An interview with Jens R. Nielsen “Illustration is the visualization of thoughts”

“To win a game” by Ulf K., illustration for the picture book “Kurz der Kicker”, Altberliner Verlag, © Ulf K.; Portrait of the illustrator Nina Takata by Jens R. Nielsen, © Jens R. Nielsen; A portrait of a woman holding a transparent comb in front of her face by Utamara Kitagawa, 1780's, License: public domain
“To win a game” by Ulf K., illustration for the picture book “Kurz der Kicker”, Altberliner Verlag, © Ulf K.; Portrait of the illustrator Nina Takata by Jens R. Nielsen, © Jens R. Nielsen; A portrait of a woman holding a transparent comb in front of her face by Utamara Kitagawa, 1780's, License: public domain | Photo (montage) © Ulf K.; Jens R. Nielsen

In Europe, using pictures to tell a story traditionally takes a back seat to narratives that are based on words, quite unlike the convention in the Asian cultural sphere. Jens R. Nielsen, illustrator, journalist and deputy board chairman of Germany’s Association of Illustrators, Illustratoren Organisation e.V., attempts a cultural comparison.

Mr Nielsen, this autumn, German comic artist Ulf K. will be instructing Japanese students in the art of manga drawing within the framework of an exhibition in Tokyo entitled “Die Deutsche Comic-Kultur” (i.e. German Comic Culture). What do you think of this idea?

I think it’s a great idea in principle, because it is always a positive thing when institutions such as the Goethe-Institut for example make a creative exchange between different traditions possible. Obviously, it would be interesting to know which “tradition” Ulf K. actually upholds, himself being a representative of a Western, European culture of illustration, and to what extent an exchange between Western and Far Eastern illustrative tradition is in fact possible if the illustrators taking part in the exchange perhaps do not speak the same illustrative language.

But we have long been living in a globalized world – are the differences between German and Japanese illustrative art still so big?

Of course, things are becoming increasingly homogenized, and there is above all a great mutual interest. I am quite certain that the Japanese students will be curious to meet Ulf K. and to find out how he works. After all, even though the Japanese manga market has become far more international in recent years and relies more on global licensing agreements, these are all comparatively new developments. The students are bound to be interested – and perhaps even amazed – to hear how it is possible to work and live as a freelance illustrator and in which fields illustrators in Europe work, both traditionally and today.

The distinction between text and image

Why should they be amazed?

Because the two traditions of illustration and writing are, at their core, extremely different. By Lessing’s era at the latest, the European history of illustration had become characterized first and foremost by a strict distinction between written and pictorial representation. At some point or another, people in Europe stopped questioning whether the way in which a written narrative functions actually differs essentially from the way in which pictures can be used to tell a story. To this day, Saint Gregory the Great’s verdict that pictures are self-explanatory still applies – despite the fact that no-one would be able to say any longer who or what is in fact depicted on an image from Gregory’s lifetime if it were not for the written literature that explains it.

Is this because the images are in fact not automatically self-evident to us?

Precisely. We understand little from an image if we do not know or no longer know its context. Writing is a quite different matter: it functions as a system of notation that has been emancipated from any interpretation. An “a” no longer has any “meaning” – it simply represents an “a”. Interestingly enough, there are characters in the Far Eastern tradition of writing and illustration whose meaning can be derived only from the context in which they are used, whereas images very often have iconic qualities which we in Europe would attribute solely to writing. Take for example a portrait of a courtesan by Kitagawa Utamaro. For him, any individual and “realistic” depiction of facial features is irrelevant.

Peculiarities of visual narration

What significance does this have for the standing of illustrative art in the two cultural spheres?

Particularly here in Germany, the visual portrayal of circumstances and thoughts – which after all is precisely what illustration is all about – still counts for little. “Illustration” is regarded as the servant of the medium of poets and philosophers: namely of writing. This is evident from the vehemence with which comics, pictorial narratives and caricatures have long by “bullied” by academic discourse: comics, so dictates academic common sense, were an exasperating mixture of restricted text and unaesthetic images. It only became accepted at a very late stage that comics and illustrations in general could represent a third means of communicating content, one that goes beyond the possibilities offered by alphabetical script and panel painting.

Can you give us an example of this “third means” of communication?

