Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Nogo_Headergrafik© Nancy Schneider

“Social hotspot,” “ghetto,” “no-go zone” – certain urban areas are seen as “troubled areas.”  But how did this happen in the first place, and how do residents deal with it?
 
On the basis of selected urban districts in Belgium, Germany, France and Italy, we present causes and processes of stigmatisation of urban spaces, as well as initiatives for improving community life.

Why No-Go?

How does it happen that certain neighbourhoods acquire the reputation of a “no-go zone”? Apart from social, economic and structural causes, do the media play a role?
 

What do the numbers say?

Numbers and statistics never reflect the diversity of life. But they do provide a point of reference to size up reality better. Starting out from this idea, we decided to present the neighbourhood of our “No-Go” dossier – in all its variety – on the basis of a few selected key data.

Where is the quarter located? How many people live there, where do they come from, how young are they? The numbers often produce different results from what we expected. A couple of facts of a completely different kind are even more surprising – test your knowledge!
 

WHAT DO PEOPLE THINK?

How do residents themselves view their neighbourhood? How does their neighbourhood’s negative image influence their lives?
 

“Wedding Mile”: Tulle and dreams

Weseler Straße in Duisburg-Marxloh is known as the “wedding mile“: nowhere else in Germany are there so many bridal shops in so small a space, so many shop windows full of clothes, dinner jackets, rings and wedding cakes. In-between: supermarkets, barbecue restaurants, baklava bakeries. Here something is always doing. Weseler Straße is also the main street of Marxloh, a neighbourhood that struggles with the stigma of being called a “sink estate”. Whoever shops, lives and works here, is usually asked only about the problems. Very rarely about the life.

  • Mahircan Küccük Photo: Anne-Nikolin Hagemann © Goethe-Institut

    Mahircan Küccük, “Hobi Collection, Grooms’ and Men’s Suits”, Weseler Straße 15


    Mahircan knew how to knot a tie at the age of seven. He grew up here, in his father’s shop, between clothes racks full of suits and mannequins wearing dinner jackets. In 2011, at the age of twenty, he took over the shop. “Fashion is in my blood.” The customers come from all over Europe: Belgium, the Netherlands, England. What looks good on whom, says Mahircan, he usually sees at first glance: colour, cut, size. How does he know which suit is the right one? “When I see the spark in the customer’s eye, then I’m right.“
  • Aylin Küccük Photo: Anne-Nikolin Hagemann © Goethe-Institut

    Aylin Küccük, “Melisam Bridal Wear”, Kaiser-Wilhelm-Straße 304


    Mahircan‘s sister Aylin, 22, runs her father’s bridal wear shop, just round the corner. “Other children want only their parents’ money, want to go out instead of helping. We’re not like that”, she says. Aylin, Mahircan, their parents and young sister live together. Sunday is family day, time for talking. Brides, says Aylin, are more difficult to advise than grooms; they take longer to decide. But once she sold a customer the perfect wedding dress and perfect wedding shower dress in twenty minutes. “A miracle.” On Sunday the family talked a long time about that.
  • Mustafa Yilmaz Photo: Anne-Nikolin Hagemann © Goethe-Institut

    Mustafa Yilmaz, supermarket in Weseler Straße 50


    “You speak quite good German”: one of the worst things to say to Mustafa. He then usually replies: “You don’t speak it badly either”. His parents come from Turkey; he himself was born in Germany, took his school-leaving examination here and studied business administration here at university. “But so long as I won’t let go of my roots, I’m seen as a foreigner”, he says. Before, he used to fight back against this. Today, he contemplates moving to Turkey with his wife and children. The family lives near Dusseldorf; in the supermarket owned by his in-laws in Weseler Straße, Mustafa only helps out. It isn’t his world. He has the feeling that the longer he works, the worse his German becomes.
  • Kenan Özen Photo: Anne-Nikolin Hagemann © Goethe-Institut

    Kenan Özen, „Photo Studio Özman“, Weseler Straße 35


    The ladies decide, says Kenan. The men want something fast and uncomplicated. The ladies want to be princesses. As a wedding photographer, his job is to make them both happy. Perfect lighting, perfect colour, perfect pose, perfect moment. Per job, he says, there is at least one picture in which everything is right. Always works: “When the two look at one another. And then they smile. You know: the photo’s going to be good.” With a little luck, he snaps not only the engagement and wedding but also the children, their first day at school, family gatherings. And then the next engagement ….
  • Hatice Tufan und Cem Sen Photo: Anne-Nikolin Hagemann © Goethe-Institut

    Hatice Tufan and Cem Sen, in front of the jeweller in Weseler Straße, corner of Grillostraße


