The illustrator Julia Friese Aesthetically ingenious, entertainingly duck-filled

Illustration from the children’s book “Alle seine Entlein”
Illustration from the children’s book “Alle seine Entlein” | Photo (detail): © 2007 Beltz & Gelberg in der Verlagsgruppe Beltz ∙ Weinheim Basel

Economical line drawing, muted watercolour techniques and expressive colouration – Julia Friese has mastered the entire spectrum of the illustrator’s art. With great love of detail she illustrates children’s books, some of which are successful worldwide. 

The children’s book illustrator Julia Friese The children’s book illustrator Julia Friese | Photo (detail): © Gundula Friese
The world is turned on its head in this tale of a fox who decides to make some scrambled eggs for himself using a duck egg. But just at that moment a little duckling hatches from the egg. The new arrival mistakes the fox for its mother – and the fox is immediately smitten. He adopts the duckling and thinks less and less about roast duck. In the end, the fox finds himself playing mum to a whole family of ducklings – a good example of natural enemies becoming friends.
 
“Aesthetically ingenious and entertainingly duck-filled, this off-beat story tells the tale of a fox who becomes a father despite himself. What starts off with a very hungry fox ends to the reader’s amazement with a cohort of quacking ducklings. Through her pictures, the illustrator Julia Friese creates moments of powerful tension”, explains the jury of the German Children’s Literature Award 2008, for which Alle seine Entlein (i.e. All his ducklings) was nominated.
 
Julia Friese has been illustrating books by Christian Duda since 2007 – a happy synthesis of two talented producers of German children’s literature. In Alle seine Entlein, their first joint children’s book, the illustrator uses composition and comic sequences to create a fast-paced narrative with plenty of tension. With his angular lines, the fox appears in stark contrast to the quaintly pastel shades used for the ducklings. In the opinion of the jury of the German Children’s Literature Award, Julia Friese juggles brilliantly with optical illusions and comic elements. “In so doing, she breaks with the conventions of page layout and viewpoints, while the author Christian Duda skilfully plays with the reader’s expectations. Duda’s writing seems as light and playful as the ducklings are downy. An ingenious story about fathers, sons and different generations, right in the middle of the dark forest.”
 
Julia Friese is not afraid to take risks in her work. She is part of a generation of German children’s book illustrators who experienced the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989 and German reunification in 1990 as children, who trained at a renowned academy in the former East Germany and at the same time take advantage of every opportunity for the global transfer of illustration and design.

Gifted in many areas of art

Born in Leipzig in 1979, Friese left school in Potsdam in 2000 and has worked as an illustrator and designer ever since. In 2006 she completed her formal training, which also took her to the National College of Art and Design in Dublin and to the Faculdad de Bellas Artes in Bilbao, with a diploma from the Academy of Fine Arts Leipzig. Talent, her studies, experimentation and periods working in design studios in Barcelona and Dublin gave her the skills she needed for both book art and utility design. As such Julia Friese was able to acquire traditional and IT-based techniques that she nowadays blends seamlessly and without any loss of quality in several different areas of art.
 
Spending time abroad also opened up publishing opportunities for the illustrator in the children’s book world. She brought out three picture books in France between 2001 and 2003, taking advantage of the country’s willingness to embrace experimental picture book art. This was followed by original publications for Spain and South America. Translated versions of books she later published in Germany have meanwhile appeared in several different languages. At the same time, she designed posters, notices, company logos and information and advertising material for cultural events, non-profit projects and companies. She continues to actively maintain her links to the Leipzig art scene.
 
Her 2004 picture book Das Mohrrübensuppen-Abenteuer (i.e. The Carrot Soup Adventure) was Julia Friese’s first work to be published by a German-language publishing house. Dedicated to her grandmother, the book is about how nursery school children react when an unpopular dish is served at lunch – perhaps a memory of the nursery she attended as a child. With a powerfully expressive use of black and carrot orange, she presents the children’s reveries, creativity, wishful thinking, fears, aggression and enjoyment when faced with the soup. 

