Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Drawn picture; 2 people sit next to each other, inbetween them plays a radioTobias Schrank © Goethe-Institut

time to listen

The current situation has forced many people around the world to stay at home and follow the news. In this isolation they hear the news of a global crisis and threat. As in Boccaccio's “Il Decamerone” and many other myths and books of other cultures, the description of the disaster is followed by stories.

The project “Time to listen” presents a collection of stories - told by storytellers from all genres of art, from all over the world.

Portrait of Giuseppe Caputo, Bogota © Giuseppe Caputo

Giuseppe Caputo
The mirror and the shield

The narrator remembers his childhood, when his mother sent him to beg and told him to turn away debtors. An experience that recurs in his dreams to this day. With which feelings does he look back? 

Portrait of Anita Nair, Bangalore © Anita Nair

Anita Nair
Encounter with the smuggler

Since her childhood, her father has told her about his travels by train - on one of the shortest railway lines in India. But the narrator never manages to take the train herself. Until she finally gets the assignment of a travel journal - and a trip full of surprises begins, which ends with the encounter with a criminal out of necessity. Should the narrator report him?

Portrait of Marius Ivaškevičius, Vilnius © Marius Ivaškevičius

Marius Ivaškevičius
How I did not become a Khakass national playwright

One day the playwright Marius Ivaškevičius received an inquiry from an autonomous republic in southern Siberia, unknown to him: He was to become the national playwright of Khakassia. He refused - but he had not expected the persistence of the Khakassas...

Portrait by Itamar Vieira Junior © Itamar Vieira Junior

Itamar Vieira Junior
Alma’s way

Little is known about Alma, who in the 18th century founded a community that today is home to 900 families. Alma was a former slave. She walked 400 kilometres on foot from the capital. Itamar Vieira Junior imagines what experiences she had on her way, what thoughts occupied her, what drove her.

Portrait of Lapdiang A. Syiem © Lapdiang A. Syiem

Lapdiang A. Syiem
Dear Mei!

From her apartment, the narrator looks out over a river, a cemetery - and a street between the two; in a sense, between life and death. She tells of her mother, remembers her goddesslike abilities, her quirks. And there she turns to her "Dear Mei!" - her "Dear Mother" - to send her a message between life and death. 

Portrait of Gamel Apalayine © Gamel Apalayine

Gamel Apalayine
Climb every mountain

When David was 7 years old, he saw a scene from the Hollywood classic "The Sound of Music" on television: A nun sings the song "Climb every mountain", which accompanies David from then on and gives him the strength to make a difficult decision at an important point in his life.

Portrait of Alissa Ganieva © Alissa Ganieva

Alissa Ganieva
How I threw myself out of the window

In her school days, Alissa Ganieva one day discovered a kind of balcony under the window of her classroom. Realizing that the others had never noticed it, she bet she would throw herself out the window. And she did, with different consequences than she had foreseen.

Portrait of Jordi Puntí © Jordi Puntí

Jordi Puntí
The locked room

During his student days Jordi Puntí rented an apartment with friends in Barcelona. The landlord kept the key to a windowless room, which the friends were not allowed to enter. The friends began to speculate: Was there a pornographic collection inside? Wasn't there a light coming from under the door? Was it a gateway to hell? What was the secret of the locked room?

Portrait of T. C. Boyle wearing a beanie © T. C. Boyle

T. C. Boyle
The Bear

A trip with the family, a house in the forest. The marinated chickens sizzle on the campfire - attracting unexpected visitors. T. C. Boyle tells a story with a surprising twist that shows that even in the worst situations there can still be redemption.  

Portrait of Gali Mir Tibon; she has long hair and wears a green shirt © Gali Mir Tibon

Gali Mir-Tibon
How I betrayed my mother

Gali's mother came to Israel as an orphan from Bukovina, where she had used her sewing skills to ensure the survival of herself and her brother. The girl is ashamed of her mother, because she is not a native Israeli. Despite mother's help, Gali fails the sewing course at school.