    Cem and Hatice want to get married. Today they were at the Turkish consulate to apply for documents required by the civil registry office. Maybe they will buy the wedding rings here; it’s easier to bargain with fellow countrymen. The rings should be simple, silver. The festivities, on the other hand, will not be so simple: 800 guests for the engagement party, 1,000 for the wedding. Hatice was surprised that Cem asked for her hand so soon; they had been a couple for only about a year. The proposal? Rather spontaneous, says Cem: bought ring, bought roses, went down on his knee. “And then, thank goodness, she said ‘Yes’.”
  • Leyla Prestin und Neriman Pekgüleç Photo: Anne-Nikolin Hagemann © Goethe-Institut

    Leyla Prestin and Neriman Pekgüleç, saleswomen at “Ekol Gelinlik”, Weseler Straße 66


    It’s not about selling, says Neriman, anybody can sell. It’s about bringing the ideal pair together, dress and woman: “A customer in a dress that fits her perfectly is the best advertisement”. Leyla is the expert for wedding dresses, Neriman for evening gowns. Recently, the latter said, she had a yellow dress with embroidery in the shop that was perfect for a certain customer. The customer, however, didn’t even want to try it on; no amount of persuasion helped. Then she went for a coffee, returned and slipped into the dress. “She gave me a hug”, said Neriman. And beams.

What’s next?

What local and national initiatives exist for improving life in the affected neighbourhoods? How can the emergence of “troubled areas” be avoided?

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Nogo_Headergrafik© Nancy Schneider

„Sozialer Brennpunkt“, „Ghetto“, „No-Go-Area“ – bestimmte Stadtteile gelten als „Problemviertel“. Aber wie kommt es überhaupt dazu und wie gehen die Bürgerinnen und Bürger damit um?

Am Beispiel ausgewählter Stadtviertel in Belgien, Deutschland, Frankreich und Italien zeigen wir Ursachen und Prozesse der Stigmatisierung von urbanen Räumen sowie Initiativen für ein besseres Zusammenleben.

WIESO NO-GO?

Wie kommt es dazu, dass bestimmte Stadtviertel den Ruf einer „No-Go-Area“ erhalten? Spielen neben sozialen, wirtschaftlichen und strukturellen Ursachen auch die Medien eine Rolle?

Was sagen die Zahlen?

Zahlen und Statistiken können das Leben in seiner Vielfalt niemals abbilden. Dennoch bieten sie einen Anhaltspunkt dazu, die Realität besser einschätzen zu können. Von diesem Gedanken ausgehend haben wir uns entschieden, die Stadtviertel des No-Go-Dossiers – in ihrer ganzen Unterschiedlichkeit – anhand ein paar ausgewählten Eckdaten vorzustellen.

Wo liegt das Viertel, wie viele Menschen leben dort, woher kommen sie, wie jung sind sie? Die Zahlen fallen oft anders aus, als erwartet. Noch mehr aber überraschen ein paar Fakten ganz anderer Art – testen Sie Ihr Wissen!
 

WAS DENKEN DIE MENSCHEN?

Wie sehen die Bewohner selbst ihr Stadtviertel? Welchen Einfluss hat das negative Image des Stadtteils auf ihr Leben?

Hochzeitsmeile: Tüll Und Träume

Wie Weseler Straße in Duisburg-Marxloh ist bekannt als Hochzeitsmeile: Nirgendwo sonst in Deutschland gibt es so viele Brautmodengeschäfte auf engstem Raum, so viele Schaufenster voller Kleider, Smokings, Ringe und Hochzeitstorten. Dazwischen: Supermärkte, Grillrestaurants, Baklava-Bäckereien. Hier ist immer Leben. Die Weseler Straße ist auch die Hauptstraße von Marxloh, das mit dem Stigma „Problemviertel“ kämpft. Wer hier einkauft, wohnt und arbeitet, wird meist nur nach den Problemen gefragt. Und viel zu selten nach dem Leben.

  • Mahircan Küccük Foto: Anne-Nikolin Hagemann © Goethe-Institut
    Mahircan Küccük, Hobi Collection, Bräutigam- und Herrenanzüge, Weseler Straße 15

    Mit sieben wusste Mahircan, wie man eine Krawatte bindet. Er ist hier aufgewachsen, im Laden seines Vaters, zwischen Kleiderstangen voller Anzüge und Schaufensterpuppen im Smoking. 2011, mit 20, hat er den Laden übernommen. „Die Mode liegt mir eben im Blut.“ Die Kunden kommen aus ganz Europa: Belgien, den Niederlanden, England. Was wem steht, sagt Mahircan, sieht er meistens auf den ersten Blick: Farbton, Schnitt, Größe. Woran er merkt, welcher Anzug der richtige ist? „Wenn ich den Funken in den Augen sehe, liege ich richtig.“
  • Aylin Küccük Foto: Anne-Nikolin Hagemann © Goethe-Institut
    Aylin Küccük, Melisam Brautmoden, Kaiser-Wilhelm-Straße 304

