German Book Prize Robert Menasse Awarded the 2017 German Book Prize

Robert Menasse, awarded the German Book Prize 2017
Robert Menasse, awarded the German Book Prize 2017 | Photo: Arne Dedert; © dpa

For his novel, “Die Hauptstadt” (The Capital), the author has been distinguished with the industry’s most prestigious award. This book on the political goings-on in Brussels is a plea for a Europe above and beyond national egocentrisms.

It took a while before Robert Menasse, moved to tears, was able to say “Thank you”, adding that he was deeply moved at receiving the prize, but that his five competitors were equally deserving of the award.

The German Book Prize jury explained its decision as follows „Menasse’s book makes unmistakeably clear: the economy alone will not be able to guarantee us a peaceful future,” adding that the humane is always worth striving for, it is never reliably given, and with his novel, Menasse vividly shows that this applies to the European Union as well.

Successful atmospheric image of the European capital

Die Hauptstadt deals with the political goings-on in Brussels. The Austrian Robert Menasse researched on site for four years, and thereby developed a lovingly critical perspective on EU bureaucrats and their human fallibilities. The book is at once satire, crime thriller and analysis – and also a plea for a Europe above and beyond national egocentrisms. The seven members of the jury praised the book as “a multilayered text that interweaves existential questions on the private and political spheres in a masterly fashion, and releases the reader into open-endedness.” With dramaturgic skill, Menasse digs “with a light hand into the deeper strata of this world that we call our own”.

Robert Menasse has conducted many a discussion on European politics, also in the follow-up to his collections of essays on Europe. In Europäischer Landbote (i.e. European country courier, 2012) he wrote positively about the EU’s trans-national institutions and bureaucracies. Now in fact, he only desires to discuss his novel. But the theme preoccupies him above and beyond literary considerations. “This is a creeping revolution. For 60 years now, common parameters are being systematically produced for the continent as a whole. And when that happens, I want to know who is doing this, and how are they doing it? That’s why I had to fly to Brussels back then”. 

“The man-made aspects of the EU have to be narrated”

“I think people who say the EU is a problem, that it has taken away our sovereignty, we have to get out, it ought to be destroyed, are clueless and almost a public danger”, said Menasse in an interview after the award ceremony. “The concept is bold, important, and the one chance for all of us to still have a future on this continent. To develop this concept further, we have to criticise everything that is going wrong, and to be able to do that we have to know how the whole thing functions. What sort of people are they, who work there? What is on their minds?” He adds that there’s a lot to tell and it has to be shown that the EU is not some abstraction.  “What is happening there is man-made, and everything that is man-made can and must be narrated.” That is his approach as a novelist. “This is how we get closer to the possibility of reflecting on our contemporaneity and understanding it better. And intervening in it!“ 

The “European Republic” as concrete utopia

Robert Menasse was born in Vienna in 1954. His Jewish father had fled the National Socialists in 1938, and returned to Austria only after the war. Menasse studied German literature and culture, philosophy and political science in Vienna, Salzburg and Messina, and obtained his doctorate with a thesis on the “Typus des Außenseiters im Literaturbetrieb” (i.e. the outsider phenotype within literature). He worked as a publisher’s reader for Austria literature until 1988, and as a junior lecturer at the Institute of Literary Theory at the University of São Paulo in Brazil, where he also began writing.
 
Sandro Abbate: “I see the blogger as a literary mediator - like a good bookseller.” Photo: © Sandro Abbate | novelero.de goethe.de/jadu
Declarations of love to literature
(de/cz)
Influence of bloggers long recognized. More than 1.300 German-speaking book blogs are available. One of them is novelero by Sandro Abbate. In 2017 he was an official blogger accompanying the German Book Prize.
His literary breakthrough came in 1995 with his novel Schubumkehr. In this work he depicts the historic turning point in the late 1980’s taking as his example a village on the Austrian-Czech border. Menasse has been dealing with the European Union and themes critiquing globalisation in his essays since 2005. Here, he was not fundamentally critical of the European Union from the outset, but located its democratic deficits primarily in the influence and power of the individual national states. In Frankfurt he stated that he has not been converted from Saul to Paul through his experiences in Brussels, but from Paul the child to Paul the man.  He confirmed as early as 2013  that in his view the “European Republic” is a concrete Utopia.

