Hungary Noémi Kiss

Noémi Kiss
Photo: Valuska Gábor

What does the term refugee mean to you?

I can take flight from many bad situations – I suppose our lives are full of such moments where I feel oppressed (this can be private, even intimate). Often, it is invisible. A moment, a feeling – insidious. I cannot defend myself, for example, in a violent marriage. And it can happen in war. There where one would think that pressure would be obvious. But it is not. The sun rises and settles again. The day has a rhythm – and yet nothing is the same anymore, there is war, I am dying. I can be dead anytime. It is obvious, it is much more than that, and terrible and nevertheless hard to believe. Man flees from war. All wars are brutal for the soul. And each marriage where there is violence, where I feel under pressure, is a war against the soul. Flight for political reasons is of course justified. In a patriarchal society, war is twice as bad for women.

Is flight from poverty less legitimate than flight from war or political oppression?

Yes. The question creates polarization. War and poverty are closely related. There can also be a war raging inside – people suffer from dictatorships. I have lived in poverty, as well as my family – one can survive a lot with little money. One rarely survives a real war waged with weapons. There is hopeless poverty – and there is hope in poverty. Depending on how one perceives it. Poverty has several faces, even religious ones – it cannot be condemned, even as a type of modesty, faith, hope. But for me, war in any form must be condemned. It is one last round of a feudalistic and patriarchal world. Always directed against people.

And what about flight as a result of environmental problems?

This is justified but it does not bring about a solution for the problem itself. Entire villages, family fathers, young men are fleeing westward – what’s the result then? What will become of Lebanon? Eritrea?  Burkina Faso? Albania? Croatia? Hungary? Poland? When the work force disappears? Where children and grandparents have to remain by themselves? Where young married couples leave children behind and take care of strangers – and their own people remain in the village. Children without mothers – this is Eastern Europe today, this is Ukraine, Moldavia, Albania. Individually, this is justified. There’s no policy for the future in Europe and in the world. But fleeing – and what then? Dark sides of the soul; for me, to leave a home due to distress and force is very problematic.

When does one cease to be a refugee?

When one has arrived – never. When the trauma was big, the second, third generations will continue carrying this story in themselves. Saxons from Siebenbürgen, Romanians, refugees from former Yugoslavia – are they happy? Better not to ask them. And neither the Syrian refugees – all is politically controlled, nobody gets involved in biographies.

Is there a natural right to asylum?

Of course.

If yes: is this right unconditional, or can it be forfeited?

No. Every asylum seeker has his own biography. But one cannot examine it. And it leads to problems.

Do you think that the number of refugees a society can absorb is limited?

Although it sounds good, the question has not been posed well. Can one really? No. It is bad, because unlimited is not possible. Theoretically, today one can implement a very humane policy with this. But unlimited numbers of refugees will not be accepted. Reality overwrites such a slogan. And with a question that is posed in such a wrong way, one talks little about real problems and the fate of people.

If yes: where do you draw the line, and why?

There should be no limits – but they are already there in Europe. Where they just had disappeared. New borders, completely new ideas about borders. Limit, exclude, delineate - fences are erected – it shall not, cannot remain without borders any more. Stigmatization, xenophobia, desired borders – those are the new ideas. 20 years without borders and it is over already. For me, invisible borders are often more important than visible ones. And I am all for Europe being without borders. I can only collect arguments in favor of this. But no one listens anymore – it is over. And that is sad.

Are there privileged refugees in your country, i.e. refugees that are more welcome than others? If yes: why?

Yes. Hungarian minorities from Romania, Ukraine, Vojvodina (Serbia). „Economic refugees“ such as Russians, Ukrainians, Chinese... like everywhere in Europe.

Do refugees in your country receive fair treatment?

No. Not at all. The Hungarian government tries to present a negative image of refugees. Xenophobic and inhumane. For a year or even more, refugees have been depicted on posters as enemies; today – following the Brexit – the government even runs a campaign that is clearly hostile toward the EU. And in the meantime, even Hungarians have become “economic refugees“ everywhere in Europe. Employees such as nurses, teachers, physicians, bricklayers, waiters, computer scientists, cleaning ladies, prostitutes. Most families raise their children according to the motto: „Get away from here.“ “Go abroad”. “Flee.” When it is like that, there is no future for Europe.

