Hanns-Josef Ortheil Life as Narrative

Hanns-Josef Ortheil
Hanns-Josef Ortheil | Photo (detail): Peter von Felbert

His novels are frequently biographical and elicit great enthusiasm from readers and sometimes astonishment from critics. Be that as it may, Hanns-Josef Ortheil is a great boon to contemporary German literature.

Although he often writes about his own life, not everything revolves just around him: Hanns-Josef Ortheil, born in Cologne in 1951, is undoubtedly one of the most productive and thoughtful authors that contemporary German-language literature currently has to offer. Since his debut novel Fermer in 1979, he has put himself to the test in various narrative forms: He has written historical novels (Faustinas Küsse/Faustina’s Kisses), which reflect his wide-ranging literary and artistic acumen, has tried his hand at contemporary panoramas (Schwerenöter/The Philanderer), but above all he has insisted over the years on repeatedly dealing in autobiographical novels with primal experiences and the early stages of his artistic career.

In this connection his 2009 novel Die Erfindung des Lebens/The Invention of Life is a key text. Its protagonist, Johannes Catt, son of an engineer surveyor and a librarian, immerses himself in the 1950s, when he was growing up in Cologne. Although the Catts, like many other people then, participated in the economic boom of that era, they lived their life as outsiders. His mother, having lost four sons either in the war or just after their birth, lapsed into a prolonged silence – and with her, her son Johannes, who upon reaching the age of three never spoke another word. The family’s everyday life adhered to its own rituals: father and mother communicated by written notes, while mother and son formed a secret bond forged by the mother’s anxiety about possibly losing her fifth child.

The dream of a career as a pianiste

Isolated from those around them, the two spent long hours on the banks of the Rhine, where Johannes cultivated his powers of observation. Step by step the reader senses how the “colossal narrative marked by horror and fear” relating to his dead siblings finds a liberating outlet. Guided by his mother, Johannes proceeds towards becoming a “star in the pianists’ firmament”. He receives tuition from a famous music teacher, and finally even recovers his speech.

People familiar with the details of Hanns-Josef Ortheil’s biography know that, like his hero Johannes, he too was unable to pursue a career as a musician – forced by tendinitis to abandon his musical studies. The final chapter in the novel describes him in a critical state. He begins to rewrite early notes he had made and outlines a concept for a first novel. He is invited to take part in the Ingeborg Bachmann Competition in Klagenfurt, and suddenly the tide turns. The thwarted pianist who did not know what he should study instead, finds a new calling.

Die Erfindung des Lebens is not an autobiography in the strictest sense, of course, but the key data of Ortheil’s own career can be found in this novel. Ortheil is the classic case of a poeta doctus, a scholarly poet versed in various genres. He has a doctorate in Literary Studies and was an assistant at the University of Mainz for many years, during which time he also wrote reviews and essays. Today Ortheil is Director of the Institute of Creative Writing and Cultural Journalism at the University of Hildesheim, which, alongside the German Literature Institute in Leipzig, is considered to be the cradle of young contemporary German literature.

Affiliated to no particular literary school

Despite his links with the literature scene, Ortheil, who holds the Thomas Mann Prize, among others, has never allowed himself to be monopolised by that scene. He continues undeterred to write works that cannot be ascribed to any particular school. And he continues to astonish the critics, above all, with a trilogy of love stories (Die große Liebe/Great Love, 2003; Verlangen nach Liebe/Desire for Love, 2007; Liebesnähe/Loving Proximity, 2011). That trilogy culminates in an Upper-Bavarian castle, where, inexorably and without hindrance, the lovers find a path to one another – for a contemporary literature characterised more by failure and decline, this is a harmony-seeking, aesthetically pervaded provocation.

A particular feature of Ortheil’s oeuvre is the publication of notes he made while he was still very young. He started doing this as a seven year old in an effort to counterbalance the biographical calamity of silence, capturing his “flickering thoughts and emotions” day by day in notebooks. In 2010 he published a first sample of those early ‘works’, the summary of a trip along the Moselle with his father in 1963, garnered from his notes and composed into a cohesive narrative called Moselreise/Moselle Trip. One year later, father and son took another trip, this time to Berlin. Again, the then 14-year-old sorted his impressions in the Berlinreise/Berlin Trip (published in book form in 2014), which he presented to his father as a Christmas gift. This testimony of a highly gifted and observant child wonderfully captures the divided Berlin of the 1960s, while at the same time describing a unique and intense father-son relationship. It reveals the beginnings of a writer who has a lot to say, is conscious of how much his literary tools are indebted to tradition, and pays no heed to what happens to be ‘in’. For this reason alone, it is worth reading Ortheil’s books.

Hanns-Josef Ortheil Vom Leben erzählen

Hanns-Josef Ortheil
Hanns-Josef Ortheil | Foto (Ausschnitt): Peter von Felbert

Seine häufig autobiografischen Romane stoßen beim Publikum auf Begeisterung, bei den Kritikern mitunter auf Erstaunen. Für die deutsche Gegenwartsliteratur jedenfalls ist Hanns-Josef Ortheil eine Bereicherung.

