Professional Bloggers What Makes Bloggers Different from Journalists

Bloggers at the re:publica 2013 in Berlin
Bloggers at the re:publica 2013 in Berlin | Photo (detail): © re:publica / flickr.com (cc by-sa 2.0)

In Germany traditional journalism and web logs have become more and more similar. Many bloggers work as journalists and for many journalists and news portals blogging has become a matter of course. Nevertheless there are still a few differences.

Thomas Wiegold is a thoroughbred journalist with classic training. Back in the 1980s he did a traineeship at the German news agency, dpa. In 1993, for the Associated Press news agency, he travelled to Somalia, where he reported on the first mission of German UN peacekeeping troops. It was that job that introduced him to the subject he still likes to write most about today - Thomas Wiegold is a specialist in defence and security policy and is considered to be one of Germany’s eminent authorities in the field. Until 2010 he worked as a regular correspondent for the German news magazine, Focus, in Berlin. Today he works as a freelance journalist – and blogger.

When, in 2010, his employer cut a huge number of jobs, Thomas Wiegold decided to take the redundancy pay and try his luck on the Internet. It was quite clear to him that he still wanted to work as journalist, but how does one remain visible on the Internet? He had already started to write a blog while still working for Focus (Augengeradeaus.de) and in the years that followed he worked on expanding it. Today he writes about the German army’s mission to Afghanistan or about the grave mistakes made by the German Ministry of Defence when it tried to acquire the Euro Hawk reconnaissance drone. “I wanted to do something in which I have the final journalistic say.”

Despite the fact that his blog is focused on a niche topic, it has in the meantime become very well known. Nevertheless he still cannot live from blogging alone. Every month he receives a mere 650 euros from his readers in the form of voluntary contributions. He makes the rest of his income as a free-lance author for newspapers and news magazines. His blog has been of great help for this kind of work, “I would not be so well known, if I did not have the blog.”

The dividing line between journalists and bloggers is becoming less and less important

Thomas Wiegold is not the only one to take the plunge and run a blog. Many newspaper and television journalists, as well as renowned newspapers like the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung or the Süddeutsche Zeitung have also started running their own blogs on the side. “I am much closer to the reader,” explains journalist, Karsten Lohmeyer (Lousypennies.de). He considers the dividing line between journalists and bloggers to be an artificial one that is being perpetuated by ‘old school’ journalists. In reality this dividing line is becoming less and less important.

When in 2013 the German version of the Internet newspaper, The Huffington Post, went into operation, it triggered a lot of discussion about what these collections of blog entries, mostly written by unpaid authors, have to do with journalism. Karsten Lohmeyer countered, “Take a look at any railway station kiosk. There you will see rows and rows of magazines about all kinds of topics, for example, computer games and angling - that, too, is journalism.” The image of investigative journalism with all its in-depth research applies at the most to only five per cent of all journalistic products.

In addition there is also the fact that many bloggers have been fulfilling journalistic tasks for quite some time now. A good example of this would be the blog, Netzpolitik.org. This is where Markus Beckedahl and his team report regularly on data protection and other politically related Internet issues. Markus Beckedahl’s skills and competence are held in great esteem. On several occasions he has also been asked by the German parliament to take part in an advisory commission on the challenges Germany is faced with due to digital change.

German bloggers are becoming more professional

Abgeordnetenwatch.de (MP Watch) is another blog – a watch blog – that has become very popular. People can use it to ask their MPs critical questions. Then there are quite a lot of other watch blogs that critically observe the changes taking place in the German media landscape. The number of local blogs is also on the increase. The most popular blog at the moment in Germany is the political satire magazine, Der Postillion. Although blogs in Germany by far still do not have as many readers as the well known news portals, their number is however rising.  According to a study of the ways people use the Internet it is nevertheless 16 per cent of Germans who occasionally read what bloggers write on the Net.

There are of course still a few differences, says journalist and blogger (Medialdigital.de), Ulrike Langer. They are however to be found when other institutions come into play, like public authorities. “Bloggers, for example, cannot get a journalist’s visa.” Welfare provision in the form of health and pension insurance is also not as easy for bloggers as it is for journalists. At the same time, however, bloggers in Germany are becoming more and more professional. There are now more and more multi-author blogs. Successful bloggers are now thinking about employing their own personnel to sell advertising space. “The number of commonalities between bloggers and journalists is becoming greater,” says Langer.

Thomas Wiegold also sees it like this, despite the fact he would like to see more journalistic reliability on the part of the bloggers. “I only ever post something when I have at least two sources that are independent of each other, says Wiegold. He has never regretted his decision to go online. “The only thing I really miss is getting a regular pay check.”

Professionelle Blogger Was Blogger von Journalisten unterscheidet

Blogger auf der re:publica 2013 in Berlin
Blogger auf der re:publica 2013 in Berlin | Foto (Ausschnitt): © re:publica / flickr.com (cc by-sa 2.0)

Klassischer Journalismus und Weblogs in Deutschland werden sich immer ähnlicher. Viele Blogger arbeiten journalistisch, und auch für Journalisten und Nachrichtenportale wird Bloggen immer selbstverständlicher. Trotzdem gibt es noch Unterschiede.

Thomas Wiegold ist ein Journalist mit klassischer Ausbildung. Sein Volontariat absolvierte er in den 1980er-Jahren bei der deutschen Nachrichtenagentur DPA. Für die Nachrichtenagentur Associated Press reiste er 1993 nach Somalia, um dort über den ersten Einsatz deutscher Blauhelm-Soldaten zu berichten. So entdeckte er das Thema, über das er noch heute am meisten schreibt. Thomas Wiegold ist Spezialist für Verteidigungs- und Sicherheitspolitik und zählt in Deutschland zu den Koryphäen in diesem Bereich. Bis 2010 arbeitete er als fest angestellter Korrespondent beim Nachrichtenmagazin Focus in Berlin. Heute ist er freiberuflicher Journalist – und Blogger.

