Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Terézia Mora
Running from alienation

Author and translator Terézia Mora was awarded the 2018 Georg Büchner Prize.
Author and translator Terézia Mora was awarded the 2018 Georg Büchner Prize. | Photo (detail): © picture alliance / Gregor Fischer / dpa

She left the powdered-sugar winds of the Hungarian countryside behind to become a renowned writer: Terézia Mora writes about outsiders, those who wish to belong and those who seek – and find – love. For which she was honoured with the Georg Büchner Prize in 2018.

By Viola Kiel

Some people don’t feel at home in their homeland. To escape that unbearable sense of being a stranger in one’s own country, they set off in search of a place where they can feel at home. Terézia Mora knows about the tough transition from outsider to insider.

Hungarian-born Mora made it to Berlin and has since made it as a leading light of contemporary German literature. She writes mercilessly, urgently, and yet compassionately. The German Academy for Language and Literature describes Mora's writing as inbetween “immediate presence and the living art of language", and in the autumn of 2018 awarded her the €50,000 Georg Büchner Prize, making it the most highly endowed award for literature in Germany.

VITA

Terézia Mora is married and has a daughter. She was born in 1971 in Sopron, a town of about sixty thousand inhabitants in a Hungarian region with the whimsical name Western Transdanubia. Sopron is in the north-western tip of Hungary very close to the Austrian border. And while Vienna is three times closer than the capital Budapest, the Iron Curtain once resolutely separated Mora’s homeland from neighbouring Austria

Mora's family is part of Hungary’s German-speaking minority and she grew up bilingual. Already as a child she made up her mind "not to stay a single day longer in this village than required by law", as she recalls. And as soon as Europe opened up in 1990, she moved to Berlin – where she again found herself part of a minority, though this time around it was the Hungarian-born community. She studied Hungarian studies and drama and attended the German Film and Television Academy, before working as Hungarian translator and starting to write herself.

"POWDERED-SUGAR WINDS AND MELTING ROAD TAR"

Nine years later, she published her first book: Seltsame Materie (Strange Matter), a collection of short stories including Der Fall Ophelia (The Case of Ophelia), which won the Ingeborg Bachmann Prize, ushering Mora into the heart of Germany’s literary scene.
 
In Der Fall Ophelia, she describes her own childhood in Eastern Europe: "Ten months a year of never-ending rain, wind, the smell of molasses and factory soot falling on the linens. The rest was white summer, powdered-sugar winds and melting road tar." And she recounts the obstacles facing a minority who speak a different language: "The teacher just explained that anyone who speaks like my family does is a fascist.” Living in the nebulous in-between must have been a difficult burden for a young girl to bear, and shaped Mora, giving her her language. Eastern Europe, she says, is embedded in her instincts.

Images of childhood in the Hungarian province run through Mora’s work, as does the experience of losing one’s way amid the hustle and bustle of an unfathomable city, which formed the subject-matter of her first novel. Alle Tage (Day In, Day Out), which came out in 2004, tells the story of Abel Nema, who flees Europe’s East to a German city. His bride can smell the cloying scent of otherness clinging to him. This foreignness seems to keep the protagonist from ever finding his feet in both his personal relationships and in a city, a country, and a society. Mora, on the other hand, has clearly settled in, and literary success now clings to her: her debut novel won the Leipzig Book Fair Prize.

Her next novel, Der einzige Mann auf dem Kontinent (The Only Man on the Continent), came out in 2009. It’s about the vanities and uncertainties of a middle-aged man. Darius Kopp, its unheroic hero, grew up in East Germany and works as a representative of an American IT company. He’s overweight, always perspiring, married and – like everyone else – looking for happiness. The reader is likely to feel a mix of shame and compassion for Darius Kopp.

BOOK PRIZE FOR A "MASTERFUL OBITUARY"

Darius Kopp returns in Das Ungeheuer (Monster), Mora's third novel. His wife has since taken her own life, he has lost his job and now sets forth on an odyssey across Eastern and Southeast Europe. The pages are bisected by a black stripe, with the top of the page devoted to descriptions of Darius Kopp’s meanderings through life, and the lower half filled with notes from deceased wife detailing her battles with the dark monster depression. This graphic device – which Mora calls a Störmanöver, i.e., in military parlance, "disruptive action" – serves to symbolically separate the underworld from earthly existence. While the device may seem artificial, critics were enchanted by the second instalment of the planned trilogy, and Mora was honoured with the 2013 German Book Prize for what the jury called a “stylistically masterful obituary”.

