Hannah Dübgen A Contemporary Writer With a Global Perspective

Hannah Dübgen
Hannah Dübgen | Photo (detail): © Susanne Schleyer/autorenarchiv.de

She is interested in social matters, in life in our networked world – and in topical political issues. Precise observation and a rhythmically meticulous language are characteristics of Hannah Dübgen’s prose. This multifaceted writer has also written successful librettos and theatre plays.

“I regard literature as a process of precise observation, as a way of approaching reality through language,” says Hannah Dübgen. The language she has chosen for her observations is clear and precise, with recurrent flashes of British humour. The author was born in Dusseldorf in 1977 and spent five years in Oxford studying literature and philosophy, then one year in Paris where she became intensely involved in the theatre scene. With this outsider’s viewpoint – from which she also scrutinises the German language – she chooses her words deliberately and perceptively.

Her phrasing is resonant, musical, structured, rhythmical; and the basis for this is her musicology studies in Berlin. After her apprenticeship years, Hannah Dübgen was drawn to the capital city mainly because, as a writer with language as her tool, she specifically wants to take part in a lively exchange. And in her eyes, Berlin was the only possible place for that, indeed she considers it to be a very particular place in Germany: international and open-minded. She is attracted by all that is global. Although she speaks quite fast, she always formulates clearly. Her statements all hit the mark, and it is immediately noticeable that the woman speaking certainly likes to think, and has given a lot of thought to things.

Lettra.tv Interview with Hannah Dübgen

Social Aspects

Hannah Dübgen is an altogether contemporary author interested in social matters and current ways of life in our networked world. She is also interested in controversial political issues: she placed the Palestine/Israel conflict zone to the fore in her first novel Strom, published in 2013. “My attitude when writing is that I want to look at this or that particular country, this or that interpersonal or social conflict. I want to observe and understand it, smell and taste it.” In doing this she raises questions of considerable urgency, in her view: “Do the people on the other side have the same fear? Can it be that (the Palestinians) are just not able to get away from there as easily as the Israelis?” Hannah Dübgen, whose Jewish first name is pure chance, experienced some aspects of life in that divided region during a sojourn in Israel. In fact she wrote the first, Israel-chapter of Strom in the Artists Residence Herzliya near Tel Aviv.

Hannah Dübgen’s first novel intertwines the fates of four protagonists, who come from different cultures, live in different time zones, seem remote from one another and yet have things in common. The novel’s maxim: “Near or far no longer exist, only near or alien.” What is distant is not necessarily alien. Common knowledge can be shared on the Internet, but experiences have to be made personally. Each figure in the novel has his or her part to play, like in a string quartet. Practised as she is in music, this musical form readily suggested itself to her: laying out four narrative strands, pursuing and aligning them, and finally bringing them together to form a melodious work is a task this author skilfully accomplishes.

In demand as a librettist

The world of music is a realm in which Hannah Dübgen also feels quite at home. She has already written librettos for three full-length operas and is in demand as a librettist. She has inspired renowned artists like the Japanese composer Toshio Hosokawa and the German choreographer Sasha Waltz, who created a dance opera based on her reworking of a Japanese Noh play. Composers like Moritz Eggert and Jörn Arnecke have transposed her texts into music. For Arnecke’s opera Kyros, Hannah Dübgen imagined the social theme of climate change in the 23rd century. The spectral language she created especially for this received great praise from the critics.

Since she was a student Hannah Dübgen has worked as a free-lance dramaturge for various theatres – and meantime also as a dramatist. Her first theatre play, Gegenlicht, garnered attention immediately. In 2008 she was nominated for the Klagenfurt Theatre’s Dramatist Prize. Just five years later, in 2013, Austria again played an important role in the author’s career – during the competition for the Ingeborg Bachmann Prize she presented her text Schattenlider. Although the experts on the jury were not convinced, this eloquent woman of the theatre cast a spell over the audience with her reading of a story about a child born with empty eye sockets.

Twice in 2013 Hannah Dübgen was again introduced to a larger public: she was nominated for the Klaus Michael Kühne Prize for debut novelists; and in autumn she was awarded the Literature Prize of her hometown of Dusseldorf for her novel Strom: “Hannah Dübgen writes movingly and with considerable force about the ‘stream’ (Strom) that is our era.

Hannah Dübgen Gegenwartsautorin mit globalem Blick

Hannah Dübgen
Hannah Dübgen | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Susanne Schleyer/autorenarchiv.de

Sie interessiert sich für gesellschaftliche Fragen, für das Leben in der vernetzten Welt – und für aktuelle politische Themen. Genaue Beobachtung, eine exakte und rhythmische Sprache zeichnen Hannah Dübgens Prosa aus. Die vielseitige Schriftstellerin hat auch als Librettistin und Theaterautorin Erfolg.

„Ich sehe Literatur als Prozess des genauen Blicks, als Wirklichkeitsannäherung durch Sprache an“, sagt Hannah Dübgen. Für ihre Beobachtungen findet sie eine klare und exakte Sprache, in der immer wieder britischer Humor aufblitzt. Fünf Jahre verbrachte die 1977 in Düsseldorf geborene Autorin in Oxford, studierte dort Literatur und Philosophie, ein Jahr lebte sie in Paris und beschäftigte sich intensiv mit der Theaterszene. Mit dieser Außenperspektive – auch auf die deutsche Sprache – wählt sie ihre Worte bewusst und durchdacht.

