Secession Publishers Exploring New Horizons

Christian Ruzicska and Susanne Schenzle, founders of Secession Publishers; © Secession Verlag
Christian Ruzicska and Susanne Schenzle, founders of Secession Publishers | Photo (detail): © Secession Verlag

Secession Publishers, founded in 2009, offers a small but distinguished programme of contemporary literature and forgotten authors. It is worth joining them on reading tour of discovery.

The preview of Secession Publishers invites you to ‘Read Your Time’. The publishing house is still young, more or less in the fledging stage, and it is small. From time to time, a few interns join the publisher duo, helping and learning, and have the good luck of having landed not in some book factory but rather amongst a rare species today: true bibliophiles. In 2009 Susanne Schenzle and Christian Ruzicska founded Secession, a publishing house for literature with its headquarters in Zurich. From there Schenzle, who comes from Ammann Publishers (unfortunately now disbanded), takes care of sales and distribution, events and marketing. In the Berlin branch office Ruzicska is responsible for licenses, rights, editing, translations and public relations. It is his second career start as a publisher. Together with a colleague, he previously founded Tropen Publishers, which has now slipped under the umbrella of Klett-Cotta.

Pearls and lucky finds

Schenzle and Ruzicska decided to explore new horizons: let’s create a programme that we really like and that presents select literary pearls and rare lucky finds. In 2010 they brought out the first programme. Now the backlist comprises some twenty titles, and among the new books last autumn was Glückskind (literally: Lucky Child) by house author Steven Uhly, his third publication with Secession, and Sunderwarumbe (a line from a prayer by Meister Eckhart), the second book with Secession by the Swiss writer Christian Uetz, who is likewise one of their regular authors.

But back to the name: why ‘Secession’? ‘Aesthetically speaking, the letters are round and very beautiful – our designers felt them to be extremely pleasant because they yield a beautiful typeface.’ Christian Ruzicska quickly adds: ‘The substantial and more important reason is that these beautiful, round letters send a very clear signal: we’re attempting our own formulation of the publisher’s office, away from a mass production that must constantly flush a vast amount of literature onto the market. We’re attempting to create our own presence, of thoughts, content, precision, of treating literature as an instrument for sharpening perception’.

So the name is a programme: ‘Secession’ means deliberately setting oneself off from the mass market on the one hand and committing oneself to an unconditional independence on the other. ‘Independence’ in this field means one must possess well-nigh kamikaze skills and burn for one’s ‘calling’ – and that is what Ruzicska does. Even when he was still at university and jobbed on the side at a bookshop, he says, his customers were grateful for his recommendations. He somehow had the right instinct for which book suited which reader; he had, it appears, read them all.

Quality in the forefront

Session Publishers was from the start successful. It can proudly point to six awards: in the year of its founding, it already received the 2011 Newcomer Publishers of the Year award; there followed the 2011 Tukan Prize for Steven Uhly’s novel Adams Fuge (i.e., Adam’s Gap); the 2012 red dot design award for Sprechendes Wasser (i.e., Talking Water) by Jürg Halter and Tanikawa Shuntarō; and now the Prix Goncourt for the novel Le sermon sur la chute de Rome by Jérome Ferrari, announced for spring 2013. Secession received the red dot design award for the exemplary design of its hitherto only book of poetry. It thus honours the Munich-based firm of Kochan and Partner, who is responsible for the publisher’s website, corporate identity and complete book design. Each book has a uniform appearance, a small, slim format with an attractive but restrained cover, without dust jacket and, of course, with a bookmark ribbon.

Ferrari’s new book was translated by Rusiczka. He translates the acquisitions from the French and sometimes those from English. It is Ferrari’s second publication with Secession. The now highly honoured author has remained with Secession, although other publishers have tried to win him with lucrative offers. His latest book, Where I Left My Soul, is about loyalty. ‘And he lives up to that perfectly – an absolute exception’, rejoices Ruzicska, and divulges two other books of which he is particularly proud: The Case of Mr Crump by Ludwig Lewisohn, a reissue of a novel from 1928 by a forgotten author, which Ruzicska describes as superb; and the re-discovery of the French writer Hélène Bessette, who died penniless and forgotten, but whose writings were influential for the Nouveau Roman.

Apart from the love of high-quality literature, it is hard to elicit a programme line from the hitherto published books. Schenzle and Ruzicska follow their noses and their credo: ‘Books bind people together’. This has worked out well. But the real secret of success is probably the fact that the two young publishers are absolute book lovers – or in their own words: ‘We would like to say: Go ask a bird why he sings’.

Secession Verlag Auf zu neuen Ufern

Christian Ruzicska und Susanne Schenzle, die Gründer des Secession Verlages; © Secession Verlag
Christian Ruzicska und Susanne Schenzle, die Gründer des Secession Verlages | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Secession Verlag

Der 2009 gegründete Secession Verlag bietet ein kleines, aber feines Literaturprogramm zeitgenössischer und auch in Vergessenheit geratener Autoren an. Es lohnt sich, auf Entdeckungs-Lesereise zu gehen.

