Jewish Life in Berlin “Israelis go to Berlin, not to Germany”

Professor Anat Feinberg does research on Hebrew and Jewish literature.
Professor Anat Feinberg does research on Hebrew and Jewish literature. | Photo (detail): © private

Anat Feinberg, Professor of Hebrew and Jewish literature at the College of Jewish Studies in Heidelberg, speaks about the interest among young Israeli authors in Germany.

These days, a lot of young Israelis are coming to Germany; several thousand are currently living in Berlin – including quite a number of creatives. Where does this interest in Germany stem from?

In addition to a need among many young Israelis to live outside their country for a while, especially after their long military service, an important aspect is their curiosity to discover something different. Then there is also Berlin’s reputation as an exciting, inspiring city. For years, Israelis were very enthusiastic about India and the Far East. They have had Berlin in their sights for about ten years now.

What role does German history play here?

The German language and German culture were taboo for a long time in Israel. To this very day, university courses in German Studies are not offered in Israel. The people who study the German language, many of whom are young people, attend courses at the Goethe Institute, which is overrun with inquiries about courses. I’m not sure if that is just a reaction to the decades-old taboo.

Berlin as an exterritorial space

Why Berlin and not some other German city?

For a while, Berlin was cheap for Israelis, especially as regards accommodation and living costs. Berlin is also attractive as a cosmopolitan, multicultural city. And just as Tel Aviv cannot be equated with Israel, so too Berlin is quasi an exterritorial space for many Israelis. They would not necessarily say that they were going to Germany, but rather that they were going to Berlin. Which is paradoxical of course, because no other city in Germany is as historically “fraught” as Berlin.

Do the young Israelis engage with that history?

That is unavoidable – and rightly so. Moreover this often leads to important works of art. In her documentary film Schnee von gestern (Yesterday’s news), which reached German cinemas in spring of this year, Yael Reuveny tells the story of her family, about which she scarcely knew anything herself. Of course some members of her family were not at all in favour of her undertaking that search for traces. Older Israelis in particular react that way; they are not really able to understand why their children and grandchildren want to go to Germany. Fania Oz-Salzberger published a non-fiction book about Israelis in Berlin in 2001. And Yoram Kaniuk wrote about his encounters in Berlin and Germany in The Last Berliner. If you look at the list of book published over the last two or three years, you see that Germany is a “hot” topic in contemporary Hebrew literature. For example, in Nir Baram’s novel Good People, which focuses on an apparently quite “ordinary” German during the Nazi era. In Scorpion Dance Shifra Horn writes about an Israeli who follows his German girlfriend to Berlin.

How would you describe the Israelis’ emotional relationship to Berlin?

It is a kind of love-hate relationship. They are ambiguous. They are beginning to engage intensively with the past, but the Holocaust no longer plays the pivotal role it used to. Many of them really like Berlin’s open-mindedness, also towards marginal groups like gays and lesbians. Others, especially artists, appreciate the possibilities and the stimuli Berlin obviously provides them with. A Hebrew magazine called Spitz is published in Berlin meantime. Many are clearly planning to stay.

Literature as a contribution to reconciliation?

Has German literature had a stylistic influence?

American literature still has the greatest influence on Israeli authors. It was the 1970s before people began to translate German prose into Hebrew – mainly Günter Grass, Heinrich Böll and Siegfried Lenz. And things really got moving in that respect in the 1990s.

Can literature make a contribution to reconciliation?

It is an interesting arena at any rate, as it enables the curious reader to get to know something about another country, another mentality. But in the field of literature, another criterion plays a fundamental role, namely, the question of whether a book is good or bad.

Jüdisches Leben in Berlin „Israelis gehen nach Berlin, nicht nach Deutschland“

Professor Anat Feinberg forscht über hebräische und jüdische Literatur.
Professor Anat Feinberg forscht über hebräische und jüdische Literatur. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © privat

Anat Feinberg, Professorin für Hebräische und Jüdische Literatur an der Hochschule für Jüdische Studien in Heidelberg, spricht über das Interesse junger israelischer Autorinnen und Autoren an Deutschland.

Frau Feinberg, viele junge Israelis kommen heute nach Deutschland, mehrere tausend leben derzeit allein in Berlin – unter ihnen sind sehr viele Kreative. Woher rührt dieses Interesse an Deutschland?

Neben dem Bedürfnis vieler junger Israelis, eine Zeit außerhalb Israels zu leben, besonders nach dem langen Dienst in der Armee, spielt auch die Neugierde, etwas anderes zu entdecken, eine wichtige Rolle. Dazu kommt noch der Ruf Berlins als eine spannende, inspirierende Stadt. Begeisterten sich junge Israelis jahrelang für Indien oder für den fernen Osten, so ist deren Ziel seit etwa zehn Jahren Berlin.

