Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Bookworld
Reading during the Covid19 years

Oelker, Gümüsay, Fouroutan, Kapitelman
© Oelker, Gümüsay, Fouroutan, Kapitelman

The digital file comprising the 500 or so titles submitted for the Leipzig Book Fair Prize each year is a sort of microcosm that displays the trends of the day - but also the pseudo-trends: the directions being plugged by publishers, and those that literary critics like to fantasise about. There were also discussions this year on the fundamental question as to what exactly is meant when we ask whether a book is worthy of a prize. On the one hand didacticism and activism have muscled in on the literary world as well as elsewhere, while on the other the politicisation of literature has been countered by those singing the praises of hermetic literature.

Thus both last year and this we have seen books appearing on long-lists and shortlists that gained much traction from the belief that they were absolutely essential for the purposes of social discourse. This year Hadija Haruna-Oelker’s book Die Schönheit der Differenz (‘The beauty of differentness’) was nominated in the Non-fiction category - a book by a Frankfurt journalist that aims to introduce its readers to the the jargon of people-of-colour activism while at the same time being unquestionably out to proselytise. A similar book was in contention last year too, namely Kübra Gümüsay’s Sprache und Sein (‘Language and being’), which argued for a more sensitive use of our everyday language, especially in regard to people of non-German origin. Both of these books present themselves as activist contributions to the prevailing social discourse, indeed their success derives precisely from that fact. Both are frequently personal and cursory in nature rather than grounded in serious scholarly research. Naika Foroutan’s book Die postmigrantische Gesellschaft. Ein Versprechen der pluralen Demokratie (‘Post-migrant society. The promise of a plural democracy’) also triggered passionate debate back then.
 

Bryla, Bazyar, Wenzel, Sanyal
© Bryla, Bazyar, Wenzel, Sanyal
The same thematic trend was also to be found in the Fiction category. Last year saw no fewer than five authors considered for inclusion on the shortlist who concern themselves with racism and/or are involved in anti-racist activism, Dmitrij Kapitelman, Kaśka Bryla, Shida Bazyar (whose Drei Kameradinnen (‘Three [female] comrades’) was also nominated for the German Book Prize), Olivia Wenzel, and Mithu Sanyal. The books selected by the jury for considereration this year followed the same trend, with the inclusion of titles by authors such as Senthuran Varatharajah, Sasha Marianna Salzmann, Fatma Aydemir, Katerina Poladjan, Slata Roschal and, of course, Tomer Gardi, the winner of this year’s Fiction prize.

These preferences clearly exhibit a wish to convey a picture of society that is more ‘diverse’ than that reflected hitherto in German-language literature. And it may be apt at this point to remember that less than ten years ago we were clamouring for more women to appear on prize lists - an aspiration that morphed into standard practice within a very short period of time, with the result that the authors chosen for consideration were by and large younger and included more women; last year the nominees in the Fiction category were all women except for Christian Kracht! This year, too, the number of women on the shortlist was pleasingly high. We may well now also see an analogous development take place in the form of an expansion of the ‘battleground’ of fiction to include all varieties of migrant themes, languages and traditions. These new perspectives constitute a massive enrichment of German-language literature - especially with respect to the image of German culture that is projected abroad.
 
Varatharajah, Aydemir, Poladjan, Salzmann
© Varatharajah, Aydemir, Poladjan, Salzmann
At the same time it needs to be acknowledged that not every book that is being talked about at the moment is a masterpiece. Many of the books show great qualities in terms of their easy-to-like entertainment value or their impressively outré manner of presenting their subject matter - but it is also clear in many cases that their authors have not yet quite mastered their craft. A considerable number of them are accounts of migration experiences that are closer to journalistic reportage than to literary-poetical meditation. They leave little in the air for our imagination to dwell on, preferring instead to harangue us with their reductive socio-political messages. ‘Telling’ replaces ‘showing’; indignation replaces literary dialogue. This sometimes makes the books predictable. And that is the real challenge whenever we ask ourselves what literary criticism is about - a challenge that this year at least provoked fundamental debates within the jury: What should we reward? - Literature that deals with the ‘correct’ topics? Or literature that is ‘good’?

