Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Artificial intelligence and art
Seven artists breathe life into algorithms

Matthieu Cherubini’s VR game “35,000 Feet“ simulates a flight over Syria.
Matthieu Cherubini’s VR game “35,000 Feet“ simulates a flight over Syria. | Photo (detail): © Matthieu Cherubini, 2017

They make algorithms dance and breathe life into software: Artists working with artificial intelligence are exploring and blurring the distinctions between man and machine. Fans of the sci-fi series “Black Mirror” will love these artists.

By Johannes Zeller

Do algorithms make better decisions than human beings? And can artificial intelligence (AI) actually be dumb? Questions like these are addressed by many artists in AI projects. A vibrant art scene based and rooted in German-speaking countries is scrutinising humanity in the age of machine learning and big data.

Sebastian Schmieg

Have you ever received a product recommendation from Amazon for a shoulder strap for a machine gun? The AI that Sebastian Schmieg developed in his project Other People Also Bought arrived at that point quite quickly: starting with the first product ever sold on Amazon – a book by Douglas Hofstadter – it filled a virtual shopping trolley by successively adding the first recommended item on Amazon's list "Customers who bought this item also bought..." Schmieg's work detects the absurd in algorithms and takes it to a logical conclusion. His Segmentation.Network plays back more than 600,000 animated segments created by crowdworkers partitioning Flickr photos for a Microsoft image recognition dataset. Such datasets help an algorithm "learn" how the appearance of an object changes, depending on vantage point and camera angle, and thus eventually enable the algorithm to correctly identify a cow, for example, even in semi-profile. That is how much (human) work is needed to "feed" AI before it can make selective decisions without human input.   

Florian Egermann

Florian Egermann from Cologne describes himself as an artist, activist and astronaut. And as the first, at least, he is very successful. Most recently, the founder of the Failed Artists International network launched his own virtual currency, the F€URO, which can be used to invest in a range of fear stocks on a virtual Fear Exchange.What will cause the next panic – corruption, surveillance, climate collapse? Players who think they know the answer can try their luck on the Fear Exchange and perhaps become a Top Fear Broker embracing the maxim: "Don't conquer fear. Gamble on it." What will cause the next panic? Participants in Florian Egermann’s stock exchange game can invest in a range of fears. What will cause the next panic? Participants in Florian Egermann’s stock exchange game can invest in a range of fears. | Photo: © Florian Egermann, „FearExchange“, Web Art, 2017

Matthieu Cherubini

Matthieu Cherubini is an artist from Switzerland living in Beijing. He started out as a software developer but today uses his coding skills mainly to turn ones and zeros into challenging sociopolitical art projects. His VR game 35,000 Feet simulates a flight over Syria. While drones buzz through the skies and the ruins of a war zone pass by below, the player-passenger has the distracting options of watching an inflight Hollywood movie or reading a glossy magazine. Anyone who notices the contrasts and feels like commenting on them can send a tweet straight from the plane. The concept ties in with Afghan War Diary (2010), which projected virtual kills in the war game Counter-Strike onto combat zones in Afghanistan visualised through Google Earth.

 

Manu Luksch

Dreams Rewired (2015) – a compilation of utopias about modern communication technologies – shows beyond doubt that the wondrous effects of new technologies on society and daily life hold an irresistible fascination for Austrian artist Manu Luksch. The overall message may seem technophobic but the filmcraft is decidedly technophile. Luksch's latest AI project – the ALGO-RHYTHM series – is about decisions that perhaps ought to be taken by humans being "outsourced" to AI. The Rap Musical against Automated Propaganda is the first of a series of works that challenge viewers to weigh their desire for convenience and efficiency against freedom of choice. 

Egor Kraft

Based in Vienna, Moscow and Berlin, Egor Kraft is an interdisciplinary artist interested in human perception. For his project The New Color he created a fake website on which a non-existent company announces the development of a totally new colour. Visitors to the site failed to recognise the fake news for what it was and the project soon developed its own dynamic. Requests were received daily from people wanting to see the new colour. Their mails are published in a book documenting the project. In the kinetic structure I Print, Therefore I Am, Kraft created a highly philosophical machine installation. With five litres of ink, he managed to get a modified printer to work non-stop for two months printing a machine version of the René Descartes quote over and over again on a paper loop.

 

!Mediengruppe Bitnik

!Mediengruppe Bitnik is a Zurich- and London-based duo that attracted attention in 2013 when they sent WikiLeaks founder Julian Assange a camera that broadcast its journey through the postal system live on the Internet. In a subsequent project, they created the Random Darknet Shopper, an automated bot that placed random orders on illegal darknet markets and had the products sent directly to the gallery space. In 2015, their installation H3333333K added a glitch – a distorting digital image error – to the facade of the House of Electronic Arts Basel.  