In Mora's fourth novel, Auf dem Seil (On the Rope), IT expert Darius Kopp traverses Europe with the ashes of his late wife. In Sicily he meets his 17-year-old niece; they have to depend on each other, and end up returning to Berlin together. Kopp performs a sort of balancing act, gauging his happiness by the things he can – or cannot – change.

ESCAPING OTHERNESS

Mora's characters fail and fail again. They are alone and their vain attempts to run from alienation only serve to deepen the divide.  Mora follows her protagonists on their desperate search for belonging with dazzling imagery and linguistic finesse. The struggle runs through her most recent work as well, a story collection entitled Die Liebe unter Aliens (Love among Aliens). Mora hinted as her thematic mission in her very first novel, writing: “Panic is not the state of a single person, panic is the state of this world”. And the desire to escape this state is equally universal. 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Terézia Mora
Der Fremdheit entkommen

Die Autorin und Übersetzerin Terézia Mora wird im Jahr 2018 mit dem Georg-Büchner-Preis ausgezeichnet.
Die Autorin und Übersetzerin Terézia Mora wird im Jahr 2018 mit dem Georg-Büchner-Preis ausgezeichnet. | Foto (Zuschnitt): © picture alliance / Gregor Fischer / dpa

Die Puderzuckerwinde der ungarischen Provinz hat sie verlassen und sich in Berlin zu einer renommierten Schriftstellerin aufgeschwungen: Terézia Mora schreibt von Ausgegrenzten, Suchenden, Liebenden. Und wird nun mit dem Georg-Büchner-Preis geehrt. 

Von Viola Kiel

Manchen Menschen ist ihre Heimat keine Heimat. Sie brechen auf, auf der Suche nach einem Ort, an dem sie ankommen und der Fremdheit entkommen können. Sie fliehen vor der Unerträglichkeit. Terézia Mora weiß um solche Fluchten.

Mora, in Ungarn geboren, in Berlin angekommen, ist eine der bedeutendsten Autorinnen der deutschen Gegenwartsliteratur. Sie schreibt schonungslos, dringlich, ohne dabei ihr Mitgefühl zu verlieren. Die Deutsche Akademie für Sprache und Dichtung sieht Moras Schreiben zwischen „eminenter Gegenwärtigkeit und lebendiger Sprachkunst“ und verleiht der Schriftstellerin dafür im Herbst den Georg-Büchner-Preis, die mit 50.000 Euro höchstdotierte Auszeichnung für Literatur in Deutschland.

Terézia Mora ist heute, im Jahr 2018, 47 Jahre alt, verheiratet und Mutter einer Tochter. Ihr Weg begann in Sopron, einer 60.000-Einwohner-Stadt in der ungarischen Region mit dem lyrischen Namen Westtransdanubien. Sopron liegt im nordwestlichsten Zipfel Ungarns und ist umschlossen von Österreich; nach Budapest ist es dreimal so weit wie nach Wien. Aber zwischen Österreich und Moras Heimat zog sich der Eiserne Vorhang.

Moras Familie ist Teil der deutschsprachigen Minderheit. Sie wächst zweisprachig auf und fasst, wie sie erzählt, bereits als Kind den Entschluss, „keinen Tag länger hier in diesem Dorf zu bleiben, als es das Gesetz verlangt.“ Als Europa 1990 mit einem Mal ein anderes wird, zieht Mora nach Berlin und bleibt als gebürtige Ungarin auch dort Teil einer Minderheit. Sie studiert Hungarologie und Theaterwissenschaften und besucht die Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie. Sie übersetzt aus dem Ungarischen. Und sie beginnt, zu schreiben.