Losers do not leave empty-handed

“I’m ecstatic”, was the author’s response to the journalists’ question as to how he felt shortly after being given the award – with a gallant allusion to his fellow shortlister Sasha Marianna Salzmann’s title (“Außer sich,” i.e. ecstatic). “Any author who says he doesn’t wish for an award like this and doesn’t need it is lying.” It’s just that he’s been noticing something bewildering since receiving the award. “I feel as if I’m a con-man who’s talking about a novel somebody else wrote.”
 
Other nominees for the finale of the best German-language novel of the year were: Gerhard Falkner (Romeo oder Julia), Franzobel (Das Floß der Medusa), Thomas Lehr (Schlafende Sonne), Marion Poschmann (Die Kieferninseln) and Sasha Marianna Salzmann (Außer sich). Each received a purse of 2500 Euros. Last year Bodo Kirchhoff won the German Book Prize for Widerfahrnis
.
The award has been given annually by the Association of German Publishers and Booksellers since 2005 for the purpose of recognising the best German-language novel of the year. Publishers from Germany, Austria and Switzerland can submit titles. A seven-member jury whose membership changes each year first selects 20 titles for the longlist. Then five or six authors are chosen from among them for the shortlist. The winner receives a purse of 25,000 Euros, and as a rule the book is assured a place on the bestseller list. The festive ceremony is held each year in the Frankfurt City Hall, the Römer, on the day before the opening of the Frankfurt Book Fair.
 

Nominations for the Book Prize – Short List and Long List

In addition to the award-winning novel Die Hauptstadt, the following books were nominated for the Book Prize 2017:

  • Romeo oder Julia by Gerhard Falkner
  • Das Floß der Medusa by Franzobel
  • Schlafende Sonne by Thomas Lehr
  • Die Kieferninseln by Marion Poschmann
  • Außer sich by Sasha Marina Salzmann
The 2017 book price long list also included the following titles:
  • Lichter als der Tag by Mirko Bonné
  • Schau mich an, wenn ich mit dir rede! by Monika Helfer
  • Das Jahr der Frauen by Christoph Höhtker
  • Kraft by Jonas Lüscher
  • Flugschnee by Birgit Müller-Wieland
  • Schreckliche Gewalten by Jakob Nolte
  • Nach Onkalo by Kerstin Preiwuß
  • Phantom by Robert Prosser
  • Wiener Straße by Sven Regener
  • Peter Holtz by Ingo Schulze
  • Das Singen der Sirenen by Michael Wildenhain
  • Walter Nowak bleibt liegen by Julia Wolf
  • Katie by Christine Wunnicke
  • Evangelio by Feridun Zaimoglu

Deutscher Buchpreis Robert Menasse erhält den Deutschen Buchpreis 2017

Robert Menasse, ausgezeichnet mit dem Deutschen Buchpreis 2017
Robert Menasse, ausgezeichnet mit dem Deutschen Buchpreis 2017 | Foto: Arne Dedert; © dpa

Der Autor hat mit seinem Roman „Die Hauptstadt“ die wichtigste Auszeichnung der Branche bekommen. Das Buch über das politische Treiben in Brüssel ist ein Plädoyer für ein Europa jenseits nationaler Egoismen.

Bis der zu Tränen gerührte Robert Menasse ein „Danke“ herausbrachte, dauerte es eine Zeit lang. Er sei sehr gerührt, den Preis erhalten zu haben. Zugleich sei er aber auch sicher, dass seine fünf Konkurrenten die Auszeichnung ebenso verdient gehabt hätten.

Die Jury des Deutschen Buchpreises begründete ihre Entscheidung mit den Worten: „Menasses Buch macht unmissverständlich klar: Die Ökonomie allein, sie wird uns keine friedliche Zukunft sichern können.“ Das Humane sei immer erstrebenswert, niemals zuverlässig gegeben: Dass dies auch auf die Europäische Union zutreffe, zeige Menasse mit seinem Roman auf eindringliche Weise.

