Nicolas Mahler The bizarre world of Nicolas Mahler

„Der Mann ohne Eigenschaften“ from Nicolas Mahler.
„Der Mann ohne Eigenschaften“ from Nicolas Mahler. | Photo (detail): © Nicolas Mahler / Suhrkamp Verlag

Nicolas Mahler is a gifted humourist and a master of the quick sketch: his protagonists’ stories unravel ad absurdum against banal and Kafkaesque backdrops full of comedy reeking of oppression and effortless poetry.

It is one bizarre world that Nicolas Mahler presents us with in his comic cartoons. As though viewed through a concave mirror, the Austrian distorts the outer appearance of his protagonists. Tall, slim figures are as thin and high as telegraph poles and plump short figures are as broad as they are high and practically roll around on the ground. Their extremities are given this grotesque treatment, too: their noses are longer than long and their stubby feet smaller than small. Mahler relishes working with humorous exaggeration, the classic stylistic device of caricature. 
 
The author and artist is also a fan of the simple sketch and a master of reduction. Initially one almost suspects Mahler of laziness, for his figures have neither eyes nor mouths and thus the whole depiction of facial expression is side-stepped. He also tends to reproduce his images almost unchanged, thus avoiding having to grapple with intricate sequences or changing backgrounds.

The humour is in the details

Mahler, with his quiet and laconic dry humour and stubborn outsider characters, might be regarded as an Aki Kaurismäki of the comic and cartoon world. The Austrian’s pictures, like the images of the Finnish director, hold their own even without colour or words. In Serie Z Mahler portrays as affectionate dolts figures from horror stories such as Dracula, Frankenstein and werewolves utilizing only black and white and no text. Their physical quirks make them easy prey for the perils of daily life – not unlike us normal mortals. As a caricaturist, Mahler enjoys thwarting the antiquated subject. In Herrenwitz-Variationen (Variations on Bloke’s Jokes, 2008), for example, he takes up the embarrassingly bawdy jokes told by dirty old men and transforms them into new and more pleasant forms.

Classic literature and poems as comics

Mahler is at home in the world of literature as his is in the sphere of comics and cartoons, and was honoured with the 2015 Preis der Literaturhäuser award at the Frankfurt Book Fair. His work is regularly published by Suhrkamp und Insel publishers, and he has released several literary adaptations. The first of these include Alte Meister (Old Masters, 2011), an extremely clever reflection on the comic as an art form based on a novel written by fellow Austrian Thomas Bernhard. Mahler’s economical and deftly drawn lines serve as a counterpoint to notoriously cantankerous Bernhard’s stirring diatribes.
 
With Mann ohne Eigenschaften (Man without Characteristics, 2013), Mahler successfully condenses the work of another Austrian author, Robert Musil, delivering an idiosyncratic interpretation of the classic text in just 150 wordless pages. Musil’s novel has long been deemed unadaptable; a verdict Mahler proves wonderfully wrong.
 
Mahler also confidently tackled one of the most important French novels, Marcel Proust’s In Search of Lost Time (2017), creating an original abridgment of the timeless classic. He work allows the reader to see Proust’s text with different eyes. Mahler’s ploy was to skip the Madeleine, the lime blossom tea, and even the legendary first sentence, and choose instead to view Proust’s concept of “involuntary memory” through a musical lens.
 
In Partyspaß mit Kant (Party Fun with Kant, 2015), Mahler recounts the history of philosophy in comic form. Mahler plunges the reader into the everyday lives of the 22 most famous world philosophers, who enjoy a party with Kant, see an art exhibition with Hegel, go grocery shopping with Marx, join scout camp with Nietzsche, watch a movie with Delouse, and celebrate a dream wedding with Simone de Beauvoir. While it’s unlikely that the events Mahler imagines ever took place, his fabrications bring us closer to the life, thoughts and feelings of the respective philosopher with subtle humour, while making us smile at the folly of human existence.
 
