Freedom of the Press “Self-censorship” in German Editorial Offices

Newspapers

Censorship of the press is not permitted under Germany’s Basic Law. Nonetheless, journalists have imposed ethical standards on themselves in the form of the German Press Code. In everyday journalistic work, conflicts repeatedly arise for which this set of regulations is unable to supply any unequivocal answer, meaning that editors frequently have to come up with solutions themselves.

A defendant jumps up during the trial and shoots first at the judge with a revolver, but misses. He then fires three bullets at the prosecutor, wounding him so seriously that the man dies on the way to hospital. This eleventh of January 2012 is a day that provokes outrage in Dachau District Court and the entire area of greater Munich.

A grey area in terms of press ethics

The next day, the incident features in local newspapers, and the surviving judge is named. Sueddeutsche.de editor-in-chief Stefan Plöchinger and his team are also going to report the story. They have to decide whether to publish the judge’s name in full on the Internet or merely to release an abbreviated form – something of a grey area in terms of press ethics.

If the judge is viewed as a well-known local figure, it is legitimate to name him, and this is how several local newspapers decided to deal with the matter. It can be argued that the archives of small local newspapers are not immediately accessible to everyone, meaning that the judge’s right to privacy was maintained beyond the sphere in which he was known to many people in any case. Sueddeutsche.de, on the other hand, has considerable reach in Germany and can be read online anywhere in the world. According to the Press Code, “(…) persons involved in the work of the judiciary, such as judges, prosecutors, lawyers, experts” should not as a rule be identified in the press “when they are acting in a professional capacity”.

Plöchinger wants to protect the judge’s identity, and he and his colleagues decide only to publish his name in abbreviated form. “The Internet does not constitute a local and temporary public sphere, but one that is unlimited in terms of space and time”, explains Plöchinger.

Challenges for digital journalism

Although the basic principles of the Press Code also apply to digital journalism, it is necessary “to adapt the regulations to the specific sphere of one’s own medium”, says Plöchinger.

The original version of the Press Code dates back to 1973. It enshrines the basic journalistic principles laid down by the German Press Council, which essentially include showing respect for the truth, preserving human dignity and supplying accurate information to the public, as well as due diligence. In upholding these principles, the Press Council invites the general public to file complaints about reporting in the press – anyone is entitled to complain.

The principles also include the obligation of the press to respect people’s privacy, not to use dishonest means of procuring information, and not to feature inappropriate brutality in its reporting.

The Press Code provides a guiding framework within which editors can design their own rules for self-censorship. The way in which the regulations are perceived, and their urgency, can differ depending on the particular case and medium. The way privacy is perceived, for instance, is increasingly changing because the Internet is available everywhere. As Plöchinger explains, every medium on the Internet and thus every person who is mentioned there is potentially global. “Just because other local media do not take this into account on the Internet does not release me from my responsibility – quite the contrary. Some readers will thank us for our reserve, and we will be thankful that we have such readers.”

Part and parcel of adapting to the Internet era also involves explaining delicate matters to readers, as Sueddeutsche.de did when the Norwegian Anders Behring Breivik killed 77 people in Oslo and Utøya in July 2011. Following lengthy internal debate, the editorial team decided to show photographs of Breivik, accompanying them with detailed explanations on the SZblog editorial blog.

Authors must take the first moral decision themselves

Whether an editorial office decides against publishing certain information depends not least on the way it perceives its own moral obligations and the orientation of its medium, as a look further north reveals: “We printed Behring Breivik’s photograph just once and then never again”, says Lars Haider, editor-in-chief at Hamburger Abendblatt. “We did not wish to provide the man with a forum.”

A major North German regional newspaper, Hamburger Abendblatt has always styled itself as a family newspaper. “We generally publish no photos of criminals or their victims, and in any case would have to obscure their identities by pixelating the image”, says Lars Haider.

When handling sensitive issues, Haider’s approach is determined by a handy rule of thumb: “Always consider whether you would wish to read the article if it were about you.”

In case of doubt, says Stefan Plöchinger, one can after all always fall back on that tried-and-tested method: choosing not to publish.

Pressekodex „Selbstzensur“ in deutschen Redaktionen

Zeitungen

Die Zensur der Presse ist per Grundgesetz verboten. Doch haben sich Journalisten mit dem Pressekodex selbst ethische Normen auferlegt. Weil im Redaktionsalltag immer wieder Konflikte entstehen, auf die das Regelwerk keine eindeutige Antwort liefert, müssen die Redaktionen häufig selbst abwägen.

Ein Angeklagter springt während der Verhandlung auf und feuert aus einem Revolver zuerst auf den Richter, verfehlt ihn aber. Dann zielt er auf den Staatsanwalt und verletzt ihn mit drei Kugeln so schwer, dass dieser noch auf dem Weg ins Krankenhaus stirbt. Der 11. Januar 2012 ist ein Tag, der Entsetzen im Amtsgericht Dachau und dem gesamten Münchener Umland auslöst.