Sascha Pohflepp 

Synthetic biology, geo-engineering, the creation of new worlds – Sascha Pohflepp's work deals with complex subjects. A designer, writer and AI artist, he examines the role of technology in the exploration of our environment, including outer space. Most of his work plays out in a realm somewhere between brainwaves and space waves. His Spacewalk, for instance, shows what happens when two artificial intelligences play a game that involves batching and reconstructing nearly 3,000 images of predatory animals. The result is a generative neural network that can be viewed as a 120x120cm print. Pohflepp also writes essays on utopian topics that put him in the company of Emerson and Asimov – on living machines, for example. 
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Künstliche Intelligenz und Kunst
Diese sieben Künstler erwecken Algorithmen zum Leben

Matthieu Cherubinis VR-Game „35.000 Feet“ simuliert einen Flug über Syrien.
Matthieu Cherubinis VR-Game „35.000 Feet“ simuliert einen Flug über Syrien. | Foto (Zuschnitt): © Matthieu Cherubini, 2017

Sie lassen Algorithmen tanzen und hauchen Software Leben ein: Künstler, die mit künstlicher Intelligenz experimentieren, sondieren und verwischen die Grenze zwischen Mensch und Maschine. Wer die Science-Fiction-Serie „Black Mirror“ mag, wird diese Künstler lieben.

Von Johannes Zeller

Treffen Algorithmen bessere Entscheidungen als Menschen, und kann künstliche Intelligenz (KI) eigentlich auch dumm sein? Fragen wie diese werden in den KI-Projekten vieler Kunstschaffender behandelt. Eine aktive Szene an Künstlern im und aus dem deutschsprachigen Raum untersucht das Menschsein im Zeitalter von lernenden Maschinen und Big Data.

Sebastian Schmieg

Hat Ihnen Amazon schon einmal eine Umhängschleife für ein Maschinengewehr als Produktempfehlung angeboten? Die KI, die Sebastian Schmieg in seinem Projekt Other People Also Bought entwickelte, kam recht schnell an diesen Punkt: Beginnend mit dem ersten jemals bei Amazon verkauften Produkt, einem Buch von Douglas Hofstadters, fügte das Script fortlaufend den jeweils nächsten empfohlenen Artikel aus der Liste „Kunden, die diesen Artikel gekauft haben, kauften auch...“ hinzu. Schmiegs Werke finden das Absurde im Algorithmus und zögern nicht, es weiterzuspinnen. Sein Segmentation.Network spielt über 600.000 animierte Segmente kontinuierlich ab, die für einen von Microsoft entwickeltes Bilderkennungs-Datensatz kreiert wurden. Eine Vielzahl von Mitarbeitern hatte es auf Basis von Flickr-Fotos zusammengestellt. Mithilfe solcher Datensätze „lernen“ Algorithmen, wie unterschiedlich eine Kuh, eine Person oder ein Sofa aussehen – je nach Blickwinkel und Kameraperspektive – und können anschließend beispielsweise eine Kuh auch im Halbprofil richtig erkennen. Das zeigt, wie viel menschlicher Arbeit es bedarf, eine KI zu füttern, bis sie selektive Entscheidungen anstelle der Menschen treffen kann.

Florian Egermann

Florian Egermann bezeichnet sich als Künstler, Aktivist und Astronaut. Zumindest bei ersterem ist der Gründer des Netzwerks Failed Artists International sehr erfolgreich. Zuletzt hat der Kölner seine eigene virtuelle Währung eingeführt: Mit dem F€URO kann im Börsenspiel Fear Exchange auf den Kurs verschiedenster Ängste gesetzt werden. Was sorgt für die nächste Panik: Korruption, Überwachung – oder Klimakollaps? Spieler können an der Angstbörse ihr Glück versuchen und so mit ihren Prognosen vielleicht zum „Top Fear Broker“ werden. Frei nach dem Motto: „Don’t conquer fear. Gamble on it.“ („Überwinde nicht die Angst. Spiele mit ihr.“)
Was sorgt für die nächste Panik? Im Börsenspiel „Fear Exchange“ von Florian Egermann können User auf den Kurs verschiedenster Ängste setzen. Was sorgt für die nächste Panik? Im Börsenspiel „Fear Exchange“ von Florian Egermann können User auf den Kurs verschiedenster Ängste setzen. | Foto: © Florian Egermann, „FearExchange“, Web Art, 2017