Mahler is no stranger to poetry either – and has published collections of his work like Dachbodenfunde (Attic Finds, 2015). The master of graphic reduction, Mahler uses language very sparingly too. Based on the clinical descriptions found in old toy auction catalogues he employs minimal means to create a strange atmosphere of comedy and melancholy. With his next poetry collection, Isolierzelle (Isolation Cell, 2016), Mahler adapts hobby and technology magazines from the 1920s to 1960s, distilling their absurd texts into words and illustrations. In Gedichte (Poems, 2013), Mahler takes his textual adaptations one step further with graphic poems in which images replace letters - visual poetry in the truest sense of the word.

a comic artist at the tax office

Even if the dialogues in Kunsttheorie versus Frau Goldgruber(i.e. Art Theory versus Ms Goldgruber / 2007) can scarcely be surpassed, this comic volume is based on a true event; Mahler’s long-winded discussion with Frau Goldgruber, a tax officer assigned to him. The conversation about whether he is an artist or not – since in Austria the tax rate of 10 or 20 percent depends on this – develops more and more into a discussion of basic issues about comics as an art form and art in general. In his autobiographical collection Die Zumutungen der Moderne (i.e. impertinences of modernity / 2007), Mahler narrates his grotesque experiences in everyday life. Whether he is teaching comic drawing at the Volkshochschule (Germany’s network of adult education centres, trans. note) or as a guest at various international comic and animation festivals, Mahler attracts not only odd people, he also knows how to relate the bizarre encounters with exquisitely dry humour.
 
In 2006 Mahler was honoured with the Comic Salon Erlangen’s Max and Moritz Award for his wonderfully humorous comics in the collection of his works Das Unbehagen (i.e. discontent), additional distinctions followed, among them the Max and Moritz Award once again in 2010, however in the category best German comic artist.
 
  • Nicolas Mahler: “Lone Racer” Photo (detail): © Nicolas Mahler
    Nicolas Mahler: “Lone Racer”
  • Nicolas Mahler: “Lone Racer” Photo (detail): © Nicolas Mahler
    Nicolas Mahler: “Lone Racer”
  • Nicolas Mahler: “Lone Racer” Photo (detail): © Nicolas Mahler
    Nicolas Mahler: “Lone Racer”
  • Nicolas Mahler: “Lone Racer” Photo (detail): © Nicolas Mahler
    Nicolas Mahler: “Lone Racer”
  • Nicolas Mahler: “Die Smalltalk-Hölle” Photo (detail): © Nicolas Mahler
    Nicolas Mahler: “Die Smalltalk-Hölle”
  • Nicolas Mahler: “Die Smalltalk-Hölle” Photo (detail): © Nicolas Mahler
    Nicolas Mahler: “Die Smalltalk-Hölle”
  • Nicolas Mahler: “Die Goldgruber-Chroniken” Photo (detail): © Nicolas Mahler
    Nicolas Mahler: “Die Goldgruber-Chroniken”
  • Nicolas Mahler: “Die Goldgruber-Chroniken” Photo (detail): © Nicolas Mahler
    Nicolas Mahler: “Die Goldgruber-Chroniken”
  • Nicolas Mahler: “Die Goldgruber-Chroniken” Photo (detail): © Nicolas Mahler
    Nicolas Mahler: “Die Goldgruber-Chroniken”
  • Nicolas Mahler: “Die Goldgruber-Chroniken” Photo (detail): © Nicolas Mahler
    Nicolas Mahler: “Die Goldgruber-Chroniken”
  • Nicolas Mahler: “Flaschko, der Mann in der Heizdecke” Photo (detail): © Nicolas Mahler
    Nicolas Mahler: “Flaschko, der Mann in der Heizdecke”

Nicolas Mahler Die bizarre Welt des Nicolas Mahler

Aus „Der Mann ohne Eigenschaften“ von Nicolas Mahler.
Aus „Der Mann ohne Eigenschaften“ von Nicolas Mahler. | Foto (Zuschnitt): © Nicolas Mahler / Suhrkamp Verlag

Der Comic-Zeichner Nicolas Mahler ist ein begnadeter Humorist und ein Meister des Dahingekritzelten. In banalen und kafkaesken Szenarien voll beklemmender Komik und ungewollter Poesie führt er die Geschichten seiner Protagonisten ad absurdum.

Es ist eine bizarre Welt, die uns Nicolas Mahler in seinen Comic-Cartoons präsentiert. Wie durch einen Hohlspiegel betrachtet, verzerrt der Österreicher das äußere Erscheinungsbild seiner Protagonisten. Große schlanke Figuren sind dünn und hoch wie Telegrafenmasten und dicklich Untersetzte sind quadratisch breit und tummeln sich rundweg am Boden. Auch ihre Extremitäten sind entsprechend grotesk gezeichnet, ihre Nasen sind länger als lang und ihre Stummelfüße kürzer als kurz. Mahler arbeitet genussvoll mit der humorvollen Überzeichnung, dem klassischen Stilmittel der Karikatur.
 