Literary critics are happy these days when they see both approaches in tandem with each other; when the all too glib can be rendered palatable by a dash of the hermetic. Thus there were a number of authors this year who won plaudits because their narrative methods were deemed ‘avant-garde’. We might mention Dietmar Dath here, who made it onto the shortlist with his maths-oriented novel Gentzen oder, Betrunken aufräumen (‘Gentzen, or: Sorting things out while drunk’), in which he sought to apply the principles of higher mathematics to the novel’s time frame while simultaneously offering a critique of capitalism. Then there were the thematically sometimes quirky essays of the poet Uljana Wolf, who grappled on an elevated theoretical level with the ethics of translation and was duly rewarded in the Non-fiction category. In the Translation category itself the prize was won by Anne Weber with her rendering of a book by Cécile Wajsbrot that tackled questions concerning the readability and translatability of the world, albeit in a somewhat elitist fashion. Heike Geissler produced a political novel asking whether it is at all possible these days to be political when one is stuck firmly on the treadmill constituted by motherhood, family, and the work routines dictated by the digital, late-capitalist world - a treadmill further exacerbated by the ever more frenetic whirligig of changing values. The novel is interesting in its evocation of a woman’s life in the Leipzig of today, though it comes across as something of a diatribe that leaves little scope for imaginative effects and relies largely on discursiveness.
 
Dath, Gardi, Wolf,  Weber
© Dath, Gardi, Wolf, Weber
Turning now to Senthuran Varatharajah, his novel Rot (Hunger) (‘Red (Hunger)’) - which provoked considerable discussion in the preliminary round - focuses on the real-life case of the infamous Rothenburg cannibal, while combining it with the account of a migrant experience and a tale of self-destructive sex. He too, with his ragged, jagged line-layout and use of associative prose, is concerned to make political points. Viewed overall, the book is ambitious in its form, but also decidedly pretentious.

Things are very different in the case of the winner of the Leipzig prize for fiction. In his novel Eine runde Sache (‘A neatly rounded affair’) Tomer Gardi - an Israeli who has lived in Germany for many years - has turned a captivatingly flawed form of German into true literary diction and thus by dint of sheer playfulness brought to light a whole new dimension of the German language.

There were also some books this year that followed their own particular interests and fitted into neither of the opposing camps of ‘activism’ and ‘aesthetic autonomy’. One such was Ein von Schatten begrenzter Raum (‘A room bounded by shadows’) by Emine Sevgi Özdamar, a book of poeticised reminiscences set variously in Istanbul, Berlin and Paris that veer into the surreal. From her first beginnings Özdamar was categorised as an exponent of migration literature, and as the doyenne of German-Turkish literature she lives up to her allotted role with real virtuosity. An additional aspect here is that Paris figures in a major and thought-provoking way as the central focus of intellectual yearnings in the 1980s.
 
Hoffmann, Özdamar, Geissler, Meier
© Hoffmann, Özdamar, Geissler, Meier
Also on the shortlist was the non-fiction author Christiane Hoffmann, for many years a foreign correspondent for Der Spiegel and the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung and currently Deputy Government Spokeswoman, who came up trumps with a thoroughly well written ‘migration story’ entitled Alles, was wir nicht erinnern. Zu Fuß auf dem Fluchtweg meines Vaters (‘The things we no longer remember. On foot on my father’s escape route’). By following the route that her nine-year-old father took in 1945 when his family was driven out of Silesia she not only confronts the unresolved traumas then suffered by the family, but also produces an impressive piece of reportage on the current realities of provincial life in Poland and the Czech Republic. The reader learns a great deal about the deep ideological differences that divide Europe today - including the tortured relationship between Ukraine and Russia. All the while, however, Hoffmann’s central concern is to fashion the hardships and belated repercussions of forced migration into a compelling narrative. This a book that perfectly suits its time, written by an author who knows much and has much to say.