Eine presseethische Grauzone

Am nächsten Tag berichten Lokalzeitungen von der Tat und nennen den überlebenden Richter mit vollständigem Namen. Auch Sueddeutsche.de-Chefredakteur Stefan Plöchinger und seine Redaktion wollen über den Vorfall schreiben. Sie müssen abwägen: den vollständigen Namen des Richters im Internet verbreiten oder ihn lediglich gekürzt veröffentlichen. Damit betritt die Redaktion eine presseethische Grauzone.

Bezieht man sich auf den Richter als Lokalprominenz, ist es legitim, den Namen zu nennen. So handhabten es in diesem Fall diverse Lokalausgaben. Man kann argumentieren, dass die Archive kleiner Lokalzeitungen nicht für jeden sofort einsehbar sind, und die Privatsphäre des Mannes über den Bereich, in dem er ohnehin einer breiten Öffentlichkeit bekannt war, gewahrt wurde. Sueddeutsche.de hat jedoch eine hohe Reichweite in Deutschland und ist weltweit einsehbar. Der Presskodex besagt, dass über „(…) Personen, die an der Rechtspflege beteiligt sind, wie beispielsweise Richter, Staatsanwälte, Rechtsanwälte, Sachverständige“ in der Regel nicht identifizierend berichtet werden darf, „wenn sie ihre Funktion ausüben“.

Plöchinger will die Identität des Richters schützen. Er und seine Kollegen entscheiden, den Namen lediglich abgekürzt zu veröffentlichen. „Im Netz stellt man keine lokale, zeitlich begrenzte Öffentlichkeit her, sondern eine räumlich und zeitlich unbegrenzte“, sagt Plöchinger.

Herausforderungen für den digitalen Journalismus

Zwar würden die Grundprinzipien des Pressekodex auch für den digitalen Journalismus gelten, doch müsse man „die Regeln für den konkreten Raum des eigenen Mediums anpassen“, so Plöchinger.

Die Grundfassung des Pressekodex stammt von 1973. Er enthält die vom Deutschen Presserat festgelegten publizistischen Grundsätze, zu denen im Wesentlichen die Achtung vor der Wahrheit, die Wahrung der Menschenwürde, die wahrhaftige Unterrichtung der Öffentlichkeit sowie die Sorgfaltspflicht zählen. Bei der Wahrung der Grundsätze nimmt der Presserat Beschwerden von Bürgern zur Berichterstattung in der Presse entgegen – jeder kann sich beschweren.

Zu den Grundsätzen gehört ebenso, dass die Privatsphäre geachtet wird, keine unlauteren Methoden zur Informationsbeschaffung angewendet werden und auf unangemessene Brutalität in der Berichterstattung verzichtet wird.

Der Pressekodex liefert einen Rahmen der Orientierung, entlang dessen Redaktionen Selbstzensur gestalten. Je nach Fall und Medium kann sich die Wahrnehmung und Dringlichkeit der Regeln ändern. Wie beispielsweise Privatsphäre wahrgenommen wird, ändert sich zunehmend durch die ortsunabhängige Verfügbarkeit des Internets. Dort sei jedes Medium und damit jede erwähnte Person potenziell global, so Plöchinger. „Wenn andere Lokalmedien im Netz keine Rücksicht darauf nehmen, entbindet mich das nicht von meiner Verantwortung, im Gegenteil. Manche Leser werden uns die Zurückhaltung danken, und wir werden danken, dass wir solche Leser haben.“

Zur Anpassung an die Möglichkeiten des Internets gehört es auch, sich in heiklen Fällen den Lesern gegenüber zu erklären. So geschehen bei Sueddeutsche.de im Fall des norwegischen Attentäters Anders Behring Breivik, der im Juli 2011 die Anschläge von Oslo und Utøya mit 77 Toten verübte. Die Redaktion entschloss sich nach langen internen Debatten, Fotos von Breivik zu zeigen und erläutert dies ausführlich in dem Redaktionsblog SZblog.

Die Moral beginnt beim Autor selbst

Ob sich eine Redaktion gegen die Veröffentlichung von Informationen entscheidet, liegt nicht zuletzt an ihrem moralischen Selbstverständnis und der Ausrichtung ihres Mediums, wie ein Blick in den Norden zeigt: „Wir haben das Foto von Behring Breivik einmal abgedruckt und dann nie wieder“, sagt Lars Haider, Chefredakteur beim Hamburger Abendblatt. „Wir wollten dem Mann kein Forum bieten.“

Die große norddeutsche Regionalzeitung versteht sich seit jeher als Zeitung für Familien. „Wir drucken generell keine Fotos von Kriminalopfern oder Tätern, die wir ohnehin durch Verpixeln unkenntlich machen müssten“, sagt der Abendblatt-Chef.

Als handlungsleitende Maxime im Umgang mit heiklen Themen arbeite er, so Haider, mit einer griffigen Formel: „Überlege dir immer, ob du das Geschriebene auch über dich lesen wollen würdest.“

Wenn Zweifel bleiben, könne man schließlich immer noch zum bewährten Mittel greifen: auf die Veröffentlichung verzichten, sagt Stefan Plöchinger.