Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Book blogs
Literature fans take over Instagram

Visitor at the International Book Fair of Buenos Aires, Argentina in 2019.
Visitor at the International Book Fair of Buenos Aires, Argentina in 2019. | Photo (detail): © picture alliance/ZUMAPRESS.com/Claudio Santisteban

Instagram is the social network of the hour, and now book bloggers have also discovered the platform for themselves. Check out this new form of literary criticism in no more than 2,200 letters plus an image.

By Fabian Thomas

The number of people using Instagram is at an all-time high – around one billion people use the app every month, 500 million on a daily basis. While the app has the most users in the USA, India, Brazil, Indonesia and Russia, in Germany, according to the last official information from August 2017, it was nevertheless around 15 million.

The platform represents both a promise and a sales machine. With the right amount of zeal and the right touch, anyone can become an influencer themselves. In fact, it has never been so easy to produce appealing content by relatively simple means – a smartphone with a decent camera is enough, the appropriate filters are quickly set, and off you go.

The focus is on the image

This idea has gradually found its way into the world of book bloggers. Those who are interested in new publications, genre titles or young adult book recommendations are finding more and more information on Instagram. Here, too, the low threshold is the big attraction. If you don’t want to have to deal with the elaborate design of a WordPress blog or don’t want to programme a website yourself, you can simply set up an Instagram account and start using the “bookstagrams”.

One thing, however, also has to be said – the review, which book bloggers are really interested in, is being more or less sidelined because Instagram is a platform that is focused on images. The preview of the image description in the viewer feed is limited to just under three lines and even after clicking on “more”, the text has to be written within a maximum of 2,200 letters and kept short and snappy.

So the overriding emphasis is on the image. And when it comes to creativity the sky is the limit: books are draped on coffee tables, shown in an outdoor setting, held up to the camera for a selfie, are vividly coloured, in razor-sharp focus, sometimes the image is related to the content, sometimes freely associated. If this approach is seriously pursued it creates a portfolio that represents one’s own work and can also be used for self-marketing. 

The long read takes place elsewhere

As large as the number of “bookstagrammers” is, the bulk of the titles discussed is often homogeneous. There are plenty of bestsellers such as Juli Zeh or Sebastian Fitzek, but also books that have been carefully considered by the publishing house’s blogger relations departments are scattered among the interested parties. The reason for this is the fact that here, too, people have realised that advertising can be done particularly authentically on social networks. These days the publishing houses have whole departments that are solely responsible for this. Above all, they hope that the platform will also reach other target groups.

Studies estimate the majority of Instagram users to be in their mid-twenties and thus significantly younger than the average age of newspaper readers. The interest in genre themes and young adult books is correspondingly high. It is precisely these that are not discussed on the arts pages of the newspapers, but on the platform they “work really well,” confirms Miriam Zeh, who moves in both worlds. Zeh writes book reviews for Deutschlandfunk, but is also active in the “Books Up” project, which the Literaturhaus Bonn, with the support of the Ministry of Culture and Science of North Rhine-Westphalia, focuses on literature in the social media and wants to make it relevant for a young target group. “Instagram is a feel-good world, but sometimes it is a little too affirmative,” she explains. “Of course, the dimensions cannot be compared with the world of fashion influencers, who can even make a living from their collaborations. There is nothing comparable in the book sector. Nevertheless, the way things are talked about also has an impact on the literary bubble of the book world.”

Nowhere else is it so easy to collect likes for the perfectly staged image. For real literary criticism, however, it is more difficult. Due to the focus on the visual, the use of a narcissistic fervour and a high degree of identification content, through which users present themselves and enjoy “instant gratification” – any interest in more complex content is simply not there. The “long read” – detailed, profound literary appreciation – that takes place elsewhere.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Buchblogs
Literaturfans erobern Instagram

Besucherin der Internationalen Buchmesse in Buenos Aires (Feria Internacional del Libro de Buenos Aires) in Argentinien 2019.
Besucherin der Internationalen Buchmesse in Buenos Aires (Feria Internacional del Libro de Buenos Aires) in Argentinien 2019. | Foto (Detail): © picture alliance/ZUMAPRESS.com/Claudio Santisteban

Instagram ist das soziale Netzwerk der Stunde, und auch Buchblogger*innen haben die Plattform für sich entdeckt. Über eine neue Form der Literaturkritik in 2.200 Zeichen plus Bild.

Von Fabian Thomas

Die Nutzer*innenzahlen von Instagram sind in einem Dauerhoch: Etwa eine Milliarde Menschen nutzen die App monatlich, 500 Millionen täglich. Während die App in den USA, Indien, Brasilien, Indonesien und Russland die meisten User*innen verzeichnet, waren es in Deutschland, nach den letzten offiziellen Angaben im August 2017, immerhin auch noch rund 15 Millionen.

