Reader
Books First

With more than 10,000 new works published each year, it is not easy to keep track of what is happening on the book markets in Germany, Austria and Switzerland. The idea of BOOKS FIRST is to give the English-speaking publishing industry and other interested readers some initial orientation so that they can then discover some of the fascinating writers and exciting works for themselves.

Books First Fiction Readers © Sebastian Huber / Goethe-Institut From the suggestions we have received from numerous publishers, a jury of literary experts has picked its favourites: books whose literary quality impressed us and that we believe will also appeal to an international readership.

Our three readers published here in the genres fiction, comic/graphic novel as well as children and young adults give an initial yet informative impression of new German-language publications that are well worth discovering. As well as providing a review and information about the authors, the readers also include English samples from the books.

As yet, the licences to these works have not been sold to the English-speaking world. For English-language publishers interested in publishing the books in English, we offer a guaranteed translation grant within the framework of the BOOKS FIRST program.

The Fiction Reader

Download our reader here:

The Comic/GRAPHIC NOVEL Reader

Download our reader here:

The Children/Young Adults Reader

Download our reader here:

Hard Copies

Printed copies of the readers can be ordered free of charge via:

booksfirst@goethe.de

Our Jury

The selection of books featured in this reader was carefully chosen by a jury composed of Goethe-Institut staff from Munich, Berlin, and New York City, colleagues from the Swiss cultural foundation Pro Helvetia as well as external experts on literature.

Our special thanks for their advice goes to:

Fiction: Kristina Maidt-Zinke, literary critic and cultural journalist

Comic/Graphic Novel: Elizabeth "Biz" Nijdam, Germanist and comics/media studies scholar

Children's & Young Adult Literature: Michael Schmitt, literary critic and cultural Journalist and Kendra Marcus, founder of BookStop Literary Agency

Reader
Books First

Über 10.000 Neuerscheinungen pro Jahr machen es schwer, den Überblick über die Buchmärkte in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz zu behalten. Daher wollen wir dem englischsprachigen Fachpublikum ebenso wie allen anderen interessierten Leser*innen mit BOOKS FIRST eine erste Orientierungshilfe bieten, um auf eigene Faust faszinierende literarische Stimmen und spannende Stoffe zu entdecken.

Books First Belletristik-Reader © Sebastian Huber / Goethe-Institut Zahlreiche Verlage haben uns Titelvorschläge gemacht und eine Jury von  Literaturexpert*innen hat daraus ihre Favoriten ausgewählt: Diese Titel haben uns durch ihre literarische Qualität überzeugt und wir glauben, dass sie auch ein internationales Publikum begeistern werden.

Unsere drei hier veröffentlichten Readers zu den Genres Belletristik, Comic/Graphic Novel sowie Kinder- und Jugendbuch vermitteln einen ersten, aber aufschlussreichen Eindruck von entdeckenswerten deutschsprachigen Neuerscheinungen. Neben einer Rezension und Informationen zu den Autor*innen finden Sie in den Readern auch englische Leseproben aus den vorgestellten Büchern.

Bislang sind die Lizenzen dieser Werke noch nicht in den englischsprachigen Raum verkauft worden. Bei Interesse an einer Veröffentlichung auf Englisch bieten wir englischsprachigen Verlagen eine garantierte Übersetzungsförderung im Rahmen von BOOKS FIRST an.

Diese Förderung wird unterstützt von Pro Helvetia.

Der Belletristrik-Reader

Laden Sie den Reader hier herunter:

Der COMIC/GRAPHIC-NOVEL-Reader

Laden Sie den Reader hier herunter:

Der Kinder-und-jugendbuch-Reader

Laden Sie den Reader hier herunter:

Printversion

Gebundene Printausgaben der Reader können kostenlos per E-Mail bestellt werden:

booksfirst@goethe.de

Unsere Jury

Die vorgestellten Titel werden von Mitarbeiter*innen des Literatur- und Übersetzungsbereichs und des Goethe-Instituts New York, der Schweizer Kulturstiftung Pro Helvetia sowie externen Literaturexpert*innen ausgewählt.

Besonderer Dank für die fachliche Beratung geht an:

Belletristik: Kristina Maidt-Zinke, Literaturkritikerin und Kulturjournalistin

Comic/Graphic Novel: Elizabeth "Biz" Nijdam, Germanistin und Medienwissenschaftlerin

Kinder- und Jugendbuch: Michael Schmitt, Literaturkritiker und Kulturjournalist und Kendra Marcus, Leiterin der US-amerikanischen Agentur BookStop Literary Agency