Matthieu Cherubini

Der Schweizer Matthieu Cherubini lebt in Peking und ist ursprünglich Softwareentwickler. Mittlerweile setzt er seine Coding-Skills jedoch hauptsächlich ein, um aus Einsen und Nullen gesellschaftspolitisch fordernde Kunstprojekte zu erschaffen. Sein Virtual-Reality-Game 35.000 Feet simuliert einen Flug über Syrien. Während sich draußen Drohnen tummeln und an den Fenstern die Ruinen eines Kriegsgebiets vorbeiziehen, hat der Spieler als Passagier die Möglichkeit, sich mit einem In-Flight Hollywoodfilm oder Hochglanzmagazin abzulenken. Wer die Kontraste bemerkt und kommentieren will, kann direkt aus dem Flugzeug einen Tweet versenden. Das Konzept knüpft an Matthieu Cherubinis Projekt Afghan War Diary (2010) an, das virtuelle Tötungen aus dem Spiel Counter Strike via Google Earth auf tatsächliche Kriegsschauplätze in Afghanistan projizierte.

Manu Luksch

Wie ihr Film Dreams Rewired (2015) – eine Kompilation von Utopien über moderne Kommunikationstechnologien – veranschaulicht, üben die wundersamen Effekte neuer Technologien auf die Gesellschaft und das tägliche Leben eine unüberwindbare Faszination auf Manu Luksch aus. So technophob das Werk der Österreicherin in seiner Gesamtheit erscheint, so liebevoll-technophil ist es in seiner Umsetzung. Ihr letzter KI-Streich – die Serie ALGO-RHYTHM – behandelt das Outsourcing von Entscheidungen an die KI, die vielleicht besser von Menschen getroffen werden sollten. Das Rap Musical against Automated Propaganda ist die erste Installation in dieser Reihe von Arbeiten, die ihre Betrachter dazu auffordern, ihr Bedürfnis nach Bequemlichkeit und Effizienz gegen die Entscheidungsfreiheit abzuwiegen.

Egor Kraft

Der von Wien, Moskau und Berlin aus arbeitende Künstler Egor Kraft spielt in seinen interdisziplinären Arbeiten gerne mit der Wahrnehmung der Menschen. Für sein Projekt The New Color kreierte er eine Website, auf der ein nicht-existentes Unternehmen verkündete, eine vollkommen neue Farbe entwickelt zu haben. Besucher der Website scheiterten daran, die Fake-News als solche zu erkennen, und das Projekt entwickelte bald eine Eigendynamik. Täglich kamen Anfragen von Menschen, die endlich die neue Farbe sehen wollten. Ihre E-Mails wurden schließlich gemeinsam mit der Projektdokumentation als Buch veröffentlicht. Mit I Print, Therefore I Am ist Kraft indes eine hochphilosophische Maschineninstallation gelungen. Mit fünf Litern Tinte ermöglichte er es einem umgebauten Drucker, zwei Monate lang kontinuierlich die Maschinenversion von René Descartes’ Zitat „Cogito ergo sum“ (Ich denke, also bin ich) auf eine Papierschleife zu drucken.

 

!Mediengruppe Bitnik

Die in Zürich und London aktive !Mediengruppe Bitnik sorgte 2013 für Aufsehen, als sie dem WikiLeaks-Gründer Julian Assange eine Kamera schickte, die ihre Reise durch das Postsystem live ins Internet übertrug. Später kreierten sie den Random Darknet Shopper, einen automatisierten Bot, der über Monate hinweg zufällig ausgewählte Produkte auf den illegalen Marktplätzen des Darknets bestellte und diese direkt ins Atelier der Gruppe senden ließ. Im Jahr 2015 verzerrte ihre Installation H3333333K die Fassade des House of Electronic Arts Basel mit einem digitalen Bildfehler. 

Sascha Pohflepp

Synthetische Biologie, Geo-Engineering, das erschaffen neuer Welten – solch komplexe Angelegenheiten stehen im Fokus von Sascha Pohflepps Werk. Der Designer und KI-Künstler untersucht die Rolle von Technologie bei der Erkundung unserer Umwelt, inklusive dem Weltraum. Dabei spielen sich die meisten seiner Werke irgendwo zwischen Hirnwellen und Allwellen ab. Sein Spacewalk etwa zeigt, was herauskommt, wenn man zwei KIs ein Spiel gegeneinander spielen lässt, bei dem sie über 3.000 Bilder von Raubtieren stapeln und neu konstruieren müssen: Es entsteht ein generatives neurales Netzwerk, das auf eine Fläche von 120 mal 120 Zentimetern gedruckt werden kann. Darüber hinaus schreibt Pohflepp Essays zu utopischen Themen, die man irgendwo zwischen Emerson und Asimov verorten könnte – beispielsweise über lebende Maschinen.

Top