Igiaba Scego © Igiaba Scego

Igiaba Scego
A short-lived utopia

Impressions from a street in Rome, completely different from the others. People not chasing after material things, following their stories in their thoughts and perceiving a colour that keeps coming back ...

Portrait of Simon Stranger © Simon Stranger

Simon Stranger
Waiting in the big wide ocean

19-year-old Simon sails for a year on a small ship with a friend and his father through the Mediterranean, along the French and Spanish coasts. Despite a shipwreck, they decide to continue without an engine, just like in the old days.

Herta Müller © Herta Müller

Herta Müller:
Foxes go into the trap. Not me!

As a child in Romania, Herta Müller was to get a new winter coat. One with collar and cuffs made of fox fur. While choosing the fox fur she noticed the similarity between fox and hunter. The secret service later followed her into her apartment and left signs.

Hallgrimur Helgason © Hallgrimur Helgason

Hallgrímur Helgason
The steak is maybe too well done

As a visual artist in New York, Hallgrímur Helgason one day receives a visit from a fellow Icelander who becomes increasingly drunk during the course of the evening. During dinner a very revealing error occurs.

Portrait of Sofi Oksanen © Sofi Oksanen

Sofi Oksanen
Where a better future was designed

Sofi Oksanen tells of a place where in the days of the Soviet Union - unobserved by the state - a free exchange of ideas could thrive. A place where dreams and hopes were preserved for decades and a unique art has been cultivated for generations ...

Portrait of Shamin Chibba © Shamin Chibba

Shamin Chibba
Vali

Shamin Chibba narrates the story of his grandmother. In telling the story, present and past flow into each other: Memories of a hard life, of political events in India, twists of fate and everyday experiences...

Jeaninne Masika Harrysson © Jeaninne Masika Harrysson

Jeaninne Masika Harrysson
Take my story!

The words in this poetic text, which concludes with the lines: "...this is how love is born", act against the fear and the feeling of loneliness that creeps in these times.

Portrait of Ken Follett © Ken Follett

Ken Follett
The 99th Wife

Catherine is married off to the sultan by her father, the Czar. She is his 99th wife and right after their wedding the sultan forgets her. At a disco organized by the Sultan the musicians are blindfolded. Suddenly the blindfold of the handsome guitarist slips and the story takes its course...

Portrait of Bae Suah © Bae Suah

Bae Suah
Like panthers on empty streets

Bae Suah was on a writing residency in Morocco. But her stay took on unexpected forms and led to new impressions, such as the sight of cats roaming empty streets like panthers, looking like prophets in disguise.

Picture of Pavlina Marvin in the forest © Pavlina Marvin

Pavlina Marvin
A coat with all its flowers

Pavlina Marvin tells of her friend Irini, who gave her a floral coat during their studies. She wears the coat to this day, as it hasn’t lost any of its flowers. When both of them wanted to meet in Athens recently, Irini didn’t show up. She was looking after an Indian man who had lost his job due to the pandemic and was therefore in great distress.

Image of Michal Hvorecký in front of a book shelf © Michal Hvorecký

Michal Hvorecký
Do you have my grandfather's books?

The writer and translator Michal Hvorecký works in a library in Bratislava, where one day a gentleman came in and introduced himself as the grandson of a world-famous writer. This encounter was to have consequences.

Image of Steinunn Sigurðadottir in front of a painting © Steinunn Sigurðadottir

Steinunn Sigurðadottir
A gift from my father

The story of Steinunn Sigurðadottir begins at the foot of Europe's largest glacier, Vatnajökull. At this place in 1910 a maid became pregnant - by the landlord. This is why she had to leave the farm, which was unfortunately usual these days. She went to Reykjavík on foot, which took 7 days at that time.
Thus begins a journey through the decades, at the end of which Steinunn's life story begins. And a gesture of generosity and kindness of heart is revealed.

