The German Press Council Voluntary self-regulation of the media

Protection of the private and personal sphere
Protection of the private and personal sphere | Photo (detail): © Bernd Kasper / pixelio.de

Since 1956 the German Press Council has advised and supported the work of journalists. How does the self-regulation of the media work and how important is it today? An interview with Lutz Tillmanns, Executive Director of the German Press Council.

Mr Tillmanns, the German Press Council was founded in 1956 as an institution for voluntary self-regulation so to prevent the then-planned Federal Press Law. Since then, it brokers questions of journalistic ethics. What do you do exactly?

We have two functions essentially. For one, we defend the freedom of the press by accompanying proposed legislation on this issue in Berlin. Secondly, we look after the reputation of the press. Our central task is to provide guidelines and recommendations for journalistic work and to review complaints from the reading public.

Your most important instrument is the Press Code, which formulates the ethical principles for the conduct of journalists and publishers.

The Press Code was developed in the early 1970s. Its guidelines reflect professional experience, which is of course changing. It is a practice-oriented regulatory framework and so must always be updated.

Revision of the Press Code

Recently, in June 2013, number 8 of the code, which concerns the protection of the private and personal spheres, was revised. Why did this become necessary?

The Press Code was originally formulated for classical print media. We’ve been observing online journalism very closely in recent years and consider it now appropriate to revise the code accordingly. The process of amendment began with number 8: with the treatment of privacy in the use of social media and questions of personal rights in crime reporting. These issues have also been the subject of recent rulings by the Federal Constitutional Court and the European Court of Human Rights, which we wanted to take into account.

What further issues will be objects of amendment?

It will concern questions of classical online publications – forum posts and blogs – and questions of the integration of social networks. Take the example of forum posts. It makes a difference whether there are editors moderating forums or not, and how much they intervene. In addition, it’s now open how to handle the authentication of forum contributions. Here there are significant differences from print media, where letters are published only under the writer’s real name. In the case of digital letters, it will probably be a question of a nickname designation. Another question is how editors can make texts that come from outside – we call them “user-generated” – identifiable as such.

How is the Press Council financed?

We’re financed by the Federal Association of German Newspaper Publishers, the Association of German Magazine Publishers, the German Association of Journalists and the German Journalists Union. We also receive a subsidy from the federal government, which covers about a third of our budget. But the federal government has no right of co-determination.

Instruments of self-regulation

The Press Council relies on self-regulation. The worst thing that can happen for editors is to get a public reprimand …

Yes, and that’s a very effective instrument. A public reprimand is a form of scolding from colleagues. Of course, every publisher treats such a criticism differently. Some take it easily in stride, but others take it very, very seriously.

In principle, every citizen can make complaints to you about publications in the German press. What is the current number of complaints?

In 2013 there were about 1,400 complaints. It was about the same number in the last years. In comparison with the total journalistic production in Germany, this quite low.

Throughout history there have always been publications that straightaway produced a vast number of complaints – for instance, the publication in 2006 of the Mohammed cartoons in the magazine Die Welt and the Pope cover of the satirical magazine Titanic 2012. In 2013 there weren’t any such great debates. But can nevertheless think of a few examples for us?

Most complaints have to do with violations of the general duty to exercise due care and attention, with the imperative to tell the truth. A lot of complaints concern personal rights. They are followed in the ranking by complaints about the lack of separation between editorial content and advertising; and finally there are still cases about discrimination or sensationalistic reporting.

In early December 2013, for example, there was a public reprimand of the Leipziger Volkszeitung because a political commentary published there about neo-Nazis and leftist anti-Fascists spoke of “brown and red scum”. To call human beings “scum” constituted in the view of our grievance committee a violation of human dignity.

Deutscher Presserat Freiwillige Selbstkontrolle der Medien

Schutz der Privatsphäre

Seit 1956 begleitet der Deutsche Presserat die Arbeit der Journalisten. Wie funktioniert die Selbstkontrolle der Medien, und wie bedeutsam ist sie in der heutigen Zeit? Ein Gespräch mit Lutz Tillmanns, Geschäftsführer des Presserats.

Herr Tillmanns, der Presserat wurde 1956 als Institution der freiwilligen Selbstkontrolle gegründet, um ein damals geplantes Bundespressegesetz zu verhindern. Seither verhandelt er Fragen der journalistischen Ethik. Was machen Sie konkret?

Wir haben im Wesentlichen zwei Aufgaben. Zum einen verteidigen wir die Pressefreiheit, indem wir in Berlin Gesetzesvorhaben zu dieser Frage begleiten. Zum anderen kümmern wir uns um das Ansehen der Presse. Zentrale Aufgaben sind hier, Richtlinien und Empfehlungen für die publizistische Arbeit zu geben sowie Beschwerden aus der Leserschaft zu prüfen.

Ihr wichtigstes Instrument ist der Pressekodex, der ethische Grundsätze für das Verhalten von Journalisten und Verlegern formuliert.

