Readings Mediating literature in event form

The author’s voice: Christoph Ransmayr reads.
The author’s voice: Christoph Ransmayr reads. | © Literaturhaus München/Juliana Krohn

The reading is a typically German way of mediating literature. Its popularity remains undiminished – and it demands of authors a great deal more than narrative and stylistic skills.

“And you’ve all come voluntarily and actually paid for the privilege?” Jonathan Safran Foer was impressed as he sat down in front of an audience of more than 300 people at Munich’s Literaturhaus (House of Literature) to read from his debut novel Everything Is Illuminated. In fact, the reading is a very German way of mediating literature that is rarely encountered elsewhere.

Institutional diversity

A look at the different venues and institutions is enough to show how varied Germany’s readings landscape is today. When their new book is published, authors go on tour. They make appearances in bookshops, libraries and theatres. They are guests at the major book fairs in Frankfurt and Leipzig and then move on to the houses of literature – another intrinsically German institution – that have existed since 1986 in many German cities. The events organised by these professional institutions at municipal level are taken up elsewhere by literary clubs and societies. And then there are around 50 literature festivals – from the small, select Literature Days in Freiburg to major festivals featuring over 100 international authors, such as the International Literature Festival Berlin. All this has changed and broadened the format of the reading. The trend is clearly towards staged events. Authors are accompanied by musicians and are discovering new venues: the crime thriller reading in the pathology lab or the night-time fairy tale reading in the forest.

Authors reading on stage

Back from these trips, the author might then, on a Sunday, mount a “reading stage” – a private initiative for mediating literature. At these, a fixed group of authors give regular readings, preferably in cafés, bars or clubs. Often without receiving a fee, they read from unpublished manuscripts or from texts specifically written for the event. The reading stage is a charming extension of the American tradition of the spoken word, which has produced both the open mike and the poetry slam. These are literature mediation events created by young writers and their audiences, whereas institutionalised readings mostly draw an older, middle-class audience. The reading stage highlights with particular clarity a recent trend: authors take the stage and entertain the audience with their texts. The intimacy of writing ends with a book’s publication. That increases the demands on the professional writer, with something quite different from narrative and stylistic skills being called for.

The reading as a marketing strategy

It might be objected that even Johann Wolfgang von Goethe appeared on the theatre stage and that Austrian writer and journalist Karl Kraus drew capacity audiences back in the 1920s. The reading as such is definitely not a new way to mediate literature. Its functions have only changed in conjunction with modern publishing work and the commercial institutionalisation of literature. And that in turn has repercussions for the publishers, which – given the undiminished popularity of readings – have special departments that organise them for their authors. Carl Hanser Verlag, a medium-sized publisher with a stable of Nobel Prize winners like Orhan Pamuk, Herta Müller and Tomas Tranströmer, organises an average of 500 events a year. A publishing group like Random House has 15 staff members responsible for organising some 3,000 readings annually.

That level of investment is bound to yield returns. For publishers, readings have become an instrument that complements PR and marketing. And they offer a service to authors: public appearances and readings have become an additional source of income, sometimes exceeding earnings from book sales.

Audible literature

But marketing strategies alone can’t explain why people “come voluntarily and actually pay for the privilege”. A public reading evidently enhances the private reading experience. It offers, for example, the opportunity to interact with other readers. Those who come to a reading learn from the author something about the writing process and a book’s genesis. But essentially, it is the voice of the author. When an audience hears literature read aloud, they realise that it has, like music, rhythm, melody and varying keys, the authenticity of which only the author can vouch for.

Lesungen Literaturvermittlung als Event

Die Stimme des Autors: Christoph Ransmayr liest.
Die Stimme des Autors: Christoph Ransmayr liest. | © Literaturhaus München/Juliana Krohn

Eine typisch deutsche Form der Literaturvermittlung ist die Lesung. Sie erfreut sich ungebrochener Beliebtheit – und verlangt den Autoren weit mehr ab als Erzählvermögen und Stil.

„Und Sie sind alle freiwillig gekommen und haben auch noch dafür bezahlt?“ Jonathan Safran Foer ist beeindruckt, als er bei einer Lesung seines Debütromans Alles ist erleuchtet im Literaturhaus München mehr als 300 Besuchern gegenübersitzt. Tatsächlich ist die Lesung eine sehr deutsche Form der Literarturvermittlung, die es im Ausland in dieser Form selten gibt.