Take the famous graphic novels Art Spiegelman created about the Holocaust. The characters in Spiegelman’s Maus are depicted by the heads of animals. The Jews, for example, are mice, while the Germans are cats and the French are frogs. But what then is a French Jew? Who decides whether a camp inmate is a Jew? Spiegelman uses the medium of his drawings to discuss the question – of such core relevance to the Nazi ideology – of who has the right to force people into a labelling system that allows selection, humiliation and extermination. And in doing so he uses techniques that are fundamental to visual narrative: standardization of types, stylization, repetition and variation.

Although illustrations can have such great impact, the image of those who create them – illustrators – is not the best in Germany. Why is this in fact the case?

That is not an easy question to answer, as there are certainly many factors that play their part in this. In France, for example, the work done by caricaturists traditionally enjoys considerable appreciation – presumably because of the unbroken role illustrators and engravers have traditionally played as propagandists of progress ever since the French Revolution. In the land of poets and thinkers, however, “illustrators” were not even seen as those responsible for the creative output of images, an attitude that prevailed right up to the modern age. They were “merely” the ones whose skills in woodcarving, engraving or stonecutting made this creative output technically possible in the first place. Even today, illustrators still find themselves battling against precisely this image of being a service provider, a simple translator of the brilliant ideas of an author or artist.

Jens R. Nielsen im Gespräch „Illustration ist die Visualisierung von Gedanken“

„Ein Spiel gewinnen“ von Ulf K., Zeichnung aus dem Bilderbuch „Kurz der Kicker“, Altberliner Verlag, © Ulf K.; Porträt der Illustratorin Nina Takata von Jens R. Nielsen, © Jens R. Nielsen; Porträt einer Frau mit Kamm von Utamara Kitagawa, etwa 1780, Lizenz: gemeinfrei
„Ein Spiel gewinnen“ von Ulf K., Zeichnung aus dem Bilderbuch „Kurz der Kicker“, Altberliner Verlag, © Ulf K.; Porträt der Illustratorin Nina Takata von Jens R. Nielsen, © Jens R. Nielsen; Porträt einer Frau mit Kamm von Utamara Kitagawa, etwa 1780, Lizenz: gemeinfrei | Foto (Montage): © Ulf K.; © Jens R. Nielsen

In Europa tritt das Erzählen mit Bildern hinter dem Erzählen mit Worten zurück. Das ist im asiatischen Kulturraum anders. Jens R. Nielsen, Zeichner, Publizist und stellvertretender Vorstandsvorsitzender der Illustratoren-Organisation e. V., wagt einen Kulturvergleich.

Herr Nielsen, der deutsche Comic-Zeichner Ulf K. wird im Herbst 2013 in Tokyo im Rahmen der Ausstellung „Die Deutsche Comic-Kultur“ japanische Studenten beim Zeichnen von Mangas anleiten. Was halten Sie von dieser Idee?

Grundsätzlich finde ich das großartig. Weil es immer positiv ist, wenn Institutionen wie zum Beispiel das Goethe-Institut den kreativen Austausch zwischen verschiedenen Traditionen ermöglichen. Dabei wäre natürlich zu fragen, welche „Tradition“ Ulf K. als Vertreter einer westlichen, europäischen Zeichenkultur eigentlich repräsentiert. Und inwieweit ein Austausch zwischen westlicher und fernöstlicher Zeichentradition gelingen kann, wenn man als Zeichner vielleicht nicht dieselbe handwerkliche Sprache spricht.

Aber wir leben doch längst in einer globalisierten Welt. Sind denn die Unterschiede zwischen deutscher und japanischer Illustrationskunst nach wie vor so groß?

Natürlich gibt es immer mehr Angleichungen und vor allem ein großes gegenseitiges Interesse. Ich bin mir sicher, die japanischen Kollegen werden Ulf K. mit Neugierde begegnen und wissen wollen, wie er arbeitet. Denn auch wenn sich der japanische Manga-Markt in den letzten Jahren stark internationalisiert hat und verstärkt auf globale Lizenzierungen setzt, so sind das doch alles vergleichsweise neue Entwicklungen. Wie man als freischaffender Illustrator arbeiten und leben kann, was die spezifischen Arbeitsfelder von Zeichnern in Europa waren und sind, all das wird die Studenten sicher interessieren – und möglicherweise auch verblüffen.

Trennung von Text und Bild

Warum verblüffen?