Realization: Thomas Böhm (texts, editing and design), Dr. Anne-Bitt Gerecke, Martin Bach, Marie Kiewe (editing and design), Marcus Sporkmann (video editing) und Eliphas Nyamogo (editing)

Partner

Buchstaben, die Radio Eins rbb zeigen

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Gezeichnetes Bild, 2 Personen sitzen nebeneinander, zwischen ihnen ein Radio, aus dem Geräusche kommen Illustration: Tobias Schrank © Goethe-Institut

Zeit zuzuhören

Die aktuelle Situation zwingt viele Menschen auf der ganzen Welt, zu Hause zu bleiben. In dieser Isolation hören sie die Nachrichten einer globalen Krise und Bedrohung. Wie in Boccaccios „Il Decamerone” und vielen anderen Mythen und Büchern anderer Kulturen folgen auf die Beschreibung des Unglücks: Geschichten.

Das Projekt „Zeit zuzuhören” bietet eine Sammlung von Geschichten – erzählt von Erzähler*innen aus allen Bereichen der Kunst, von überall auf der Welt.

Portraitbild von Giuseppe Caputo, Bogota © Giuseppe Caputo

Giuseppe Caputo
Der Spiegel und der Schild

Der Erzähler erinnert sich an seine Kindheit, in der seine Mutter ihn betteln schickte und Schuldner abwimmeln ließ. Eine Erfahrung, die bis heute in seinen Träumen wiederkehrt. Mit welchen Gefühlen blickt er zurück?

Portraitbild von Anita Nair, Bangalore © Anita Nair

Anita Nair
Begegnung mit dem Schmuggler

Seit ihrer Kindheit erzählt ihr Vater von seinen Reisen mit einem Zug – auf einer der kürzesten Bahnstrecken Indiens. Doch nie gelingt es der Erzählerin, selbst einmal mit diesem Zug zu fahren. Bis sie schließlich den Auftrag eines Reisejournals bekommt – und ein Trip voller Überraschungen beginnt, der mit der Begegnung mit einem Verbrecher aus Not endet. Soll die Erzählerin ihn anzeigen?

Portraitbild von Marius Ivaškevičius, Vilnius © Marius Ivaškevičius

Marius Ivaškevičius
Wie ich Nationaldichter werden sollte

Eines Tages bekam der Theaterautor Marius Ivaškevičius die Anfrage aus einer ihm unbekannten autonomen Republik in Südsibirien: Er sollte der National-Theaterschriftsteller Chakassiens werden. Er lehnte ab – doch er hatte nicht mit der Hartnäckigkeit der Chakassen gerechnet…

Portraitbild von Itamar Vieira Junior © Itamar Vieira Junior

Itamar Vieira Junior
Almas Weg

Wenig ist bekannt über Alma, die im 18. Jahrhundert eine Gemeinde gegründet hat, in der heute 900 Familien leben. Alma war eine ehemalige Sklavin. Sie ging 400 Kilometer zu Fuß aus der Hauptstadt. Welche Erfahrungen sie auf ihrem Weg machte, welche Gedanken sie beschäftigten, was sie antrieb, imaginiert Itamar Vieira Junior.

Portraitbild von Lapdiang A. Syiem © Lapdiang A. Syiem

Lapdiang A. Syiem
Liebe Mama!

Von ihrer Wohnung aus blickt die Erzählerin auf einen Fluss, einen Friedhof – und eine Straße zwischen beiden; gewissermaßen zwischen Leben und Tod. Sie erzählt von ihrer Mutter, erinnert sich an deren göttinnengleichen Fähigkeiten, an ihre Marotten. Und wendet sich da an ihre „Liebe Mei!“ – ihre „Liebe Mutter“ – um ihr eine Botschaft zwischen Leben und Tod zu senden. 

Portraitbild von Gamel Apalayine © Gamel Apalayine

Gamel Apalayine
Erklimme jeden Berg

Als David 7 Jahre alt ist, sieht er im Fernsehen eine Szene aus dem Hollywood-Klassiker „The Sound of Music“: Eine Nonne singt das Lied „Climb every mountain“, das David von da an begleitet und ihm an einem wichtigen Punkt seines Lebens die Kraft gibt, eine schwierige Entscheidung zu treffen.

