Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Steffen Mau
How are metrics changing our society?

On sofas and in queues, some people engage in a new ritual that’s all about self-control and self-affirmation: we review our metrics, our self-tracking statistics on our daily step count, sleep quality, calorie intake, learning accomplishments and even menstruation.

The metric system was born of the free revolutionary and egalitarian spirit of the French Revolution. It replaced a host of obscure units of measurement that were defined and manipulated by the powers that be – and often in their own favour. The revolutionaries supplanted them with the metre, initially defined as one ten-millionth of the distance from the North Pole to the equator. This immutable and uniform metric system, unalterable by human fiat, promised equality and rationality.

Today, over two centuries later, metrics are undergoing a renaissance: but smartwatches, eye tracking and apps for every aspect of life and the human body do not promote equality and non-discrimination, they increasingly draw distinctions between individuals. So-called “superscores” crunch the data on a vast range of different aspects of our daily lives into a kind of overall personal assessment. These personal scores cement selected differences, charge them with meaning and are used to justify systematic discrimination. In future, superscores might be used to exclude a person from certain sectors in the housing market, for example, on the basis of data on their physical fitness, mental stability, or even learning scores on vocabulary apps.

While the display on our mobile phones can reveal who we and others are at any precise point in time, on the one hand, metrics are now creating an opaque and exclusionary system, on the other. Steffen Mau, a professor of macrosociology, investigates the social repercussions of increasingly pervasive social and personal “scorecards”. He challenges the charismatic clout of these numbers and presents strategies to avoid taking metrics, unlike the egalitarian standard of the metre, to absurd extremes in this age of data capitalism.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Steffen Mau
Das metrische Ich

Auf den Sofas und in den Anstehschlangen halten wir seit einigen Jahren ein neues Ritual der Selbstkontrolle und Identitätsbekräftigung ab: Wir lächeln zufrieden angesichts der Statistiken über unsere zurückgelegten Schritte, Schlafqualität, aufgenommenen Kalorien, Zyklus und Lernperformanz.

Dabei wurde das metrische System eigentlich im revolutionären, freiheitlichen und egalitären Geist der französischen Revolution geboren. Es löste eine Vielzahl undurchsichtiger Einheiten, von den Herrschenden höchstpersönlich zu ihren Gunsten definiert und manipuliert, ab. Ihnen stellten die Revolutionär*innen den Meter als ein Tausendstel der Entfernung zwischen Nordpol und Äquator entgegen: Dieses einheitliche, vom Menschen unabänderliche Größensystem verspricht Gleichheit und Rationalität.

Heute, über zwei Jahrhunderte später, erlebt die Metrifizierung eine Renaissance: Smartwatches, Eyetracking und Apps für jeden Lebens- und Körperbereich fördern dabei jedoch nicht die Gleichheit und Gleichbehandlung, sondern differenzieren die Individuen immer weiter aus. Superscores verrechnen die Daten aus verschiedensten Lebensbereichen zu einer Art Gesamtbewertung der Person. Sie zementieren ausgewählte Unterschiede, laden sie mit Bedeutung auf und rechtfertigen systematische Ungleichbehandlung. So könnten Superscores in Zukunft beispielsweise eine Person auf Grund von Daten zu ihrer Fitness, mentalen Stabilität oder Lernperformance in Vokabel-Apps von Bereichen des Wohnungsmarktes ausschließen.

Einerseits verrät uns das Handydisplay auf den Atemzug genau, wer wir selbst und andere sind, andererseits schafft die Metrifizierung ein undurchsichtiges, ausschließendes System. Steffen Mau, Professor für Makrosoziologie erforscht, welche sozialen Auswirkungen die Metrifizierung der Gesellschaft und ihrer Individuen hat. Er hinterfragt die charismatische Macht dieser Zahlen und stellt Strategien vor, um die Metrifizierung als historisches Mittel der Gleichheit in Zeiten des Datenkapitalismus nicht vollends ad absurdum zu führen.

Top