Katharina Hagena Moments of Sleeplessness

Remembering and forgetting as leitmotifs: the writer Katharina Hagena.
Remembering and forgetting as leitmotifs: the writer Katharina Hagena. | Photo (detail): © Henrik Spohler

Katharina Hagena wrote her way onto the international bestseller lists with “The Taste of Apple Seeds”. Her second novel, “On Sleeping and Disappearing”, proves again that she is an exceptionally gifted narrator.

It’s when you don’t overdo things that you sometimes achieve the greatest success. Katharina Hagena, born in Karlsruhe in 1967, was actually on her way to becoming a professor when she had a sensational literary success with The Taste of Apple Seeds in 2008. Her novel about the fate of three generations of one family was celebrated by readers and critics alike; by 2013, that family story had not only sold 1.5 million copies and been translated into 25 languages, it had also been made into a film. Yet poetry did not just enter into Hagena’s everyday working life with her first novel: in 1995 the author wrote a doctorate on James Joyce’s novel Ulysses, then a German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) lectureship took the literary scientist to Trinity College Dublin for two years. Teaching contracts at the universities of Hamburg and Lüneburg followed. Today she is a free-lance writer living in Hamburg. In addition to her two novels, she has also published textbooks and books for children.

A narrow ledge

In Hagena’s novels, remembering or forgetting exert a gradual destructive influence – involving a delicate balancing act. In The Taste of Apple Seeds the first-person narrator, Iris, returns to the place of her childhood after the death of her grandmother Bertha. She used to spend her summer holidays in Bertha’s old house with her cousin Rosmarie, until Rosmarie’s tragic death. One after the other, Iris opens the chapters of the family chronicle which contains stories about Bertha, whose personality declined into dementia, about the attractive Aunt Inga, whose hands emitted sparks when touched, and about Aunt Harriet’s momentous sexual liberation. Only when Iris, dressed in her aunts’ clothes, faces up to her own past, does Bertha’s house offer sufficient space for the future: together with Max, the brother of Rosmarie’s childhood friend, Iris starts a family of her own there. Despite the cases of death it describes, the novel is as colourful and life-affirming as Bertha’s garden, where the plants are closely associated with the fate of the family members: When Bertha’s sister dies, the black currents change colour overnight, and the ripe russet apples also herald a sea change.

Hagena’s second novel is different. Although she uses similar leitmotifs – here too, the thematic framework consists of moments of remembering and forgetting – the author strikes a rather dismal note in On Sleeping and Disappearing. Lightness gives way to the heaviness of sleep, a heaviness that Ellen, the somnologist, is lacking: during a restless night, the first-person narrator reviews her life, pondering her present situation in Hamburg and her past in Grund, a village on the Upper Rhine. Again and again, mysterious chasms yawn, especially after the disappearance of Lutz, the father of Ellen’s daughter Orla. Two other narrators shed some light on things: Lutz’s mother Marthe, and Ellen’s girlhood friend Andreas. The two of them are singers in the choir led by Ellen’s father Joachim, who with the help of Come, heavy sleep composed by John Dowland attempts to bring his demented wife Heidrun back out of a coma. In this novel too, nature serves as a projection screen for emotions: “In the movements of the grey herons’ necks I sometimes see the letters of his name. LUTZ”, writes Marthe in the diary she keeps about the choir.

A sea of signs

Hagena weaves autobiographical fragments into the highly detailed scenarios of Hamburg and the Upper Rhine region. And the voyage through the sea of signs, which the first-person narrator Ellen undertakes with the reader in the course of her sleepless night, recalls the theme of Hagena’s scholarly work: in Ulysses, James Joyce describes a day in the life of Leopold Bloom as he wanders around the city of Dublin. This in no way takes from the fictional quality of Hagena’s story, given that she also uses her novels to reflect on the relationship between poetry and truth. In The Taste of Apple Seeds Iris asks, “How true were the stories told to me, and how true were those I made up myself out of memories, assumptions, fantasies and things secretly overheard?” And in On Sleeping and Disappearing Ellen realises, “I have missed out, messed up on something, but what?”

Hagena is very skilled at this narrative approach with which she defines the skilfully structured family chronicles: she weaves present and past into a transparent fabric that provides deep insight into the inner life of her figures. The author handles her characters masterfully, embroiling them in secrets, causing them a sleepless night and a painful awakening. The texts abound in intelligent metaphor and linguistic brilliance. Because of the different time levels and narrators, the opening pages of her second novel require a certain amount of effort, but the investment is worth it. Compelling reading!

Katharina Hagena Schlaflose Momente

Erinnern und Vergessen als Leitmotiv: die Autorin Katharina Hagena.
Erinnern und Vergessen als Leitmotiv: die Autorin Katharina Hagena. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Henrik Spohler

Katharina Hagena schrieb sich mit „Der Geschmack von Apfelkernen“ in die internationalen Bestsellerlisten und zeigt sich auch in ihrem zweiten Roman „Vom Schlafen und Verschwinden“ als begnadete Erzählerin.

