Guest of honour Germany “Trade Fairs Bring People Together”

Tobias Voss heads the International Markets department of Frankfurt Book Fair and organizes numerous events abroad. We talked to him about German literature abroad, the licensing business and Germany’s guest appearance at the Rio International Book Fair in Brazil 2013.

Tobias Voss heads the International Markets department of Frankfurt Book Fair; © Frankfurter Buchmesse/A. Heimann Tobias Voss heads the International Markets department of Frankfurt Book Fair | © Frankfurter Buchmesse/A. Heimann Mr Voss, what is your remit when it comes to organizing a trade fair event abroad?

We receive funding from the German Federal Foreign Office which allows us to appear at the world’s leading international book fairs, of which there are around 15 to 20 each year. In our capacity as Frankfurt Book Fair, we represent on the one hand the economic side of the book industry. Anyone who is interested in the international book market will know that we are the world’s most important book fair. On the other hand, we believe it is also very important to present and showcase cultural and educational aspects of the book market under our Books from Germany banner. Alongside presentations at our booth, we organize professional events to accompany the fairs. At the 2013 fair in Rio de Janeiro, for instance, we will put German publishing staff in touch with their foreign colleagues at matchmaking sessions. If necessary, we also run events focusing on topics such as production and marketing or rights and licensing.

Germany will be the guest of honour at the Rio International Book Fair in 2013. What exactly will this involve?

Appearing as guest of honour is a bigger and better deal than simply taking part in a fair. In Rio, we will have 400 square metres of booth space, half of which will be used by the Goethe-Institut for its Germany for Beginners exhibition. The other half will be used to showcase book collections and present publishing houses, and to serve as a stage for events. To ensure that we achieve lasting impact, we have to ensure that things are going on all the time. We invite visitors to the fair to come into our booth, pick up books and spend time with us. Our staff will also be on hand at the booth to answer any questions.

Reducing the risk

Which authors do you tend to profile abroad – the lesser-known or the more established writers?

The Goethe-Institut is one of our most important partners – our collaboration has even been enshrined in a contract for many years. When we make joint appearances, the Goethe-Institut often takes responsibility for the literary side of things in the country in question. For Rio, we jointly selected around ten authors, including well-known writers such as Ilija Trojanow and Wladimir Kaminer. Carmen Stephan, the author of Brasilia Stories and Mal Aria, will be present; she has also lived in Brazil and thus has an affinity with the country. Then there is Olga Grjasnowa: she wrote Der Russe ist einer der Birken liebt (All Russians Love Birch Trees) and was longlisted for the German Book Prize 2012.

The delegation is composed on the basis of which author has a particular relevance to the country or region in question – perhaps he or she even speaks the local language. What is more, it is important which author has had works recently translated into the local language. Foreign publishers often take a risk when commissioning translations, which means a more modest marketing budget due to the additional costs. Many publishing houses therefore cannot afford to pay for an author to travel to the country themselves. If we bring the German author with us, the publisher can take advantage of the author’s appearances for marketing purposes. By inviting authors to travel with us, we make foreign publishing houses more willing to commission a translation because the risk is reduced.

Diversity of opinion

What other books do you have in your portfolio?

We put together new collections of books every year. This always includes a literary collection based around the German Book Prize. Another collection – which in 2013 goes by the name of Living Urbanity – targets one specific socially-relevant topic. Highlighting the diversity of opinion and lively culture of debate in Germany is something that is very close to our hearts. Furthermore, when putting together the collections we take into account the circumstances of the country in question. In Brazil, for instance, there are not that many people who speak German, so it is not worth taking along our complete literary collection. Instead, we focus on our collections of children’s books and graphic novels: they are easier to understand and appeal to a wider audience.

How do you choose the publishing houses that are to feature at trade fairs abroad?

Generally speaking, we invite all publishers to take part in a fair. Our mailing list contains over 2,000 addresses; these include the 200 to 250 or so publishers that regularly sell many licences abroad. Then there are around 500 publishing companies that just occasionally sell a licence. When Germany appears at a trade fair as the guest of honour, particular attention is paid to German book production, which in turn triggers a greater response from the participating publishers. Some publishers travel with their staff to the fair in order to conduct meetings, sell licences and obtain a personal impression of the book market. One thing applies to all trade fairs: the book industry still operates via direct contact between industry participants – this is why trade fairs are so important, as they bring people together.