Die Plattform ist Verheißung und Verkaufsmaschine zugleich: Mit dem richtigen Eifer und dem richtigen Händchen kann es jede*r schaffen, selbst Influencer*in zu werden. Tatsächlich war es nie so leicht, ansprechende Inhalte mit relativ einfachen Mitteln zu produzieren: Ein Smartphone mit einer ordentlichen Kamera genügt, die entsprechenden Filter sind schnell gesetzt, schon ist man dabei.

Im Fokus steht das Bild

Diese Idee hat nach und nach auch in der Welt der Buchblogger*innen Einzug gehalten. Wer sich für Neuerscheinungen, Genre-Titel oder Young-Adult-Buchempfehlungen interessiert, informiert sich immer häufiger auf Instagram. Auch hier ist die Niedrigschwelligkeit der Clou: Wer sich nicht mit der aufwändigen Gestaltung eines Wordpress-Blogs herumschlagen oder gar selbst eine Website programmieren will, kann sich einfach einen Instagram-Account einrichten und mit dem „Bookstagrammen“ loslegen.

Doch auch das gehört zur Wahrheit: Die Rezension, um die es Buchblogger*innen ja doch im Kern geht, rückt angesichts einer so auf Bilder fokussierten Plattform wie Instagram wohl oder übel ins Abseits. Die Vorschau der Bildbeschreibung im Betrachter-Feed ist auf knappe drei Zeilen begrenzt und auch nach dem Klick auf „mehr“ bleiben nur 2.200 Zeichen für einen Text, der gezwungenermaßen kurz und knackig ausfallen muss. 

Im Mittelpunkt steht also das Bild. Und hier sind der Kreativität keine Grenzen gesetzt: Bücher werden auf Kaffeetischen drapiert, im Freien inszeniert, fürs Selfie in die Kamera gehalten, farbintensiv, gestochen scharf, mal mit Bezug zum Inhalt, mal frei assoziiert. So entsteht, wenn ernsthaft betrieben, ein Portfolio, das die eigene Arbeit repräsentiert und auch für die Selbstvermarktung nutzbar ist.

Der Long-Read findet woanders statt

So groß die Anzahl der Bookstagrammer ist, so homogen ist jedoch häufig die Masse der besprochenen Titel: Bestseller wie etwa von Juli Zeh oder Sebastian Fitzek tummeln sich in Fülle, aber auch Bücher, die von den entsprechenden Abteilungen für „Blogger Relations“ der Verlage wohlüberlegt unter den Interessent*innen gestreut werden. Denn auch hier ist die Botschaft angekommen, dass sich auf sozialen Netzwerken besonders authentisch Werbung machen lässt. Ganze Abteilungen in Verlagen sind inzwischen für nichts anderes mehr zuständig. Diese erhoffen sich von der Plattform vor allem auch, andere Zielgruppe zu erreichen.

Studien schätzen den Großteil der Instagram-Nutzer*innen auf Mitte zwanzig und damit deutlich jünger als etwa den Durchschnitt der Zeitungsleser*innen. Entsprechend groß ist das Interesse an Genre- sowie Young-Adult-Titeln. Gerade diese werden im Feuilleton eher nicht besprochen, auf der Plattform würden sie aber „richtig gut funktionieren“, bestätigt Miriam Zeh, die sich in beiden Welten bewegt. Zeh verfasst Buchkritiken für den Deutschlandfunk, ist aber auch für das Projekt „Books Up“ tätig, das vom Literaturhaus Bonn mit Unterstützung des Ministeriums für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen Literatur in den sozialen Medien thematisiert und für eine junge Zielgruppe ins Gespräch bringen will. „Instagram ist eine Wohlfühlwelt. Aber manchmal auch etwas zu affirmativ“, erklärt sie. „Natürlich sind die Dimensionen nicht zu vergleichen mit der Welt der Fashion-Influencer*innen, die von ihren Kooperationen zum Teil sogar leben können. Etwas Vergleichbares gibt es im Buchbereich nicht. Trotzdem strahlt die Art, wie über Dinge gesprochen wird, auch auf die Bücher-Bubble ab.“

Nirgendwo sonst ist es so leicht, für das perfekt inszenierte Bild Likes zu sammeln. Für richtige Kritik aber wird es schwieriger: Durch den Fokus auf die Optik, das Bedienen eines narzisstischen Affekts und ein hohes Maß an identifikatorischen Inhalten, über die sich Nutzer*innen inszenieren und „instant gratification“ genießen – sofortige Belohnung –, ist die Aufmerksamkeit für komplexere Inhalte schlicht nicht gegeben. Der „long read“, die ausführliche, tiefgründige Literaturkritik – sie findet anderswo statt.

Top