Taking pleasure in fantastical but authentic worlds

The illustrator, who lives in Berlin these days, particularly likes doing the drawings for Christian Duda’s books, however. The two of them have already travelled halfway around the world with their joint projects. If one were to search for artistic similarities in Duda’s writing and Julia Fries’ illustrations, these would doubtless be found in the pleasure they both take in fantastical but authentic worlds that are beyond and yet right in the middle of the everyday world we experience: human insight provided in the guise of an animal fable (Alle meine Entlein), an escape from the oppressive coldness of family life (Schnipselgestrüpp), wild associations in the bathtub (Papierschiff ahoi!) and images of a greedy hunger for something sweet before bedtime (Bonbon). The imagination of the writing inspires the illustrator’s imagination and vice versa. Duda’s style of writing – its sensitiveness characterized by his multicultural background and experience of dialect – opens up spaces in which the illustrator can add stories in pictures alongside those in writing. In terms of style and technique, Julia Friese’s illustrative spectrum ranges from economical line drawing and muted watercolour techniques to the opulence of expressive oil pastel and computer colouration.

Illustratorin Julia Friese Ästhetisch ausgefuchst, entenreich verspielt

Illustration aus dem Kinderbuch „Alle seine Entlein“
Illustration aus dem Kinderbuch „Alle seine Entlein“ | Foto (Ausschnitt): © 2007 Beltz & Gelberg in der Verlagsgruppe Beltz ∙ Weinheim Basel

Sparsame Strichzeichnung, zurückhaltende Aquarell-Technik, expressive Farbigkeit – Julia Friese beherrscht die gesamte Palette der Illustrationskunst. Mit großer Liebe zum Detail illustriert sie Kinderbücher, von denen manche weltweit erfolgreich sind. 

Die Kinderbuchillustratorin Julia Friese Die Kinderbuchillustratorin Julia Friese | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Gundula Friese
In dieser Geschichte steht die Welt Kopf: Ein Fuchs möchte sich aus einem Entenei ein Rührei zubereiten. Doch in dem Moment schlüpft ein Enterich. Dieser verwechselt den Fuchs mit seiner Mutter – und schon ist es um den Fuchs geschehen. Er adoptiert den Enterich und denkt immer seltener an Entenbraten. Letztlich wächst eine ganze Entenschar und mit ihr eine neue Familie um den Fuchs heran. Aus natürlichen Feinden werden Freunde.
 
„Ästhetisch ausgefuchst und entchenreich verspielt wird die schräge Geschichte über einen Vater wider Willen erzählt. Was mit einem heftigen Hunger beginnt, endet verblüffend mit einer Kohorte an schnatternden Enten-Enkeln. Die Illustratorin Julia Friese schafft mit ihren Bildern Momente großer Spannung“, so die Jury des Deutschen Jugendliteraturpreises 2008, für den die Geschichte mit dem Titel Alle seine Entlein nominiert war.
 
Seit 2007 illustriert Julia Friese die Texte des Autors Christian Duda – ein Glücksfall der Synthese zweier Begabungen in der deutschen Kinderliteratur. In ihrem ersten gemeinsamen Kinderbuch Alle seine Entlein schafft die Illustratorin in Komposition und Comic-Sequenzen einen spannungsreichen Aufbau mit viel Tempo. Dem kantig konturierten Fuchs steht das malerisch pastellige Kükenvolk kontrastreich gegenüber. Julia Friese jongliere virtuos mit optischen Täuschungen und Comicelementen, so die Jury des Deutschen Jugendliteraturpreises. „Dabei bricht sie mit Konventionen der Seitenaufteilung und Sichtweisen, während der Autor Christian Duda gekonnt mit den Erwartungen der Leser spielt. So flaumig wie das Federvieh, so leicht und verspielt erscheint Dudas Text. Eine ausgetüftelte Vater-Sohn-Generationen-Geschichte mitten im dunklen Wald.“
 
Julia Friese scheut in ihren Arbeiten das Risiko nicht. Sie gehört zu der Generation deutscher Kinderbuch-Illustratorinnen und -Illustratoren, die als Kinder den Mauerfall 1989 und die Deutsche Einheit 1990 erlebten, sich in einer renommierten Akademie in der früheren DDR qualifizierten und gleichzeitig alle Optionen des globalen Illustrations- und Design-Transfers wahrnehmen.

