Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Illustration: Technological Change Photo (detail): © Possessed Photography

Technological Change

The global COVID pandemic has revealed a remarkable divergence: While our lives are coming to a standstill in almost every domain, the dynamic of digital transformation is accelerating at an unprecedented pace. This past year has made clear that we are seeing a real crisis between competing technologies. The pandemic is not only exacerbating global economic and political instability, it is also driving the use of internet-based services, which in turn create concentrations of power and monopolies.

In order to defend an open and democratic global society, novel forms of actions and new alliances are needed. Also, we need new technologies to break out of the cycle of centralised data storage, capitalisation and surveillance. Blockchain technology uses decentralised digital process to secure transactions of all kinds - including data, information, financial assets, rights, title deeds and events - securely, directly and efficiently between anonymous parties.
 
The Goethe-Institut has co-founded a network for transnational cooperation between blockchain technologies and the arts called the Decentralised Autonomous Organisation with Others (DAOWO) programme. It involves a number of leading international art and technology institutions and communities in several cities, including Berlin, Hong Kong, Minsk, Moscow, Johannesburg and London. Visual artists, creative artists and blockchain entrepreneurs are working with local initiatives, communities, institutions and companies to develop new transnational systems and approaches.
 
Within the framework of the module called Peer-to-Peer: Potentials in Technological Change?, this network is now linking up with other cultural institutions and actors in the field: International DAO teams in the participating cities will be addressing questions of cultural production and distribution as well as the future makeup and organisation of cultural institutions. They are presenting new collaborative models of cooperation between cultural actors, civil society organisations, activists and institutions. New approaches to decentralised working will be developed over the next few months and then presented and discussed at the Haus der Kunst in Munich during the Artworld DAO Summit symposium in January 2022. Pre-existing decentralised and democratically structured international networks are to be expanded to counterbalance market-geared products controlled by a handful of corporations.
 
The module Peer-to-Peer: Potentials in Technological Change? explores patterns of organisation, communication and action that are to be transposed from blockchain technology to ways of working in the cultural domain and vice versa. So it represents an important contribution to efforts to network, scale and institutionalise decentralised and collaborative structures worldwide, to give them visibility and to empower civil society in the digital age.


Radical Friends Summit


Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Illustration: Technologischer Wandel Foto (Ausschnitt): © Possessed Photography

Technologischer Wandel

Die weltweite COVID-Pandemie offenbart eine bemerkenswerte Diskrepanz: Während unser Leben in nahezu allen Bereichen zum Stillstandkommt, beschleunigt sich die Dynamik der digitalen Transformation in beispiellosem Umfang. Das vergangene Jahr macht deutlich: Die wahren Krisen sind solche der Konkurrenz zwischen Technologien. Die Pandemie verstärkt nicht nur die weltweite wirtschaftliche und politische Labilität, sondern auch den Einsatz netzbasierter Dienste. So entstehen Machtkonzentration und Monopole.

Um die offene und demokratische Weltgesellschaft weiterhin verteidigen zu können, sind neue Aktionsformen und Allianzen gefordert. Außerdem bedarf es neuer Technologien, die aus dem Kreislauf von zentraler Datenspeicherung, Kapitalisierung und Überwachung ausbrechen. Blockchain, ein dezentral organisiertes digitales Verfahren, erlaubt es Transaktionen jedweder Art (Daten, Informationen, Werte, Rechte, Eigentumstitel oder Ereignisse) sicher, direkt und effizient zwischen anonymen Subjekten durchzuführen.

Mit dem Decentralised Autonomous Organisation With Others (DAOWO) Programm hat das Goethe-Institut ein transnationales Kooperationsnetzwerk im Bereich der Künste und Blockchain-Technologien mitgegründet, dem führende internationale Kunst- und Technologieeinrichtungen und -gemeinschaften in Städten wie Berlin, Hongkong, Minsk, Moskau, Johannesburg und London angehören. Bildende Künstler*innen, Kulturschaffende und Blockchain-Unternehmer*innen kooperieren mit lokalen Initiativen, Gemeinschaften, Einrichtungen und Unternehmen, um neue transnationale Systeme und Ansätze zu entwickeln.

Im Rahmen von Peer-to-Peer. Potenziale im technologischen Wandel? wird dieses Netzwerk nun mit weiteren Kultureinrichtungen und Akteur*innen verknüpft: internationale DAO-Teams aus den beteiligten Städten setzen sich mit Fragen der kulturellen Produktion und Distribution, mit der zukünftigen Verfasstheit und Organisation von Kulturinstitutionen auseinander. Sie präsentieren neue kollaborative Modelle der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Kulturakteur*innen, zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen, Aktivist*innen und Institutionen. In den kommenden Monaten entstehen so neue Ansätze für dezentralisiertes Arbeiten, die im Januar 2022 im Haus der Kunst in München während des Symposiums Artworld DAO Summit vorgestellt und diskutiert werden. Dabei sollen bereits etablierte dezentral und demokratisch organisierte, internationale Netzwerke erweitert werden, um so ein Gegengewicht zu marktorientierten und von wenigen Konzernen gelenkten Produkten zu bilden.

Das Modul Peer-to-Peer. Potenziale im technologischen Wandel? erkundet Organisations-, Kommunikations- und Handlungsmuster, die aus der Blockchain-Technologie auf die Arbeitsweisen im kulturellen Feld übertragen werden. Es ist somit ein wichtiger Beitrag, um dezentrale und kollaborative Strukturen weltweit zu vernetzen, zu skalieren, zu institutionalisieren, ihnen Sichtbarkeit zu verschaffen und zur digitalen Mündigkeit der Öffentlichkeit beizutragen.

Links zum Thema

DAOWO Global Initiative

Top