Weil sich die beiden Zeichentraditionen im Kern eben doch stark unterscheiden. Die europäische Geschichte der Illustration wurde spätestens seit Gotthold Ephraim Lessing maßgeblich durch die strenge Trennung von schriftlicher und bildlicher Repräsentation bestimmt. Irgendwann wurde in Europa nicht mehr hinterfragt, ob die Art und Weise, wie Narration im Medium Schrift funktioniert, sich wirklich grundsätzlich von der Art und Weise unterscheidet, wie man in Bildern erzählen kann. Noch heute gilt das Verdikt Gregors des Großen, dass Bilder sich angeblich selbst erklären – obwohl niemand mehr ohne erläuternde Literatur zu sagen wüsste, wer oder was in einem Bild aus Gregors Lebenszeit eigentlich zu sehen ist.

Weil sich uns die Bilder eben nicht automatisch erschließen?

Ganz genau. Wir verstehen von einem Bild nur wenig, wenn wir den Kontext nicht oder nicht mehr kennen. Ganz anders dagegen unsere Schrift: Die funktioniert als Zeichensystem, das sich von jeder Interpretation emanzipiert hat. Ein „a“ „bedeutet“ nichts mehr – außer eben „a“. In der fernöstlichen Zeichentradition gibt es nun interessanterweise Schriftzeichen, deren Bedeutung nur über den Verwendungskontext erschlossen werden kann, während andererseits Bilder sehr oft ikonische Qualitäten aufweisen, die wir in Europa ausschließlich der Schrift zuordnen würden. Nehmen Sie als Beispiel ein Kurtisanen-Portrait von Kitagawa Utamaro. Die individuelle, „lebensechte“ Ausarbeitung von Gesichtszügen spielt bei ihm keine Rolle.

Besonderheiten visuellen Erzählens

Was bedeutet das für den Stellenwert der Illustrationskunst in beiden Kulturkreisen?

Besonders hier in Deutschland zählt die visuelle Umsetzung von Sachverhalten und von Gedanken – denn genau darum geht es beim Illustrieren – nach wie vor wenig. „Illustration“ gilt als Dienerin des Mediums der Dichter und Denker: der Schrift. Sie sehen das an der Vehemenz, mit der Comics, Bilderzählungen und Karikaturen lange vom wissenschaftlichen Diskurs „gemobbt“ wurden: Comics, so der akademische Common Sense, waren eine leidige Mischung aus restringiertem Text und unästhetischen Bildern. Dass Comics und allgemein Illustrationen einen dritten Weg der Vermittlung von Inhalten bieten können, die jenseits der Möglichkeiten von Buchstabenschrift und Tafelbildern liegen, wurde erst sehr spät akzeptiert.

Können Sie uns ein Beispiel für diesen „dritten Weg“ der Vermittlung geben?

Nehmen Sie die berühmten Graphic Novels von Art Spiegelman über den Holocaust. Die Akteure in Spiegelmans Maus werden durch Tierköpfe bezeichnet. Juden sind beispielsweise Mäuse, Deutsche sind Katzen, Franzosen sind Frösche. Doch was ist eine französische Jüdin? Wer bestimmt, ob ein Lagerinsasse ein Jude ist? Spiegelman diskutiert mithilfe seiner Zeichnungen die für die Nazi-Ideologie so zentrale Frage, wem zusteht, Menschen in ein Etikettensystem zu pressen, das Selektion, Erniedrigung und Vernichtung ermöglicht. Und er bedient sich dabei Techniken, wie sie für visuelles Erzählen grundlegend sind: Typisierung, Stilisierung, Wiederholung und Variation.

Obwohl Illustrationen so viel bewirken können, ist das Image ihrer Schöpfer, der Illustratoren, hierzulande nicht das beste. Warum eigentlich?

Das ist nicht so leicht zu beantworten, da spielen sicherlich viele Faktoren eine Rolle. In unserem Nachbarland Frankreich beispielsweise herrscht traditionell eine große Wertschätzung für die Leistung von Karikaturisten – vermutlich wegen der seit der Französischen Revolution ungebrochen tradierten Rolle von Zeichnern und Stechern als Propagandisten des Fortschritts. Doch im Land der Dichter und Denker galt der Illustrator bis in die Moderne hinein gar nicht als der für den kreativen Output an Bildern Verantwortliche. Er war „lediglich“ derjenige, der ihn als Holzschnitzer, Stahlstecher oder Steinschneider technisch ermöglichte. Und genau mit diesem Image des Dienstleisters, des schlichten Übersetzers der genialen Ideen eines Autors oder Künstlers, haben Illustratoren bis heute zu kämpfen.