Books first

A special programme from the Goethe-Institut in 2018 and 2019 for bringing German-language literature to English-speaking readers.

Books First © Sebastian Huber / Goethe-Institut The Year of German-American Friendship Wunderbar Together began in the USA in the autumn of 2018 and ended in 2019 – a good opportunity to raise awareness of German-language literature in the English-speaking world. For a whole year a comprehensive picture of Germany was painted by many different activities in the areas of culture, business, academia and politics.

To this end, the branches of the Goethe-Institut in the USA are developed diverse and innovative programmes in all cultural domains. Naturally, showcasing contemporary German-language literature also played an important role in this context. As a part of the BOOKS FIRST programme, various events featuring German-speaking authors were staged at different places around the USA in 2019.

Furthermore, a total of 21 titles of contemporary German-language literature was supported with a special financial grant during the runtime of BOOKS FIRST. An overview of all supported works can be found here.

Specifically designed readers offered fascinating insights into new literary publications. The readers provide background information on carefully chosen books from all kinds of genres, and also provide extracts in English by way of a sneak preview. As of now, the rights to the books presented there have not all been sold yet, but we can only recommend that they be translated.
 

GuaranteeD translation grant: Extension


We guarantee a translation grant for the works presented in the readers beyond the end of 2019. Interested English-language publishers can apply here for support at any time.

Up to 50% of the translation cost will be covered, based on a translation fee of 35 euro per standard page (one standard page contains 1,800 characters, including spaces, or 30 lines of 60 characters each). In the case of graphic novels, a lump sum of 1,000 euro is paid in addition to the translation costs to cover the costs of lettering.

The translation grant is open to all English-language publishers.

Books first

Ein spezielles Programm des Goethe-Instituts zur Vermittlung deutschsprachiger Literatur ins Englische im Jahr 2018 und 2019.

Books First © Sebastian Huber / Goethe-Institut Von Herbst 2018 bis Ende 2019 fand in den USA das Deutschlandjahr statt, eine gute Gelegenheit, deutschsprachiger Literatur im englischen Sprachraum zu mehr Bekanntheit zu verhelfen. Über ein Jahr lang vermittelten unterschiedlichste Aktivitäten aus Kultur, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Politik ein vielfältiges Bild von Deutschland.

Die Goethe-Institute in den USA präsentierten dazu abwechslungsreiche und innovative Programme aus allen Bereichen der Kultur. Auch die Vermittlung von aktueller deutschsprachiger Literatur spielte dabei natürlich eine wichtige Rolle. Im Rahmen von BOOKS FIRST fanden daher im Laufe des Jahres 2019 über 40 verschiedene Veranstaltungenmit deutschsprachigen Autor*innen an unterschiedlichen Orten der USA statt.

Während der knapp zweijährigen Laufzeit von BOOKS FIRST wurden insgesamt 21 Titel der aktuellen deutschsprachigen Literatur mit einer speziellen Förderung unterstützt. Einen Überblick der geförderten Titel finden sie hier.
 
Interessante Einblicke in literarische Neuerscheinungen gaben außerdem  die eigens für das Projekt konzipierten Reader: Sie enthalten Hintergrundinformationen und englische Leseproben für ausgewählte Titel ganz unterschiedlicher Genres. Noch nicht alle Rechte der dort vorgestellten Bücher sind bislang verkauft und wir können eine Übersetzung ins Englische nur empfehlen.
 

Garantierte Übersetzungsförderung: verlängerung

Auch über 2019 hinaus garantieren wir eine Übersetzungsförderung für die im Readervorgestellten Titel. Interessierte englischsprachige Verlage können sich hier für eine Unterstützung bewerben.

Es werden bis zu 50 % der Übersetzungskosten übernommen, beruhend auf der Berechnungsgrundlage von 35 Euro pro Standardseite (eine Standardseite entspricht 1.800 Zeichen inkl. Leerzeichen oder 30 Zeilen à 60 Zeichen). Graphic Novels erhalten zusätzlich zu den Übersetzungskosten einen Pauschalbetrag von 1000 Euro für das Lettering.

Die Förderung ist für alle englischsprachigen Verlage offen.