One author I myself am especially fond of unfortunately didn’t make it onto the shortlist. With her book Die Auflösung des Hauses Decker (‘Clearing out the Decker family home’) Angelika Meier produced a novel fizzing with shrewdness and wit on the culture of the Federal Republic as it used to be. A fragile artist travels to the Ruhr to clear up the genteel villa of her dead father, a former professor, and as a result finds herself confronted with all manner of ghosts from the 1968 era. A touch of Kafka, a dash of Beckett, a sprinkling of the jargon used by the radical-left ‘K-groups’ of the period, and a great deal of Angelika Meier are all to be found in this book.

Eine andere Epoche (‘A different era’) by Ulf Erdmann Ziegler is another novel about the Federal Republic, focusing on the political personalities that characterised the early days of the country after Berlin became its capital. The scandal involving the former Federal President Christian Wulff and his wife Bettina is covered here, as are the infamous National Socialist Union murders and the case of the parliamentarian Sebastian Edathy, who stood accused of child pornography. We are shown the mindset of an era that these days seems curiously remote.
 
Erpenbeck, Ziegler, Franck, Roschal
© Erpenbeck, Ziegler, Franck, Roschal
Life in the German Democratic Republic is also reflected this year in two books by well-known authors. Jenny Erpenbeck’s novel Kairos (‘Kairos’) and Julia Franck’s Welten auseinander (‘Worlds asunder’) are both heavily influenced by the political undercurrents that permeated their own real-life backgrounds. Julia Franck recounts the story of a life devoid of emotional bonds amongst eccentric artists in East Berlin. Erpenbeck depicts the disturbingly perverted love relationship between a leading East Berlin intellectual and a student. Both experience the cataclysmic end of the GDR in terms of the inherent assumptions and expectations of their generation.

In conclusion I should like to recommend the book 153 Formen des Nichtseins (‘153 forms of non-being’). This ingenious and innovative debut novel by Slata Roschal, born 1992 in St. Petersburg, stands out amongst the various books dealing with migrant experiences in Germany. It presents one hundred and fifty three highly diverse evocations of the experience of alienation, entirely free of activist axe-grinding. A small and perfectly formed novel made up of discrete fragments by an author well worth watching.


Copyright: © Litrix.de

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1) Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Bücherwelt
Lesen in Zeiten von Corona

Oelker, Gümüsay, Fouroutan, Kapitelman
© Oelker, Gümüsay, Fouroutan, Kapitelman

Der digitale Ordner mit den rund 500 Titeln, die jedes Jahr zum Preis der Leipziger Buchmesse eingereicht werden, ist eine Art Nussschale, in der sich die Trends, aber auch die Pseudotrends – also das Kalkül der Verlage und das Wunschdenken der Literaturkritik – der Saison abbilden. Zudem gab es in diesem Jahr Grundsatzdiskussionen dazu, was den Anspruch an eine preiswürdige Literatur grundsätzlich angeht. Zum einen haben Didaktik und Aktivismus nun auch in den Literaturbetrieb Einzug gehalten. Zum anderen wird als Gegengewicht zur Politisierung des Literarischen eine hermetische Literatur hochgehalten.