Welche Rolle spielt dabei die deutsche Geschichte?

In Israel wurden die deutsche Sprache und die deutsche Kultur lange Zeit tabuisiert. Bis heute gibt es in Israel keine Germanistik. Die Menschen, viele von ihnen junge Leute, die Deutsch als Fremdsprache lernen möchten, besuchen die Sprachkurse am Goethe-Institut, das sich vor Anfragen kaum retten kann. Ob das nun als Reaktion auf die jahrzehntelange Tabuisierung verstanden werden kann, weiß ich nicht.  

Berlin als exterritorialer Raum

Warum muss es Berlin sein und keine andere deutsche Stadt?

Berlin war eine Zeit lang für Israelis billig, besonders hinsichtlich der Mietkosten sowie des Lebensunterhalts. Dazu reizt Berlin als eine kosmopolitische und multikulturelle Stadt. Ähnlich wie Tel Aviv nicht mit dem Land Israel gleichgesetzt werden kann, so ist Berlin für viele Israelis quasi ein exterritorialer Raum. Sie würden nicht unbedingt sagen, dass sie nach Deutschland gehen, sondern: Sie gehen nach Berlin. Das ist natürlich paradox, weil keine deutsche Stadt historisch so „belastet“ ist wie Berlin.

Setzen sich die jungen Israelis mit der Geschichte auseinander?

Die Auseinandersetzung ist unvermeidlich – und das ist gut so. Auf diese Weise entstehen auch wichtige Kunstwerke. In ihrem Dokumentarfilm Schnee von gestern, der im Frühjahr 2014 in die deutschen Kinos gekommen ist, deckt Yael Reuveny ihre Familiengeschichte auf, von der sie selbst kaum etwas wusste. Dabei waren einige Mitglieder ihrer Familie keineswegs von dieser Spurensuche begeistert. Das ist eine Reaktion, die vor allem bei älteren Israelis anzutreffen ist; sie können kaum begreifen, dass ihre Kinder und Enkelkinder nach Deutschland fahren wollen. Fania Oz-Salzberger hat bereits 2001 ein Sachbuch über Israelis in Berlin veröffentlicht. Und Yoram Kaniuk erzählt in Der letzte Berliner von seinen Begegnungen in Berlin und in Deutschland. Schaut man sich die Liste der Bücher aus den letzten zwei, drei Jahren an, so zeigt sich, dass Deutschland ein „heißes“ Thema der zeitgenössischen hebräischen Literatur ist. Zu erwähnen wäre beispielsweise der Roman Gute Leute von Nir Baram, in dessen Mittelpunkt ein scheinbar ganz „gewöhnlicher“ Deutscher während der Nazi-Zeit steht. Shifra Horn erzählt in Tanz der Skorpione über einen Israeli, der seiner deutschen Geliebten nach Berlin folgt.

Wie ist denn das emotionale Verhältnis der Israelis zu Berlin?

Es ist eine Art Hassliebe. Sie sind hin- und hergerissen. Sie fangen an, sich mit der Vergangenheit intensiv zu beschäftigen, aber der Holocaust spielt da nicht mehr die einzige Rolle. Viele schätzen die Offenheit Berlins, auch gegenüber Randgruppen wie Schwulen oder Lesben. Andere, besonders Künstler, schätzen die Möglichkeiten und die Anregungen, die Berlin ihnen offensichtlich bietet. Übrigens erscheint in Berlin inzwischen sogar eine Zeitschrift auf Hebräisch, Spitz genannt. Viele richten sich zum Bleiben ein.

Literatur als Beitrag zur Versöhnung?

Gibt es einen stilistischen Einfluss der deutschen Literatur?

Den größten Einfluss auf die israelischen Schriftsteller hat noch immer die US-amerikanische Literatur. Erst in den Siebzigerjahren begann man, deutsche Prosa ins Hebräische zu übersetzen – hauptsächlich Günter Grass, Heinrich Böll und Siegfried Lenz. In den Neunzigerjahren kam erst richtig Schwung in die Sache.

Kann die Literatur zur Versöhnung beitragen?

Sie ist zumindest ein interessanter Schauplatz. Und sie lässt den neugierigen Leser etwas über ein anderes Land und eine andere Mentalität erfahren. Doch im Grunde spielt in der Literatur ein anderes Kriterium eine Rolle, nämlich die Frage, ob das Buch gut oder schlecht ist.