Would cuts in the social security system in your country be acceptable to you if they were to facilitate the absorption of more refugees?

I would be all for it. But I know that it is impossible here – in a “poor” country. The implementation of a humane policy of solidarity is possible when one can convince people. But you can’t. In Hungary, distress and poverty are very big. Today, capitalist egoism prevails here - and political egoism. As a former socialist country, efforts toward a welfare state are very few. Solidarity only exists on the private level. Today, politics are a dictation – not caring about well-being, counting on fears - such as xenophobia. And in addition, there is the new problem: Islam and terrorism in Europe. Something we know so very little about here in the east of Europe.

What are the requirements for successful integration?

- on the part of the refugees?
- on the part of the citizens of the host country?

Law, state, basic values – while I myself think that something like the emancipation of women is very important.

Do you know any refugees personally?

Yes – of course. And I also want to, it is my duty as a writer. Today, every person is a refugee. My family fled to Trianon. From Maramarossziget (today Ukraine). A part of Europe that had been very much affected by the Holocaust. I have written about Hungarian prostitutes in Switzerland. Today, women and women’s bodies migrate from East to West. We talk little about this. They, too, are fleeing – from violence, poverty, out of fear...

Do you actively support any refugees?

Of course.

How will the refugee situation in your country develop

a) over the next two years?
b) over the next two decades?

More and more refugees will be arriving in Central Europe. From the Balkans, Albania, Macedonia, Serbia. From Ukraine. Armenia, the Caucasus, Russia. I am sure. And from the countries in the Middle East.

Can you imagine a world without refugees?

I could never do that, and I don’t want to – there always must be the possibility to be able to flee from a violent situation. There has never been a world without refugees. But one could, one must strive for reducing violence and poverty.

Have you or your family ever been refugee?

Yes, my family comes from Armenia originally. In the 18th century they arrived in Siebenbürgen. And in Maramaros. They then fled to Trianon, after World War I, following the plague.

Do you think you will ever be a one?

Yes, unfortunately, I can imagine that without further ado, I am thinking about it every day – for political reasons.

How much “home” do you need?*

Only one: House, children, my closest relatives, no matter where - but if possible, if I could choose -well, then here, in Budapest or near the Danube in Kisoroszi.

*This question was taken from Max Frisch’s questionnaire concerning “heimat”.

Ungarn Noémi Kiss

Noémi Kiss
Foto: Valuska Gábor

Was bedeutet für Sie der Begriff Flüchtling?

Fliehen kann ich aus vielen schlimmen Situationen – unser Leben ist wohl voll von solchen Momenten, wo ich mich unterdrückt fühle (es kann privat, intim auch ein). Es ist oft unsichtbar. Ein Moment, ein Gefühl – hinterlistig.  Ich kann mich nicht wehren, beispielsweise in einer gewalttätigen Ehe. Und es kann im Krieg passieren. Dort, wo man denken würde, Druck ist offensichtlich. Ist er doch nicht. Die Sonne geht auf und wieder unter. Der Tag hat einen Rhythmus – und doch ist nichts mehr dasselbe, es heißt Krieg, ich sterbe. Ich kann jede Zeit tot sein. Es ist offensichtlich, es ist viel mehr als das, und schrecklich und trotzdem kaum zu glauben. Der Mensch flieht vor dem Krieg. Alle Kriege sind brutal für die Seele. Und jede Heirat, wo Gewalt da ist, wo ich mich unter Druck fühle, ist ein Krieg gegen die Seele. Flucht aus politischen Gründen ist selbstverständlich berechtigt. In einer patriarchalen Gesellschaft ist für eine Frau ein Krieg doppelt schlimm.

Ist Flucht vor Armut für Sie weniger legitim als Flucht vor Krieg oder politischer Unterdrückung?

Ja. Die Frage polarisiert. Krieg und Armut stehen eng nebeneinander. Es kann auch ein Krieg im Inneren wüten – die Menschen leiden unter Diktaturen. Ich lebte in Armut, so auch meine Familie – man kann mit wenig Geld viel überleben. Einen wirklichen Krieg mit Waffen überlebt man selten. Es gibt hoffnungslose Armut – und es gibt Hoffnung in der Armut. Wie man es empfindet. Armut hat mehrere Seiten, auch religiöse - es ist nicht zu verurteilen, sogar eine Art Bescheidenheit, Gläubigkeit, Hoffnung. Krieg ist aber in jeder Form zu verurteilen für mich. Es ist eine letzte Runde feudalistischer und patriarchalischer Welt. Immer gegen Menschen gerichtet.