Which strategies are pursued by German publishers when they appear at trade fairs abroad?

German publishers assess their opportunities on the respective market on the basis of their own experiences and strategic aims. Publishing strategies for the individual countries are complex and differ from publisher to publisher. Approximately 150 German licences are sold every year to Brazil, and we will for example have a number of children’s book publishers at our booth. Children’s book licences sell very well abroad and are an excellent means of getting the ball rolling.

Do German publishers also gear their activities to reflect international trends?

Trends always play an important role. Recognizing trends early on can create great opportunities, though it also remains a somewhat risky business: many publishers, for example, have jumped on the fantasy bandwagon. By the time a book has been written or translated, however, the hype may already have died down again.

Tobias Voss worked in a book shop after completing his degree in German studies and biology, and then established a successful literary agency. Since 1998 he has worked for Frankfurt Book Fair, where he was initially responsible for the international offices before taking over the International Markets department as a member of the management board.

Gastland Deutschland „Messen bringen die Menschen zusammen“

Tobias Voss leitet den Bereich Internationale Märkte der Frankfurter Buchmesse und organisiert zahlreiche Auslandsauftritte. Ein Gespräch über deutsche Literatur im Ausland, Lizenzgeschäfte und Deutschlands Gastauftritt bei der Buchmesse in Brasilien 2013.

Tobias Voss leitet den Bereich Internationale Märkte der Frankfurter Buchmesse; © Frankfurter Buchmesse/A. Heimann Tobias Voss leitet den Bereich Internationale Märkte der Frankfurter Buchmesse | © Frankfurter Buchmesse/A. Heimann Herr Voss, mit welchem Anliegen organisieren Sie einen Messeauftritt im Ausland?

Wir sind mit finanzieller Unterstützung des Auswärtigen Amts auf den wichtigsten internationalen Buchmessen der Welt vertreten, jährlich sind das etwa 15 bis 20. Auf der einen Seite repräsentieren wir als Frankfurter Buchmesse den ökonomischen Teil des Buchbetriebs. Wer sich für den internationalen Buchmarkt interessiert, kennt uns als die wichtigste Buchmesse weltweit. Zum anderen ist es uns sehr wichtig, auch kultur- und bildungspolitische Aspekte des Buchmarkts unter dem Motto Bücher aus Deutschland vor- und auszustellen. Neben den Präsentationen am Stand organisieren wir messebegleitend Fachveranstaltungen. So bringen wir beispielsweise 2013 in Rio de Janeiro deutsche Verlagsmitarbeiter bei Match-Making-Treffen in Kontakt mit ihren ausländischen Kollegen. Wenn im Land Bedarf besteht, führen wir auch Veranstaltungen zu Themen wie Herstellung, Marketing oder zum Rechte- und Lizenzhandel durch.

Deutschland ist 2013 Gastland auf der Buchmesse Brasilien. Wie sieht so ein Auftritt genau aus?

Für das Gastland fällt ein Auftritt größer und schöner aus als eine normale Messebeteiligung. In Rio haben wir eine Standfläche von 400 Quadratmetern, wovon eine Hälfte vom Goethe-Institut für die Ausstellung Deutschland für Anfänger genutzt wird. In dem anderen Teil zeigen wir Buchkollektionen, Verlagspräsentationen, eine Bühne für Veranstaltungen wird es auch geben. Es muss immer etwas los sein, damit wir eine nachhaltige Wirkung erzielen. Wir laden dazu ein, das Areal zu betreten, die Bücher in die Hand zu nehmen und zu verweilen. Außerdem sind Kollegen am Stand, die Fragen beantworten.

Risikobereitschaft unterstützen

Welche Autoren stellen Sie im Ausland vor, eher die unbekannten oder die etablierten?

Das Goethe-Institut ist einer unserer wichtigsten Partner, unsere Zusammenarbeit ist seit Jahren sogar vertraglich geregelt. Bei gemeinsamen Auftritten übernimmt oft das Goethe-Institut im jeweiligen Land den literarischen Teil. Für Rio haben wir gemeinsam etwa zehn Autorinnen und Autoren ausgesucht. Unter ihnen sind namhafte Autoren wie Ilija Trojanow und Wladimir Kaminer. Carmen Stephan, die Autorin von Brasilia Stories und Mal Aria wird dabei sein, sie hat auch in Brasilien gelebt und ist entsprechend landesaffin. Oder Olga Grjasnowa. Von ihr stammt Der Russe ist einer der Birken liebt, sie war für die Longlist des Deutschen Buchpreises 2012 nominiert.