Gerade wenn man nicht so weit ausholt, glückt manchmal der ganz große Wurf. Katharina Hagena, 1967 in Karlsruhe geboren, ist eigentlich auf dem Weg zur Professur, als ihr im Jahr 2008 mit Der Geschmack von Apfelkernen ein sensationeller Erfolg gelingt. Publikum und Presse feiern ihren Roman, der um das Schicksal dreier Generationen kreist; 2013 schafft es die bislang 1,5 Millionen Mal verkaufte und in 25 Sprachen übersetzte Familiengeschichte ins Kino. Poesie erhält jedoch nicht erst mit ihrem Romandebüt Einzug in Hagenas Arbeitsalltag: Die Autorin promoviert 1995 über Ulysses von James Joyce, anschließend führt ein Lektorat des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdiensts (DAAD) die Literaturwissenschaftlerin zwei Jahre an das Trinity College in Dublin. Lehraufträge an den Universitäten Hamburg und Lüneburg folgen. Heute lebt sie als freie Schriftstellerin in Hamburg. Neben zwei Romanen gehören auch Sach- und Kinderbücher zu ihrem Werk.

Schmaler Grat

In Hagenas Romanen entfaltet mal die Erinnerung, mal das Vergessen eine zerstörerische Wirkung – ein Balanceakt, der immer wieder neu austariert werden muss. In Der Geschmack von Apfelkernen kehrt Ich-Erzählerin Iris nach dem Tod ihrer Großmutter Bertha an den Ort ihrer Kindheit zurück. Dort, in Berthas altem Haus, verbrachte sie mit ihrer Cousine Rosmarie die Sommerferien – bis zu Rosmaries tragischem Tod. Nach und nach schlägt Iris die Kapitel der Familienchronik auf. Darin findet sie die Geschichten von Bertha, deren Persönlichkeit sich in der Demenz verliert, von der attraktiven Tante Inga, aus deren Händen beim Berühren Funken sprühen, und von Tante Harriets folgenschwerer sexueller Befreiung. Doch erst als Iris sich in den Kleidern ihrer Tanten der eigenen Vergangenheit stellt, bietet Berthas Haus genügend Raum für die Zukunft: Gemeinsam mit Max, dem Bruder von Rosmaries Jugendfreundin, gründet Iris dort ihre eigene Familie. Trotz der Todesfälle ist der Roman so bunt und lebensbejahend wie Berthas Garten, dessen Pflanzen eng mit dem Schicksal der Familie verwurzelt sind. Mit dem Tod von Berthas Schwester wechseln die Johannisbeeren über Nacht ihre Farbe und auch die reifen Boskopäpfel künden eine Zeitenwende an.

Anders in Hagenas zweitem Roman. Bei ähnlicher Leitmotivik – auch hier bilden Momente des Erinnerns und Vergessens das thematische Gerüst – schlägt die Autorin in Vom Schlafen und Verschwinden eher düstere Töne an. Die Leichtigkeit weicht der Schwere des Schlafs, die der Schlafforscherin Ellen fehlt: In einer ruhelosen Nacht lässt die Ich-Erzählerin ihr Leben Revue passieren, sinniert über ihr gegenwärtiges Leben in Hamburg und ihre Vergangenheit in Grund, einem Dorf am Oberrhein. Immer wieder tun sich mysteriöse Untiefen auf, vor allem durch das Verschwinden von Lutz, dem Vater ihrer Tochter Orla. Licht ins Dunkel bringen zwei weitere Erzähler: Marthe, Mutter von Lutz, und Ellens Jugendfreund Andreas. Beide singen im Chor von Ellens Vater Joachim, der mit Come, heavy sleep des Komponisten John Dowland seine demente Frau Heidrun aus dem Koma zu holen versucht. Dabei dient auch in diesem Roman die Natur als emotionale Projektionsfläche: „In den Bewegungen der Hälse der Graureiher sehe ich manchmal den Schriftzug seines Namens. LUTZ“, schreibt Marthe in ihr Chortagebuch.

Meer von Zeichen

In den detailreichen Schauplätzen – Hamburg und der oberrheinischen Provinz – verarbeitet Hagena autobiografische Fragmente. Und die Reise durch ein Meer von Zeichen, die Ich-Erzählerin Ellen mit dem Leser in ihrer schlaflosen Nacht unternimmt, erinnert an den Gegenstand von Hagenas wissenschaftlicher Laufbahn: In Ulysses beschreibt James Joyce einen Tag im Leben des Leopold Bloom und seine Irrfahrten durch Dublin. Der fiktionalen Qualität der Geschichte tut das keinen Abbruch, reflektieren Hagenas Romane doch ihrerseits das Verhältnis von Dichtung und Wahrheit: „Wie wahr waren Geschichten, die einem erzählt wurden, und wie wahr die, die ich mir selbst aus Erinnerungen, Vermutungen, Phantasien und heimlich Erlauschtem zusammenreimte?“, fragt Iris in Der Geschmack von Apfelkernen. Und Ellen stellt in Vom Schlafen und Verschwinden fest: „Irgendetwas habe ich verpasst, verpeilt, verpennt, aber was?“

Hagena glänzt mit dieser Erzählhaltung, die den klug angelegten Familienchroniken Kontur verleiht: Gegenwart und Vergangenheit spinnt sie zu einem transparenten Gewebe, das einen tiefen Blick in das Seelenleben der Figuren gewährt. Die Autorin arbeitet virtuos mit den Charakteren, verstrickt sie in Geheimnisse, beschert ihnen schlaflose Momente und ein schmerzhaftes Erwachen. Die Texte sind voll kluger Metaphorik und sprachlicher Brillanz. Die ersten Seiten ihres zweiten Romans kosten durch die verschiedenen Zeitebenen und Erzähler etwas Mühe, die es sich aber zu investieren lohnt. Eine spannende Lektüre.