Darüber hinaus ist der Autor und Zeichner ein Freund der einfachen Skizze und ein Meister der Reduktion. Anfänglich beschleicht einen gar das Gefühl, dass er vielleicht nur faul ist, der Mahler. Denn die Gesichter seiner Figuren haben weder Augen noch Münder, womit er die Darstellung jeglichen Mienenspiels umgeht. Zudem reproduziert er gerne seine Bildmotive fast unverändert, so muss er sich weder mit aufwendigen Bewegungsabläufen noch mit wechselnden Hintergrundszenen auseinandersetzen.

Der Witz steckt im Detail

Man könnte Mahler mit seinem stillen und lakonisch-spröden Humor über eigenwillige Außenseiter auch als einen Aki Kaurismäki der Comic-Cartoons bezeichnen. So kommen die Bilder des Österreichers, ebenso wie die des finnischen Regisseurs, auch ohne Farbe oder Worte aus. In Van Helsing macht blau (2008) inszeniert Mahler schwarzweiß und wortlos Horrorfiguren wie Dracula, Frankenstein und Werwölfe als liebevolle Schussel. Aufgrund ihrer körperlichen Eigentümlichkeiten sind sie dankbare Opfer für die Tücken des Alltags, dem Menschen nicht ungleich. Der Karikaturist Mahler konterkariert mit Vorliebe tradierte Sujets. So bedient er sich in seinen Herrenwitz-Variationen (2008) an dem peinlich schlüpfrigen Humor älterer Männer und wandelt diesen in eine neue und genießbare Form um.

Klassische Literatur und Gedichte in Comicform

Nach Cartoons und Comics ist Mahler inzwischen auch in der Welt der Literatur heimisch geworden. So hat er 2015 den Preis der Literaturhäuser auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse erhalten, veröffentlicht regelmäßig beim Suhrkamp und Insel Verlag und hat mehrere Literaturadaptionen veröffentlicht. Zu seinen ersten Adaptionen gehört Alte Meister (2011), die eine äußerst kluge Reflexion auf die Kunstform des Comics ist. Die Romanvorlage stammt von Mahlers Landsmann, dem österreichischen Autor Thomas Bernhard. Den rauschhaften Schimpftiraden des notorischen Grantlers Bernhard begegnet Mahler mit seinem sparsamen und sicher platzierten Strich.
 
Mit Mann ohne Eigenschaften aus dem Jahr 2013 gelingt es Mahler, die Vorlage des ebenfalls österreichischen Autors Robert Musil auf 150 wortlose Seiten zu verdichten, und liefert eine eigensinnige Interpretation des Literaturklassikers. Gilt Musils Roman als unadaptierbar, so hat Mahler das Gegenteil bewiesen.
 
Mit seiner Interpretation von Marcel Prousts Auf der Suche nach der verlorenen Zeit (2017) hat sich Mahler einen der bedeutendsten französischen Romane vorgenommen. Erneut gelingt ihm eine originelle Verdichtung eines Klassikers. Der Leser wird das Werk von Proust mit anderen Augen sehen. Mahlers Kunstgriff ist es, die Madeleine und den Lindenblütentee auszulassen, ja sogar den legendären ersten Satz, und denkt stattdessen Prousts Konzept der „unwillkürlichen Erinnerung“ von der Musik her.
 
Eine Comic-Geschichte der Philosophie erzählt Mahler in Partyspaß mit Kant (2015). Mahler lässt uns am Alltag der 22 berühmtesten Philosophen teilhaben, und so haben wir nicht nur Partyspaß mit Kant, sondern besuchen mit Hegel eine Kunstausstellung, sind mit Marx im Supermarkt und mit Nietzsche im Pfadfinderlager, gehen mit Deleuze ins Kino und feiern Traumhochzeit mit Simone de Beauvoir. Unwahrscheinlich, dass sich Mahlers Episoden so zugetragen haben, und doch bringt er uns mit subtilem Humor das Leben, Denken und Fühlen des jeweiligen Philosophen näher, und lässt uns zugleich über den Aberwitz unserer menschlichen Existenz schmunzeln.
 
