Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Key Visual: Lockdown Lessons Photo (detail): © John Simitopoulos

Visions of a Post-Pandemic Future
Lockdown Lessons

The world is experiencing the COVID-19 virus due to its global nature and the time lags between outbreaks of the pandemic at once directly and indirectly as it appears in multiple waves. Because of this, one question has been posed since the beginning: What lessons can we learn from this catastrophe with regard to social, technological, postcolonial and civil society concerns?

With a presence in nearly a hundred countries and extensive local networks, the Goethe-Institut is well placed to initiate an intellectual exchange about this question, which concerns the whole world. Culture, in the broad sense, can help as an initiator of possible changes of course in society. At a time when policymaking is mostly reacting to the impact of events as they unfold, culture can help by drawing outlines for the future, thereby focussing on the big picture in different areas of public life.
 
The project Lockdown Lessons covers five such areas, which are researched and investigated in separate modules. The implementation of the project takes place at different places of the Goethe-Institute around the world.
 
The module “Democracy” will look into the pandemic’s repercussions on systems of government in general and on the present state of democracy in particular. It asks how much solidarity is needed in times of crisis to keep societies from imploding into antagonistic camps. Contributions to this question will be coming from India, Greece, Germany and the USA.
 
The related aspect of equality as a counterweight and corrective to hierarchical structures is covered in the module “Technological Change”. The Goethe-Institut has co-founded a transnational cooperation network in the arts and blockchain technologies called the Decentralised Autonomous Organisation with Others programme. The members of the network are leading international art and technology institutions and communities in cities like Berlin, Hong Kong, Minsk, Moscow, Johannesburg and London.
 
The module “Science and Research”, under the lead of the Goethe-Institut Brussels, asks why the reaction to the pandemic was rather rapid and robust, compared to the sluggish response to climate change.
 
The module “Creative Industries”, for its part, will explore new opportunities and present innovative products and solutions from the African continent in reaction to the pandemic. It will take place in Windhoek, Namibia.
 
The module “Proximity and Distance” addresses socially critical questions in Brazil, India, Korea and Germany in the form of editorial contributions revolving around these antipodean terms.
 
In search for answers to these various questions different approaches will be used, which include discursive and written pieces, a film and other artistic means. Lockdown Lessons is an extension of last year's Danachgedanken project, in which about a hundred intellectuals and artists in fifty different countries were asked to share their thoughts on the pandemic and its potential social consequences.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Key Visual: Lockdown Lehren Foto (Ausschnitt): © John Simitopoulos

Visionen für eine postpandemische Zukunft
Lockdown Lehren

Die Welt erlebt das COVID-19 Virus aufgrund des globalen, aber zeitlich verschobenen Charakters der Pandemie sowie ihres Auftritts in mehreren Wellen immer zugleich direkt und indirekt. Weil das so ist, kam schon früh die Frage auf, was aus dieser Katastrophe zu lernen sei – in sozialer, technologischer, postkolonialer und zivilgesellschaftlicher Hinsicht.
 

Das Goethe-Institut hat dank seiner Präsenz in fast hundert Ländern und dank seiner lokalen Vernetzung gute Voraussetzungen, einen intellektuellen Austausch über diese, die ganze Welt betreffende Frage anzustoßen. Hier kann Kultur im weiteren Sinne als Impulsgeber für mögliche gesellschaftliche Kurskorrekturen wirken. Mit ihrer Hilfe lassen sich Zukunftslinien ziehen in Zeiten, in denen die Politik unter der Wucht der Ereignisse vor allem auf Sicht fährt. Dabei geht es um große Linien in unterschiedlichen Bereichen des öffentlichen Lebens.
 
Das Projekt Lockdown Lehren nimmt fünf Bereiche in den Fokus, die in separaten Modulen bearbeitet und in denen nach Erkenntnissen geforscht werden. Die Umsetzung liegt bei den Instituten an ganz unterschiedlichen Orten.
 
Das Modul „Demokratie“ untersucht die Pandemie in ihrer Bedeutung für staatliche Systeme insgesamt und für Demokratie im Besonderen. Im Mittelpunkt steht die Frage, wieviel Solidarität es in Zeiten der Krise braucht, um das Zerfallen von Gesellschaften in antagonistische Gruppierungen zu verhindern. Beiträge zu dieser Fragestellung kommen aus Indien, Griechenland, Deutschland und den USA.
 
Dem hiermit verwandten Aspekt der Gleichheit im Unterschied zu hierarchischen Strukturen widmet sich das Modul „Technologischer Wandel“. Mit dem Decentralised Autonomous Organisation With Others Programm hat das Goethe-Institut ein transnationales Kooperationsnetzwerk im Bereich der Künste und Blockchain-Technologien mitgegründet. Ihm gehören führende internationale Kunst- und Technologieeinrichtungen sowie -gemeinschaften in Städten wie Berlin, Hongkong, Minsk, Moskau, Johannesburg und London an.
 
Im Modul „Wissenschaft“ wird unter Leitung des Goethe-Instituts Brüssel der Frage nachgegangen, weshalb die Reaktion auf die Pandemie vergleichsweise kurzfristig und energisch erfolgt, während sie auf den Klimawandel so schleppend verläuft.
 
Das Modul „Kreativwirtschaft“ wiederum lotet neue Chancen aus und präsentiert innovative Produkte und Lösungen des afrikanischen Kontinents in Reaktion auf die Pandemie. Umsetzungsort ist Windhoek in Namibia.
 
Das Modul „Nähe und Distanz“ beschäftigt sich mit gesellschaftskritischen Fragestellungen in Brasilien, Indien, Korea und Deutschland in Form von redaktionellen Beiträgen zum Thema, das von einem antipodischen Begriffspaar ausgeht.
 
Bei der Suche nach Antworten auf diese Fragen werden unterschiedliche Ansätze genutzt, die sich durch einen diskursiven, filmischen, textlichen und auch künstlerischen Charakter auszeichnen. Die Lockdown Lehren sind eine Fortsetzung des im letzten Jahr initiierten Projekts Danachgedanken, in dessen Rahmen etwa hundert Intellektuelle und Künstler*innen aus fünfzig Ländern um ihre persönliche Stellungnahme zu der Pandemie und den möglichen gesellschaftlichen Folgen gebeten wurden.

Top