„sprengsatz“-Weblog From Niche Phenomenon to Successful Blog

Michael H. Spreng and his blog “sprengsatz”
Michael H. Spreng and his blog “sprengsatz” | Photo (detail): Peter Garbet © iStockphoto

There are no photostream widgets or visual knick-knacks. Journalist and political expert Michael H. Spreng’s blog “sprengsatz” (explosive) takes a refreshingly purist approach. He wields a sharp pen in his analysis of political events in Berlin.

Herr Spreng, an article in the “Süddeutsche Zeitung” refers to you as a “voice reading in a blogosphere otherwise short of smart political thinkers”. What do you hope to achieve through your political blog “sprengsatz”? Nomen est omen?

The name was an obvious choice and attracts attention. I aim to analyse Berlin politics for people who are interested in the subject, and to make it comprehensible and transparent. What is politics and what is stage management, what is to be taken seriously and what is electioneering? And I also aim to give one or two colleagues food for thought. This sometimes works, as demonstrated by the frequent quotations from sprengsatz in other media.

In your view, what is the significance of weblogs in Germany?

They could be more significant. But they put the spotlight on politics, can prompt discussion, put subjects on the agenda and coin phrases. In my case, for example, the expressions “Schwarmfeigheit” (cowardice of the masses) to refer to anonymous revelations on the Internet and “Missfelderisierung” (Missfelderization, after the CDU Bundestag deputy, Philipp Missfelder) to refer to the new generation of superficial, conformist young politicians who are existentially dependent on politics. Or the suggestion that the political situation in Lower Saxony be referred to as “Erbfreundschaft” (long-standing friendship between big companies and political parties) – a term that has caught on.

Why is it that the development of blogs in Germany is lagging behind the United States and other European countries? It can’t have anything to do with a lack of fast broadband Internet connections. Are we a developing country when it comes to blogging?

Blogs do not earn you a living. Many people are put off because blogs only incur costs and do not generate any income. And in Germany, there is no equivalent of the Huffington Post with high-quality content.

From grass-roots journalism to the much-cited “virtual counter-reality”: to what extent do blogs influence or have blogs influenced the traditional media?

As I have said, the best they can do is to put subjects on the media agenda or the political agenda. So far, the only ones to have had any real impact are the Wikipedia platforms like GuttenPlag, which cost Defence Minister Karl-Theodor zu Guttenberg his job and have destroyed other politicians’ careers.

What dangers are there in blogging?

None, if you deal with subjects responsibly in terms of the language and contents. It is the commentaries on articles that can be dangerous. A lot of radical right and left-wingers and crackpots give their opinions anonymously. That is why the only commentaries I put in my blog are ones I have checked to see if they may be subject to criminal law or are grossly disparaging. It is also a financial risk for blogs when the courts treat them like powerful media conglomerates and impose all the costs of a counterstatement and a cease-and-desist on them. That can put a blog out of business.

How in your view has journalism changed as a result of weblogs? Is it realistic to believe, as is often predicted, that printed newspapers will one day disappear? Is “netizen journalism“ the journalism of the future?

Yes and no. The greater danger is from what the media offer online free of charge. We will only have a more powerful blog scene in Germany when blogs can be refinanced. The good newspapers that offer added value with their clever analyses and commentaries, their brilliantly written reports and revelatory stories, will survive.

One last question, how would you like your blog to develop and what are your plans?

Since my blog is my hobby, I will continue to try to reach as many users as possible with my views and analysis and the anecdotes. At the moment, the website has between 170,000 and 200,000 visits a month. And at some point I will have to try to raise some income through advertising. I do not have any other plans. sprengsatz is to remain a purist blog for readers who do not want any photostream widgets or visual knick-knacks.

Michael H. Spreng, was born in 1948. He is one of Germany’s best-known and polemical journalists. From 1989 to 2000, he was editor-in-chief of Bild am Sonntag. Until the end of 2008, he was a political columnist for newspapers including the Hamburger Abendblatt. In an interview with the Süddeutsche Zeitung, he referred to his activity as Edmund Stoiber’s election campaign manager during the Bundestag election campaign in 2002 as a “unique adventure holiday”. Today, he works as a media and communications consultant and is a frequent talk-show guest.

In 2009, Spreng became a blogger. In his frequently-visited weblog sprengsatz, he comments on and analyses current events in Berlin politics. His articles Schwarm-Intelligenz und Schwarm-Feigheit and Die Jäger müssen sich stellen, in which he takes a critical look at cases of plagiarism and anonymous plagiarist hunters, attracted particular attention. He sees his blog as the “extended workbench of his journalistic pleasure in writing, analysing and commenting”.

„sprengsatz“-Weblog Von der Nischenveranstaltung zum erfolgreichen Blog

Michael H. Spreng und sein Blog „sprengsatz“
Michael H. Spreng und sein Blog „sprengsatz“ | Foto (Ausschnitt): Peter Garbet © iStockphoto

Keine Foto-Klickstrecken oder grafischen Spielereien. „sprengsatz“, das Blog des Journalisten und Politikverstehers Michael H. Spreng, kommt erfrischend puristisch daher. Mit spitzer Feder analysiert er das Berliner Politikgeschehen.

Herr Spreng, in einem Artikel in der „Süddeutschen Zeitung“ wurden Sie als „lesenswerte Stimme in einer ansonsten an politischen Köpfen eher armen Blogosphäre“ bezeichnet. Was möchten Sie mit Ihrem Politik-Blog „sprengsatz“ bewirken? Ist der Name da schon Programm?