So hatten wir im letzten und in diesem Jahr jeweils Titel auf der Long- und auf der Shortlist, die sehr von der Überzeugung profitierten, sie seien für den gesellschaftlichen Diskurs insgesamt notwendig. In der Kategorie Sachbuch wurde in diesem Jahr der Titel „Die Schönheit der Differenz“ von Hadija Haruna-Oelker nominiert. Das Buch einer Journalistin aus Frankfurt, das einerseits in den Jargon des PoC-Aktivismus einführt und andererseits durchaus auch missionieren will. Im Jahr davor war mit Kübra Gümüsays „Sprache und Sein“ ein ähnliches Buch in der Auswahl, das für einen sensibleren Gebrauch unserer Alltagssprache plädierte – vor allem im Hinblick auf Menschen nichtdeutscher Herkunft. Beide Bücher verstehen sich als aktivistische Einwürfe in den gesellschaftlichen Diskurs und leben genau davon. Sie haben oft einen persönlichen und kursorischen Charakter, keinen wissenschaftlich fundierten. Auch über Naika Foroutans Buch „Die postmigrantische Gesellschaft. Ein Versprechen der pluralen Demokratie“ wurde damals intensiv diskutiert.
 

Bryla, Bazyar, Wenzel, Sanyal
© Bryla, Bazyar, Wenzel, Sanyal
In der Kategorie Belletristik setzte sich dieser thematische Trend nun fort. Letztes Jahr waren in der Kategorie Belletristik mit Dmitrij Kapitelman, Kaśka Bryla, Shida Bazyar („Drei Kameradinnen“ war auch für den dt. Buchpreis nominiert), Olivia Wenzel und Mithu Sanyal gleich fünf Autorinnen und Autoren in der engeren Auswahl, die sich mit Rassismus und/oder antirassistischem Aktivismus in Deutschland beschäftigen. In diesem Jahr knüpfen die von der Jury diskutierten Bücher hier erneut an. Und zwar mit Autoren und Autorinnen wie Senthuran Varatharajah, Sasha Marianna Salzmann, Fatma Aydemir, Katerina Poladjan, Slata Roschal und natürlich Tomer Gardi, dem diesjährigen Gewinner in der Kategorie Belletristik.

Man erkennt in dieser Gewichtung den Wunsch, ein Gesellschaftsbild zu zeichnen, das „diverser“ ist, als man es vom deutschsprachigen Literaturbetrieb bislang kannte. Und an der Stelle sollte man vielleicht noch einmal daran erinnern, dass wir vor nicht mal zehn Jahren noch intensiv auf der Suche nach mehr Frauen auf den Preislisten waren. Das wurde innerhalb weniger Jahre zur Selbstverständlichkeit. Die Auswahl wurde insgesamt jünger und weiblicher. Letztes Jahr fanden sich unter den Nominierten in der Kategorie Belletristik neben Christian Kracht nur Frauen! Und auch in diesem Jahr ist die Frauenquote unter den Shortlist-Kandidaten und -Kandidatinnen erfreulich hoch. So könnte es jetzt auch mit der Ausweitung der „Kampfzone“ Literaturbetrieb auf sämtliche Spielarten migrantischer Themen, Sprachen und Traditionen gehen. Die neuen Perspektiven sind eine große Bereicherung für die deutschsprachige Literatur – vor allem auch mit Blick auf die Repräsentation deutscher Kultur im Ausland.
 
Varatharajah, Aydemir, Poladjan, Salzmann
© Varatharajah, Aydemir, Poladjan, Salzmann
Gleichzeitig muss auch gesagt werden: Nicht jeder der im Moment diskutierten Titel ist ein Meisterwerk. Viele Bücher haben große Qualitäten im Sinne einer eingängigen Unterhaltsamkeit oder einer beeindruckenden Drastik, mit der sie ihr Anliegen vorbringen. Gleichzeitig haftet ihnen aber doch auch oft noch das Debütantenhafte an. Viele dieser Bücher erzählen Migrationsgeschichten, die der journalistischen Reportage näher sind als der poetischen Meditation. Sie lassen atmosphärisch wenig in der Schwebe und neigen dazu, ihre gesellschaftspolitischen Botschaften plakativ auszubuchstabieren. Das Sagen ersetzt das Zeigen, die Empörung den literarischen Dialog. Das gibt den Texten bisweilen etwas Erwartbares. Und das ist der neuralgische Punkt jeder literaturkritischen Selbstbefragung und sorgte zumindest in diesem Jahr innerhalb der Jury für Grundsatzdebatten: Was will man auszeichnen? Das Richtige oder das Gute?