Die konkrete Zusammensetzung der Delegation ergibt sich daraus, welcher Autor einen Bezug zum Land oder zur Region hat. Vielleicht spricht er sogar die Landessprache. Außerdem ist wichtig, wer gerade in die jeweilige Landessprache übersetzt wurde. Ausländische Verlage gehen mit Übersetzungen oft ein Risiko ein. Aufgrund der Mehrkosten fällt das Marketingbudget dann bescheidener aus. Einen Autor selbst ins Land zu holen, können sich viele Verlage daher nicht leisten. Bringen wir den deutschen Autoren mit, kann der Verlag die Auftritte als Marketing-Instrumente nutzen. Mit der Einladung unterstützen wir die Risikobereitschaft zur Übersetzung bei ausländischen Verlagen.

Vielfalt der Meinungen

Welche Bücher haben Sie noch im Gepäck?

Wir stellen jedes Jahr neue Buchkollektionen zusammen. Darunter ist immer eine literarische Kollektion, die sich am Deutschen Buchpreis orientiert. Eine andere Kollektion – 2013 heißt sie Urbanität leben – befasst sich gezielt mit einem gesellschaftlich relevanten Thema. Die Darstellung der Vielfalt der Meinungen und einer lebendigen Diskussionskultur in Deutschland liegt uns sehr am Herzen. Außerdem nehmen wir bei der Zusammenstellung Rücksicht auf die Verhältnisse im jeweiligen Land. In Brasilien beispielsweise wird nicht so viel Deutsch gesprochen, dass es sich lohnen würde, die komplette literarische Kollektion mitzunehmen. Stattdessen setzen wir auf unsere Kinderbuch- und Graphic-Novels-Kollektionen: Sie sind leichter verständlich und sprechen ein breiteres Publikum an.

Wie kommt die Auswahl der Verlage für Messeauftritte im Ausland zustande?

Generell laden wir alle Verlage zur Teilnahme am Messeauftritt ein. Unser Verteiler umfasst über 2.000 Adressen, darunter sind die etwa 200 bis 250 Verlage, die regelmäßig viele Lizenzen ins Ausland verkaufen. Dann gibt es um die 500 Verlage, die immer mal wieder eine Lizenz verkaufen. Bei einem Gastlandauftritt erhält die deutsche Buchproduktion eine ganz besonders große Aufmerksamkeit, was auch bei den Verlagsbeteiligungen eine stärkere Reaktion auslöst. Einige Verlage reisen mit Mitarbeitern zur Messe an, um Termine wahrzunehmen, Lizenzen zu verkaufen und sich einen persönlichen Eindruck vom Buchmarkt zu verschaffen. Eines gilt für alle Messen: Die Buchbranche funktioniert nach wie vor über den direkten Kontakt der Branchenteilnehmer. Deswegen sind Messen so wichtig, sie bringen die Menschen zusammen.

Welche Strategien verfolgen deutsche Verlage bei ihren Messeauftritten im Ausland?

Die deutschen Verlage beurteilen ihre Chancen auf dem jeweiligen Markt nach eigenen Erfahrungen und ihren strategischen Vorgaben. Verlagsstrategien für die jeweiligen Länder sind vielschichtig und von Verlag zu Verlag verschieden. Nach Brasilien werden jährlich immerhin etwa 150 deutsche Lizenzen verkauft. Wir werden zum Beispiel eine Reihe von Kinderbuchverlagen am Stand haben. Lizenzen von Kinderbüchern verkaufen sich sehr gut ins Ausland und sind echte Wegbereiter.

Orientieren sich deutsche Verlage auch an internationalen Trends?

Trends spielen immer eine wichtige Rolle. Sie früh zu erkennen, bietet große Chancen, bleibt aber auch riskant: Auf die Fantasiewelle sind beispielsweise viele Verlage aufgesprungen. Bis aber ein Buch geschrieben oder übersetzt ist, kann der Hype schon wieder vorbei sein.

Tobias Voss arbeitete nach seinem Studium der Germanistik und der Biologie im Buchhandel und gründete eine Literaturagentur. Seit 1998 betreute er bei der Frankfurter Buchmesse zunächst die Auslandsbüros, bevor er als Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung den Bereich Internationale Märkte übernahm.