Portraitbild von Alissa Ganieva © Alissa Ganieva

Alissa Ganieva
Wie ich mich aus dem Fenster stürzte

In ihrer Schulzeit entdeckte Alissa Ganieva eines Tages eine Art Balkon unterhalb des Fensters ihres Klassenraums. Weil sie erkannte, dass die anderen diesen nie wahrgenommen hatten, wettete sie, sie würde sich aus dem Fenster stürzen. Und sie sprang wirklich, mit anderen Folgen als sie vorausgesehen hatte.

Portraitbild von Jordi Puntí © Jordi Puntí

Jordi Puntí
Der verschlossene Raum

In seiner Studentenzeit mietete Jordi Puntí mit Freunden in Barcelona eine Wohnung. Der Vermieter behielt den Schlüssel zu einem fensterlosen Raum, den die Freunde nicht betreten durften. Die Freunde begannen zu spekulieren: Befand sich eine pornographische Sammlung darin? Fiel da nicht Licht unter der Tür hervor? War es ein Tor zur Hölle? Was war das Geheimnis des verschlossenen Raumes?

Portraitbild von T. C. Boyle, der eine Mütze trägt © T. C. Boyle

T. C. Boyle
Der Bär

Ein Ausflug mit der Familie, ein Haus im Wald. Die marinierten Hühnchen bruzzeln auf dem Lagerfeuer – und locken unerwarteten Besuch an. T. C. Boyle erzählt eine Geschichte mit überraschender Wendung, die zeigt, dass es selbst in den schlimmsten Situationen noch eine Erlösung geben kann.

Portrait von Gali Mir Tibon; sie hat lange Haare und trägt einen grünen Pullover © Gali Mir Tibon

Gali Mir-Tibon
Wie ich meine Mutter verriet

Galis Mutter kam als Waisenkind nach Israel aus der Bukowina, wo sie sich und ihrem Bruder mit ihren Nähkünsten das Überleben gesichert hatte. Das Mädchen schämt sich seiner Mutter, weil diese keine gebürtige Israelin ist. Trotz der Mutters Hilfe besteht Gali den Nähkurs in der Schule nicht.

Igiaba Scego © Igiaba Scego

Igiaba Scego
Eine kurzlebige Utopie

Eindrücke von einer Straße in Rom, die sich völlig von den anderen unterscheidet. Menschen, die nicht hinter materiellen Dingen her sind, die ihren Geschichten in ihren Gedanken folgen und eine Farbe wahrnehmen, die immer wieder zurückkommt ...

Portraitbild von Simon Stranger © Simon Stranger

Simon Stranger
Warten im großen weiten Ozean

Der 19-jährige Simon segelt ein Jahr lang auf einem kleinen Schiff mit einem Freund und dessen Vater durch das Mittelmeer, die französische und spanische Küste entlang. Trotz eines Schiffbruchs, beschließen sie, ohne Motor weiterzumachen, wie in den alten Zeiten.

Herta Müller © Herta Müller

Herta Müller
Füchse gehen in die Falle. Ich gehe nicht in die Falle!

Als Kind in Rumänien sollte Herta Müller einen neuen Wintermantel bekommen. Einen mit Kragen und Manschetten aus Fuchsfell. Beim Aussuchen des Fuchsfells fiel ihr die Ähnlichkeit zwischen Fuchs und Jäger auf. Der Geheimdienst folgte ihr später in ihre Wohnung und hinterließ Zeichen.

Hallgrimur Helgason © Hallgrimur Helgason

Hallgrímur Helgason
Das Steak ist vielleicht übergrillt

Als Bildender Künstler in New York bekommt Hallgrímur Helgason eines Tages Besuch von einem isländischen Landsmann, der sich im Laufe des Abends immer exzessiver betrinkt. Beim Essen kommt es zu einem vielsagenden Fauxpas.

Portraitbild von Sofi Oksanen © Sofi Oksanen

Sofi Oksanen
Wo eine bessere Zukunft entworfen wurde

Sofi Oksanen erzählt von einem Ort, an dem zu Zeiten der Sowjetunion – unbeobachtet vom Staat – ein freier Gedankenaustausch gedeihen konnte. Ein Ort, an dem jahrzehntelang Träume und Hoffnungen bewahrt wurden und seit Generationen eine einzigartige Kunst gepflegt wird ...