„Lies Deine Zeit“ fordert die Vorschau des Verlags Secession auf. Der Verlag ist noch jung, quasi in den Kinderschuhen, und er ist klein. Ab und zu stoßen zum Verlegerduo ein paar Praktikanten hinzu, helfen und lernen dabei – und sie haben Glück, nicht in einer Bücherfabrik gelandet zu sein, sondern bei einer heutzutage raren Spezies: bei echten Bibliophilen. 2009 gründeten Susanne Schenzle und Christian Ruzicska Secession – einen Verlag für Literatur mit Sitz in Zürich. Von dort kümmert sich Susanne Schenzle, die vom leider aufgelösten Ammann Verlag kam, um Vertrieb, Veranstaltungen und Marketing. In der Dépendence in Berlin ist Christian Ruzicska für Lizenzen, Rechte, Lektorat, Übersetzungen und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit zuständig. Es ist schon sein zweiter Karrierestart als Verleger. Zuvor hatte er gemeinsam mit einem Kollegen den Tropen-Verlag gegründet, der nun unter das Dach von Klett-Cotta geschlüpft ist.

Perlen und Trouvaillen

Auf zu neuen Ufern, beschlossen Schenzle und Ruzicska und wollten ein Programm machen, das erlesene literarische Perlen und seltene Trouvaillen präsentiert. 2010 lag das erste Programm auf. Inzwischen umfasst die Backlist circa 20 Titel, unter den Herbstneuerscheinungen 2012 Hausautor Steven Uhly mit seinem neuen Buch Glückskind, seinem bereits dritten Titel bei Secession, sowie auch der Schweizer Autor Christian Uetz, der ebenfalls schon Stammautor ist, mit seinem zweiten Titel Sunderwarumbe.

Doch zurück zur Namensgebung: Warum „Secession“? „Ästhetisch gesehen sind die Buchstaben rund und sehr schön – das haben unsere Designer als extrem angenehm empfunden, weil es ein schönes Schriftbild ergibt“, sagt Christian Ruzicska: „Der inhaltliche und wichtigere Grund ist, diese runden schönen Buchstaben machen einen sehr harten Schnitt und sagen, wir versuchen eine eigene Formulierung weg von einer Massenproduktion, die ständig eine große Menge von Literatur auf den Markt spülen muss. Wir versuchen eine eigene Präsenz herzustellen, von Gedanken, Inhaltlichkeit, Genauigkeit, vom Umgang mit der Literatur als Instrument zur Schärfung der Wahrnehmung.“

So ist der Name also doch Programm: Secession steht für ein bewusstes Sich-Absetzen vom Massenmarkt einerseits und für unbedingte Unabhängigkeit andererseits. „Unabhängig“ bedeutet in dieser Branche, dass man für seine „Berufung“ brennen muss – und das tut Christian Ruzicska. Schon als er noch studierte und nebenbei in einem Buchladen jobbte, waren die Kunden dankbar für seine Empfehlungen, erzählt er. Irgendwie hatte er immer das richtige Gespür, welches Buch zu wem passt – schließlich hatte er sie alle gelesen.

Qualität setzt sich durch

Der Secession Verlag hatte einen guten Start und war von Anfang an erfolgreich. Auf sechs Preise kann der Verleger inzwischen stolz verweisen: Schon ein Jahr nach seiner Gründung erhielt der Verlag die Auszeichnung Newcomer-Verlag des Jahres 2011; es folgte der Tukan-Preis 2011 für den Roman Adams Fuge von Steven Uhly; der red dot design award 2012 für Sprechendes Wasser von Jürg Halter und Tanikawa Shuntarō und nun hat auch noch der für das Frühjahr 2013 angekündigte Roman von Jérome Ferrari Le sermon sur la chute de Rome den Prix Goncourt erhalten. Mit dem red dot design award wird der bisher einzige Lyrikband für seine vorbildliche Gestaltung honoriert. Er gebührt somit der in München ansässigen Firma Kochan und Partner, die für die Website, die Corporate Identity und für die komplette Buchgestaltung des Verlages zuständig ist. Alle Titel haben ein einheitliches Erscheinungsbild, ein schmales, schlankes Buchformat, mit ansprechendem, aber zurückhaltendem Cover, ohne Schutzumschlag und – selbstverständlich – mit einem Lesebändchen.

Das neue Buch des Autors Jérome Ferrari wird gerade von Christian Rusiczka übersetzt. Übernahmen aus dem Französischen übersetzt er selbst, sowie teilweise auch englische Titel. Es ist Ferraris zweites Buch im Secession Verlag. Der nunmehr hochdekorierte Autor ist, obwohl andere Verlage hoch geboten hatten, bei Secession geblieben. Sein letztes Buch Und meine Seele ließ ich zurück handelt von Loyalität. „Und er lebt das perfekt – das ist eine absolute Ausnahme.“ freut sich Christian Ruzicska und verrät noch die beiden Titel, auf die er besonders stolz ist: Der Fall Crump von Ludwig Lewisohn, eine Wiederauflage eines Romans dieses vergessenen Autors von 1928, das Ruzicska als grandios bezeichnet – oder die Wiederentdeckung der französischen Autorin Hélène Bessette, die verarmt und vergessen starb, aber mit ihren Schriften prägend für den Nouveau Roman gewesen ist.

Außer der Liebe zu anspruchsvoller Literatur lässt sich unter den bislang aufgelegten Titeln nur schwer eine Programmlinie eruieren. Schenzle und Ruzicska folgen ihren Spürnasen und ihrem Credo: „Bücher binden Menschen“. Das hat bisher gut geklappt. Das eigentliche Erfolgsgeheimnis dürfte aber die Tatsache sein, dass es sich bei den beiden Jung-Verlegern um absolute Buchliebhaber handelt – oder um es in ihren eigenen Worten auszudrücken: „Wir möchten es betonen: Fragen Sie einen Vogel, warum er singt.“