Die Literaturkritik zeigt sich derzeit glücklich, wenn sie beides miteinander vermählen kann, wenn sie das oft allzu glatt Ausgesprochene mit dem Hermetischen „ablöschen“ kann. So gab es in diesem Jahr eine Reihe von Autoren und Autorinnen, an deren Texten man „avantgardistische“ Erzählweisen wahrnahm und honorierte. Zu nennen wäre hier Dietmar Dath, der mit seinem Kalkülroman „Gentzen oder: Betrunken aufräumen“ auf der Shortlist stand und der Prinzipien der höheren Mathematik auf die Erzählzeit des Romans anwenden wollte und gleichzeitig Kapitalismuskritik übte. Dann gab es die thematisch teilweise abseitigen Essays der Lyrikerin Uljana Wolf, die sich auf theoretisch hohem Reflexionsniveau mit der Ethik des Übersetzens auseinandersetzte und in der Kategorie Sachbuch ausgezeichnet wurde. Auch die Preisträgerin in der Kategorie Übersetzung selbst, Anne Weber, war mit einem Buch von Cécile Wajsbrot vertreten, das sich eher elitär mit Fragen der Lesbarkeit und Übersetzbarkeit der Welt auseinandersetzte. Heike Geissler hat einen politischen Roman über die Frage geschrieben, wie man heute politisch sein kann, wenn man gleichzeitig in die Mühle von Mutterschaft, Familie, Arbeitsalltag im Spät- und Digitalkapitalismus und einem sich immer schneller drehenden Werte-Karussell gerät. „Die Woche“ rückt bei Geissler immer wieder unwillkürlich auf den Montag zurück. Ein interessanter Roman, der ein Frauenleben im heutigen Leipzig beschreibt und als Suada daherkommt, die allerdings wenig Raum fürs Atmosphärische lässt und eher von Diskursen lebt.
 
Dath, Gardi, Wolf,  Weber
© Dath, Gardi, Wolf, Weber
Mit Senthuran Varatharajah schließlich wurde ein Autor in der Vorrunde diskutiert, der in „Rot (Hunger)“ den realen Fall des Kannibalen von Rothenburg mit einer migrantischen Erfahrung und einer selbstzerstörerischen Sexgeschichte vermischt. Er setzt mit einem zerfetzten Zeilenspiegel und einer assoziativen Prosa auch politische Akzente. Das Ganze formal ambitioniert, aber auch recht prätentiös.

Anders verhielt es sich mit dem Gewinner des Leipziger Buchpreises in der Kategorie Belletristik: Tomer Gardi, der als Israeli seit Jahren in Deutschland lebt, hat in „Eine runde Sache“ ein zauberhaft fehlerhaftes Deutsch zur Literatursprache gemacht und dem Deutschen damit spielerisch eine neue Facette abgewonnen.