Gelungenes Stimmungsbild der Europäischen Hauptstadt 

In Die Hauptstadt geht es um das politische Treiben in Brüssel. Der Österreicher Robert Menasse hat für sein Buch vier Jahre vor Ort recherchiert und dabei einen liebevoll-kritischen Blick auf die EU-Bürokraten und ihre menschlichen Fehlbarkeiten entwickelt. Das Buch ist Satire, Krimi und Analyse zugleich - und außerdem ein Plädoyer für ein Europa jenseits nationaler Egoismen. Die siebenköpfige Jury würdigte das Buch als „vielschichtigen Text, der auf meisterhafte Weise existenzielle Fragen des Privaten und des Politischen miteinander verwebt und den Leser ins Offene entlässt“. Dramaturgisch gekonnt, grabe Menasse „leichthändig in den Tiefenschichten jener Welt, die wir die unsere nennen“.

Robert Menasse hat sehr viele europapolitische Diskussionen geführt, auch im Gefolge seiner Essaybände über Europa. 2012 schrieb er im Europäischen Landboten positiv über die übernationalen Institutionen und Bürokratien der EU. Jetzt will er eigentlich nur noch über seinen Roman diskutieren. Doch das Thema lässt ihn auch jenseits literarischer Überlegungen nicht los. „Das ist eine schleichende Revolution. Seit 60 Jahren werden systematisch gemeinsame Rahmenbedingungen für den ganzen Kontinent hergestellt. Und wenn das passiert, dann will ich wissen, wer macht das, und wie machen die das? Deshalb bin ich damals nach Brüssel geflogen.“

„Man muss das Menschengemachte der EU erzählen“ 

„Ich halte jene für ahnungslos und fast schon gemeingefährlich, die sagen, die EU ist ein Problem, die hat uns unsere Souveränität genommen, wir müssen raus, das gehört zerstört“, sagte Menasse im Interview nach der Preisvergabe. „Die Idee ist kühn, ist wichtig, und ist die einzige Chance für uns alle, noch Zukunft zu haben auf diesem Kontinent. Um diese Idee weiter zu entwickeln müssen wir alles kritisieren, was schief läuft, und um das zu können, müssen wir wissen, wie das alles funktioniert. Was sind das für Menschen, die da arbeiten? Worum geht es denen?“ Es gebe viel zu erzählen, und es sei notwendig zu zeigen, dass die EU kein Abstraktum sei. „Was dort geschieht, ist menschengemacht, und alles, was menschengemacht ist, kann man und muss man erzählen.“ Das sei sein Ansatz als Romancier. „So kommen wir der Möglichkeit näher, unsere Zeitgenossenschaft zu reflektieren und sie besser zu verstehen. Und in sie einzugreifen!“ 

Die „Europäische Republik“ als konkrete Utopie 

Robert Menasse wurde 1954 in Wien geboren. Sein jüdischer Vater war 1938 vor den Nationalsozialisten geflohen und erst nach Kriegsende nach Österreich zurückgekehrt. Menasse studierte Germanistik, Philosophie und Politikwissenschaft in Wien, Salzburg und Messina und promovierte 1980 mit einer Arbeit über den „Typus des Außenseiters im Literaturbetrieb“. Bis 1988 arbeitete er als Lektor für österreichische Literatur und als Dozent am Institut für Literaturtheorie an der Universität São Paulo in Brasilien, wo er auch mit dem Schreiben begann.
 