Portraitbild von Shamin Chibba © Shamin Chibba

Shamin Chibba
Vali

Shamin Chibba erzählt die Lebensgeschichte seiner Großmutter. Dabei fließen Gegenwart und Vergangenheit ineinander: Erinnerungen an ein hartes Leben, an politische Ereignisse in Indien, Schicksalsschläge genau wie Alltagserlebnisse… Momente eines Lebens.

Jeaninne Masika Harrysson © Jeaninne Masika Harrysson

Jeaninne Masika Harrysson
Nimm meine Geschichte!

Gegen die Angst und das Gefühl der Einsamkeit, das sich in diesen Zeiten einschleicht, handeln die Worte in diesem poetischen Text, der mit den Zeilen schließt: „… so entsteht Liebe“.

Portraitbild von Ken Follett © Ken Follett

Ken Follett
Die 99. Frau

Katharina wird von ihrem Vater, dem Zar, an den Sultan verheiratet. Sie ist seine 99. Ehefrau und direkt nach ihrer Hochzeit vergisst er sie. Bei einer Disko, die der Sultan veranstaltet, werden den Musikern die Augen verbunden. Da verrutscht die Augenbinde des gutaussehenden Gitarristen und die Geschichte nimmt ihren Lauf...

Portraitbild von Bae Suah © Bae Suah

Bae Suah
Wie Panther in leeren Straßen

Bae Suah hat ein Schreibstipendium in Marokko. Doch ihr Aufenthalt nahm unerwartete Formen führte zu neuen Eindrücken – und zum Anblick von Katzen, die wie Panther durch leere Straßen streifen, mit Gesichtern, die wirken, als seien sie verkleidete Propheten. 

Bild von Pavlina Marvin im Wald © Pavlina Marvin

Pavlina Marvin
Ein Mantel mit all seinen Blumen

Pavlina Marvin erzählt von Irini, einer Freundin, die ihr in Studienzeiten einen geblümten Mantel geschenkt hat, den sie bis heute trägt und auf dem noch alle Blumen vorhanden sind. Als sich die beiden jüngst in Athen treffen wollten, kam Irini nicht – sie kümmerte sich um einen Inder, der aufgrund der Pandemie seinen Job verloren hatte und so in große Not geriet.

Bild von Michal Hvorecký vor einem Bücherregal © Michal Hvorecký

Michal Hvorecký
Haben Sie Bücher meines Großvaters?

Der Schriftsteller und Übersetzer Michal Hvorecký arbeitet in einer Bibliothek in Bratislava, in die eines Tages ein Herr kam und sich als Enkel eines weltbekannten Schriftstellers ausgab. Diese Begegnung sollte Folgen haben.

Bild von Steinunn Sigurðadottir vor einem Gemälde © Steinunn Sigurðadottir

Steinunn Sigurðadottir
Ein Geschenk des Großvaters

Die Geschichte von Steinunn Sigurðadottir beginnt am Fuße von Europas größtem Gletscher Vatnajökull. Im Jahre 1910 wurde dort eine Magd schwanger – vom Hausherren, weshalb sie, wie es leider üblich war, den Hof verlassen musste. Sie ging nach Reykjavík, zu Fuß, was damals 7 Tage lang dauerte.
So beginnt eine Reise durch die Jahrzehnte, an deren Ende Steinunns Lebensgeschichte anfängt. Und eine Geste der Großzügigkeit und Herzensgüte offenbart wird.

Umsetzung: Thomas Böhm (Texte, Redaktion und Konzeption), Dr. Anne-Bitt Gerecke, Martin Bach, Marie Kiewe (Redaktion und Konzeption), Marcus Sporkmann (Videoredaktion) und Eliphas Nyamogo (Redaktion)

Partner

Buchstaben, die Radio Eins rbb zeigen

Top