Talent in vielen künstlerischen Bereichen

Geboren 1979 in Leipzig, legte Friese im Jahr 2000 in Potsdam ihr Abitur ab und arbeitet seither als Illustratorin und Designerin. Ihre Ausbildung, die sie auch an das National College of Art and Design in Dublin und die Faculdad de Bellas Artes in Bilbao führt, schließt sie 2006 mit dem Diplom der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig ab. Talent, Studium, Experimente und die Tätigkeit in Design-Studios von Barcelona und Dublin qualifizieren sie sowohl für Buchkunst als auch Gebrauchsdesign. Julia Friese eignet sich auf diese Weise traditionelle wie IT-geprägte Techniken an, die sie inzwischen ohne Brüche oder Qualitätsverlust in mehreren künstlerischen Bereichen ineinander mischt.
 
Ihre Auslandsaufenthalte ermöglichen der Illustratorin auch im Kinderbuchbereich internationale Publikationsmöglichkeiten. Von 2001 bis 2003 veröffentlicht sie drei Bilderbücher in Frankreich und nutzt die dortige Offenheit für experimentelle Bilderbuchkunst. Es folgen originäre Veröffentlichungen für Spanien und Südamerika. Von den später in Deutschland publizierten Büchern erscheinen inzwischen Lizenzausgaben in mehreren Sprachen. Zur gleichen Zeit entwirft sie Plakate, Ankündigungen, Firmenlogos, Informations- und Werbematerial für Kulturveranstaltungen, gemeinnützige Projekte und Unternehmen. Ihre Verbindung zur Leipziger Kunstszene bleibt aktiv erhalten.
 
Mit dem Bilderbuch Das Mohrrübensuppen-Abenteuer beginnen 2004 Julia Frieses Veröffentlichungen in deutschsprachigen Verlagen. Das Buch ist ihrer Großmutter gewidmet und erzählt von kindlichen Reaktionen auf ein wenig geschätztes Mittagessen im Kindergarten – vielleicht eine Erinnerung an den Kinderhort, den sie als Kind besuchte. Mit expressiver Wucht in Schwarz und Karottenrot sind Träumerei, Kreativität, Wunschdenken, Angst, Aggression und Genuss der Kinder vor dem Eintopf dargestellt. 

Freude an phantastischen, aber verbindlichen Welten

Besonders gerne aber illustriert die heute in Berlin lebende Zeichnerin Bücher von Christian Duda. Mit ihren gemeinsamen Büchern sind die beiden schon um die halbe Welt gereist. Sucht man in Dudas Texten und Julia Fries Illustrationen künstlerische Gemeinsamkeiten, so sind sie sicher in der Freude an phantastischen, aber verbindlichen Welten jenseits und gleichzeitig mitten unter der erfahrbaren Alltagswelt zu finden: als menschliche Einsicht im Gewand einer Tierfabel (Alle meine Entlein), als Flucht aus bedrückender familiärer Kälte (Schnipselgestrüpp), als wilde Assoziationen in Badewanne (Papierschiff ahoi!) und als Bilder der Gier nach etwas Süßem vor dem Schlafengehen (Bonbon). Die Phantasie des Textes belebt die Phantasie der Illustratorin und umgekehrt. Dudas Sprachstil – in seiner Sensibilität geprägt durch multikulturelle Herkunft und Dialekterfahrung – öffnet für die Illustratorin Räume für Bildgeschichten neben den Sprachgeschichten. In Stil und Technik reicht Julia Frieses Illustrationskunst von der sparsamen Strichzeichnung über zurückhaltende Aquarell-Technik bis hin zur Opulenz expressiver Farbigkeit in Ölkreide und Computer-Kolorierung.