Aber Mahler kann auch Gedichte, die unter anderem in dem Band Dachbodenfunde (2015) veröffentlicht sind. Mahler, als Meister der zeichnerischen Reduktion, setzt auch Sprache sehr pointiert ein. Aus den nüchternen Beschreibungen alter Spielzeugauktionskataloge erzeugt er mit minimalen Mitteln eine seltsame Atmosphäre aus Komik und Melancholie. Darauf folgend nimmt sich Mahler mit dem Gedichtband In der Isolierzelle (2016) Hobby- und Technikmagazine aus den 1920er- bis 1960er-Jahren vor und destilliert ihre absurden Texte in Wort und Illustrationen. In der Publikation Gedichte (2013) geht Mahler sogar noch einen Schritt weiter, und veröffentlicht grafische Gedichte, in denen Bilder die Buchstaben ersetzen – visuelle Poesie im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes.

ein Comic-Zeichner beim Finanzamt

Auch wenn die Dialoge in Kunsttheorie versus Frau Goldgruber (2007) an Absurdität kaum zu übertreffen sind, so beruht der Comicband auf einer wahren Begebenheit. Es handelt sich hierbei um Mahlers langatmige Diskussion mit Frau Goldgruber, einer ihm zugeteilten Finanzbeamtin. Die Konversation zur Klärung der Frage, ob er Künstler ist oder nicht, denn davon hängt in Österreich der Steuersatz von 10 oder 20 Prozent ab, entwickelt sich mehr und mehr zu einer Grundsatzdiskussion über Comics als Kunstform und Kunst im Allgemeinen. In dem Sammelband Die Zumutungen der Moderne (2007) berichtet Mahler von seinen grotesken Alltagserlebnissen. Ob beim Comiczeichenunterricht an der Volkshochschule oder als Gast auf diversen internationalen Comic- und Animationsfilmfestivals, Mahler zieht nicht nur eigenartige Menschen an, er weiß die bizarren Begegnungen auch mit vorzüglich trockenem Humor zu erzählen.
 
Im Jahr 2006 wurde Mahler für seine wunderbaren Humorzeichnungen in dem Sammelband Das Unbehagen mit dem „Max und Moritz“-Preis des Comic-Salons Erlangen geehrt, weitere Auszeichnungen folgten, darunter 2010 erneut der „Max und Moritz“-Preis, allerdings in der Kategorie „Bester deutschsprachiger Comic-Künstler“.

  • Nicolas Mahler: „Lone Racer“ Foto (Zuschnitt): © Nicolas Mahler
    Nicolas Mahler: „Lone Racer“
  • Nicolas Mahler: „Lone Racer“ Foto (Zuschnitt): © Nicolas Mahler
    Nicolas Mahler: „Lone Racer“
  • Nicolas Mahler: „Lone Racer“ Foto (Zuschnitt): © Nicolas Mahler
    Nicolas Mahler: „Lone Racer“
  • Nicolas Mahler: „Lone Racer“ Foto (Zuschnitt): © Nicolas Mahler
    Nicolas Mahler: „Lone Racer“
  • Nicolas Mahler: „Die Smalltalk-Hölle“ Foto (Zuschnitt): © Nicolas Mahler
    Nicolas Mahler: „Die Smalltalk-Hölle“
  • Nicolas Mahler: „Die Smalltalk-Hölle“ Foto (Zuschnitt): © Nicolas Mahler
    Nicolas Mahler: „Die Smalltalk-Hölle“
  • Nicolas Mahler: „Die Goldgruber-Chroniken“ Foto (Zuschnitt): © Nicolas Mahler
    Nicolas Mahler: „Die Goldgruber-Chroniken“
  • Nicolas Mahler: „Die Goldgruber-Chroniken“ Foto (Zuschnitt): © Nicolas Mahler
    Nicolas Mahler: „Die Goldgruber-Chroniken“
  • Nicolas Mahler: „Die Goldgruber-Chroniken“ Foto (Zuschnitt): © Nicolas Mahler
    Nicolas Mahler: „Die Goldgruber-Chroniken“
  • Nicolas Mahler: „Die Goldgruber-Chroniken“ Foto (Zuschnitt): © Nicolas Mahler
    Nicolas Mahler: „Die Goldgruber-Chroniken“
  • Nicolas Mahler: „Flaschko, der Mann in der Heizdecke“ Foto (Zuschnitt): © Nicolas Mahler
    Nicolas Mahler: „Flaschko, der Mann in der Heizdecke“