Und Flucht vor ökologischen Problemen?

Das ist berechtigt, bringt aber keine Lösung für das Problem selbst. Ganze Dörfer, Familienväter, junge Männer fliehen nach Westen – was bringt es dann? Was wird aus Libanon? Eritrea? Burkina Faso? Albanien? Kroatien? Ungarn? Polen? Wenn Arbeitskräfte verschwinden? Wo Kinder und Großeltern alleine bleiben müssen? Wo die jungen Ehepaare Kinder hinterlassen und sich um fremde Leute kümmern – die eigenen bleiben im Dorf. Kinder ohne Mütter – das ist heute Osteuropa, ist  Ukraine, Moldawien, Albanien. Individuell ist es berechtigt. Es gibt keine Zukunftspolitik in Europa und in der Welt. Aber Fliehen – und was danach? Dunkle Seiten der Seele, eine Heimat aus Not und Zwang zu verlassen ist für mich sehr problematisch.

Wann hört man auf, Flüchtling zu sein?

Wenn man angekommen ist – nie. Wenn das Trauma groß war, werden auch die zweiten, dritten Generationen immer noch diese Geschichte in sich tragen. Siebenbürgener Sachsen, Rumänen, Flüchtlinge aus Ex-Jugoslawien – sind sie glücklich? Lieber fragt man sie nicht. Auch nicht die syrischen Flüchtlinge – es ist alles politisch gesteuert, niemand geht in die Biografien hinein.

Gibt es für Sie ein Recht auf Asyl?

Selbstverständlich.

Wenn ja: ist es bedingungslos, oder kann man es verwirken?

Nein. Jedes Asyl ist eine eigene Biografie. Man kann sie aber nicht prüfen. Und es führt zu Problemen.

Glauben Sie, dass eine Gesellschaft begrenzt oder unbegrenzt Flüchtlinge aufnehmen kann?

Es klingt zwar gut, die Frage ist aber nicht gut gestellt. Kann man es wirklich? Nein. Es ist schlimm, denn unbegrenzt ist nicht möglich. Theoretisch kann man damit heute eine sehr humane Politik betreiben. Man wird aber nicht unbegrenzt Flüchtlinge aufnehmen. Die Realität überschreibt einen solchen Slogan. Und mit so einer falsch gestellten Frage redet man wenig über wirkliche Probleme und Menschenschicksale.

Falls begrenzt: worin bestehen diese Grenzen?

Es sollte keine Grenzen geben – sie sind aber jetzt schon da in Europa. Wo sie gerade weg waren. Neue Grenzen, ganz neue Ideen über Grenzen. Abgrenzen, ausgrenzen, begrenzen, es werden Zäune gebaut – grenzenlos soll es / kann es nicht mehr bleiben. Stigmatisierung, Fremdenfeindlichkeit, erwünschte Grenzen – das sind die neuen Ideen. 20 Jahre ohne Grenzen, und es ist schon wieder vorbei. Unsichtbare Grenzen sind mir oft wichtiger als sichtbare. Und ich bin sehr stark für ein grenzenloses Europa. Ich kann dafür nur Argumente sammeln. Niemand aber hört mehr zu – es ist vorbei. Und es ist traurig.

Gibt es in Ihrem Land privilegierte Flüchtlinge, d.h. solche, die Ihr Land eher aufzunehmen bereit ist als andere? Wenn ja, warum?

Ja. Ungarische Minderheiten aus Rumänien, Ukraine, Vojwodina (Serbien). „Wirtschaftsflüchtlinge“ wie Russen, Ukrainer, Chinesen... wie überall in Europa.

Werden Flüchtlinge in Ihrem Land aus Ihrer Sicht gerecht behandelt?

