographed in collaboration with Helena Lea Mahartsberger (first photo from 27.04.2020, Hanover). In the second phase, the images documents life during the acclimatisation to the state of emergency as well as the decline of the pandemic and the resulting normalisation of everyday life, questioning whether there is a possibillity to “return” to old normality at all, or whether the impact of the pandemic has caused lasting changes in our society.  

Mounted policewomen disperse three young men playing football in a park. In Germany it is forbidden at the time to be in public with more than two people if you do not belong to a family living in the same household. Photo taken: 27.04.2020, Hanover. Mounted policewomen disperse three young men playing football in a park. In Germany it is forbidden at the time to be in public with more than two people if you do not belong to a family living in the same household. Photo taken: 27.04.2020, Hanover. | Photo: © Rafael Heygster
 
In mid-June, 120 of 700 residents of a prefabricated building in northern germany are infected with corona. The city bans all resi¬dents from leaving the housing complex, imposes a quarantine and puts up fences. Photo taken: 23.06.2020, Göttingen. In mid-June, 120 of 700 residents of a prefabricated building in northern germany are infected with corona. The city bans all resi¬dents from leaving the housing complex, imposes a quarantine and puts up fences. Photo taken: 23.06.2020, Göttingen. | Photo: © Rafael Heygster
 
Parents and children from two different families take a walk in compliance with the regulations of social distancing one day before Christmas Eve in Munich. Photo taken: 23.12.2020, Munich. Parents and children from two different families take a walk in compliance with the regulations of social distancing one day before Christmas Eve in Munich. Photo taken: 23.12.2020, Munich. | Photo: © Rafael Heygster
 
Neo-Nazis demonstrate against the measures to contain the pandemic in Chemnitz. During the Corona crisis, extremist right-wing movements in Germany receive a lot of growth from different parts of the society. Photo taken: 01.05.2021, Chemnitz. Neo-Nazis demonstrate against the measures to contain the pandemic in Chemnitz. During the Corona crisis, extremist right-wing movements in Germany receive a lot of growth from different parts of the society. Photo taken: 01.05.2021, Chemnitz. | Photo: © Rafael Heygster
 
After a long lockdown, Jan and Undine, who were already a couple before the pandemic, spend the first warm summer day in May 2021 enjoying the fresh air in Leipzig. Photo taken: 09.05.2021, Leipzig. After a long lockdown, Jan and Undine, who were already a couple before the pandemic, spend the first warm summer day in May 2021 enjoying the fresh air in Leipzig. Photo taken: 09.05.2021, Leipzig. | Photo: © Rafael Heygster
 
While fitness studios are closed, Max and his friend do their workout in the open air on a fallow land in Leipzig. Photo taken: 09.05.2021, Leipzig. While fitness studios are closed, Max and his friend do their workout in the open air on a fallow land in Leipzig. Photo taken: 09.05.2021, Leipzig. | Photo: © Rafael Heygster

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Physische Nähe und Distanz
Corona Rhapsody

Nach langer Abriegelung genießen Jan und Undine, die schon vor der Pandemie ein Paar waren, den ersten warmen Sommertag im Mai 2021 an der frischen Luft in Leipzig. Aufnahmedatum: 09.05.2021, Leipzig.
Nach langer Abriegelung genießen Jan und Undine, die schon vor der Pandemie ein Paar waren, den ersten warmen Sommertag im Mai 2021 an der frischen Luft in Leipzig. Aufnahmedatum: 09.05.2021, Leipzig. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Rafael Heygster

„Corona Rhapsody“ ist ein Diskussionsbeitrag zu der Frage, was sich in unserer Gesellschaft durch die Pandemie ändert. Der Fotograf Rafael Heygster hat verschiedenen Szenerien des öffentlichen Lebens und diverse soziale Situationen festgehalten.

Von Rafael Heygster

Wie Freddy Mercury in Bohemian Rhapsody fragt: „Ist das das wirkliche Leben? Ist das nur Fantasie?“, sah ich mich seit Ausbruch der Pandemie oft mit der Frage konfrontiert, was eigentlich um uns herum passiert und wo die Grenze zwischen Fantasie und Realität liegt. Mich interessiert die Spannung zwischen dem öffentlichen Leben, dem Apparat dahinter und den Menschen, die sich in diesem Raum bewegen.