Vielfalt an Institutionen

Schon ein Blick auf die unterschiedlichen Orte und Institutionen zeigt, wie vielfältig die deutsche Lesungslandschaft heute ist. Wenn ein Buch erscheint, gehen Autoren auf Lesereise. Sie treten in Buchhandlungen auf, in Bibliotheken und in Theatern. Sie sind Gast auf den großen Buchmessen in Frankfurt oder Leipzig und reisen weiter in die Literaturhäuser – ebenfalls eine typisch deutsche Institution – , die es seit 1986 in vielen deutschen Städten gibt. Dazu kommen circa 50 Literaturfestivals, von den kleinen feinen Literaturtagen in Freiburg bis hin zu Festivals mit über 100 internationalen Autoren, wie das Internationale Literaturfestival Berlin. Das Veranstaltungsformat der Lesung hat sich durch diese Breite an Institutionen verändert und erweitert. Der Trend geht eindeutig zur Inszenierung. Autoren werden von Musikern begleitet und entdecken neue Orte: die Krimilesung in der Pathologie, die Märchenlesung nachts im Wald.

Autoren auf der Lesebühne

Zurück von diesen Reisen, betritt der Autor an einem Sonntag dann vielleicht eine Lesebühne. Dies sind private Initiativen zur Literaturvermittlung. Ein fester Kreis von Autoren liest hier regelmäßig, gerne in Gaststätten oder Clubs. Oft ohne Honorar, tragen die Autoren aus nicht veröffentlichten oder eigens für den Auftritt verfassten Texten vor. Die Lesebühne ist eine charmante Weiterentwicklung einer US-amerikanischen Tradition. Aus dieser ist der Open Mike ebenso hervorgegangen wie der Poetry Slam. Dies sind Events der Literaturvermittlung, die von jugendlichen Autoren und Zuhörern geschaffen wurden, während in der institutionalisierten Lesung ein vorwiegend älteres, bürgerliches Publikum zu finden ist. Auf der Lesebühne zeigt sich ein Trend der letzten Jahre besonders prägnant: Autorinnen und Autoren stehen auf der Bühne und unterhalten das Publikum mit ihren Texten. Die Intimität des Schreibens geht in die direkte Konfrontation mit dem Publikum auf der Bühne über. Das erweitert die Anforderungen an den Beruf des Schriftstellers.

Die Lesung als Marketing

Man mag einwenden, dass doch auch Johann Wolfgang von Goethe bereits im Theater auftrat und schon der österreichische Publizist Karl Kraus in den 1920er-Jahren ganze Säle füllte. Die Lesung als solche ist gewiss kein neues Instrument der Literaturvermittlung. Erst in der Kopplung mit moderner Verlagsarbeit und der kommerziellen Institutionalisierung von Literatur haben sich ihre Funktionen verändert. Dies hat wiederum Auswirkungen auf die Verlage, die aufgrund der großen Beliebtheit von Lesungen eigene Abteilungen unterhalten, die für ihre Autoren Leseauftritte organisieren. Der Carl Hanser Verlag, ein mittelgroßer Verlag mit Nobelpreisträgern wie Orhan Pamuk, Herta Müller und Tomas Tranströmer, vermittelt pro Jahr im Schnitt 500 Veranstaltungen. In einem Konzernverlag wie Random House sind 15 Mitarbeiter für circa 3.000 Lesungen jährlich verantwortlich.

Wo so viel investiert wird, muss Gewinn gemacht werden. Die Lesung ist für Verlage ein Instrument geworden, das Pressearbeit und Marketing ergänzt. Und sie ist ein Service für die Autoren. Denn Auftritte und Lesungen haben sich zu einer Verdienstmöglichkeit entwickelt, die die Einnahmen aus Buchverkäufen bisweilen übersteigt.

Hörbare Literatur

Doch mit Marketingstrategien allein lässt sich nicht erklären, dass die Menschen „freiwillig kommen und auch noch dafür bezahlen“. Offensichtlich bereichert eine Lesung das persönliche Literaturerlebnis. Sie ermöglicht den Austausch mit anderen Lesern. Vom Autor erfährt der Zuhörer etwas über den Prozess des Schreibens und die Entstehung des Buches. Vor allem aber ist die Lesung eine Begegnung mit der Stimme des Autors. Durch das laute Lesen erfahren die Zuhörer, dass die Literatur wie die Musik Rhythmus, Melodie und Tonarten hat, die auf unvergleichliche Art nur der Autor verbürgt.