Nein. Gar nicht. Die ungarische Regierung versucht ein negatives Bild von Flüchtlingen zu vermitteln. Fremdenfeindlich und inhuman. Seit einem Jahr oder sogar mehr sind Flüchtlinge als Feinde auf Plakaten dargestellt, heute – nach dem Brexit - führt die Regierung sogar eine klare EU-feindliche Kampagne. Und inzwischen sind selbst die Ungarn „Wirtschaftflüchtlinge“ überall in Europa. Arbeitsnehmer. Wie Schwester, Lehrer, Ärzte, Maurer, Kellner, Informatiker….Pflegehelferinnen, Putzfrau, Prostituierte. Die meisten Familien erziehen die Kinder unter dem Motto: „Gehe weg von hier.“ „Gehe ins Ausland“. „Flieh.“ Wenn es so ist, gibt es keine Zukunft für Europa.

Wären für Sie Einschnitte im Sozialsystem Ihres Landes akzeptabel, wenn dies helfen würde, mehr Flüchtlinge aufzunehmen?

Ich wäre sehr dafür. – Aber ich weiß, dass es hier, in einem „armen“ Land, unmöglich ist. Humane, solidarische Politik zu führen ist möglich, wenn du die Menschen überzeugen kannst. Kannst du aber nicht. In Ungarn sind das Leiden und die Armut sehr groß. Es herrscht hier heute kapitalistischer Egoismus– und ein politischer Egoismus. Als ehemaliges sozialistisches Land sind die Bestrebungen nach einem Sozialstaat sehr gering. Solidarität gibt es nur auf privater Ebene. Politik ist ein Diktat heute – sie schaut wenig auf Wohlfühlen, baut auf Ängste – wie etwa Fremdenfeindlichkeit. Und dazu kommt das neue Problem: Islam und Terrorismus in Europa. Worüber wir hier, im Osten Europas, so wenig wissen.

Was sind für Sie Voraussetzungen für erfolgreiche Integration? Gibt es Mindestanforderungen

- an die Ankommenden?
- an die Aufnehmenden?

Ja, Recht, Staat, Grundwerte – wobei ich so etwas wie Emanzipation der Frau sehr wichtig finde.

Kennen Sie persönlich Flüchtlinge?

Ja – selbstverständlich. Ich möchte es auch, es ist meine Aufgabe als Autorin. Heute ist jeder Mensch ein Flüchtling. Meine Familie ist nach Trianon geflohen. Aus Maramarossziget (heute Ukraine). Ein Teil von Europa, das vom Holocaust sehr betroffen war. Ich habe über ungarische Prostituierte in der Schweiz geschrieben. Heute wandern Frauen und Frauenkörper von Osten nach Westen. Wir reden wenig darüber. Sie fliehen auch – von Gewalt, Armut, aus Angst...

Unterstützen Sie aktiv Flüchtlinge?

Selbstverständlich.

Wie wird sich die Flüchtlingssituation in Ihrem Land entwickeln?

a) in den nächsten zwei Jahren?
b) in den nächsten zwei Jahrzehnten?

Es werden immer mehr Flüchtlinge nach Zentraleuropa kommen. Aus dem Balkan, Albanien, Mazedonien, Serbien. Aus der Ukraine. Armenien, Kaukasus, Russland. Ich bin sicher. Und aus den  Staaten im Nahen Osten.

Können Sie sich eine Welt ohne Flüchtlinge vorstellen?

Könnte ich nie, möchte ich auch nicht – es muss immer die Möglichkeit da stehen, dass man vor einer gewalttätigen Situation fliehen kann. Eine Welt ohne Flüchtlinge gab es noch nie. Man könnte, man muss aber danach streben, dass es weniger Gewalt und Armut gibt.

Haben Sie oder Ihre Familie in der Vergangenheit Erfahrung mit Flucht gemacht?

Ja, meine Familie kommt ursprünglich aus Armenien. Im 18. Jh. sind sie in Siebenbürgen angekommen. Und in Maramaros. Dann flohen sie nach Trianon, nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg, nach der Pest

Glauben Sie, dass Sie in Ihrem Leben jemals zum Flüchtling werden?

Ja, leider, das kann ich mir ohne weiteres vorstellen, ich denke jeden Tag daran – aus politischen Gründen.

Wie viel Heimat brauchen Sie?*

Nur eine: Haus, Kinder, meine nächsten Angehörigen, egal wo – aber möglichst, wenn ich wählen darf - dann schon hier, in Budapest oder an der Donau in Kisoroszi.

*Diese Frage ist Max Frischs Fragebogen zu „Heimat“ entnommen.