Der Name bot sich an und erzeugt Aufmerksamkeit. Ich möchte für politisch Interessierte die Berliner Politik analysieren, verständlich und durchschaubar machen: Was ist Politik und was ist Inszenierung, was ist ernst zu nehmen und was ist Wahlkampf? Und ich will dem einen oder anderen Kollegen Denkanstöße geben. Dass dies gelegentlich gelingt, beweisen die häufigen Zitate aus dem sprengsatz in anderen Medien.

Welche Bedeutung haben Weblogs Ihrer Meinung nach in Deutschland?

Die Bedeutung ist noch ausbaufähig. Aber sie strahlen auf die Politik ab, können Diskussionen anregen und Themen auf die Agenda setzen, Begriffe prägen. In meinem Fall zum Beispiel die Begriffe „Schwarmfeigheit“ für anonyme Enthüllungen im Internet und „Mißfelderisierung“ für die neue Generation flacher, angepasster und von der Politik existenziell abhängiger Jungpolitiker. Oder die Anregung, die politischen Verhältnisse in Niedersachsen als „Erbfreundschaft“ zu bezeichnen – ein Begriff, der sich durchgesetzt hat.

Wie kommt es, dass hierzulande die Entwicklung von Blogs – im Gegensatz zu den Vereinigten Staaten und auch anderen Ländern in Europa – immer noch hinterherhinkt? An fehlenden schnellen Breitband-Internetverbindungen kann es ja nicht liegen. Sind wir denn ein Blog-Entwicklungsland?

Blogs sind eine brotlose Kunst. Viele schrecken davor zurück, weil sie nur Kosten verursachen und keine Einnahmen generieren. Und in Deutschland fehlt eine Huffington Post, die werthaltig ist.

Vom Graswurzel-Journalismus zur vielzitierten „virtuellen Gegenwirklichkeit“. Inwieweit nehmen oder nahmen Blogs bereits Einfluss auf die traditionellen Medien?

Wie gesagt, sie setzen im besten Fall Themen auf die Medienagenda oder politische Agenda. Wirkliche Bedeutung haben bisher nur die Wiki-Plattformen wie Guttenplag erreicht, die Minister zu Guttenberg den Job genommen und anderen Politikern die Karriere zerstört haben.

Welche Gefahren birgt das Bloggen?

Keine, wenn man sprachlich und inhaltlich verantwortungsvoll mit den Themen umgeht. Die Gefahr geht eher von den Kommentaren zu den Beiträgen aus. Dort melden sich anonym auch viele Rechts- und Linksradikale und Spinner zu Wort. Deshalb erscheinen bei mir nur Kommentare, die ich daraufhin überprüft habe, ob sie strafrechtlich relevant sind oder grob verunglimpfend. Eine finanzielle Gefahr für die Blogs ist auch, dass die Gerichte sie wie mächtige Medienkonzerne behandeln und ihnen auch alle Kosten für Gegendarstellung/Widerruf und Unterlassung aufdrücken. Daran kann ein Blog kaputtgehen.

Wie beurteilen Sie den journalistischen Wandel durch Weblogs? Ist die immer wieder heraufbeschworene Vorstellung, dass die gedruckten Zeitungen eines Tages verschwinden, realistisch? Ist „netizen journalism“ der Journalismus der Zukunft?

Ja und nein. Die Gefahr geht mehr von den kostenlosen Onlineangeboten der Medien aus. Eine machtvollere Blogszene bekommen wir in Deutschland erst, wenn Blogs refinanzierbar sind. Die guten Zeitungen, die mit klugen Analysen und Kommentaren, mit blendend geschriebenen Reportagen und Enthüllungsgeschichten einen Mehrwert liefern, werden überleben.

Noch eine letzte Frage, was wünschen Sie sich für Ihr Blog, was sind Ihre Pläne?

Da mein Blog mein Hobby ist, werde ich weiter mit meiner Meinung und Analyse und den Anekdoten versuchen, so viele User wie möglich zu erreichen. Zurzeit sind es 170.000 bis 200.000 Visits im Monat. Und ich muss irgendwann versuchen, durch Werbung Einnahmen zu erzielen. Weitere Pläne habe ich nicht. Der sprengsatz soll ein puristischer Blog für Leser sein, die keine Foto-Klickstrecken, keine grafischen Spielereien wollen.

Michael H. Spreng, Jahrgang 1948, gehört zur Riege der bekanntesten und streitbarsten deutschen Journalisten. Von 1989 bis 2000 war er Chefredakteur der Bild am Sonntag. Bis Ende 2008 schrieb er als politischer Kolumnist unter anderem für das Hamburger Abendblatt. Seine Tätigkeit als Wahlkampfmanager von Edmund Stoiber im Bundestagswahlkampf 2002 bezeichnete er gegenüber der Süddeutschen Zeitung einmal als „einmaligen Abenteuerurlaub“. Heute arbeitet er als Medien- und Kommunikationsberater und ist häufiger Gast in politischen Talk-Shows.

2009 ist Spreng auch unter die Blogger gegangen. In seinem gut besuchten Weblog sprengsatz kommentiert und analysiert er aktuelle Ereignisse aus dem Berliner Politikbetrieb. Besonders aufmerksamkeitsstark waren seine Beiträge Schwarm-Intelligenz und Schwarm-Feigheit und Die Jäger müssen sich stellen, in denen Plagiatsaffären und anonyme Plagiatsjäger kritisch beleuchtet wurden. Er selbst sieht seinen Blog als „verlängerte Werkbank seiner journalistischen Lust am Schreiben, Analysieren und Kommentieren“.