Sie formuliert klangvoll, musikalisch, strukturiert und rhythmisch. Die Basis dafür legte ein musikwissenschaftliches Studium in Berlin. In die Hauptstadt zog es Hannah Dübgen nach den Lehrjahren vor allem, weil sie als Schriftstellerin mit ihrem Werkzeug der Sprache im lebendigen Austausch stehen will. Für Dübgen konnte es nur Berlin sein, weil es für sie der speziellste Ort in Deutschland ist: international und weltoffen. Das Globale zieht sie an. Sie spricht schnell, formuliert aber immer eindeutig. Alle ihre Äußerungen sitzen, sofort merkt man, hier redet eine Frau, die gerne denkt und sich über vieles Gedanken gemacht hat.

Lettra.tv Interview mit Hannah Dübgen zu „Strom“

Gesellschaftliche Aspekte

Hannah Dübgen ist durch und durch eine Gegenwartsautorin, die sich für gesellschaftliche Aspekte und aktuelle Lebensformen in der vernetzten Welt interessiert – und auch für politisch brisante Themen: Die Konfliktzone Palästina/Israel stellt sie in den Mittelpunkt ihres 2013 erschienenen Debütromans Strom. „Mein Ansatz fürs Schreiben ist: Ich will dieses Land, diesen zwischenmenschlichen oder sozialen Konflikt anschauen, ihn beobachten und verstehen, ihn riechen und schmecken.“ Sie geht hier der für sie dringenden Frage nach: „Haben die Menschen auf der anderen Seite die gleiche Angst? Und können [die Palästinenser] nur noch weniger weg als die Israelis?“ Hannah Dübgen, die nur zufällig einen jüdischen Vornamen hat, erspürte selbst etwas von dem Leben in der gespaltenen Gegend während eines Israelaufenthalts. In der Artists Residence Herzliya bei Tel Aviv verfasste sie das erste Israelkapitel von Strom.

In ihrem Prosadebüt verknüpft Hannah Dübgen Schicksale von vier Protagonisten. Sie kommen aus verschiedenen Kulturen und Zeitzonen, scheinen weit voneinander entfernt zu sein, und dennoch haben sie Gemeinsamkeiten. Dem Roman steht der Leitsatz voran: „Nah oder fern gibt es nicht mehr, nur noch nah oder fremd.“ Das Ferne ist nicht unbedingt das Fremde, das gemeinsame Wissen ist via Internet teilbar, Erfahrungen aber muss man selbst machen. Wie bei einem Streichquartett bekommt jede Figur im Roman eine eigene Stimme. Diese musikalische Form zu übernehmen, lag Hannah Dübgen nah. Vier Erzählstränge auszulegen, zu halten und zusammenzuführen, schließlich zu einem klangvollen Werk auszuformen, setzt die in der Musik geschulte Autorin mit leichter Hand und virtuos um.

Gefragte Librettistin

Das Musiktheater ist eine andere künstlerische Welt, in der Hannah Dübgen zuhause ist. Sie hat bereits Textbücher für drei abendfüllende Opern geschrieben und ist eine gefragte Librettistin. Dabei hat sie so namhafte Künstler wie den japanischen Komponisten Toshio Hosokawa und die deutsche Choreografin Sasha Waltz mit einem Stoff aus dem japanischen Nō-Theater zu einer Tanzoper inspiriert. Komponisten wie Moritz Eggert und Jörn Arnecke setzen ihre Texte in Töne um. Für Arneckes Oper Kryos beispielsweise imaginiert Hannah Dübgen das Gesellschaftsthema Klimawandel in das 23. Jahrhundert. Von der Kritik bekam sie viel Lob für ihre eigens erfundene Spektralsprache.

Seit ihrem Studium arbeitet Hannah Dübgen als freie Dramaturgin an verschiedenen Theatern – und inzwischen auch als Dramatikerin: Ihr erstes eigenes Schauspiel Gegenlicht wurde gleich ins Rampenlicht gerückt. 2008 erhielt sie eine Nominierung für den Dramatikerpreis des Theaters Klagenfurt. Nur fünf Jahre später, 2013, spielte Österreich wieder eine wichtige Rolle für die Autorin – beim Wettbewerb um den Ingeborg-Bachmann-Preis präsentierte sie den Text Schattenlider. Zwar konnte sie sich bei der Fachjury nicht durchsetzen, aber das Publikum ließ sich vom Vortrag der sprachfreudigen Theaterfrau Dübgen in den Bann der Geschichte um ein Kind ziehen, das mit leeren Augenhöhlen geboren wird.

2013 machte Hannah Dübgen sich noch zwei weitere Male einem größeren Publikum bekannt: Sie wurde für den Klaus-Michael-Kühne-Preis für Romandebütanten nominiert. Für Strom erhielt sie im Herbst den Förderpreis für Literatur ihrer Geburtsstadt Düsseldorf mit den Worten: „Hannah Dübgen erzählt bewegend und mit immenser Kraft […] von dem Strom, der unsere Zeit ist.“