Es gab im diesjährigen Bücherjahr also auch Titel, die sich keiner der beiden Tendenzen – aktivistisch oder autonomieästhetisch – zuordnen ließen und die ganz eigene Akzente setzten. Dazu gehört auch Emine Sevgi Özdamar mit ihren ästhetisch verdichteten und ins Surreale verfremdeten Lebenserinnerungen „Ein von Schatten begrenzter Raum“, die sich zwischen Istanbul, Berlin und Paris abspielen. Özdamar wurde früh dem Genre Migrationsliteratur zugerechnet und reflektiert als Doyenne einer deutsch-türkischen Literatur diese ihr zugewiesene Rolle virtuos. Dabei bekommt auch die Stadt Paris als intellektueller Sehnsuchtsort der achtziger Jahre einen großen und denkwürdigen Auftritt.
Hoffmann, Özdamar, Geissler, Meier
© Hoffmann, Özdamar, Geissler, Meier
Mit Christiane Hoffmann, der derzeitigen stellvertretenden Regierungssprecherin und langjährigen Auslandskorrespondentin von FAZ und Spiegel, stand außerdem eine Sachbuchautorin auf der Shortlist, die eine überaus gelungene „Migrationsgeschichte“ zu erzählen weiß. Ihr Buch heißt „Alles, was wir nicht erinnern. Zu Fuß auf dem Fluchtweg meines Vaters“. Indem sie die Fluchtroute ihres 1945 aus Schlesien vertriebenen damals neunjährigen Vaters nachwandert, setzt sie sich zum einen mit dem unbearbeiteten Trauma in ihrer Familie auseinander. Zum anderen entsteht so eine eindrückliche Reportage über die heutige polnische und tschechische Provinz. Man lernt eine Menge über die ideologischen Gräben und Abgründe, die Europa heute spalten. Auch das Verhältnis zwischen der Ukraine und Russland spielt dabei eine Rolle. Und immer wieder geht es darum, die Härten und Spätfolgen von Fluchterfahrungen erzählbar zu machen. Ein Buch der Stunde, geschrieben von einer Autorin, die viel weiß und viel zu sagen hat.

Eine Autorin, die mir persönlich am Herzen liegt, schaffte es leider nicht auf die Shortlist. Angelika Meier hat mit „Die Auflösung des Hauses Decker“ einen vor gewitzter Klugheit sprühenden Roman über die Kultur der alten Bundesrepublik geschrieben. Eine prekäre Künstlerin soll im Ruhrpott die Professorenvilla ihres verstorbenen Vaters auflösen und kommt so mit allen möglichen Gespenstern der 68er-Generation in Kontakt. Ein bisschen Kafka, ein bisschen Beckett, ein bisschen K-Gruppen-Jargon und ganz viel Angelika Meier stecken in diesem Buch.

Ebenfalls bemerkenswert ist Ulf Erdmann Zieglers BRD-Roman „Eine andere Epoche“, der das politische Personal der jungen Berliner Republik ins Auge fasst. Die Affäre um den Ex-Bundespräsidenten Christian Wulff und seine Gattin Bettina wird ebenso erzählt wie die NSU-Morde und der Fall des wegen Kinderpornografie unter Verdacht stehenden Abgeordneten Sebastian Edathy. Ein Stück Mentalitätsgeschichte aus einer Epoche, die uns heute seltsam entrückt vorkommt.
 
Erpenbeck, Ziegler, Franck, Roschal
© Erpenbeck, Ziegler, Franck, Roschal
Auch das Leben in der DDR ist in dieser Büchersaison mit zwei Titeln von bekannten Autorinnen vertreten. Die Romane von Jenny Erpenbeck („Kairos“) und Julia Franck(„Welten auseinander“) sind beide von den politischen Unterströmungen ihrer realen Herkünfte geprägt. Julia Franck erzählt die Geschichte einer bindungslosen Kindheit unter exzentrischen Ostberliner Künstlern. Erpenbeck schildert die beklemmend perverse Liebe zwischen einem Ostberliner Großintellektuellen und einer Studentin. Beide erleben den politischen Umbruch auch aus den Selbstverständlichkeiten ihrer jeweiligen Generation heraus.

Abschließend sei hier noch „153 Formen des Nichtseins“ empfohlen: Unter den Texten, die sich mit migrantischen Erfahrungen in Deutschland auseinandersetzen, ragt das ebenso innovative wie gewitzte Romandebüt der 1992 in Sankt Petersburg geborenen Slata Roschal heraus. Darin werden 153 heterogene Annäherungen an Fremdheitserfahrungen völlig frei von aktivistischen Affekten präsentiert. Ein kleiner feiner Fragment-Roman von einer Autorin, die man sich merken sollte.

von Katharina Teutsch

Copyright: © Litrix.de

Top