Dieser Pressekodex wurde Anfang der 1970er-Jahre erarbeitet. Die Richtlinien reflektieren die berufliche Erfahrung, die natürlich im Wandel begriffen ist. So muss dieses an der Praxis orientierte Regelwerk immer wieder aktualisiert werden.

Neufassung des Pressekodexes

Zuletzt wurde im Juni 2013 die Ziffer acht überarbeitet, wo es um den Schutz der Privatsphäre und der Persönlichkeit geht. Warum ist das notwendig geworden?

Der Pressekodex ist ja ursprünglich auf die klassischen Printmedien hin formuliert worden. Wir beobachten den Online-Journalismus in den letzten Jahren sehr genau und halten es jetzt für angezeigt, den Kodex dahingehend zu überarbeiten. Wir haben bei diesem Novellierungsprozess mit der Ziffer acht angefangen: Hier geht es um den Umgang mit Privatheit bei der Nutzung der sozialen Medien und Fragen des Persönlichkeitsrechts bei der Kriminalberichterstattung. Zu diesen Fragen gab es in der letzten Zeit auch Gerichtsurteile beim Bundesverfassungsgericht und beim Europäischen Gerichtshof für Menschenrechte, die wir berücksichtigen möchten.

Mit welchen Fragen geht es bei der Novellierung dann weiter?

Es wird um Fragen der klassischen Online-Publikationen – mit Forenbeiträgen und Blogs – gehen sowie um Fragen zur Einbindung von sozialen Netzwerken. Nehmen Sie das Beispiel Foreneinträge. Es macht einen Unterschied, ob Redaktionen solche Forenstimmen moderieren oder nicht, und wie stark sie redaktionell eingreifen. Daneben ist offen, wie man die Authentifizierung von Forenbeiträgen handhabt. Da gibt es deutliche Unterschiede zu den Printmedien, wo Leserbriefe ja überhaupt nur unter Nennung des Klarnamens veröffentlicht werden. Bei den digitalen Leserbriefen wird es wohl eher auf eine Nickname-Kennzeichnung hinauslaufen. Eine andere Frage ist: Wie mache ich als Redaktion Texte, die von außen kommen – wir nennen sie „user-generated“ – kenntlich?

Wie finanziert sich der Presserat?

Wir werden als Verein vom Bundesverband der Deutschen Zeitungsverleger und dem Verband Deutscher Zeitschriftenverleger sowie vom Deutschen Journalistenverband und der Deutschen Journalistinnen- und Journalistenunion getragen. Zudem erhalten wir einen Zuschuss vom Bund, der etwa ein Drittel unseres Etats umfasst. Allerdings hat der Bund keinerlei Mitbestimmungsrechte.

Instrumente der Selbstregulierung

Der Presserat setzt auf freiwillige Selbstkontrolle. Das Schlimmste, was den Redaktionen passieren kann, ist eine öffentliche Rüge …

Ja, und das ist ein sehr wirksames Mittel. Eine öffentliche Rüge ist ja eine Form der Kollegenschelte. Natürlich geht jedes Haus anders mit einer solchen Kritik um. Einige stecken eine solche Rüge locker weg, aber viele nehmen sie sehr, sehr ernst.

Grundsätzlich kann sich jeder Bürger bei Ihnen über Veröffentlichungen in der deutschen Presse beschweren. Wie hoch ist die Zahl der Beschwerden aktuell?

2013 lag sie bei etwa 1.400 Beschwerden. Das ist auch in etwa das Niveau der letzten Jahre. Bezieht man diese Zahl auf die gesamte publizistische Produktion in Deutschland, ist sie recht niedrig.

Im Laufe der Geschichte gab es immer wieder Veröffentlichungen, die gleich eine Vielzahl von Beschwerden hervorgebracht haben – dazu gehörte etwa 2006 die Publikation der Mohammed-Karikaturen in der Zeitschrift „Die Welt“ und 2012 das Papst-Cover des Satire-Magazins „Titanic“. 2013 blieben solche großen Debatten aus. Haben Sie dennoch ein paar Beispiele für uns?

Die meisten Beschwerden befassen sich mit Verletzungen der allgemeinen Sorgfaltspflicht, mit dem Wahrheitsgebot. Ein großer Teil der Beschwerden betrifft die Persönlichkeitsrechte. Dann folgen in der Rangliste Beschwerden über die fehlende Trennung von Redaktion und Werbung, und schließlich sind da noch Fälle, in denen es um Diskriminierung oder sensationelle Berichterstattung geht.

Anfang Dezember 2013 gab es etwa eine öffentliche Rüge für die Leipziger Volkszeitung, weil dort in einem politischen Kommentar über Kundgebungen der rechtsextremen Partei NPD und linker „Antifa“ von „braunem und rotem Abschaum“ die Rede war. Doch Menschen als „Abschaum“ zu bezeichnen, verletzt nach Ansicht unseres Beschwerdeausschusses die Menschenwürde.