„Puderzuckerwinde und schmelzender Straßenteer“

Neun Jahre später veröffentlicht sie ihr erstes Buch: den Erzählband Seltsame Materie. Die darin enthaltene Erzählung Der Fall Ophelia wird mit dem Ingeborg-Bachmann-Preis ausgezeichnet – Mora ist angekommen im literarischen Geschäft. In der prämierten Erzählung beschreibt sie eine Kindheit im Osten: „Zehn Monate im Jahr Dauerregen, Wind und Melassegeruch und Fabrikruß, der auf die Weißwäsche fällt. Der Rest ein weißer Sommer, Puderzuckerwinde und schmelzender Straßenteer.“ Und sie thematisiert die Hürden, die die Zugehörigkeit zu einer anderssprachigen Gruppe mit sich bringt: „Die Lehrerin hat es gerade erklärt: Wer spricht, wie man in meiner Familie spricht, ist ein Faschist.“ Dieses Irgendwo-Dazwischen, das einem jungen Mädchen wie eine schwer zu ertragende Bürde vorgekommen sein muss, hat Mora geprägt – und ihr ihre Sprache gegeben. Osteuropa, sagte sie einmal, habe sie in ihren Instinkten.

Kindheitsbilder aus der ungarischen Provinz ziehen sich ebenso durch ihr Werk wie das Straucheln und Treiben in einer unergründlichen Stadt, dem Mora ihren ersten Roman widmet. 2004 erscheint Alle Tage, die Geschichte von Abel Nema, der aus Europas Osten in eine deutsche Großstadt flieht. An ihm haftet der Geruch der Fremdheit, findet seine Braut. Und diese Fremdheit scheint den Protagonisten davon abzuhalten, jemals wirklich ankommen zu können, in einer Beziehung so wenig wie in einer Stadt, einem Land und einer Gesellschaft. An Mora dagegen heftet sich der literarische Erfolg: Ihr Romandebüt beschert der Autorin den Preis der Leipziger Buchmesse.

2009 erscheint ihr nächstes Werk: In Der einzige Mann auf dem Kontinent lernt die Leserschaft Darius Kopp kennen. Der wenig heldenhafte Held ist in der DDR aufgewachsen, Vertreter einer US-amerikanischen IT-Firma, übergewichtig, verheiratet und – wie jeder – auf der Suche nach dem Glück. Mora widmet sich in diesem Roman den Eitelkeiten und Unsicherheiten eines mittelalten Mannes und die Gefühle ihrer Leser dürften zwischen Scham und Mitleid changieren in Anbetracht dieses immer schwitzenden Darius Kopp.

Der Buchpreis für einen „virtuosen Nekrolog“

In Das Ungeheuer, Moras drittem Roman, begegnet man ihm erneut. In der Zwischenzeit hat sich Kopps Ehefrau das Leben genommen, er hat seinen Job verloren und begibt sich auf eine Odyssee durch Ost- und Südosteuropa. Die Buchseiten halbiert ein schwarzer Balken, der obere Teil umfasst die Schilderung der Irrfahrt des Darius Kopp durch das Leben, im unteren sind Notizen seiner verstorbenen Frau zu lesen, die mit dem Ungeheuer Depression zu kämpfen hatte. Mit diesem Kniff – sie nennt es „Störmanöver“ – trennt Mora sinnbildlich die Unterwelt vom irdischen Dasein. Man kann es künstlich finden, doch die Kritik ist vom zweiten Teil der geplanten Trilogie angetan und ehrt Mora 2013 für diesen „stilistisch virtuosen Nekrolog“, wie es die Jury erklärt, mit dem Deutschen Buchpreis.

Moras Figuren scheitern und scheitern wieder. Sie sind allein und grenzen sich beim Versuch, der Fremdheit zu entkommen, weiter aus. In schillernden Bildern und mit sprachlicher Finesse begleitet Mora die verzweifelte Suche ihrer Protagonisten nach Zugehörigkeit. In ihrem jüngsten Werk, dem Erzählband Die Liebe unter Aliens, führt sich dieser Kampf fort. Angekündigt hat Mora ihn schon in ihrem Romanerstling, in dem sie programmatisch schrieb: „Panik ist nicht der Zustand eines Menschen, Panik ist der Zustand dieser Welt.“ Und der Wunsch, diesem Zustand zu entfliehen, ist universell.

Top