Als sein alter Arbeitgeber 2010 massenhaft Stellen strich, nahm Thomas Wiegold die Abfindung mit und versuchte sein Glück im Internet. Ihm war klar, dass er weiter als Journalist arbeiten will. Aber wie bleibt man im Internet sichtbar? Sein Blog Augengeradeaus.de hatte er bereits angelegt, als er noch angestellt war, und er baute es in den folgenden Jahren immer weiter aus. Heute schreibt er über den Einsatz der Bundeswehr in Afghanistan oder darüber, welche schwerwiegenden Fehler das Verteidigungsministerium bei der geplanten Anschaffung der Aufklärungsdrohne Euro Hawk begangen hat. „Ich wollte etwas machen, wo ich selbst die publizistische Hoheit ausüben kann“, sagt er.

Dafür, dass er ein Nischenthema bedient, ist das Blog von Thomas Wiegold mittlerweile sehr bekannt. Trotzdem kann er vom Bloggen alleine nicht leben. Von seinen Lesern erhält er pro Monat gerade mal 650 Euro an freiwilligen Zuwendungen. Den Rest seines Einkommens erwirtschaftet er als freier Autor für Zeitungen oder Nachrichtenmagazine. Sein Blog hilft ihm dabei: „Ich wäre viel weniger bekannt, wenn das Blog nicht wäre.“

Abgrenzung zwischen Journalisten und Bloggern wird unwichtiger

Damit ist Thomas Wiegold nicht alleine. Viele Zeitungs- und Fernsehjournalisten, aber auch renommierte Zeitungen wie die Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung oder die Süddeutsche Zeitung, unterhalten nebenbei eigene Blogs. „Mit einem Blog bin ich viel näher am Leser dran“, erklärt der Journalist Karsten Lohmeyer, der unter Lousypennies.de bloggt. Er hält die Unterscheidung zwischen Bloggen und klassischem Journalismus vor allem für eine künstliche Grenze, die von einigen Print-Journalisten aufrechterhalten wird. In der Realität wird diese Grenze immer unwichtiger.

Als die deutsche Version der Internetzeitung Huffington Post 2013 in Betrieb ging, wurde in Deutschland wieder viel darüber diskutiert, was diese Ansammlung von Blogtexten von meist unbezahlten Schreibern denn mit Journalismus zu tun habe. Karsten Lohmeyer kontert: „Gehen Sie mal in einen Bahnhofskiosk. Da sehen sie reihenweise Zeitschriften über Computerspiele und Angeln. Auch das ist Journalismus.“ Das Bild vom hart recherchierten investigativen Journalismus, so Lohmeyer, träfe höchstens auf fünf Prozent aller journalistischen Produkte zu.

Hinzu kommt, dass viele Blogger längst selbst journalistische Aufgaben übernehmen. Das Blog Netzpolitik.org ist ein gutes Beispiel. Hier berichten Markus Beckedahl und sein Team regelmäßig über Datenschutz und andere politische Internetthemen. Die Kompetenz von Markus Beckedahl wird geschätzt. Mehrfach hat er den Bundestag in einer Kommission beraten, welche Herausforderungen auf Deutschland durch den digitalen Wandel zukommen.

Deutsche Blogger professionalisieren sich

Auch das Watchblog Abgeordnetenwatch.de ist sehr beliebt. Hier können Bürger ihren Parlamentariern kritische Fragen stellen. Hinzu kommen zahlreiche Watchblogs, die ihrerseits kritisch die Veränderungen in der deutschen Medienlandschaft beobachten. Und auch die Zahl der Lokalblogs nimmt zu. Das populärste deutsche Blog ist im Moment das politische Satire-Magazin Der Postillion. Zwar finden Blogs in Deutschland bei weitem noch nicht so viele Leser wie die bekannten Nachrichtenportale. Aber ihre Zahl steigt. Nach einer Studie über Online-Nutzung lesen immerhin 16 Prozent der Deutschen gelegentlich, was Blogger so ins Netz schreiben.

Ein paar Unterschiede gibt es dennoch, meint die Journalistin und Bloggerin (Medialdigital.de) Ulrike Langer. Aber die liegen vor allem da, wo andere Institutionen wie staatliche Behörden ins Spiel kommen: „Blogger bekommen zum Beispiel kein Journalisten-Visum.“ Und auch die soziale Absicherung durch Kranken- und Rentenversicherung sei für Blogger nicht so einfach wie für Journalisten. Dabei professionalisieren sich Blogger in Deutschland immer stärker. Immer häufiger entstehen Multi-Autoren-Blogs. Erfolgreiche Blogger überlegen, eigenes Personal für die Anzeigenakquise einzustellen. „Die Schnittmenge zwischen Blogs und Journalismus wird immer größer“, so Langer.

Das sieht auch Thomas Wiegold so. Obwohl er sich von einigen Bloggern mehr journalistische Sauberkeit wünschen würde. „Ich veröffentliche etwas nur, wenn ich mindestens zwei voneinander unabhängige Quellen habe“, sagt Wiegold. Er hat seinen Entschluss, ins Netz zu gehen, nie bereut. „Das einzige, was ich wirklich vermisse, ist der regelmäßige Gehaltsscheck.“