Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Nanjira Sambuli
A fair internet?

The image of a reality divided into an analog world of trams, afternoon coffee and postcards, on the one hand, and a digital world of ones and zeros, online shops and World of Warcraft gamers, on the other, is passé. 

Now that we’re surrounded by the Internet of things, if not before, i.e. of everyday objects fitted out with artificial intelligence, we need new images to explain our relationship to the Internet.

Net activist Nanjira Sambuli explains how age-old problems are reproduced on the Internet. But the Internet doesn’t work like a mere derivate function automatically replicating the sexism and colonial patterns we find in society: the changes wrought by the development of the Internet also provide the means with which to fundamentally change existing power structures.

Who gets to produce and consume knowledge? Who gets to edit texts and produce videos? Sambuli calls for radical change: for an end to inequality and for technologies that promote freedom, equality and diversity instead of inherited ideologies of oppression.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Nanjira Sambuli
Ein faires Internet?

Die Vorstellung, unsere Realität teile sich in die analoge Welt der Straßenbahnen, Nachmittagskaffees und Postkarten und eine, weit von ihr entfernte, digitale Welt der Einsen und Nullen, Onlineshops und World-of-Warcraft-spieler*innen, ist passé.

Spätestens, seit uns das Internet der Dinge, also mit künstlicher Intelligenz ausgestattete Alltagsgegenstände, umgibt, brauchen wir neue Bilder, um unser Verhältnis zum Internet zu erklären.

Nanjira Sambuli, Netzaktivistin, erklärt, wie wir im Internet die historischen Probleme unserer Gesellschaft reproduzieren. Das Internet funktioniert aber nicht wie eine reine Ableitungsfunktion, die Sexismus und koloniale Muster kopieren muss: Die Epochenwende durch die Entwicklung des Internets bietet auch die Möglichkeit, diese Machtstrukturen zu verändern.

Wer produziert und wer konsumiert Wissen? Wer kann Texte bearbeiten und Videos erstellen? Sambuli strebt nach einem radikalen Wechsel, nach dem Ende der Ungleichheit und nach Technologien, denen statt tradierter Ideologien der Unterdrückung Freiheit, Gleichheit und Diversität eingeschrieben sind.

Top