Er schreibt häufig über sein eigenes Leben, ohne sich um sich selbst zu drehen. Der 1951 in Köln geborene Hanns-Josef Ortheil gehört fraglos zu den produktivsten und reflektiertesten Autoren, die die deutschsprachige Gegenwartsliteratur zu bieten hat. Seit er 1979 mit Fermer debütierte, hat er sich in unterschiedlichen Erzählspielarten erprobt. So schrieb er historische Romane wie Faustinas Küsse, die seine breite literarische und künstlerische Bildung spiegeln, versuchte sich an Gegenwartspanoramen wie Schwerenöter und ließ es sich vor allem in den vergangenen Jahren nicht nehmen, in autobiografischen Romanen die Anfänge und Erfahrungen seiner künstlerischen Laufbahn wieder und wieder literarisch zu verarbeiten.

Schlüsseltext dieser Anstrengungen ist der Roman Die Erfindung des Lebens von 2009, dessen Protagonist Johannes Catt in den 1950er-Jahren als Sohn eines Vermessungsingenieurs und einer Bibliothekarin in Köln aufwächst. Obwohl die Catts auf typische Weise an der Wirtschaftswunderzeit teilhaben, führen sie ein Außenseiterdasein. Nach dem Verlust von vier Söhnen, im Krieg und im Wochenbett, ist die Mutter verstummt – und mit ihr Johannes, der seit seinem dritten Lebensjahr kein Wort mehr spricht. So folgt der Alltag der Familie eigenen Ritualen: Vater und Mutter verständigen sich über Notizzettel, während Mutter und Sohn einen Geheimbund bilden, der von der Angst der Mutter geprägt ist, auch ihr fünftes Kind zu verlieren.

Der Traum von der Pianisten-Karriere

Johannes und seine Mutter sondern sich ab, verbringen Stunden am Rheinufer, wo der Junge seine Beobachtungsgabe schult. Angeleitet von der Mutter schickt sich Johannes an, ein „Stern am Pianistenhimmel“ zu werden. Er erhält Unterricht von einem renommierten Musikpädagogen und gewinnt endlich seine Sprache wieder.

Kenner von Hanns-Josef Ortheils Biografie wissen es: Die Musikerkarriere konnte Ortheil, wie sein Held Johannes, nicht weiterverfolgen. Eine Sehnenscheidenentzündung zwang ihn dazu, seine Studien abzubrechen. Das Schlusskapitel des Romans zeigt Johannes in desaströsem Zustand. Er beginnt frühere Aufzeichnungen umzuschreiben und einen ersten Roman zu konzipieren. Man lädt ihn zum Ingeborg-Bachmann-Wettbewerb nach Klagenfurt ein, und mit einem Mal wendet sich das Blatt. Der unvollendete Pianist, der nicht weiß, was er studieren soll, findet eine neue Berufung.

Natürlich ist Die Erfindung des Lebens keine Autobiografie im eigentlichen Sinne, doch die Eckdaten von Ortheils Werdegang lassen sich an diesem Roman gut ablesen. Ortheil ist der klassische Fall eines poeta doctus, eines gelehrten Dichters, der in vielen Kunstrichtungen versiert ist. Als promovierter Literaturwissenschaftler war er jahrelang Assistent an der Universität Mainz, schrieb Kritiken und Essays. Heute ist Ortheil Direktor des Instituts für Literarisches Schreiben und Literaturwissenschaft der Universität Hildesheim, die neben dem Deutschen Literaturinstitut Leipzig als Hort der jungen deutschen Gegenwartsliteratur gilt.

Keiner literarischen Strömung zuzurechnen

Trotz dieser Anbindung an den Literaturbetrieb hat sich der unter anderem mit dem Thomas-Mann-Preis ausgezeichnete Ortheil nie von diesem vereinnahmen lassen. Unbeirrt schrieb er an seinem keiner Strömung zuzurechnenden Werk fort und verblüffte die Kritiker vor allem mit einer Trilogie von Liebesromanen (Die große Liebe, 2003; Verlangen nach Liebe, 2007; Liebesnähe, 2011). Diese erreicht ihren Höhepunkt in einem oberbayerischen Schloss, wo zwei Liebende unaufhaltsam und ohne Irritation den Weg zueinander finden – eine harmoniesüchtige, ästhetisch durchdrungene Provokation für die von Scheitern und Zerfall geprägte Gegenwartsliteratur.

Eine Besonderheit in Ortheils Werk stellt die Publikation von Aufzeichnungen dar, die er bereits als Jugendlicher verfasste. Als Siebenjähriger hatte er, um dem biografischen Desaster des Verstummens entgegenzuwirken, damit begonnen, Tag für Tag sein „flackerndes Denken und Fühlen“ in Notizbüchern festzuhalten. Im Jahr 2010 publizierte Ortheil eine erste Probe dieser frühen Arbeiten, das Resümee einer Fahrt an die Mosel, die er 1963 mit seinem Vater unternahm und die er aus den Notizen zu einer geschlossenen Erzählung, der Moselreise, formte. Ein Jahr nach dieser waren Vater und Sohn wieder unterwegs, diesmal in Berlin. Wieder sortiert der jetzt 14-Jährige seine Eindrücke und präsentierte seinem Vater als Weihnachtsgeschenk die Berlinreise, welche 2014 publiziert wurde. Dieses Zeugnis eines hoch begabten, genau beobachtenden Kindes fängt auf großartige Weise das geteilte Berlin der 1960er-Jahre ein und erzählt zugleich von einer einmalig intensiven Vater-Sohn-Beziehung. Es zeigt die Anfänge eines Schriftstellers, der viel zu erzählen hat, sich seiner der Tradition verpflichteten Mittel bewusst ist und sich nicht an dem orientiert, was angesagt ist. Allein deshalb lohnt es sich, seine Bücher zu lesen.