    Mahircans Schwester Aylin, 22, führt den Brautmodenladen des Vaters, gleich um die Ecke. „Andere Kinder wollen nur das Geld ihrer Eltern, wollen ausgehen statt mithelfen. So sind wir nicht“, sagt sie. Aylin, Mahircan, die Eltern und die jüngere Schwester wohnen zusammen. Sonntag ist Familientag, Zeit zum Reden. Bräute, sagt Aylin, sind schwieriger zu beraten als Bräutigame, brauchen länger zum Entscheiden. Einmal, da hat sie einer Kundin tatsächlich das perfekte Hochzeits- und das perfekte Polterabendkleid verkauft, in 20 Minuten. „Das war ein Wunder.“ Darüber haben sie am Sonntag lange geredet.
  • Mustafa Yilmaz Foto: Anne-Nikolin Hagemann © Goethe-Institut
    Mustafa Yilmaz, Supermarkt in der Weseler Straße 50

    „Du sprichst ja ganz gut Deutsch“: Einer der schlimmsten Sätze für Mustafa. Er antwortet dann meist: „Sie sind auch nicht schlecht.“ Seine Eltern kommen aus der Türkei, er selbst ist in Deutschland geboren, hat hier Abitur gemacht und Betriebswirtschaft studiert. „Aber so lange ich meine Wurzeln nicht loslasse, werde ich als Fremder gesehen“, sagt er. Früher habe er sich dagegen gewehrt. Heute überlegt er, mit Frau und Kind in die Türkei zu ziehen. Die Familie wohnt bei Düsseldorf, im Supermarkt der Schwiegereltern in der Weseler Straße hilft Mustafa nur aus. Das ist nicht seine Welt. Er hat das Gefühl, je länger er hier arbeitet, umso schlechter wird sein Deutsch.
  • Kenan Özen Foto: Anne-Nikolin Hagemann © Goethe-Institut
    Kenan Özen, Fotostudio Özman, Weseler Straße 35

    Die Damen entscheiden, sagt Kenan. Die Männer wollen es schnell und unkompliziert. Frauen wollen: Prinzessin sein. Sein Job als Hochzeitsfotograf ist es, beide glücklich zu machen. Perfekte Belichtung, perfekte Farbe, perfekte Pose, perfekter Augenblick. Pro Auftrag, sagt er, ist mindestens ein Bild dabei, bei dem alles stimmt. Klappt immer: „Wenn sich die beiden anschauen. Und dann lächeln sie. Und du weißt: Das Bild wird gut.“ Mit etwas Glück knipst er dann nicht nur Verlobung und Hochzeit, sondern auch den Nachwuchs, deren Einschulung, Familienbilder. Und dann wieder Verlobung.
  • Hatice Tufan und Cem Sen Foto: Anne-Nikolin Hagemann © Goethe-Institut
    Hatice Tufan und Cem Sen, vor einem Juwelier in der Weseler Straße, Ecke Grillostraße

    Cem und Hatice wollen heiraten. Heute waren sie beim türkischen Konsulat, Unterlagen fürs Standesamt beantragen. Die Trauringe werden sie vielleicht hier kaufen, mit Landsleuten könne man besser handeln, sagt Cem und lacht. Schlicht sollen die Ringe sein, Silber. Die Feier wird dagegen nicht ganz so schlicht: Zur Verlobung rechnen sie mit 800 Gästen, zur Hochzeit mit 1000. Hatice war überrascht, dass Cem so früh um ihre Hand anhielt – ein Paar sind die beiden erst seit knapp einem Jahr. Der Antrag? Ziemlich spontan, sagt Cem: Ring gekauft, Rose gekauft, auf die Knie gegangen. „Und dann hat sie Gottseidank Ja gesagt.“
  • Leyla Prestin und Neriman Pekgüleç Foto: Anne-Nikolin Hagemann © Goethe-Institut
    Leyla Prestin und Neriman Pekgüleç, Verkäuferinnen bei Ekol Gelinlik, Weseler Straße 66

    Es geht nicht ums Verkaufen, sagt Neriman, Verkaufen kann jeder. Es geht darum, das ideale Paar zusammen zu bringen, Kleid und Frau: „Eine Kundin in einem Kleid, das perfekt zu ihr passt, ist die beste Werbung.“ Leyla ist die Expertin für Brautkleider, Neriman liegen eher die Abendkleider. Neulich, sagt sie, hatte sie ein gelbes Kleid mit Stickerei im Laden, perfekt für eine bestimme Kundin. Sie wollte es aber erst gar nicht anprobieren, da half alles gute Zureden nichts. Dann ging die Kundin Kaffee trinken, kam wieder und schlüpfte ins Kleid. „Da hat sie mich umarmt“, sagt Neriman. Und strahlt.

Wie geht es weiter?

Welche lokalen und nationalen Initiativen gibt es, um das Leben in den betroffenen Stadtvierteln zu verbessern? Wie kann die Entstehung von Problemvierteln vermieden werden?