Sandro Abbate: „Ich sehe den Blogger als Literaturvermittler – wie ein guter Buchhändler.“ Foto: © Sandro Abbate | novelero.de goethe.de/jadu
Liebeserklärungen an die Literatur

Einfluss der Blogger längst erkannt. Über 1.300 deutschsprachige Buchblogs gibt es. Einer davon ist novelero von Sandro Abbate. 2017 war er einer der offiziellen Begleitblogger zum Deutschen Buchpreis.
Der literarische Durchbruch gelang ihm 1995 mit dem Roman Schubumkehr. Darin schildert er die Zeitenwende Ende der Achtzigerjahre am Beispiel eines Dorfes an der österreichisch-tschechischen Grenze. Mit der Europäischen Union und globalisierungskritischen Themen setzt sich Menasse in seinen Essays schon seit 2005 auseinander. Dabei stand er auch anfangs der Europäischen Union nicht grundsätzlich kritisch gegenüber, sondern begründet die demokratiepolitischen Defizite vor allem mit dem Einfluss und der Macht der einzelnen Nationalstaaten. Durch seine Brüsseler Erfahrung sei er nicht vom Saulus zum Paulus geworden, erzählt er in Frankfurt, „sondern vom ‚Pauli‘, zum Paulus“. Dass die „Europäische Republik“ für ihn eine konkrete Utopie sei, bekräftigte er schon 2013. 

Verlierer gehen nicht leer aus

„Ich bin außer mir“, so reagiert der Autor auf die Journalisten-Frage, wie es ihm kurz nach der Auszeichnung gehe - mit einer galanten Anspielung auf den Romantitel seiner Mitfavoritin Sasha Marianna Salzmann. „Jeder Autor, der sagt, er wünscht sich einen solchen Preis nicht und er braucht ihn nicht, lügt.“ Nur mache er, seitdem er den Preis bekommen habe, eine verblüffende Beobachtung. „Ich habe das Gefühl, ich bin ein Hochstapler, der über einen Roman redet, den wer anderer geschrieben hat.“

Für das Finale um den besten deutschsprachigen Roman des Jahres waren außerdem nominiert: Gerhard Falkner (Romeo oder Julia), Franzobel (Das Floß der Medusa), Thomas Lehr (Schlafende Sonne), Marion Poschmann (Die Kieferninseln) und Sasha Marianna Salzmann (Außer sich). Sie erhalten jeweils 2.500 Euro. Im vergangenen Jahr gewann Bodo Kirchhoff mit Widerfahrnis den Deutschen Buchpreis.

Seit 2005 wird die Auszeichnung jährlich vom Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels vergeben. Er will den besten Roman des Jahres in deutscher Sprache küren. Verlage aus Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz dürfen Titel einreichen. Eine siebenköpfige Jury, deren Besetzung jährlich wechselt, wählt zunächst 20 Titel für die Longlist aus. Auf die Shortlist kommen dann jeweils fünf bis sechs Autoren. Der Sieger erhält 25.000 Euro und dem Werk ist in der Regel auch ein Platz auf der Bestsellerliste sicher. Die feierliche Zeremonie findet jedes Jahr im Frankfurter Rathaus, dem Römer, statt, am Tag vor der Eröffnung der Frankfurter Buchmesse.
 

Nominierungen für den Buchpreis – Shortlist und Longlist

Folgende Bücher waren – über den ausgezeichneten Roman Die Hauptstadt hinaus – für den Buchpreis 2017 nominiert:

  • Romeo oder Julia von Gerhard Falkner
  • Das Floß der Medusa von Franzobel
  • Schlafende Sonne von Thomas Lehr
  • Die Kieferninseln von Marion Poschmann
  • Außer sich von Sasha Marina Salzmann
Die Longlist des Buchpreises 2017 enthielt darüber hinaus folgende Titel:
  • Lichter als der Tag von Mirko Bonné
  • Schau mich an, wenn ich mit dir rede! von Monika Helfer
  • Das Jahr der Frauen von Christoph Höhtker
  • Kraft von Jonas Lüscher
  • Flugschnee von Birgit Müller-Wieland
  • Schreckliche Gewalten von Jakob Nolte
  • Nach Onkalo von Kerstin Preiwuß
  • Phantom von Robert Prosser
  • Wiener Straße von Sven Regener
  • Peter Holtz von Ingo Schulze
  • Das Singen der Sirenen von Michael Wildenhain
  • Walter Nowak bleibt liegen von Julia Wolf
  • Katie von Christine Wunnicke
  • Evangelio von Feridun Zaimoglu