Einige Bilder konzentrieren sich auf das Gefühl der Surrealität in den ersten Wochen der Pandemie und wurden in Zusammenarbeit mit Helena Lea Mahartsberger fotografiert (erstes Bild vom 27.04.2020, Hannover). In der zweiten Phase dokumentieren die Fotos das Leben während der Eingewöhnung an den Ausnahmezustand sowie den Rückgang der pandemischen Lage und die daraus resultierende Normalisierung des Alltags. Sie hinterfragen, ob es überhaupt eine Möglichkeit gibt, zur alten Normalität „zurückzukehren“ oder ob die Auswirkungen der Pandemie nachhaltige Veränderungen in unserer Gesellschaft bewirkt haben.
 

Berittene Polizistinnen vertreiben drei junge Männer, die in einem Park Fußball spielen. In Deutschland ist es zu dieser Zeit verboten, sich mit mehr als zwei Personen in der Öffentlichkeit aufzuhalten, wenn man nicht zu einer Familie gehört, die im selben Haushalt lebt. Aufnahmedatum: 27.04.2020, Hannover. Berittene Polizistinnen vertreiben drei junge Männer, die in einem Park Fußball spielen. In Deutschland ist es zu dieser Zeit verboten, sich mit mehr als zwei Personen in der Öffentlichkeit aufzuhalten, wenn man nicht zu einer Familie gehört, die im selben Haushalt lebt. Aufnahmedatum: 27.04.2020, Hannover. | Foto: © Rafael Heygster
 
Mitte Juni werden 120 von 700 Bewohner*innen eines Plattenbaus in Norddeutschland mit Corona infiziert. Die Stadt verbietet allen Bewohner*innen, die Wohnanlage zu verlassen, verhängt eine Quarantäne und stellt Zäune auf. Aufnahmedatum: 23.06.2020, Göttingen. Mitte Juni werden 120 von 700 Bewohner*innen eines Plattenbaus in Norddeutschland mit Corona infiziert. Die Stadt verbietet allen Bewohner*innen, die Wohnanlage zu verlassen, verhängt eine Quarantäne und stellt Zäune auf. Aufnahmedatum: 23.06.2020, Göttingen. | Foto: © Rafael Heygster
 
Eltern und Kinder aus zwei verschiedenen Familien machen einen Tag vor Heiligabend in München einen Spaziergang unter Einhaltung der Vorschriften zur sozialen Distanzierung. Aufnahmedatum: 23.12.2020, München. Eltern und Kinder aus zwei verschiedenen Familien machen einen Tag vor Heiligabend in München einen Spaziergang unter Einhaltung der Vorschriften zur sozialen Distanzierung. Aufnahmedatum: 23.12.2020, München. | Foto: © Rafael Heygster
 
Neonazis demonstrieren in Chemnitz gegen die Maßnahmen zur Eindämmung der Pandemie. Während der Corona-Krise erhalten rechtsextreme Bewegungen in Deutschland großen Zuwachs aus verschiedenen Teilen der Gesellschaft. Aufnahmedatum: 01.05.2021, Chemnitz. Neonazis demonstrieren in Chemnitz gegen die Maßnahmen zur Eindämmung der Pandemie. Während der Corona-Krise erhalten rechtsextreme Bewegungen in Deutschland großen Zuwachs aus verschiedenen Teilen der Gesellschaft. Aufnahmedatum: 01.05.2021, Chemnitz. | Foto: © Rafael Heygster
 
Nach langer Abriegelung genießen Jan und Undine, die schon vor der Pandemie ein Paar waren, den ersten warmen Sommertag im Mai 2021 an der frischen Luft in Leipzig. Aufnahmedatum: 09.05.2021, Leipzig. Nach langer Abriegelung genießen Jan und Undine, die schon vor der Pandemie ein Paar waren, den ersten warmen Sommertag im Mai 2021 an der frischen Luft in Leipzig. Aufnahmedatum: 09.05.2021, Leipzig. | Foto: © Rafael Heygster
 
Während Fitnessstudios geschlossen sind, trainieren Max und sein Freund unter freiem Himmel auf einer Brachfläche in Leipzig. Aufnahmedatum: 09.05.2021, Leipzig. Während Fitnessstudios geschlossen sind, trainieren Max und sein Freund unter freiem Himmel auf einer Brachfläche in Leipzig. Aufnahmedatum: 09.05.2021, Leipzig. | Foto: © Rafael Heygster

Top